View Full Version : FAI Cup 2019

Pages : 1 [2] 3

05/07/2019, 5:32 PM
Most northern club in Ireland as far as I know. Pitch is out in the middle of nowhere. They played their qualifying round game against Home Farm there. If they managed to draw another non-league club or small First Division club they'd push to have their game played there, but if they drew a bigger club they'd likely move the game to Maginn Park.

It would certainly be an experience to anyone to go watch a game up there. Cracking surface, but no spectator facilities and barely even changing rooms there.

EDIT: Second most Northern club, Sea Rovers in Malin Head are the most northern.

so is glengad an actual village nigel and is it far from buncrana as I was there for the FAI Cup in 2015 but not in McGinn Park unfortunately!

05/07/2019, 11:49 PM
so is glengad an actual village nigel and is it far from buncrana as I was there for the FAI Cup in 2015 but not in McGinn Park unfortunately!

It's a fair bit further north than Buncrana. You'd be talking about half an hour from Buncrana. There's a small village you'd say in Glengad, but the football pitch is out into the mountain bog area from there.

It's not far from Malin Head.

06/07/2019, 5:18 PM
It's a fair bit further north than Buncrana. You'd be talking about half an hour from Buncrana. There's a small village you'd say in Glengad, but the football pitch is out into the mountain bog area from there.

It's not far from Malin Head.

i would safely hazard a guess that it would be the highest ground in the 26 counties. and there was I thinking it would be Cobh!

08/07/2019, 6:15 PM
Now called the 'Extra.ie FAI Cup'.
https://extra.ie/2019/07/08/sport/soccernews/the-most-successful-teams-in-the-fai-cup-as-the-2019-tournament-kicks-off

I've never heard of this website before, but it doesn't bode well when they don't seem to know what round of the cup this draw is for....

ToberonaTornado
08/07/2019, 6:21 PM
Now called the 'Extra.ie FAI Cup'.
https://extra.ie/2019/07/08/sport/soccernews/the-most-successful-teams-in-the-fai-cup-as-the-2019-tournament-kicks-off

I've never heard of this website before, but it doesn't bode well when they don't seem to know what round of the cup this draw is for....

Owned by the Daily Mail.
Prob trying to promote the digital side of their business by renaming it.

sidewayspasser
08/07/2019, 6:21 PM
Stream that's apparently recorded with a phone or tablet in portrait orientation also doesn't look too great...

08/07/2019, 6:33 PM
The draw is actually clashing with Soccer Republic now

Idiots

D24Saint
08/07/2019, 6:41 PM
The draw is actually clashing with Soccer Republic now

Idiots

Moronic but not surprising.

ToberonaTornado
08/07/2019, 7:34 PM
UCD v Letterkenny Rovers
Shamrock Rovers v Finn Harps
St Patrick's Athletic v Bray Wanderers
Cobh Wanderers v Limerick
Maynooth University Town v Waterford
Lucan United v Killester Donnycarney
Bohemians v Shelbourne
Cabinteely v Cork City
Cobh Ramblers v Dundalk
Crumlin United v Malahide United
Collinstown v Galway United
Longford Town v Athlone Town
Glebe North v Sligo Rovers
Derry City v Wexford
St Michael's v Glengad United
Drogheda United v Avondale United

EatYerGreens
08/07/2019, 7:48 PM
A disappointing bunch of draws there in my view.

Only Bohs-Shels, and possibly Pats-Bray, offer much in the way of excitement really.

At least there'll be at least three non-league teams in the next round anyway.

pateen
08/07/2019, 7:48 PM
Long trip south for Glengad to St Mick's

joey B
08/07/2019, 7:57 PM
Didn't want to win the cup anyway!

08/07/2019, 8:19 PM

It's Shamrock Rovers in the cup so you just never know. Longford and Athlone might get a bit of interest as a cup derby?

marinobohs
08/07/2019, 9:07 PM
Wow. Interesting draw for Bohs, should be a decent crowd for the Dublin city derby.
Unless there is the odd shock somewhere most of the other games look pretty meh 😁

Candystripe
08/07/2019, 10:49 PM
wheres glengad from as never heard of them? also will there be live coverage of it considerin soccer republic has bein massively scaled back?

Glengad is where my both grand parents where from and my dad (obviously). They are from between Malin town and Culdaff. An absolute stunning place in Ireland. As Brendy said their pitch is in the middle of nowhere though. Hopefully they get through and get a money spinner draw away against Derry if we get past Wexford obviously.

09/07/2019, 6:12 AM
I spent a long weekend in Culdaff, and my friend lived about 8km out of Culdaff up the mountains (unsuprisingly the surname was McGonigle). I have never heard pure silence like it in my life. 'Twas off the bus at Carndonagh which I thought was the final destination ...

vinnie
10/07/2019, 1:34 PM
But Rovers are the cup kings didn't you know, Yiz are a model to win

Dalymountrower
10/07/2019, 3:11 PM
But Rovers are the cup kings didn't you know, Yiz are a model to win

"Cup specialists" , " cup kings" hasn`t made it on to the list of RTE clichees just yet.

11/07/2019, 2:28 AM
"Cup specialists" , " cup kings" hasn`t made it on to the list of RTE clichees just yet.

It's only a matter of time before the comment is made ;p Though if Pats can win the cup anything is possible!

pateen
09/08/2019, 1:43 PM
Very quite on here for the weekend ahead.
Lots of big games on for the some smaller teams

D24Saint
09/08/2019, 1:53 PM
No sense of cup fever among Saints fans just yet. I expect a low key victory in front of a paltry crowd. I'd say premier league will have a big affect on attendances tonight.

sidewayspasser
09/08/2019, 2:00 PM
Very quite on here for the weekend ahead.
Lots of big games on for the some smaller teams
The Cabo supporters haven't found their way here yet.

marinobohs
09/08/2019, 3:29 PM
No sense of cup fever among Saints fans just yet. I expect a low key victory in front of a paltry crowd. I'd say premier league will have a big affect on attendances tonight.

Premier league and rain (in Dublin anyway). for any souls hardy enough to venture out, Dalymount could be an interesting match and a decent crowd. Not sold out but healthy ticket sales from both clubs.

09/08/2019, 4:17 PM
Premier league and rain (in Dublin anyway). for any souls hardy enough to venture out, Dalymount could be an interesting match and a decent crowd. Not sold out but healthy ticket sales from both clubs.

read in paper that its first time both sides have met in fai cup since fai cup final nearly 20 years ago!

Kingswood Rover
09/08/2019, 8:35 PM
**** sake me dream final is looking iffy,,, no its still a possibility

09/08/2019, 8:49 PM
Cabo beating Cork into extra time. It just gets worse and worse for them. Where's it going to end?

D24Saint
09/08/2019, 8:53 PM
Made a banquet out of that tonight. I was surprised by Bray that had a few impressive young players. I was not surprised by us, we were dreadful in the first half but showed more urgency in the second. It was a good finish by McAuley who was very lively off the bench and took his goal well , looks a player. In the hat for the next round for what it's worth.

patrickccfc
09/08/2019, 9:02 PM
I have no words for this.

sbgawa
09/08/2019, 9:08 PM
Cabo beating Cork into extra time. It just gets worse and worse for them. Where's it going to end?

Backed Cabo at 4 to 1 gutted it's going to be an extra time job. Cabo aren't bad

09/08/2019, 9:10 PM
Good last 15 minutes for Harps, but pretty much all Rovers before that. Really made them sweat for the win though. Bit sh!te for us in a financial sense, but at least we can put all focus on the league now and the fight to catch this Cork side in freefall.

09/08/2019, 9:23 PM
Gone to penos in Stradbrook now

Hell of a turnaround in Dalyer too; Bohs 2-0 down and out with 5 to go; Shels get a player sent off and capitulate 3-2

marinobohs
09/08/2019, 9:27 PM
Well, I did warn ye 😁 bizarre last 10 mins at Dalymount. Shels go 2-0 up have player sent off (apparently for celebrating in front of Bohs fans). A goal by lifelong Shels fan Bucko gets us back in it and a double by Mandroui the magician breaks their little hearts.
Not a great match but exciting finish ! Bohs looked very blunt for 80 mins and the best thing I could say about them was they kept going. Great display by the evergreen Dean Delaney almost enough.
Two cups we dumped Shels out of this season (and still waiting on their plan to relegate us 😁)

09/08/2019, 9:29 PM
Cork through 5-4 on penalties after a 119th minute equaliser

El-Pietro
09/08/2019, 9:33 PM
I wasn't there so I can't speak on the performance but if something doesn't change we are going to get relegated.

Dalymountrower
09/08/2019, 9:40 PM
Some wonder saves from Delaney tonight.Shels were well organised took their chances, but letBohs back in with a silly time wasting sending off.
Morriss has put together a reallydecent team.
Good fight back fromBohsGreat atmosphere 2, 900 I heard
Really good turnout from Shels, fair play.

ger121
09/08/2019, 10:56 PM
Jesus!! Who said the Cup is dead. That was one of the crazier nights in recent Dalymount history. I text my sister after we went 2 down. “That’s us out of the cup” Then we pull one back. Then 2-2 and 3 minutes later it’s 3-2. How we are in the draw for the next round I don’t know but it feels good.

patrickccfc
10/08/2019, 8:25 AM
https://twitter.com/Visschtales/status/1159911508631011328?s=19

From a Dutch fan at dalymount last night

ToberonaTornado
10/08/2019, 10:02 AM
Corks concession v Cabo.
"put that up your pipe and smoke it" :confused: Hard crowd those Cabo fans :D
https://twitter.com/Gunner1011/status/1159923315550629888

marinobohs
10/08/2019, 10:16 AM
Jesus!! Who said the Cup is dead. That was one of the crazier nights in recent Dalymount history. I text my sister after we went 2 down. “That’s us out of the cup” Then we pull one back. Then 2-2 and 3 minutes later it’s 3-2. How we are in the draw for the next round I don’t know but it feels good.

Good old fashioned LOI football at its best. Highs, lows for both sets of fans. Brilliant atmosphere - only shams brought a bigger away crowd this season, well done Shels and a Lazarus like comeback from Bohs.

Games like this are what keeps me hooked on LOI 😁 doubt anyone who was there won't return again.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/08/2019, 11:08 AM
There was probably some people who left when Shels went 2 up.

Don't be shocked by this statement but Glebe North were horrific

10/08/2019, 11:22 AM
Corks concession v Cabo.
"put that up your pipe and smoke it" :confused: Hard crowd those Cabo fans :D
https://twitter.com/Gunner1011/status/1159923315550629888
Is that a temporary stand?

What are Cabo going to do about licencing if they get promoted?

And can't remember the last time I saw a goal as shambolic as that. Wtf is going on in Cork?

Johnnie C
10/08/2019, 1:27 PM
Very even game between Cobh Wanderers and Limerick. One good move and finish 10 minutes from time the difference between the sides.

total hoofball
10/08/2019, 1:33 PM
Not all bad for Cork, the annual cup final versus Dundalk is still on the cards for a fifth consecutive season

I'm kinda hoping after the past two weeks that Shels are flushing out their spectacular capitulations in advance of the final run-in

10/08/2019, 2:17 PM
Is that a temporary stand?

What are Cabo going to do about licencing if they get promoted?

And can't remember the last time I saw a goal as shambolic as that. Wtf is going on in Cork?

its the bar area behnd the goal where the unofficial press box does be! the bar area does be used during the game as its blackrock rugby clubs property

RathfarnhamHoop
10/08/2019, 3:19 PM
its the bar area behnd the goal where the unofficial press box does be! the bar area does be used during the game as its blackrock rugby clubs property

I'd imagine they're talking about the temporary stand on the sideline opposite the TV gantry

marinobohs
10/08/2019, 3:42 PM
There was probably some people who left when Shels went 2 up.

Don't be shocked by this statement but Glebe North were horrific

Think one or two did but most stayed. Famous story around Dalymount about some lads that left at HT when we were 4-1 down to shams in Santry (2001). Cue the great second half comeback and Bohs win 6-4. Those lads never lived it down 😁

Kingswood Rover
10/08/2019, 6:11 PM
That poxy 4 6 banner if i could get me mits on that grrrrrgh

marinobohs
10/08/2019, 6:25 PM
That poxy 4 6 banner if i could get me mits on that grrrrrgh
Shams have a history of stealing flags. It was among the reasons we threw them out of Dalymount 😁

10/08/2019, 7:42 PM
Think one or two did but most stayed. Famous story around Dalymount about some lads that left at HT when we were 4-1 down to shams in Santry (2001). Cue the great second half comeback and Bohs win 6-4. Those lads never lived it down 😁

4-1 at half time is one thing, but 2 down with 5 minutes to go is just a mental turnaround. Fantastic if you're on the winning side, but absolute heartbreak if you've thrown that lead away. Even having a man sent off you'd think you could hold on to a 2 goal lead for 5 minutes.

Shearer
10/08/2019, 9:29 PM
'does be"