View Full Version : Norwegian court convicts first woman for rape

28/04/2005, 2:55 PM
Norwegian court convicts first woman for rape:

OSLO (Reuters) - A Norwegian court has sentenced a woman to nine months in jail for raping a man, the first such conviction in the Scandinavian country that prides itself for its egalitarianism.

The 31-year-old man fell asleep on a sofa at a party in January last year and told the court in the western city of Bergen he woke to find the 23-year-old woman was having oral sex with him.

Under Norwegian law, all sexual acts with someone who is "unconscious or for other reasons unable to oppose the act" are considered rape.

The court sentenced the woman on Wednesday to nine months in jail and ordered her to pay 40,000 Norwegian crowns (3,300 crowns) in compensation.

"This is a very harsh sentence," the woman's lawyer, Per Magne Kristiansen, told the Norwegian news agency NTB. The woman argued the man had been awake and consented.

The prosecutor had sought a 10-month sentence and argued the court should not be more lenient with a woman than a man. It was Norway's first conviction of a woman for rape.

Norway has long traditions of equality -- 40 percent of the cabinet of Prime Minister Kjell Magne Bondevik, for instance, are women.

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/050428/325/fhhkw.html
-----------------------------------------------

the amount of times thats happened me and they have gotten away with it, i should have sued like him!!!! :D

Dublin12
28/04/2005, 3:16 PM
:eek: :eek: I must remember that if I ever happen to fall asleep drunk at a party in Oslo :p

28/04/2005, 3:20 PM
Whens the next plane to Oslo and are they serving drink. :D

28/04/2005, 3:29 PM
I must remember that if I ever happen to fall asleep drunk at a party in Oslo

you mean, you must remember to fall asleep at the next party you attend in oslo ;)

in fairness though ( unless she was a right minger) surely you wouldnt at worst put her up for rape?!?!?! in this sorta situation you can just go what the fook are ye at...though as hard as i try to think i still dont see how you(or I) could say that :D

28/04/2005, 4:28 PM
you mean, you must remember to fall asleep at the next party you attend in oslo ;)

in fairness though ( unless she was a right minger) surely you wouldnt at worst put her up for rape?!?!?! in this sorta situation you can just go what the fook are ye at...though as hard as i try to think i still dont see how you(or I) could say that :D

:D :D

Why the hell would she want to do that to a guy who was sleeping? She must've been totally plastered/on drugs/out of her mind/desperate :eek:

28/04/2005, 4:31 PM
She must've been totally plastered/on drugs/out of her mind/desperate

ya but she is still more than welcome to knock on my door :D

kerrs, i reckon it was that she was a right minger hehe

Gareth
28/04/2005, 4:35 PM
It's an odd one really. There could be background to it. She may of been on drugs or had serious mouth ulcers or somesuch thing. I am sure its more to it than your lying on a couch and a girl decides you look like a handy option!! I think 99% of guys I know would be telling the story in the pub the next week of some gal who did that to him whilst at a party instead of being in court on rape charges. So I imagine there was a little more to the story than sweet girl decides to kiss the boy of her dreams but got the wrong head!!

28/04/2005, 4:41 PM
gareth stop being logical and ruining it.

im sure there was more to it, its funny how you said she must have had mouth ulcers or something though, that really is hilarious as though it would have been ok only for she had mouth ulcers LOL.

hmm thats nice, oooh you never told me you have mouth ulcers, thats rape!

Gareth
28/04/2005, 4:43 PM
Too right. Too right.

28/04/2005, 4:55 PM
ya but she is still more than welcome to knock on my door :D

kerrs, i reckon it was that she was a right minger hehe

Maybe she injured him somewhat :eek: :D

monkey magic
28/04/2005, 5:02 PM
must ave been one helluva minger :D that r yer man is married an de wife found out :eek: :D

28/04/2005, 5:10 PM
that r yer man is married an de wife found out

classic.

dortie
28/04/2005, 8:11 PM
Mmmmm :eek:

Aye, looks like a case of the Mrs finding out.

28/04/2005, 8:23 PM
Mmmmm :eek:

Aye, looks like a case of the Mrs finding out.

Or when he woke up, this is what he saw :eek:

28/04/2005, 8:29 PM
:D :D :D Paul might still want her knocking on his door...... :eek: :D

Gerrit
28/04/2005, 10:02 PM
I do think it's somehow right that she gets a punishment, though I highly doubt the male victim was traumatised by it...

Question is though if we should only judge unwanted sex as being rape IF the victim is traumatised...

In Holland a man was caught while doing this sort of things to a horse, but he got away with because unvolunteered sexual acts were only punishable there when the victim can have a trauma because of it: "moral damage". And according to the judges, you cannot prove a horse can get traumatised, so the man was not convicted.
Because of this rather doubtable law though, the Netherlands changed their laws, after this trial they created a law that makes bestiality punishable.

In Belgium the law says it's only punishable when there is penetration, no matter which part of the body and no matter how... I think this is not very right, cause a victim can get just as traumatised even if the real act was not committed, just an attempt of any violence (including sexual) can be a very shocking experience that leaves traces.

Fair_play_boy
28/04/2005, 10:29 PM
I am trying to react to this thread as a serious matter, but one scene keeps repeating itself to me. This went to court, right? (All agreed). So the guy went to the cops, presumably. (Heads nodding sagely). Can you imagine the "victim" making his statement in the local cop shop? I can see the cop behind the desk, trying to keep a straight face. Or maybe it was a Norweigan bean garda, soothing him with the odd "Shocking, boy, shocking" kind of answer. :D

28/04/2005, 10:43 PM
had serious mouth ulcers or somesuch thing.

Is that how you're supposed to get rid of them? :D

28/04/2005, 10:59 PM
I am trying to react to this thread as a serious matter, but one scene keeps repeating itself to me. This went to court, right? (All agreed). So the guy went to the cops, presumably. (Heads nodding sagely). Can you imagine the "victim" making his statement in the local cop shop? I can see the cop behind the desk, trying to keep a straight face. Or maybe it was a Norweigan bean garda, soothing him with the odd "Shocking, boy, shocking" kind of answer. :D

:D True, but imagine her having to explain her criminal record to an employer etc now!!!! :eek: :D :D

29/04/2005, 3:05 PM
Is that how you're supposed to get rid of them?

why, you sound worried, are you looking for answers??

kerrs, maybe she would have to give a _demonstration_ of how she got a criminal record at the interview??? cos interviewers always like examples to demonstrate things

29/04/2005, 4:00 PM
why, you sound worried, are you looking for answers??

kerrs, maybe she would have to give a _demonstration_ of how she got a criminal record at the interview??? cos interviewers always like examples to demonstrate things

Jim Smith
29/04/2005, 4:29 PM
maybe she would have to give a _demonstration_ of how she got a criminal record at the interview??? cos interviewers always like examples to demonstrate thingsIf one of the interview panel is unconscious during your interview you're probably not going to get the job :D

Gerrit
29/04/2005, 10:13 PM
I think the average male HR officer wouldn't mind, assuming she's pretty of course. In this case, the criminal record could turn out to be an advantage :p

hamish
30/04/2005, 11:41 PM
I do think it's somehow right that she gets a punishment, though I highly doubt the male victim was traumatised by it...

Question is though if we should only judge unwanted sex as being rape IF the victim is traumatised...

In Holland a man was caught while doing this sort of things to a horse, but he got away with because unvolunteered sexual acts were only punishable there when the victim can have a trauma because of it: "moral damage". And according to the judges, you cannot prove a horse can get traumatised, so the man was not convicted.
Because of this rather doubtable law though, the Netherlands changed their laws, after this trial they created a law that makes bestiality punishable.

In Belgium the law says it's only punishable when there is penetration, no matter which part of the body and no matter how... I think this is not very right, cause a victim can get just as traumatised even if the real act was not committed, just an attempt of any violence (including sexual) can be a very shocking experience that leaves traces.
Sex with a horse, for fcuks sake! :eek: Don't like the way those sheep out in the back field are looking at me. Must get someone to strengthen the fence.

30/04/2005, 11:45 PM
Sex with a horse, for fcuks sake! :eek: Don't like the way those sheep out in the back field are looking at me. Must get someone to strengthen the fence.

:D :D :D

30/04/2005, 11:47 PM
Sex with a horse, for fcuks sake!
That reminds me of a great story :D I was reading a book a few years back called Fuhrer-Ex by a guy called Ingo Hasselbach, a former Neo-Nazi leader from east Berlin. Under the communist government in east germany he'd been jailed several times, and they were putting him in with some really strange people to try and freak him out. One guy they put him in with was a young farmer, who was a bit touched, kind of on the dozy side, and he'd been jailed for having sex with a cow. But........and this is the funny bit! :D Communist goverments/courts being what they were, he wasn't jailed for bestiality, but for "damage to the state economy" :D :D

hamish
01/05/2005, 12:01 AM
Ah Jeez, KT is laughing at me again, I can't run away you know, that's why I'm worried!
On a serious level, given the explosion in STD's everywhere, I don't think ANY bloke would be laughing if he contracted something!
Still, to be honest, 99% of rapes are initiated by men and, hopefully, the jocular nature of this thread will not obscure that. I'm stating the obvious but I think anyone who attempts any kind of forced sex would be on my pondlife list. I have two lady friends who were raped and they are still scarred - both rapes took place in the 1980s. You know, it's only when a friend/family member goes through this horrific situation that the enormity/outrage/disgust - chose your term - of rape really hits home. What the victim must feel like, even a friend finds it impossible to comfort them sometimes. especially if one is a male friend - if you follow me.
As for the animal sex crowd, they should see a fcuking therapist - they deserve to be laughed at. Sick cnuts.

01/05/2005, 12:05 AM
well said sirhamish

class story Eanna :D

hamish
01/05/2005, 12:06 AM
That reminds me of a great story :D I was reading a book a few years back called Fuhrer-Ex by a guy called Ingo Hasselbach, a former Neo-Nazi leader from east Berlin. Under the communist government in east germany he'd been jailed several times, and they were putting him in with some really strange people to try and freak him out. One guy they put him in with was a young farmer, who was a bit touched, kind of on the dozy side, and he'd been jailed for having sex with a cow. But........and this is the funny bit! :D Communist goverments/courts being what they were, he wasn't jailed for bestiality, but for "damage to the state economy" :D :D
Stalin/communist leaders sent millions to state camps/torture places for non-crimes. This is one of the few times I'd be an ardent communist. Unbelieveable story, Eanna, who needs fiction anymore??

Fair_play_boy
01/05/2005, 12:31 AM
The 31-year-old man fell asleep on a sofa at a party in January last year and told the court in the western city of Bergen he woke to find the 23-year-old woman was having oral sex with him. . . .On mature reflection, the oral job can't have been much good. If the guy really was asleep, surely he was on the limp side. Or is this a case of Norwegian Woody? :p

hamish
01/05/2005, 12:38 AM
Know what, Fair play boy, thought did occur to me! Seems a pointless exercise all round, no pun intended. :confused:

01/05/2005, 10:05 AM
Well as regards receiving Oral Sex from someone with a mouth ulcer isn't that how Herpes is supposed to have been spread originally?

01/05/2005, 12:47 PM
no colesores is what it is..so you have been warned college til i die.

gerrit i didnt quote your post. but you said any kind of penetration anywhere on the body consitutes rape, now please dont take this the wrong way, but does that not technically mean that if i were to put my finer up your nose/in your ear without your consnet i could be done for rape?? :confused: :confused:

01/05/2005, 2:04 PM
please! I've just eaten dinner, you're making me want to vomit :eek:

fosterdollar
05/05/2005, 3:15 PM
Just someting to throw into the mix.... Does it really have to be the case that it was her mouth that made it oral sex. Is it possible that he woke up picking hair out of his teeth. Sorry to be crude about it.

05/05/2005, 3:35 PM
Well as regards receiving Oral Sex from someone with a mouth ulcer isn't that how Herpes is supposed to have been spread originally?

Herpes? I thought it was her real hair :D :D

fosterdollar
05/05/2005, 3:37 PM
Herpes? I thought it was her real hair :D :D
and she thought he was going toupé him

05/05/2005, 3:55 PM
pronounce it as it sounds lads well done very funny :D

ya ma"just blew ma"goo ( and that is why he claimed rape) that is what it could have been, it didnt actually say did it whether it was her doing anything or not, but if he were asleep surely "nothing" would have been happening with his tongue etc??? sorry not meaning to get "technical" but you know what i mean

05/05/2005, 4:32 PM
and she thought he was going toupé him

:D This thread is getting out of hand altogether! :D

fosterdollar
06/05/2005, 12:34 PM
we are so funny

Mad Moose
06/05/2005, 1:41 PM
I feel so ashamed of myself for i've sat through this and cannot stop laughing. Its a serious matter but just doesn't seem to take on the severity of rape because the female raped a male.

Nah no way is it as simple as that. I worked for a guy in the Ox Mountains a few years ago. He was the first person to introduce me to a known sheepshagger. The day I met him I couldn't beleve how Pauric kept a straight face. I was in pieces, the guy had come out of a field of sheep and there was a wee shed in the middle of it.

Wasn't there an expose on an sheep brothel in Brigend,Co. Donegal a few years back in the Sunday World.

Brendan

06/05/2005, 2:14 PM
Wasn't there an expose on an sheep brothel in Brigend,Co. Donegal a few years back in the Sunday World.

ah sure they are all a bit funny up that way!! :p

Mad Moose
06/05/2005, 2:25 PM
ah sure they are all a bit funny up that way!! :p

Its the proximity to Derry see!!!

B

hamish
06/05/2005, 3:11 PM
First, sex with a horse and now a sheep BROTHAL in Donegal? :eek: For the love of Jaysus. Why would there be a need for a sheep brothal in Donegal - any Donegal girl I've ever seen was usually a cracker. With that quantity and quality of talent up there, what would you lot need sheep for?? Fcuks sake, this thread is going down!!! :eek:

Mad Moose
06/05/2005, 4:08 PM
First, sex with a horse and now a sheep BROTHAL in Donegal? :eek: For the love of Jaysus. Why would there be a need for a sheep brothal in Donegal - any Donegal girl I've ever seen was usually a cracker. With that quantity and quality of talent up there, what would you lot need sheep for?? Fcuks sake, this thread is going down!!! :eek:

Sorry but I mind the Sunday World article but having said that when if ever was there any truth with that rag. Just thought I'd mention how it was. :D

B

hamish
06/05/2005, 4:20 PM
Thank heaven for that Harpsbear, I was getting worried about you Donegal lads for a while there.

Gerrit
07/05/2005, 11:10 AM
That sheepshagger got away with it or what ? :eek: If there is clear evidence and he is notorious for it, shouldn't he be in jail instead of in the streets meeting strangers ?

As for the law that any unwanted penetration is considered rape: this is the Belgian law. Just because I am from this country originally or because I type it down here, doesn't mean I support that law. It's a very bizarre law. I think in the past you could not be sentenced if you penetrated a girl with an object or so, maybe the rectum was not considered rape as well because in the old days this act of sex was not done or at least expected not to be done. So I guess that's why they changed the law. I agree, it is a very bizarre law, but that's Belgium for you. No offense to my native country, but Belgian justice is crappy, slow and has the most bizarre legal structures you can imagine... Belgium's a great country, but one of the few negative things is the legal matter and how complex and bizarre it is...

07/05/2005, 11:19 AM
maybe the rectum was not considered because...

...up the rectum wont affect 'em

fosterdollar
07/05/2005, 2:48 PM
Rectum? Nearly killed 'im.

07/05/2005, 6:06 PM
This thread is getting worrying.... :D :eek: