View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

Clifford
29/10/2007, 8:07 PM
Munster Senior League
FAI Oscar Traynor Trophy:
Limerick League 1 Munster Senior League 1;

Floodlit League:
College Corinthians 1 Crofton Celtic 0;
Casement Celtic A 0 Everton 0;

FAI Intermediate Cup 1st round replays:
Cobh Wanderers 1 Passage 1, Cobh Wanderers won 4-2 on pens;
Glasheen 1 Tramore Athletic 2;
Ballinhassig 2 CIT 1;
Castleview 0 Mallow Utd 1;

Donie Forde Trophy sf:
Avondale Utd 1 Everton 1, (Avondale won 4-3 on pens);

Premier Division:
UCC 2 Blarney Utd 2;

Div 1:
Ballincollig 5 Ringmahon 3;
Mayfield Utd 1 College Corinthians 0;
Leeds 1 Fermoy 0;

Div 2:
Temple Mount Celtic 2 Lakewood Ath 2;
Midleton 2 Casement Celtic 0;

Junior Premier Div:
Crosshaven 2 Midleton 5;
Carrigaline Utd 2 UCC Academicals 0;
Ringmahon Rangers A 2 Avondale Utd 1;
St Mary’s 2 UCC A 3;

Div 1:
Brooklodge Utd 3 Cobh Wanderers 1;
CIT 0 Mayfield Utd 6;
College Corinthians A 2 Temple Mount Celtic 1;
Fermoy 5 Tramore Ath 0;
Glasheen 5 Crofton Celtic 2.

Clifford
09/11/2007, 10:20 PM
Mount away to Wanderers tomorrow, tough game to get a result from.

Clifford
10/11/2007, 8:11 PM
Cobh Wanderers 0-2 Rockmount

Lovely November day away to Wanderers today. Mount won it comfortably, could have been 3/4 nil at half time, but they went in 0-0. Ruari Beech bagged a class goal after 1 min of the second half and Ross the goal machine recently bagged another on the hour mark. Wanderers had one great chance at 1-0 which Slatts saved brilliantly, but other than that it was a stroll in the park. Cobh are a decent side and with some more experience will give teams problems. They are very lively and pass it well, just need someone up front who will give teams real problems.

Best for Mount on the day were the back 6, the 3 midfielders and the 2 up front. Ha ha. They all did their jobs well.

gee wizz
11/11/2007, 11:20 AM
wasn't as easy as that in cobh for rockmount only for 2 outstanding saves from the mount goalkeeper in the secound half it could have been a draw as for the first have it could have been 2 nil at least but for some very poor finishing from the two upfront for rockmount,

Clifford
12/11/2007, 1:01 PM
Yes it was. The save was indeed top class when it was needed, but Wanderers didn't have a shot up til then. Mount had 7/8 great chances in the first half.

Never out of second gear. But, as I said above Cobh W will become a decent side the more they play in this division, excellent young passing side. Fair play, other teams will struggle down there indeed.

gee wizz
12/11/2007, 2:09 PM
Yes it was. The save was indeed top class when it was needed, but Wanderers didn't have a shot up til then. Mount had 7/8 great chances in the first half.

Never out of second gear. But, as I said above Cobh W will become a decent side the more they play in this division, excellent young passing side. Fair play, other teams will struggle down there indeed.

fair enough will take that small bit of praise at this time, hopefully the wanderers can go on and surprise the rest of the league and give a good account of themselves for the season,

Clifford
12/11/2007, 4:29 PM
fair enough will take that small bit of praise at this time, hopefully the wanderers can go on and surprise the rest of the league and give a good account of themselves for the season,

I hope they do, need new blood in the mix now some of the previous recently promoted clubs have fallen apart...:D

Was there a lot of work done on the pitch? It was very good on Saturday and some people said it was all changed from previous visit's.

Edit: that was a large chunk of praise earlier by the way, nothing comes easy on here....

12/11/2007, 8:39 PM
Edit: that was a large chunk of praise earlier by the way, nothing comes easy on here....You're going soft. :D

Clifford
12/11/2007, 11:09 PM
You're going soft. :D

I like to think of it as setting them up for the big blow out later in the season!

Dale shipping a lot of goals, any chance of Dave the Save coming back? Looks like they need him.

gee wizz
13/11/2007, 8:37 AM
I like to think of it as setting them up for the big blow out later in the season!

Dale shipping a lot of goals, any chance of Dave the Save coming back? Looks like they need him.

More hope of him signing for the wanderers as he is in cobh all the time now,heard they lost a couple of players and have a few out injured at the mo,as for the wanderers pitch it was moved over by about ten feet to allow for a training area just outside the dressing room about ten new lights have been put up as well,the pitch was excellant saturday it is just getting better and better now but at the start of the season it was pretty poor but they are after investing a lot of time and money since the club got promoted.

Clifford
17/11/2007, 1:50 PM
Blarney 0-1 Rockmount

Pat Keane's goal won a scrappy encounter in poor conditions on Saturday afternoon. Blarney played very well, but couldn't put away any of their chances. First half ended
0-0, Ken Hoey made a run early in the second half led to a melee in the penalty area which Keane put a toe on. Tough outing for the Champions, but again they came through with flying colours.

AvondaleNutter
17/11/2007, 4:27 PM
A game dominated by the Dale but just couldn't find the net. Passage keeper was inspired for the day while their goal led a charmed life. Noel Hartigan plugged the gap at the back. John Cotter & Michael Kieranan played best for the Dale. Shakey performance from Brendan O'Connell in the Avondale goal. Will be lucky to stay in the team based on his current form.

Avondale No1
18/11/2007, 12:22 PM
A game dominated by the Dale but just couldn't find the net. Passage keeper was inspired for the day while their goal led a charmed life. Noel Hartigan plugged the gap at the back. John Cotter & Michael Kieranan played best for the Dale. Shakey performance from Brendan O'Connell in the Avondale goal. Will be lucky to stay in the team based on his current form.

Good to see Hargy back in the side. First clean sheet in a while. It would appear that Andy Goulding has been frozen out of senior affairs. My sources tell me that he will play with the Junior team now. Won't be too surprised to see Buckley Barry in goal at the Cross next Sunday night against Rockmount in the Donie Forde Cup Final. I see another away trip for the Dale in the FAI Cup. Anyone know anything about Dalky? I assume Avondale will travel the night before as in previous years. Might be under more pressure this year if the junior team beat Leeds next Sunday then they will be in the open draw for FAI Junior Cup! Could be also on the road. :eek:

Clifford
18/11/2007, 11:10 PM
Welcome to the Dale lads, don't know much about Dalky all trips to Dublin are difficult and I can't see Dale changing the format that has worked so well last two seasons. Next Saturday should be a good one. All out at each other this early on in the season with nothing to lose on either side.

Clifford
19/11/2007, 11:58 AM
The Donie Forde is on Sunday evening I believe..at 7.30pm.

Avondale No1
19/11/2007, 6:56 PM
The Donie Forde is on Sunday evening I believe..at 7.30pm.

That is correct. Rockmount should go into this one as favourites. The game might be a bit too early for the Dale. Still a lot of the new players not settled in just yet. I would expect to see goals in the game. Both Danny Kelly and David Welch seem to have their scoring boots on at the moment. Rockmount are always likely to score. Should be an interesting test for both sides.

Clifford
20/11/2007, 10:41 AM
Mount are closing in on 8 clean sheets in a row, but haven't met opposition like this yet this season. Mount are also bedding in some new players, but granted not as many as Dale. It's going to be an early indicator of how things will pan out over the season. Lot's of Dale's new players are very experienced so nothing to worry about there I imagine.

Yoda01
21/11/2007, 1:07 PM
hello all!! looing forward to that game on sunday alright, should be a cracker from the 2 top teams in cork at the moment!

25/11/2007, 10:33 PM
Donie Forde Cup Final
Avondale Utd 1-1 Rockmount AET
Avondale won 13-12 on pens

Clifford
25/11/2007, 11:40 PM
It was a cracker Yoda, it sure was in the end. Two excellent sides to be fair.

Rockmount scored in the 1st five minutes when Micky Deasy snapped up a knock down from a corner. A goal so early can be a bad thing sometimes and in this instance Avondale took the bull by the horns and got amongst the Rockmount midfield and back four with some determination. They were probably the better side without any real threat before half time. When Mount broke it was with purpose and a ding dong battle followed. Avondale got their equaliser in the second half when their pressure finally told, again it was from a corner being knocked on, two almost identical goals. Neither keeper with any chance. The rest of the game peetered out a bit, extra time was bossed by Mount, but with only one real chance coming from it when Ross couldn't lift a through ball from Deasy over the keeper.

Penalties are nasty whatever way you look at it, but in this set of spotters you could only have sympathy for both keepers as 24 first class efforts went in the top and bottom corners in a row. Eventually one was saved, but it's of no fault to any player that such a game should end like this. A fair draw and well done to Dale for getting the cup at the end of it.

Two very very well matched sides on the night, Tony Tynan was man of the match in my opinion for Dale (though the big centre back got the official one) and Mount could point to Willie Byrne or Stevie Yelverton as their best on the night.

Avondale No1
26/11/2007, 12:04 PM
I thought Avondale deserved the victory on the night. They let in an early soft goal but apart from that were the better team. It's obvious from this game that there is not much between the sides and dare I say that we saw the best two teams in the league if not the country go head to head:D. A good boost for the Dale but I don't think it will count for anything at the business end of the season. I thought young Horgan did very well at the back and deserved his man of the match award. Michael Kiernan also played very well alongside him. Home to Carrigaline next Saturday in the league. Always a tough one. Avondale currently second last in the table:eek:

26/11/2007, 2:05 PM
Nice picture of Kieran Buckley Barry saving the 26th penalty on the back of todays Echo.

Yoda01
26/11/2007, 2:25 PM
sounds like a cracker of a game, going mad i missed it! who missed the decisive kick then?

Avondale No1
26/11/2007, 5:47 PM
sounds like a cracker of a game, going mad i missed it! who missed the decisive kick then?

James "Jammer" Cummins. Came on as a sub late in the game. Had scored his original pen but missed second time around. Nice photo's in tonights Echo. Rockmount sure to be hurting after seeing that:D

Clifford
26/11/2007, 11:20 PM
Oh yeah, gutted the Donie Forde isn't sitting on the mantle piece this morning....Razor told me 2 seasons ago it wasn't worth getting excited about so I won't.

As you said Dale no1, it was a good work out between two cracking sides. An intermediate cup final showdown would be a cracker as they are both so dominant in that cup for the last few years. Fingers crossed.

Yoda01
27/11/2007, 8:19 AM
Oh yeah, gutted the Donie Forde isn't sitting on the mantle piece this morning....Razor told me 2 seasons ago it wasn't worth getting excited about so I won't.

i'm sure rockmount aren't gutted but it's always nice to win a final if you get there! these 2 must be favourites for the intermediate cup this year i reckon!!

Avondale No1
29/11/2007, 12:11 PM
It's back to league action this weekend. All games on Saturday due to FAI Senior Cup Final. The Dale at home to Carrigaline will be a tough one. Even though Carrigaline got turned over last weekend these fixtures are always close given the proximety of both grounds. Dale should have enough to take them on Saturday. What odds on Danny Kelly scoring against his former club? Should be full of confidence following Donie Forde success. Then the big one in Dublin the week after. Just to note Avondale Juniors are also on the road for the FAI Junior Cup. Drawn away to New Ross Celtic of the Wexford District League. Not sure what standard that league is but will be interesting all the same.

gee wizz
29/11/2007, 1:32 PM
Clonmel Town V Grattan Utd or St.Marys
Ballynanty Rvs V Killarney Celtic or Ringmahon Rgrs
Carrick Utd V Rockmount V Douglas Hall or Abbeyfeale
Carrigaline Utd V Cobh Wanderers or C.i.t

Note: The four teams remaining after the 3rd round will join Cobh Ramblers, Cork City,
Limerick 37 and Waterford Utd in the quarter final draw

Clifford
29/11/2007, 9:23 PM
UCC at home for the Champions, hoping to get the show on the road again. Always a tough game against the stuuuuudents.

gee wizz
30/11/2007, 9:10 AM
UCC at home for the Champions, hoping to get the show on the road again. Always a tough game against the stuuuuudents.

rockmount should come through this one,students have two very lively players on the right,but rockmount should be too strong for them every where else on the pitch

gee wizz
01/12/2007, 6:33 PM
Avondale 1 V Carrigaline 3
Blarney 2 V Douglas Hall 4
Castleview 2 V Everton 0
Cobh Wanderers 2 V Passage 0
Rockmount 2 V Ucc 1

Clifford
01/12/2007, 10:31 PM
Rockmount 2-1 UCC
On a miserable, wet day the Champions saw off a very tough UCC side in the right manner and won through against a very tasty young College side. The first half was a tight affair with both sides having good possesion, Mount having some decent half chances, UCC never testing Slatts at the other end. A great catch by the keeper from a long Pat Keane throw was undone when he threw the ball straight at the back of a retreating Micky Deasy, who in turn cooly slotted the ball to his right for the returning Pat Oldham to bury with aplomb. The start of the second half saw UCC's first effort on goal and but for a stunning save the game would have been level. Rockmount then went on to dominate the game and scored a tidy second goal when subs Alan O Connor and Ruari Beechinor combined less than 2 mins after coming on to seal the points, Beech slotting home. A master substitution by Clarky, Sully and Al Martin. If only Billy would listen to them more often!! UCC scored a screamer with 10 left and applied a bit of renewed effort without getting into the box. With a few mins left a bad decision aggrived the UCC players and two of their lads went what can only be described as "bananas" with the ref and he had no choice but to yeild the red card not once, but twice.

Clifford
01/12/2007, 10:33 PM
Just saw the above results, interesting. :cool:

ramsfan
03/12/2007, 2:19 AM
crazy students, running around mad like all over the place:p

gee wizz
04/12/2007, 2:22 PM
Good luck to all the cork teams still in the cup especially the ones heading to dublin on sunday for there ties,hopefully ye will get the results ye are looking for up there

Clifford
04/12/2007, 2:45 PM
LEAGUE TABLE

1 Rockmount 4 12
2 Cobh Wanderers 7 11
3 Douglas Hall 4 10
4 Carrigaline Utd 7 9
5 Passage 6 8
6 Everton 6 7
7 UCC 6 6
8 Castleview 7 6
9 Blarney Utd 6 5
10 Avondale Utd 3 4

gee wizz
05/12/2007, 3:23 PM
the top of the table looks good like that can we fast forward to april 2008 please please

Clifford
05/12/2007, 3:34 PM
the top of the table looks good like that can we fast forward to april 2008 please please

No arguments here, you get onto God to sort it out!! :D

gee wizz
06/12/2007, 8:01 AM
no go with god he wants to play out the rest of the season to see will anyone beat the mount in the league

Clifford
07/12/2007, 1:10 PM
Who knows what way it will pan out, but Mount will give it everything and see what happens as will all the rest I know.

gee wizz
07/12/2007, 2:15 PM
Who knows what way it will pan out, but Mount will give it everything and see what happens as will all the rest I know.

correct as always clifford,can see it coming down to a 2 horse race with the 2 form teams being rockmount and douglas hall:eek:

Clifford
16/12/2007, 7:33 PM
Gee whiz in physic shocker...

Castleview 0-1 Mount
Avondale 2-3 Douglas Hall (don't know who was at home)

16/12/2007, 7:39 PM

Castleview 0-1 Mount
Avondale 2-3 Douglas Hall (don't know who was at home)Think Dale were at home, Hall were 3 up with 5 minutes left.

Clifford
16/12/2007, 10:33 PM
Cheers Razor.

Mount had a difficult task against a young Castleview outfit, but were never in trouble and should have scored more. Alan O Connor netted the winner.

gee wizz
17/12/2007, 9:03 AM

Castleview 0-1 Mount
Avondale 2-3 Douglas Hall (don't know who was at home)

cheers cliff,looking forward to playing douglas hall in the next few weeks,will see then if they are real title contenders

Clifford
17/12/2007, 11:20 AM
LEAGUE TABLE
Ply Pts
1 Rockmount 5 15
2 Douglas Hall 5 13
3 Cobh Wanderers 7 11
4 UCC 7 9
5 Carrigaline Utd 7 9
6 Everton 7 8
7 Passage 7 8
8 Blarney Utd 7 6
9 Castleview 8 6
10 Avondale Utd 4 4

mayfield utd
17/12/2007, 6:30 PM
hi i'm new 2 this site as u can tell by my user name i'm a mayfield utd man.cilifford what this i heard that steph hurley has left rockmount and come back home 2 play 4 us.what happen was he not good enough 2 get a game with ye,i haven't seen him playing yet i think mayfield don't have a game till after xmas

Yoda01
18/12/2007, 1:59 PM
hi i'm new 2 this site as u can tell by my user name i'm a mayfield utd man.cilifford what this i heard that steph hurley has left rockmount and come back home 2 play 4 us.what happen was he not good enough 2 get a game with ye,i haven't seen him playing yet i think mayfield don't have a game till after xmas

that would be a great signing for mayfield if true, and imo would put ye right up there for one of the 2 promtion spots as yere not that far off at the moment!

Clifford
18/12/2007, 2:06 PM
Yeah Steph has gone to Mayfield I hear. Sad to see such a good player move on. I suppose he thought he wasnt't getting the starts he deserved, but in a squad the size of Rockmounts you need to accept that sort of rotation. The last two Intermediate players of the year aren't even guaranteed a start the way it is now. Steph has done everything at this level though and I'll be sad to see him go as I always enjoyed the whole hearted way he performed. Best of luck Hurley man, hope it goes well at Mayfield. We'll miss ya.

Yoda01
18/12/2007, 3:14 PM
Yeah Steph has gone to Mayfield I hear. Sad to see such a good player move on. I suppose he thought he wasnt't getting the starts he deserved, but in a squad the size of Rockmounts you need to accept that sort of rotation. The last two Intermediate players of the year aren't even guaranteed a start the way it is now. Steph has done everything at this level though and I'll be sad to see him go as I always enjoyed the whole hearted way he performed. Best of luck Hurley man, hope it goes well at Mayfield. We'll miss ya.

hi clifford, as a matter of interest how many players are in the mount squad??