View Full Version : Matches 12th - 15th July
RathfarnhamHoop
12/07/2019, 6:56 PM
They've sort of come in under the radar with the European games but there are a few matches on this weekend including a full round of first division games between the Friday and the Saturday
The Lilywhites
12/07/2019, 8:43 PM
Derry 0-0 UCD FT
Surprising point for UCD but you'd have to imagine all things considered Finn Harps will finish bottom now. Will UCD beat Drogheda/Longford in playoff? Open enough I'd say.
12/07/2019, 8:45 PM
Ah, there's a long way to go yet - we've to go to Donegal for starters.
But nice to get a first (!!) away point of the season. And to not ship double figures. With players to come back from injury and maybe another signing on the way, hopefully we can get another result or two yet
But if we stay up, it's because Harps are awful
Dalymountrower
12/07/2019, 8:49 PM
Great college tradition of defying the odds in adversity.
Looking forward to Monday.Stu is that sports bar across from the bowl stil letting punters in match nights?
12/07/2019, 8:52 PM
Great college tradition of defying the odds in adversity.
Looking forward to Monday.Stu is that sports bar across from the bowl stil letting punters in match nights?
The Sports Bar is gone 15 years or so at this stage, but the Centre Bar in the student centre is open alright.
sbgawa
12/07/2019, 8:58 PM
Good point at th e death for Cabo at shels.
If longford can win their game in hand only 3 points in it.
Pressure on shels now they were expected to do a limerick on it.
total hoofball
12/07/2019, 9:06 PM
Yep that was a textbook bottlejob from Shels tonight
Draw fair result. Very rare to say it but that match was a great advertisement for the first division. Cabinteely are definitely good enough to get promotion this season, Pat Devlin is doing a fine job developing and moulding a talented young team
sbgawa
12/07/2019, 9:18 PM
I enjoy listening to f
Glitw, will be interesting to hear Conan Byrne on his red card :)
13/07/2019, 4:04 AM
I enjoy listening to f
Glitw, will be interesting to hear Conan Byrne on his red card :)
Ah look, I know Conan missed a penalty but it wasn't that bad that they sent him off.
15/07/2019, 7:36 PM
15/07/2019, 7:45 PM
Good point at th e death for Cabo at shels.
If longford can win their game in hand only 3 points in it.
Pressure on shels now they were expected to do a limerick on it.
We’re five points behind with the same games played? We have Shels at home so win that which we’re very capable of doing and we’re in with a shout but equally we could drop points at Cabo on Friday. I’m expecting the play offs at this stage.
RathfarnhamHoop
15/07/2019, 8:49 PM
Conor ****ing off the bohs fans I see. Good lad.
sbgawa
15/07/2019, 8:51 PM
We’re five points behind with the same games played? We have Shels at home so win that which we’re very capable of doing and we’re in with a shout but equally we could drop points at Cabo on Friday. I’m expecting the play offs at this stage.
Yeah my bad, read the table wrong.
Great win for UCD tonight against bohs. 7 points from 9
15/07/2019, 8:52 PM
Great craic. Don't know if he has any more muscles to cramp up for next week in Tallaght though
sbgawa
15/07/2019, 8:53 PM
What was he up too?
15/07/2019, 8:55 PM
Celebrating in front of the Bohs fans
sbgawa
15/07/2019, 8:57 PM
Lol , he would have loved that, big rovers fan and all the bohs lads know it.
Huge result for you boys, distance between you and harps now
Dalymountrower
15/07/2019, 9:08 PM
Well deserved win for UCD.Did what they had to do .One shot on target one goal.clinical stuff.We are all over the place up front.
Olander
15/07/2019, 9:13 PM
https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF1112/1755430.jpg
That is a great photo... the stewards failing to hold back some fat irate Bohs fan and Kearns running past the Bohs away to get back into the dressing room :D
RathfarnhamHoop
15/07/2019, 9:25 PM
https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF1112/1755430.jpg
That is a great photo... the stewards failing to hold back some fat irate Bohs fan and Kearns running past the Bohs away to get back into the dressing room :D
There's another picture where a bohs player has their fingers near his eye, scumbag behaviour
Olander
15/07/2019, 9:29 PM
There's another picture where a bohs player has their fingers near his eye, scumbag behaviour
https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF1112/1755432.jpg
Pics are on sportsfile: https://www.sportsfile.com/more-images/775373532/
marinobohs
15/07/2019, 10:18 PM
Only “scumbag behavior” was that ***** trying to incite the crowd. At least as a sham he will feel at home in the first division next season 😁
Fair play to UCD, scored with their only shot (decent hit too) and defended well. Bohs no striker policy was painful to watch and we wouldn’t score if we played until midnight.
Bad result against a poor UCD team, need a big improvement (or signing a striker) before Sunday.
If anyone has a hat stand available 😁
15/07/2019, 10:55 PM
Only “scumbag behavior” was that ***** trying to incite the crowd.
In fairness, a lot of scumbaggery from Bohs fans after the match. A lot of abuse thrown around at the ref, at players, at officials. Bottles on the pitch. General feeling was of a hundred complete knackers hanging around the steps after the match. God knows what the kids watching thought of it all. I don't condone players winding up fans, but the response was absurdly out of proportion. It's a game, ffs.
Agree with all of your assessment of the game.
Dalymountrower
15/07/2019, 11:32 PM
In fairness, a lot of scumbaggery from Bohs fans after the match. A lot of abuse thrown around at the ref, at players, at officials. Bottles on the pitch. General feeling was of a hundred complete knackers hanging around the steps after the match. God knows what the kids watching thought of it all. I don't condone players winding up fans, but the response was absurdly out of proportion. It's a game, ffs.
Disproptionate response alright.In fairness to Talbot he tried to get your keeper away from there
No excuse for some of the vitriol directed at your manager.Embarassing night for us all around.
Olander
15/07/2019, 11:37 PM
Only “scumbag behavior” was that ***** trying to incite the crowd.
What about the scumbag that jumped the fence and tried to get at Kearns and had to be restrained by stewards? FFS he looks about 40. That's embarrassing.
marinobohs
16/07/2019, 3:50 AM
Not justifying abuse by some Bohs fans but the ***** ran 50 yards to taunt Bohs fans. In any proper League ref would, at least, yellow card him. Finn tried something similar at Dalymount so maybe a scum thing 😁 nothing to stop him celebrating with the handful of UCD fans there or with team mates as the other players did.
Anyway, enjoy the win. Great week for UCD.
16/07/2019, 6:32 AM
Not justifying abuse by some Bohs fans but the ***** ran 50 yards to taunt Bohs fans.
But you are justifying the abuse. You said that the only scumbag behaviour was Kearns' actions. So throwing bottles onto the pitch, hopping a railing to chase a player, shouting out a linesman that he was a "****ing steamer" - none of this is scumbaggery? Didn't realise Collie was getting dogs abuse either. And it's only a couple of weeks since you were fine with fans pitch invading during a match.
Jack B
16/07/2019, 6:52 AM
Bohs have had a howler on all fronts here.
Hands up who's shocked that Talbot can dish it out no bother when they win but when the shoe's on the other foot...
16/07/2019, 7:06 AM
No bottle in that UCD team alright.
Maybe why Bohs fans were throwing bottles onto the pitch - just being helpful?
marinobohs
16/07/2019, 7:07 AM
Bohs have had a howler on all fronts here.
Hands up who's shocked that Talbot can dish it out no bother when they win but when the shoe's on the other foot...
Talbot tried to restrain the idiot from fighting with other players you clown. That’s the same Talbot had bottles thrown at him for collecting his gloves in Tallaght.
Oh and who’s surprised s Pats player failed a drugs test ? 😁
Jack B
16/07/2019, 7:08 AM
No bottle in that UCD team alright.
Maybe why Bohs fans were throwing bottles onto the pitch - just being helpful?
Certainly more likely to be that than "scumbag behaviour" anyway.
marinobohs
16/07/2019, 7:13 AM
But you are justifying the abuse. You said that the only scumbag behaviour was Kearns' actions. So throwing bottles onto the pitch, hopping a railing to chase a player, shouting out a linesman that he was a "****ing steamer" - none of this is scumbaggery? Didn't realise Collie was getting dogs abuse either. And it's only a couple of weeks since you were fine with fans pitch invading during a match.
Football fans Shouting st a linesman ? Are you serious ? Didn’t see the bottles thrown on the pitch - totally wrong, and knacker Kearns caused all the post match trouble, which you conveniently ignore.
Fans celebrating on pitch wrong scumbag goading fans right ?
Once a closet hoop......
marinobohs
16/07/2019, 7:15 AM
Certainly more likely to be that than "scumbag behaviour" anyway.
Failing drugs test = scumbag behavior ?
Jack B
16/07/2019, 7:18 AM
Failing drugs test = scumbag behavior ?
Depends on the circumstances really. Whatever the case I certainly wouldn't let my support for a particular team cloud my judgement on the matter, though I know that's not for everyone.
16/07/2019, 7:33 AM
Football fans Shouting st a linesman ? Are you serious ? Didn’t see the bottles thrown on the pitch - totally wrong, and knacker Kearns caused all the post match trouble, which you conveniently ignore.
Fans celebrating on pitch wrong scumbag goading fans right ?
I started this by saying I didn't condone Kearns, so knock it off suggesting I said he was "right". "Gob****e" was the verdict on the group WhatsApp for example.
But it's bull**** to say he caused all the trouble - as if the poor Bohs fans were left with no choice but to hop a rail and chase after him.
Yes, homophobic insults is scumbag behaviour. Also banned in every LoI ground to the extent that the PA even announces this before every match.
"Didn't see it" is very convenient. Did you see our club official walking onto the pitch during the game to remove if? Others thrown in the afters.
But I think you're one of those fans who'd defend their club for anything tbh, so...
Jack B
16/07/2019, 7:36 AM
Talbot tried to restrain the idiot from fighting with other players you clown. That’s the same Talbot had bottles thrown at him for collecting his gloves in Tallaght.
Oh and who’s surprised s Pats player failed a drugs test ? 😁
It's ok man, yous are still the second best pub in Phibsborough and that's the real quiz anyway.
marinobohs
16/07/2019, 7:49 AM
It's ok man, yous are still the second best pub in Phibsborough and that's the real quiz anyway.
WTF ? Is that some kind of junkie post ? Sorry, please translate to English I don’t speak ****wit 😁
marinobohs
16/07/2019, 7:55 AM
I started this by saying I didn't condone Kearns, so knock it off suggesting I said he was "right". "Gob****e" was the verdict on the group WhatsApp for example.
But it's bull**** to say he caused all the trouble - as if the poor Bohs fans were left with no choice but to hop a rail and chase after him.
Yes, homophobic insults is scumbag behaviour. Also banned in every LoI ground to the extent that the PA even announces this before every match.
"Didn't see it" is very convenient. Did you see our club official walking onto the pitch during the game to remove if? Others thrown in the afters.
But I think you're one of those fans who'd defend their club for anything tbh, so...
And I clearly said throwing bottles was wrong so how am I “defending it” ?
Kearns action triggered the post match nonsense, that’s simply a fact whether you like it or not (don’t know the gob****e trying to jump the fence but hope he is banned from Dalymount). Sorry but abusing a linesman or ref happens EVERY game, are all fans scumbags in your snowflake world ?
Honestly, enjoy your win and the rest of your rare season in the Premier Division.
16/07/2019, 8:07 AM
You defended it by saying that the "Only “scumbag behavior” was that ***** trying to incite the crowd."
I agree Kearns triggered the post-match nonsense, but that's not the same as saying he caused it all. Bohs fans also caused issues by throwing bottles and by hopping over barriers to chase players.
Yes, linesmen get abuse regularly (not that that justifies it btw), but being annoyed by yet another offside isn't quite the same thing as battering on a cage fence and shouting homophobic insults at him as he walked off the pitch. But I don't know; maybe you're ok with that.
Funny, seeing what - 50, 100? - Bohs fans standing beating at the fence hurling abuse at people reminded me of a group of caged gorillas. Maybe that's appropriate in a way. (Though I suppose harsh on the quieter, more sensible posts like DalymountRower's above)
PartySaint
16/07/2019, 8:27 AM
I don't condone players winding up fans
F*ck that, as fans we abuse players all season, I've no issue whatsoever with them giving it back, all part of the fun.
Trying to attack a player for messing around is moronic behaviour.
At least Marinobohs has taken the defeat well anyway...
sbgawa
16/07/2019, 8:51 AM
Have to say i love it when players goad the crowd after a win and have been on the winning and losing end of that scenario.
It shows passion and that the players are in the same boat as us fans, i remember Sean Boyd scoring the winner in Tallaght against Bohs and loving it when he ran towards the bohs fans equally seeing Talbot winding up the Rovers players / fans after the last match just makes me look forward more to the next round in the saga to try to put one over on Bohs.
Pajo Flynn ...need i say more..
The players are entitled to give it out as they have to take it but it doesn't excuse any behavior from fans other than giving it back in spades when the opportunity presents itself in the future...which it always does.
Bohs like every Dublin club (with the exception of Cabo and UCD) have their own collection of knuckle dragging idiots , call them out for it and move on.
D24Saint
16/07/2019, 9:21 AM
Have to say i love it when players goad the crowd after a win and have been on the winning and losing end of that scenario.
It shows passion and that the players are in the same boat as us fans, i remember Sean Boyd scoring the winner in Tallaght against Bohs and loving it when he ran towards the bohs fans equally seeing Talbot winding up the Rovers players / fans after the last match just makes me look forward more to the next round in the saga to try to put one over on Bohs.
Pajo Flynn ...need i say more..
The players are entitled to give it out as they have to take it but it doesn't excuse any behavior from fans other than giving it back in spades when the opportunity presents itself in the future...which it always does.
Bohs like every Dublin club (with the exception of Cabo and UCD) have their own collection of knuckle dragging idiots , call them out for it and move on.
It definitely adds to a match , twigg always wound us up and Brennan took a rise from the Rovers fans, good craic.
Jack B
16/07/2019, 9:52 AM
The players are entitled to give it out as they have to take it but it doesn't excuse any behavior from fans other than giving it back in spades when the opportunity presents itself in the future
In all seriousness this is very true. Always find it a bit ridiculous that a great percentage of football fans seem to think they have the right to slate an opposition player as much as they wish but manage to get so precious whenever they get a bit of stick in response. The players are well within their right to give a bit back (within reason of course).
16/07/2019, 10:00 AM
Does a player mooning at opposition support count as good crack....
RathfarnhamHoop
16/07/2019, 10:31 AM
the ***** ran 50 yards to taunt Bohs fans. In any proper League ref would, at least, yellow card him.
Or in other words made his way towards the tunnel, hardly as if he ran out of his way like.
Ezeikial
16/07/2019, 10:32 AM
It's probably a result that suits many clubs in the league.
Obviously Bohs themselves or Finn Harps will be unhappy, but for the clubs chasing third place and its confirmed euro spot, this gives them a realistic target to aim at. There are only 5 points separating Bohs from Derry (game in hand) and St Pats. While the 11 point gap to third might be too much for Sligo to make up , they will still be trying to finish in the top four.
It also relieves the pressure on Shamrock Rovers, who have only taken 5 points from the last 5 matches, and reduces the potential embarrassment of Bohs finishing above them in the table
sbgawa
16/07/2019, 10:33 AM
It definitely adds to a match , twigg always wound us up and Brennan took a rise from the Rovers fans, good craic.
Yeah that peno in Inchicore last year was a career highlight for him:)
I actually think Inchicore is great for banter between fans and players , poor old James Doona gets a terrible slagging from the Rovers fans "splinter" is his nickname
Surprised he has'nt got more game time for you guys, at his age he should move to somewhere he can get game time, even Cabo if he doesnt want to have to move out of Dublin 8, I always liked him at Rovers.
sbgawa
16/07/2019, 10:42 AM
Does a player mooning at opposition support count as good crack....
stop arsing around :)
16/07/2019, 10:53 AM
Or in other words made his way towards the tunnel, hardly as if he ran out of his way like.
Nah, he was fairly quick to run from the goal at the opposite end. It wasn't like it was a little raised fist on the way past.
sbgawa
16/07/2019, 10:55 AM
He'll get a great welcome in Tallaght on Sunday and then naturally will let a couple in through his legs for us. :)