View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 [98] 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Mighty almighty
08/12/2011, 2:31 PM
Springfield from Cobh(East Cork!), are still left in this cup. Away to Ballymun FC(Dublin) this Sunday(11th Dec)...tough game expected.
2nd year in a row getting this far, they beat Tolka(Dublin) at this stage last year.

Oh right don't know how I missed that,shame both teams playing away would liked to have seen either game...best of luck to Springfield too.both very tough draws by the looks of it.

Chiefscout
09/12/2011, 10:32 PM
Midleton 1 mayfield 0...much needed win for Midleton,as mayfield edge closer to another relegation scrap.

Goggs
10/12/2011, 11:49 AM
Mayfield without Brosie and Wolf looked a very ordinary side last night again Midleton missed chance after chance and made hard work of it in the end but were fully deserved winners playing some very attractive football in the process.

mayfield utd
10/12/2011, 3:46 PM
Mayfield without Brosie and Wolf looked a very ordinary side last night again Midleton missed chance after chance and made hard work of it in the end but were fully deserved winners playing some very attractive football in the process.ya midleton looked a decent side played some nice football,and were just about the better team,i felt we might of just deserved a draw,maybe i'm being a bit bias.

10/12/2011, 4:15 PM
Corinthians 1-2 Avondale
I only arrived at HT and Dale were 1up, Cors had some 2nd half pressure without ever threatening and then when it looked to be petering out they equalised in the dying minutes.
Dale went right down and scored a winner well into stoppage time.

townhall tez
10/12/2011, 4:52 PM
How about the refs performance razor? Very strange decisions made,even with your Avondale hat on you must admit that! When Cors got the equaliser he gave Dale a free for no apparent reason which led to the goal. The booking he gave to a Cors player for diving was comical! Anytime they had an advantage he gave the free to them and refused blatant ones then-something very strange there. Other than that it was a good game,Cors great football v. Dales route one style. Good advert for the league. Official has to have a serious look at himself however. On a positive note it was great to see Midleton win last night. They were the better team and deserved it.

Sparky
10/12/2011, 5:55 PM
How about the refs performance razor? Very strange decisions made,even with your Avondale hat on you must admit that! When Cors got the equaliser he gave Dale a free for no apparent reason which led to the goal. The booking he gave to a Cors player for diving was comical! Anytime they had an advantage he gave the free to them and refused blatant ones then-something very strange there. Other than that it was a good game,Cors great football v. Dales route one style. Good advert for the league. Official has to have a serious look at himself however. On a positive note it was great to see Midleton win last night. They were the better team and deserved it.

From a NEUTRAL point of view I thought it was an entertaining game. Avondale started off strong but Corinthians came into it half way through first half. I dont remember any keeper making a save in the first half so it was tight all over the pitch. The pitch itself was IMMENSE as usual - credit to Corinthians. The referee wasn't too bad in my opinion. I felt the Corinthians bench were not helping their own players by getting excited. To be honest I was on the Corinthians side of the pitch so I could not call if the player dived. If he did a booking was just and if not it should have been a spotter.The dale's first goal was nicely done from a corner with centre half performing a clever dummy. Corinthians were justified of an equaliser and the centre forward took it brilliantly. I felt a draw was fair but D.Long scored in injury time and he deserved it personally as I thought he was very sharp. Corinthians were hard done by regarding not getting a point but did not do enough to win. Avondale defence was excellent but their midfield were dominated at times. Good game and massive points for the league leaders.
That is about as fair as I can be. Hope my report doesn't offend any DALE/CORINTHIANS boys.

10/12/2011, 6:18 PM
How about the refs performance razor? Very strange decisions made,even with your Avondale hat on you must admit that! When Cors got the equaliser he gave Dale a free for no apparent reason which led to the goal. The booking he gave to a Cors player for diving was comical! Anytime they had an advantage he gave the free to them and refused blatant ones then-something very strange there. Other than that it was a good game,Cors great football v. Dales route one style. Good advert for the league. Official has to have a serious look at himself however. On a positive note it was great to see Midleton win last night. They were the better team and deserved it.I had no hat on today despite the cold.
I was up on the plastic pitch with the small fella playing ball so didn't see everything that went on in the second half but I did see that yellow card you refer to, there was contact but the Cors player was a tad theatrical in trying to get into the box and I think that counted against him, the ref had a good think about it and decided on a yellow.
Cors played some nice football and looked extremely young, which is great to see.

Apart from that call I didn't think the ref had anything contentious to deal with from what I saw.
In fact I can't seem to remember either keeper making a save in the 2nd half either.

impartial
10/12/2011, 6:30 PM
The ref didn't get the big calls in the game correct. The corner for avondales first goal wasn't a corner. Doody kicked the ball wide himself but the ref gave the corner. There second goal came from a free that never was and it looked that there was a foul on the gk from the free.
The non penalty was a tough one. There was contact so it was a foul but the dive was a bit theatrical

townhall tez
10/12/2011, 9:06 PM
A fair review Sparky,its a game of opinions after all and you like I gave an honest one. I thought the ref gave the Dale an awful lot and there was no foul in the build up to the winning goal. I can see why the Cors bench got upset,it did look like every 50/50 went to the dale. As for the lad who was booked for diving,it was a foul and as you said it should have been a penalty. I'v watched him play kenedy cup and he is not the type of fella who would dive. What we are agreed on is that it was a good game of high standard.

Clifford
11/12/2011, 1:24 PM
Tramore 1-5 Fermoy

Good win today away to Tramore. Gav Quirke 2 and Graham Byrnes in the first half. Mark Barry and Dave Clancy in the sec. They had man sent off with 3 mins left at 1-5. No idea what players are thinking half the time. He had no need at all to see red.

Bring on UCC next Sat afternoon at home.

fifa
13/12/2011, 11:34 PM
Intresting to see Avondale have another pic in the echo seems like every second day now would like to know who their contact is plenty of other clubs and thier commitees in cork to take photos of!

AvondaleNutter
14/12/2011, 6:43 AM
Intresting to see Avondale have another pic in the echo seems like every second day now would like to know who their contact is plenty of other clubs and thier commitees in cork to take photos of!

There's at least one person on the board that works with the echo. Not sure if there's more than that.

Chiefscout
14/12/2011, 10:39 AM
Avondale are the "buzz" team at the moment due to results,performances and even signings so they deserve the time and space that the echo is giving them.other clubs have had this treatment so I say fair play to the dale

ringmahon4ever
14/12/2011, 4:34 PM
Intresting to see Avondale have another pic in the echo seems like every second day now would like to know who their contact is plenty of other clubs and thier commi tees in cork to take photos of!everytime i open the echo i see that fella noel long lookin straight back at me.

fifa
14/12/2011, 5:50 PM
everytime i open the echo i see that fella noel long lookin straight back at me.Think his name is Noel Longpro

casilles
14/12/2011, 10:13 PM
brian lougheed, eoins father sure is the photographer with them

fifa
14/12/2011, 11:24 PM
brian lougheed, eoins father sure is the photographer with themKinda guessed there was some connection,I'd bet every club would launch new signs every week in the echo if they could get that coverage doubt they could though looking a bit biased from the echo "buzz" team or not

townhall tez
19/12/2011, 2:28 PM
Heard today that Douglas Hall have signed a striker from Corinthians,I don't know if they resigned Mark Murphy or if it's Ron Stanton but either one would be a major coup for them.

Clifford
19/12/2011, 10:41 PM
Fermoy 0-0 UCC

Tough game at Carrig Park on Sat afternoon in heavy ground. Lots of good performances on both sides. We had clearer cut chances, hit the bar before half time, missed a great 1 on 1 and in the sec half and incredible save from their keeper from Seanie Mc. but without doubt they had the stronger finish and we got out of jail with an incredible tackle on their number 9 from Tomas Clancy after the 9 ran from half way, beating two along the way. Draw fair result.

townhall tez
20/12/2011, 3:32 PM
Apologies,Stanton and Murphy staying with College but a striker has left them for Douglas hall? Best guess would be Jamie Drennan???

ringmahon4ever
20/12/2011, 5:06 PM
a douglas hall member of management rang our captain last week.next day he asks for a transfer so i dunno what he was offered.and before we get into an argument about playing premier football n stuff its just very disappointing he has done this to club especially seeing as he was club captain.no loyalties at all.plays centre so dunno bout the striker part

the hawk
20/12/2011, 7:44 PM
Apologies,Stanton and Murphy staying with College but a striker has left them for Douglas hall? Best guess would be Jamie Drennan???

patrick coakley is the corinthians striker after signing for douglas hall

Cici900
20/12/2011, 8:26 PM
Anyone know if graham mccarthy signed for avondale, or did he make a u turn & stay with the hall? Was surprised when I heard the rumour.

townhall tez
20/12/2011, 8:36 PM
Chris Fox is the Ringmahon lad going to Douglas hall,McCarthy has joined Avondale but the hall manager refused to leave transfer go through so it's gone to the league. Maybe Ringmahon should do the same to them... Never heard of a Coakley playing with College.

overthehill
20/12/2011, 8:42 PM
Alrite lads,
Anyone looking for a game wed/thurs 28th/29th ? Killumney utd will travel to play ye pm or evening. Contact Derek 087 9475627 if interested. Cheers.

boiled egg
21/12/2011, 2:41 PM
just heard off a transfer going thru.. lawrence fitz to rockmount

Goggs
21/12/2011, 3:40 PM
Hes an excellant player that lad from ringmahon that's a disgrace your captain leaving midway through the season I know hall dont pay but they do offer them work as I know one lad who was offered a job if he went to them but Avondale found him a better job so he signed for them instead.Your lucky ye have a good Youth system to relace guys like that.

justasupporter
21/12/2011, 4:26 PM
at the end of the day if the guys out of work & they genuinely DO get him a job then you cant blame him in fairness , on the other hand it could just be an excuse to move ( theyre fixing me up with a job ) .. im sure Ringmahonforever will have the details soon enough ..

justasupporter
21/12/2011, 4:30 PM
seems a bit hypocritical of the Hall management when it came to Mcarthy's transfer to the hall being stopped though doesnt it ? stop a player from leaving but poach another clubs player

justasupporter
21/12/2011, 4:31 PM
I mean Mcarthys transfer from the Hall to Dale , sorry .. long day

old-head
21/12/2011, 5:42 PM
I mean Mcarthys transfer from the Hall to Dale , sorry .. long day

If this is true then what a bunch of hypocrites, the hall crying like babies over MacCarthy moving on and then doing the exact same thing to Ringmahon.
Ringmahon have a great record of bringing young lads through and losing one guy won't cause the club to fold. I'm sure they won't object and will just give the next kid a chance. That's what a club is about.
Unfortunately there is not a rule to stop players moving (unlike GAA), if you put yourself forward to run a team then it's one of things you have to deal with!!

the hawk
21/12/2011, 8:17 PM
seems a bit hypocritical of the Hall management when it came to Mcarthy's transfer to the hall being stopped though doesnt it ? stop a player from leaving but poach another clubs player

very hypocritical when you think kelvin flanagan has nearly rang every player in the league to sign for them
i think most of us on here who still play has got a phone call over the last 2 months

ringmahon4ever
21/12/2011, 9:05 PM
no he works away grand so it wasnt job.jesus i must dust off the boots if they can get me job :). its very disapointing all right.usually club captains lead by example but thats thrown out the window.if he coulndt give us commitment i doubt he will for douglas hall. the transfer because we wnt no one down there with an attitude like that.yes our youth system is very good but cork city are mad poaching.took 4 from last years team who are youths now. also kelvin doesnt have my number so i must pass it on :)

boiled egg
22/12/2011, 1:28 PM
I tink its abou time sumtin like this happened douglas hall, losin there players. They dont treat there players right!!!

townhall tez
22/12/2011, 2:24 PM
Flanagan told Cotter he shouldn't have let Graham McCarthy train with the Dale but the last few weeks he has had players from 4 different Msl clubs training with the hall - passage,ringmahon,mayfield and Corinthians,maybe even more than that. If he is doing this then the club can't be upset over McCarthy leaving,there senior manager is the one they need to look at-not the player.

douglas local
22/12/2011, 5:29 PM
lads it looks to me as the sign of desperation of the four players allegedly signed not one of them would have got into the teams of the last five years = the commitee has a lot to answer here for either giving kelvin the job first day or keeping him on at the moment as the question has to be asked as to why all the players have left. this is a team in serious decline

Carpet
23/12/2011, 1:06 PM
tink-abou-sumtin-losin-there(their)
a great addition to foot.ie.

23/12/2011, 3:46 PM
tink-abou-sumtin-losin-there(their)
a great addition to foot.ie.Nothing an infraction for use of text speak won't sort out.
It's a learning process.
I mean, who reads the rules?

rebelraider
28/12/2011, 11:35 PM
Pa O'Brien ringmahon junior player also approached by doughlas hall and mayfield but as far as i know
wants to stay at ringmahon this season

mayfield utd
29/12/2011, 12:37 AM
Alrite lads,Anyone looking for a game wed/thurs 28th/29th ? Killumney utd will travel to play ye pm or evening. Contact Derek 087 9475627 if interested. Cheers.i think our seniors played ye tonight,any score for me as i didn't get up to watch it

ringmahon4ever
29/12/2011, 9:29 AM
yer seniors played ringmahon last night 3 all good game to blow off a bit of xmas steam!!!!

boiled egg
29/12/2011, 10:35 AM
Anybody got the fixtures for next week ?

30/12/2011, 2:07 PM
UCC 1-1 Avondale this morning

villaman10
03/01/2012, 1:17 PM
well lads, anymore transfers?? been very quite here the last couple of weeks!!

townhall tez
05/01/2012, 9:16 PM
Ken Murphy back at Avondale and Graham McCarthy now registered despite Flanagans best efforts to scupper it.

Clifford
05/01/2012, 9:21 PM
Off to Ringmahon on Sat arvo to do battle with the lads again. Looking forward to it as always. Been so long without a game now every team should be chomping at the bit.

Best of luck to one and all this weekend. How ye fixed Ring4ever? Any injuries I should know about???? Eh??? :D

Chiefscout
06/01/2012, 10:02 AM
Mcbride from mayfield joining leeside

Silly Billy G
06/01/2012, 12:58 PM
Douglas Hall v Blarney now sunday morning, looking forward to it. Blarney have a great record down in Douglas and are very rarely beaten there, douglas do well out in Blarney too for some reason.
Are Douglas after losing a lot of their star men recently ?

code red
06/01/2012, 1:10 PM
They played earlier in the season and Blarney got a late goal to get a share of the points.Douglas have lost Kevin Mull and Deccie is still taking a break.Not sure if Graham Mc has left or not.Not too sure if they have signed anyone.It wouldn't be for the lack of trying anyway.
Blarney could be without a few up there.By all accounts they have suspensions and alot of injuries.