View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 [131] 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

corkgaffer
19/11/2012, 12:26 PM
Well done last weekend to Crofton Celtic on their draw away to Wilton. I watched the game myself having no game ourselves and I have to give credit were it is due. They never stopped for the whole 90 minutes and despite the difficult conditions and the unfortunate event early in the second half they played on and managed to get a well earned share of the spoils. Well done

corkgaffer
19/11/2012, 12:35 PM
Cheers Freddie, still a learning curve for us and we're deffo competitive which is all we can ask first time up v this level of opponent.

Any news on Hall v UCC lads?

All you can do Clifford is stay honest to yourselves and stay competitive. Id say not too many clubs looking forward to the trip to Fermoy. I was very impressed when we visited and what Ive seen and heard since. Its always great to read your posts. They are always honest and full of enthusiasm for the situation you find yourself in win or lose. Midleton on their day can be a handful for sure we were on the receiving end of a 6-0 lashing away to them and then caught them on an off day the following week at home. Lots of football to be played between now and next April. Ive picked out my teams who I think will go down and you'll be glad to know Clifford your not one of them. Best of Luck

El Patron
19/11/2012, 8:39 PM
Everton looks doomed so early in the season. Can't see them getting a result away to Fermoy. Doesn't help when the Rockmount team is made up of mercenaries from Togher who should be playing for Everton.

CIT and Leeds flying in the 1st Div. Wouldn't rule Bandon out but with only 2 going up you'd have to go for the CIT and Leeds.

from what i heard it was a superb result for crofton. looks like Wilton don't have the bottle for it which the same can't be said for Glasheen and Mallow (my tips to go up) who both had good away wins.

pirlo
19/11/2012, 10:17 PM
Really enjoying the season, their has been some great games so far this year. I think its going to be very tight throughout. I hear that marys gave a good account of them selves against rockmount and i dont think it'll be long before they get themselves out of their current situation. midleton, fermoy and corinthians are off to a great start and come sunday afternoon midleton could be on top off the league, only for a week i know but it could happen. Douglas seem to be struggling for consistency at the moment and could find themselves being dragged into a relegation fight if they dont start picking up 3 points instead of their recent 1...Then there is UCC, who knows how their season will go, do they have any interset in this league or are they using it as preparation for the colin wood cup?..Avondale still the team to beat!! ISN'T IT A GREAT LEAGUE TO BE INVOLVED WITH!! BRING IT ON..

Clifford
19/11/2012, 11:30 PM
Douglas hall up against UCC again this weekend? Unusual to say the least.

Clifford
19/11/2012, 11:35 PM
All you can do Clifford is stay honest to yourselves and stay competitive. Id say not too many clubs looking forward to the trip to Fermoy. I was very impressed when we visited and what Ive seen and heard since. Its always great to read your posts. They are always honest and full of enthusiasm for the situation you find yourself in win or lose. Midleton on their day can be a handful for sure we were on the receiving end of a 6-0 lashing away to them and then caught them on an off day the following week at home. Lots of football to be played between now and next April. Ive picked out my teams who I think will go down and you'll be glad to know Clifford your not one of them. Best of Luck

Cheers again CG, we are certainly enjoying the experience and giving it 110% each week is all we can look for. It's a fantastic honour to be involved in such a prestigious league and I wish you guys well in hopefully joining us in a few seasons assuming we can hold on til ye join us.

Long and no doubt entertaining roads ahead of us and a lot of other clubs. Keeping the heads up when one or two results to against is the key to it all.

Silly Billy G
20/11/2012, 9:02 AM
Blarney United FC Full size all weather pitch is available to rent, if interested please contact Eoghan on 087-6408756

Chiefscout
22/11/2012, 1:12 PM
Rockmount v Avondale called off

22/11/2012, 2:16 PM
Rockmount v Avondale called offAvondale Park on Sunday.

El Patron
22/11/2012, 8:22 PM
Any chance Rockmount had of winning are now surely gone with the loss of home advantage

23/11/2012, 7:53 AM
Any chance Rockmount had of winning are now surely gone with the loss of home advantageRule Number 1 of MSL football, never write off Rockmount.

freddie04
23/11/2012, 9:26 PM
Midleton 3-st Mary's 3
a drraw in the end was probably a fair result in the end in a game where both Teams finished with ten men. St Mary's started very brightly and played some very good football in the first half ,if you we're a neutral you would have thought midleton were bottom of the table and not Mary's .
Mary's had a number of opportunities in the first 20 minutes and really should have taken advantage off their superior football. Midleton had a man sent off after 30 minutes and he deserved to be sent off despite the protest from the locals. Mary's made them pay and went one up from a set piece and really deserved to be ahead at half time.

The second half started with Mary's playing better and went two up from a awful mistake from the midleton goalkeeper palming the ball into the net from a cross that was easier to punch clear. 2 nil and u think game over and this is where the game changed midleton started to play football with the intro of dave stack making a huge difference his deliveries were top class and caused Mary's all sorts of problems from free kicks and corners. From one of the corners midleton got one back and it was game on . St Mary's seem to go into their shell and look dead on their feet and midleton deserved to equaliser,again from great play from dave stack delivering a dangerous cross and caused a own goal from a mary's defender. Midleton kept going and great play from Alan o'flynn rounding the goalkeeper and the defender on the line preventing the goal being scored with his arm straight red and a penalty which Flynn dispatched .

Give credit to st Mary's they could have felt sorry for themselves loosing a two goal lead but the struck back to equalise another cross into the box causing trouble and the midfield scored through a crowded goalmouth. The last ten minutes was wide open but not to many chances to win it for either team.

Midleton will probably be disappointed to loose the lead but in fairness st Mary's did not deserve to loose. Still only a point for them when they need to start picking up three to get off the bottom. Midleton are killing themselves for the last two week to play the majority of the 90 minutes with only 10 men but show real battling qualities to come back.

Overall a entertaining match on a cold night in knock griffin fair play to both teams.

Clifford
23/11/2012, 9:38 PM
Sounds mental game Freddie. Showing yet again that from top to bottom this league is incredibly tough.

Everton at home Sunday for us is another mouth watering clash this early in the season.

striker09
24/11/2012, 9:39 AM
football bloody football !!!!! midleton 3 st. marys 3 .....thats why we love football

striker09
24/11/2012, 9:47 AM
@freddie it was nil all at half time

fifa
24/11/2012, 3:02 PM
Ringmahon 2-1 CIT

ringmahon4ever
24/11/2012, 4:24 PM
great win for ringmahon today. bout time we got a bit of luck

corkey121
24/11/2012, 4:25 PM
Ringmahon 2-1 CIT

A deserved 3 points in the end had 5 good chances.down to ten ringmahon were...and one down.tipical ringmahon to grind an important win..cit down to ten with 2 mins to go

25/11/2012, 9:48 AM
Rockmount v Avondale called off
Off again

Glenbuck
25/11/2012, 11:05 AM
A lot of surface water on pitch in fairness. Possibility it could be played on Tuesday in Whitechurch.

Clifford
25/11/2012, 11:24 AM
Fermoy v Everton.

Game called off. Pitch was very soft, rain was belting down and after a simple warm up drill on the pitch it was already cutting up and would have been dangerous in the tackle. Would have been played in my day, but hey we used to allow a lot of things back then!!!

A tough one for Everton to take as they had travelled, but correct decision in the opinion of both managers, the ref and the groundsmen.

No game next week for us now, if anyone wants a friendly pls let me know.

tricksey
25/11/2012, 11:31 AM
Ucc v the hall off

Mighty almighty
25/11/2012, 12:06 PM
Can't believe any team had to travel this morning,some of the best pitches in cork were very soft yesterday,never mind the rain over night.

Glenbuck
25/11/2012, 6:31 PM
Everton looks doomed so early in the season. Can't see them getting a result away to Fermoy. Doesn't help when the Rockmount team is made up of mercenaries from Togher who should be playing for Everton.

CIT and Leeds flying in the 1st Div. Wouldn't rule Bandon out but with only 2 going up you'd have to go for the CIT and Leeds.

from what i heard it was a superb result for crofton. looks like Wilton don't have the bottle for it which the same can't be said for Glasheen and Mallow (my tips to go up) who both had good away wins.Mercenaries from Togher. Harsh words. Can you explain in more detail.

tricksey
25/11/2012, 8:14 PM
Mercenaries from Togher. Harsh words. Can you explain in more detail.

I presume he s talking about willy and chrisy burns mark power and terry white.

25/11/2012, 8:16 PM
A lot of surface water on pitch in fairness. Possibility it could be played on Tuesday in Whitechurch.The earlier in the week the better i'd guess but i'm not so sure either team would be too keen to play this the week of Intermediate Cup trips to the Pale.
Final set for Decmber 7th in the Cross so maybe December 4th?

Silly Billy G
26/11/2012, 8:49 AM
Can't believe any team had to travel this morning,some of the best pitches in cork were very soft yesterday,never mind the rain over night.

I was up at College Corinthians v Blarney on saturday and the pitch was immaculate - best I have seen in years. Good game of football too, College were mad to play ball from the back (i thought they would get caught out but they kept at it). College won 1-0 and Blarney missed a late penalty, which being fair was never a spotter. Blarney lad slipped and keeper never touched him but the ref was the other side of it.
Keane Cup semi this was , Pat Keane back centre half for Blarney and he looked like he never was away, excellent throughout.
College a right young, fit and speedy bunch, mad to whip it wide and run at teams, good side in fairness to them.

Glenbuck
26/11/2012, 10:30 AM
I presume he s talking about willy and chrisy burns mark power and terry white.
I always thought Willie and Chris were from Pouladuff area. Maybe Denis Irwin should have never left either. Go away ow dat!!!!

tricksey
26/11/2012, 12:04 PM
I'm not backing him up glenbuck I'm just saying that's who I presume he was talking about with them players playing with Everton last season.

K.C.
26/11/2012, 4:27 PM
I always thought Willie and Chris were from Pouladuff area. Maybe Denis Irwin should have never left either. Go away ow dat!!!!

Willie and Chris are from Nuns Walk. About a minutes walk from Ballyphehane Park so maybe they should be playing with Kilreen Celtic. Ye are welcome anytime lads ;)

1fortheTeam
26/11/2012, 4:37 PM
Willie and Chris are from Nuns Walk. About a minutes walk from Ballyphehane Park so maybe they should be playing with Kilreen Celtic. Ye are welcome anytime lads ;)hee hee city boy or country boy,, northside or southside football is football fine players out there .my point a few weeks ago.

El Patron
28/11/2012, 5:25 PM
guys who show no loyalty to a club or area. up and over the bridge when it suits. i know football is like this but honestly the guys in question are mein feiners. Rockmount is a great club with a long tradition but wouldn't it be nice to see some of their underage getting a chance. This would surely make success even more sweater. As for Everton where would they be if they stuck together, not bottom of the league and certain for relegation anyway.detail provided

fifa
28/11/2012, 7:22 PM
Maybe if they showed a bit more loyalty to last years manager who brought them to the intermediate cup semi final the so called mercenaries wouldn't have left

29/11/2012, 9:17 AM
There are very few players one club players anymore in any walk of football.
It's probably a good thing that people have the freewill to choose but like everything, can be taken too far.

04/12/2012, 2:47 PM
Donie Forde Trophy Draw

Quarter Finals

1. Avondale Utd v Mayfield Utd
2. Rockmount v St Marys
3. CIT v UCC
4. Youghal Utd v Fermoy

Semi-Finals:

1 v 2
4 v 3

Quarter Finals to be played week ending January 4th to 6th

El Patron
06/12/2012, 11:58 PM
Rockmount and Avondale sunday morning should be a cracker especially with a place in a cup final at stake. Should be a good test for Rockmount and especially the new additions to the team. You'd have to fancy Avondale but with home advantage for Rockmount there won't be much in it. From what i've seen of Rockmount they are a work in progress which can't be said for Avondale who have quality all over the park and on the bench. Games like these really show what players are really made of and highlight the average player from the player with that bit of class. League or Keane cup when it comes to these two neither will want to lose. No place to hide at Rockmount Park sunday morning. Prediction Rockmount 1-2 Avondale

el nino coro
07/12/2012, 11:41 AM
Rockmount and Avondale sunday morning should be a cracker especially with a place in a cup final at stake. Should be a good test for Rockmount and especially the new additions to the team. You'd have to fancy Avondale but with home advantage for Rockmount there won't be much in it. From what i've seen of Rockmount they are a work in progress which can't be said for Avondale who have quality all over the park and on the bench. Games like these really show what players are really made of and highlight the average player from the player with that bit of class. League or Keane cup when it comes to these two neither will want to lose. No place to hide at Rockmount Park sunday morning. Prediction Rockmount 1-2 Avondale

9/4 Rockmount 5/2 Draw 4/5 Avondale from PP

corkey121
07/12/2012, 11:51 AM
Get on avondale all the way rock mount lost to a poor st pats teams last week in Dublin. While the dale were across the other side of city beating cherry orchard

el nino coro
07/12/2012, 12:18 PM
Get on avondale all the way rock mount lost to a poor st pats teams last week in Dublin. While the dale were across the other side of city beating cherry orchard

Agreed corkey!!!

El Patron
07/12/2012, 7:03 PM
There midfield is relatively new, no stand out players to be fair. Dave Aherne has been called upon, was a decent player in his day but couldn't image Avondale worrying about him or the others in there to be fair. It's Rockmounts keeper and defence which look top notch. I can see Rockmount recruiting shortly but don't know of anyone coming for def (ross o callaghan back). They will have to strengthen if they want to be there or there abouts come the end of the season.

ringmahon4ever
07/12/2012, 10:36 PM
beat youghal tonight 3-0.

Clifford
08/12/2012, 7:00 PM
Did Ucc and Midleton play today in the league?

Clifford
08/12/2012, 7:36 PM
Apparently 2-1 to UCC over Midleton.

El Patron
09/12/2012, 8:26 AM
Excellent win for UCC. Was at the game and they thoroughly deserved the win. Handbags at the end of the game aswell.

09/12/2012, 1:20 PM
Rockmount 0-2 Avondale this morning.

Glenbuck
09/12/2012, 1:26 PM
Bad morning for us this morning from start to finish. Started the game with 10. Keeper had to get out of a sick bed to play. Fair play to Dale. Played well. Whilst not making any match defining decisions I genuinely thought the referee this morning had a very poor game. Very quick with the cards. It was hardly a dirty game.

Clifford
09/12/2012, 2:45 PM
Douglas hall 2-0 Fermoy.

A good first half from Fermoy deserved a goal of two. Never came, blatant spotter not given after a two footed assault by the keeper on a player through one on one.

Second half barely on when a slip at the back left in their winger who we fouled for a clear pen. Scored and thn we had to chase it. Couple of half chances were not taken. They broke and clinically scored a second.

Roll on Corinthians next week.

pirlo
09/12/2012, 3:31 PM
Excellent win for UCC. Was at the game and they thoroughly deserved the win. Handbags at the end of the game aswell.
Watched the game and thought both teams deserved a draw. Midleton certainly had enough chances. Ucc played well though. Midleton keeper had a nightmare.

Chiefscout
09/12/2012, 5:02 PM
Watched the game and thought both teams deserved a draw. Midleton certainly had enough chances. Ucc played well though. Midleton keeper had a nightmare.
What it "seba".if it was it doesn't surprise me or won't anyone else that has seen him play

AvondaleNutter
10/12/2012, 8:59 AM
Bad morning for us this morning from start to finish. Started the game with 10. Keeper had to get out of a sick bed to play. Fair play to Dale. Played well. Whilst not making any match defining decisions I genuinely thought the referee this morning had a very poor game. Very quick with the cards. It was hardly a dirty game.

I think the 4 cards that rockmount got from which i remember were deserved. 3 were for telling the referee to F**k off, and one was a tackle from behind. All yellow cards in the rule book. Avondale played well and it was like backs and forwards when Rockmount had 10 men. Goals by Chubbs and Graham McCarthy was enough. It wasn't like the old Rockmout Avondale battles we've seen in recent years but I can't see anybody but Corinthians challenging Avondale this year. The final against Corinthians will be a great game i'd imagine.