View Full Version : Easter fixtures
wexfordned
24/04/2019, 12:16 AM
When does Bohs beating Rovers become a tradition and not a trend??
1st red card was an obvious professional foul and the ref was spot on.
Also FAO Placid Casual it wasn't Dinny that slid in two footed to take out Mannus after the penalty save. It was actually Joey O'Brien who buried him going in with both feet!! Should have been sent off for such a shocking challenge. Dont know how he didn't break his ribs
Dinny was the one playing the ball to score the goal.
patrickccfc
24/04/2019, 5:56 AM
You can say that again
marinobohs
24/04/2019, 7:03 AM
It's not actually that unusual a run for either team.
6 wins and a draw in 7 ? Just as well you “don’t care” about the derby 😆
....time to go back telling us how Shels are going to get us relegated, that was a classic 😎
Kingswood Rover
24/04/2019, 7:19 AM
Here is my thoughts, first of all the pride i felt seeing the ground full and the atmosphere that both sets of supporters created, someone earlier said they heard more from 150 Waterford fans, rose tinted hearing aids. The grace booking after 3 minutes was petty considering its a Derby Match let things settle. We started poorly there were a couple of little balls in behind Clarke that we struggled to deal with Clarke's sending off hard to argue against but the Grace one was just nuts, even if the ball did strike his hand it was at 100 miles an hour ffs, yes its a penno then but to be sent off following a booking for very little that was harsh. Then the Pen, Mannus gets to it but it somehow ricochets of his hand back to the center of the goal where of course the penalty taker is where he is entitled to challenge for the ball. To me and i said this from the first 5 minutes i though we looked a little unbalanced on the RHS in front of O Brien Finn seemed to be drifting over to the left which really congested that side leaving no room for Clarke to run into. Rovers were excellent in the 2nd half with 9 men. Carr had a good chance and actually played well but Lopez i think was very unlucky as he had an effort following a scramble at a corner just clear the far post. Bohs Fans whistling for the ref to blow up as Rovers attacked in the last 10 minutes kinda says it all. Rovers fans are not shy about letting their team know what they think and as in Dalymount they were cheered off the pitch. Bohs tbf are really coming along as a football side and club. someone earlier poo pooed the Idea that the league needs a strong Rovers team what tosh the League does need a strong Rovers but it also needs a strong Bohs, Dundalk, Cork, Sligo etc for it to thrive.
sbgawa
24/04/2019, 7:34 AM
6 wins and a draw in 7 ? Just as well you “don’t care” about the derby
....time to go back telling us how Shels are going to get us relegated, that was a classic
Never said I don't care about the derby.
It's kinda funny comparing this week's marinobohs to last week's stamping feet and throwing toys out of pram Marino bohs :) .
Was that peno in oriel inside , at or around the box :) :)
Time will tell on shels.
Enjoy the 3 points
sbgawa
24/04/2019, 7:38 AM
Today's indo, at in or around the head :)
Roll on friday
24/04/2019, 8:14 AM
I thought it was shaping up to be a cracking game with 11 v 11. Bohs looked dangerous, but Rovers were starting to settle. I thought Rovers really missed Bolger holding in the middle. The reshuffle with Byrne playing more in the holding role and Watts coming in left the middle a bit more unbalanced. Watts just doesn't look fit this season and he's been a big disappointment after making a great impact last year. I've thought in previous games that Rovers could be vulnerable in the channels with the full back pushing on and Bohs really exposed that at times, using the impressive pace and skill of Grant and leading to the first yellow for Grace and the red for Clarke. I was a long way away, but the Clarke red, I thought was going to be a peno and a yellow card, rather than a free and a red, red seemed a bit harsh, but after Grace getting away with a similar one it wasn't overly surprising. Again, I was a long way from the pen, but I really thought it had hit Grace on the head, it all happened in a split second and his hand was obviously up, so I can see how the call was made, it's just a pity that the game was really over after that. Bohs support made great noise, to be fair, it largely drowned out the Rovers support where I was near the Square end of the main stand, especially either side of half time, when the home crowd was still in a bit of shock at going down to 9.
At half time I was thinking Rovers only way of staying in this is if Bohs drop the temp and are happy with 1-0 and that's what they did. Bohs hesitated to move the ball quick and really drag Rovers around, taking their time with throws and not committing enough men to really disrupt Rovers shape. Rovers did well to keep their discipline and seemed to realise that their best hope was to keep things tight and try nick something from a set piece late on. It nearly worked too. I was questioning Byrne's attitude a bit in the second half, he seemed to be getting a bit frustrated and wasn't working as hard as I thought he could have been, but I think it might have just been fatigue, because he looked like he could barely walk by the time he was taken off. Subs for Rovers made a good impact, Carr in particular, his awkward style really caused a few problems when he came in.
Overall hard to argue that Bohs didn't deserve the win, but Rovers will take a lot of positives from the performance with nine men. The trip to Dundalk will be a massive test, Finn, Byrne and a few others looked very tired. Add the two key players now suspended and a draw would have to be seen as a good result. If they go to Dundalk and win then they definitely have the look of a league winning squad. It's nice to be watching entertaining football in Tallaght again. The Fenlon years did a lot of damage, but there's a lot of positivity around the place now and hopefully the attendance might top 7,000 by the end of the season.
Dalymountrower
24/04/2019, 8:29 AM
Here is my thoughts, first of all the pride i felt seeing the ground full and the atmosphere that both sets of supporters created, someone earlier said they heard more from 150 Waterford fans, rose tinted hearing aids. The grace booking after 3 minutes was petty considering its a Derby Match let things settle. We started poorly there were a couple of little balls in behind Clarke that we struggled to deal with Clarke's sending off hard to argue against but the Grace one was just nuts, even if the ball did strike his hand it was at 100 miles an hour ffs, yes its a penno then but to be sent off following a booking for very little that was harsh. Then the Pen, Mannus gets to it but it somehow ricochets of his hand back to the center of the goal where of course the penalty taker is where he is entitled to challenge for the ball. To me and i said this from the first 5 minutes i though we looked a little unbalanced on the RHS in front of O Brien Finn seemed to be drifting over to the left which really congested that side leaving no room for Clarke to run into. Rovers were excellent in the 2nd half with 9 men. Carr had a good chance and actually played well but Lopez i think was very unlucky as he had an effort following a scramble at a corner just clear the far post. Bohs Fans whistling for the ref to blow up as Rovers attacked in the last 10 minutes kinda says it all. Rovers fans are not shy about letting their team know what they think and as in Dalymount they were cheered off the pitch. Bohs tbf are really coming along as a football side and club. someone earlier poo pooed the Idea that the league needs a strong Rovers team what tosh the League does need a strong Rovers but it also needs a strong Bohs, Dundalk, Cork, Sligo etc for it to thrive.
Agree with all that.
The fact that Rovers continued to play in a structured disciplined way with 9 men, suggests to me that they are a very different team from last year and will finish ahead of Dundalk this year.
PartySaint
24/04/2019, 8:32 AM
they'll end up hoping Rovers win the cup just to get them a little jaunt to Europe.
They better have their admin up to scratch :)
sbgawa
24/04/2019, 8:48 AM
Agree with all that.
The fact that Rovers continued to play in a structured disciplined way with 9 men, suggests to me that they are a very different team from last year and will finish ahead of Dundalk this year.
Jaysus don't jinx us. :)
Hard to see how we could increase the attendance much on last night as by its nature the biggest crowds will bring the biggest away support and the guards will want to keep a Bigish gap between them.
Add that to the pointless seat kills with netting and I'd say not much over 6500 is capacity.
When the 4th stand is built next year even though the actual capacity will I
Only increase by about 2000 the effective capacity will increase by up to 3000.
Away allocation could increase to entire north stand less some seat kills approx 2000.
joey B
24/04/2019, 8:48 AM
Really enjoyable game up until the madness started,Bohs looked the better side and I was really impressed with how they moved the ball and they seemed to be working just a little bit harder than Rovers.
Rovers missing Bolger in these big games and while Byrne,Finn and McEneff will be grand against most of the league against the better sides I think Bolger with 2 of them will be the way to go, they only just got away with it up in the Brandywell the other week.
One more small point just thought it was a shame RTE didn't have the game ,woulda looked great if the game had have been on free to air with little cross channel football to compete with.
Watched this on TV and the whole package was excellent. Packed house, big atmosphere and talented, well drilled players.
I thought Shams were unlucky on both decisions really to be honest. This effectively killed their chance of taking anything from the game. I would go on a rant about the standard of referreeing but this is something we seem to have to learn to live with. Like being diagnosed with piles.
seand
24/04/2019, 10:22 AM
Well that was an entertainly very-derby derby. bohs looked the better team with 11v11 and were very poor against 9. Poor enough to give Rovers hope when they should have stretched and tortured them.
I thought at the time Grace's first yellow was harsh, the second I thought looked like it clearly hit his up-stretched arm. For me it's one of the 80% of handball penalties that shouldn't be given as he was 3-4 yards from the ball when it was struck. The fact that it hit him on the head apparently just goes to show what a nonsense all these handball penalties are.
The Clarke one was interesting too, definitely denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity, but it looked inside the box, which would be a yellow and pen. It was a bit of a strange rule change that one- you're punished more harshly for a foul outside the box that inside it (certainly when the incident happens early in the match). McEneff probably should have gone for the same thing late on.
Overall Rovers can write it off as a bit of a freak match and they performed really well with 9. Great atmosphere.
oriel
24/04/2019, 11:14 AM
Re Friday - Bradley just finished an interview on Eir sport and I quote what he said re Friday’s game “... great game to bounce back on we go up there and win the game....”
That quote should be enough to send the usual suspects into an apoplexy meltdown.
Have to say being a great league so far fir entertainment - proves yet again the League needs a strong Rovers
I think we all coped CJ with Cork also challenging for the last 5 years !!! and the same club got a good few 6k + crowds and the odd 7k+ ones during that period.
Take nothing away from last night though, it was fantastic to see a brilliant stadium packed with such a good crowd, on a tuesday night.
24/04/2019, 11:46 AM
The Clarke one was interesting too, definitely denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity, but it looked inside the box, which would be a yellow and pen.
I don't think so.
It's only 'downgraded' to a yellow if the foul happens as part of a legitimate attempt to get the ball. That tug on his arm doesn't qualify.
We had a red card and penalty last year at home to Waterford for the same reason - a pull back with the arm rather than an actual tackle.
Bohs11
24/04/2019, 12:19 PM
Jaysus don't jinx us. :)
Hard to see how we could increase the attendance much on last night as by its nature the biggest crowds will bring the biggest away support and the guards will want to keep a Bigish gap between them.
Add that to the pointless seat kills with netting and I'd say not much over 6500 is capacity.
When the 4th stand is built next year even though the actual capacity will I
Only increase by about 2000 the effective capacity will increase by up to 3000.
Away allocation could increase to entire north stand less some seat kills approx 2000.
Seemed like a Rovers decision, based on the fact they put home fans in the same stand too.
sbgawa
24/04/2019, 12:25 PM
Seemed like a Rovers decision, based on the fact they put home fans in the same stand too.
No it was the guards i asked one of the stewards why the East stand wasn't being opened to Rovers fans when i got sick of having people walk past me (i was in the middle of the West stand)and walk back past me complaining there were no seats.
He told me the East would be opened only as an overflow when West and South were full and only down as far as the first break (about a quarter way down at most leaving a bigish gap).
They did that about 10 or 15 mins before KO.
I'm guessing the thinking was the hard core supporters on both sides would be well settled by then.
marinobohs
24/04/2019, 12:27 PM
Never said I don't care about the derby.
It's kinda funny comparing this week's marinobohs to last week's stamping feet and throwing toys out of pram Marino bohs :) .
Was that peno in oriel inside , at or around the box :) :)
Time will tell on shels.
Enjoy the 3 points
Toys out of pram ? Stamping feet ? Pot. Kettle 😁
Still waiting on the details of Shels master plan Oriel foul was OUTSIDE, obviously I didn’t make that clear enough for you ( NOT inside NOT at NOT around).
sbgawa
24/04/2019, 12:43 PM
I thought I described you very well last week tbh and I don't think I've approached your level especially considering your peno was actually debateable, but that's for others to judge.
If u can't work out that shels with a financial backer will be signing your players for next season assuming they come up of course as well as the best coming home from England I can't help you.
There are none so blind as those who refuse to see.
joey B
24/04/2019, 1:01 PM
Why are there rows of seats left empty in the south stand?
24/04/2019, 1:05 PM
Why are there rows of seats left empty in the south stand?
I'd say the logic is to stop pitch incursions. The overall operation seemed to work well last night. I can see the logic of only opening the East stand to home fans as an overflow too, the amount of dead seats to separate the home and away fans could certainly be reduced for less "high-risk" games if required.
mcgonigle
24/04/2019, 1:08 PM
I thought I described you very well last week tbh and I don't think I've approached your level especially considering your peno was actually debateable, but that's for others to judge.
If u can't work out that shels with a financial backer will be signing your players for next season assuming they come up of course as well as the best coming home from England I can't help you.
There are none so blind as those who refuse to see.
Give it up sbgawa, the peno in Oriel was clear robbery and cheating by Connolly, Dundalk, the FAI, IRFU, Government, CIA and Trump. All trying to keep the "Big" club down.
The peno last night was just hard luck on Rovers, ref can't be blamed, how could he possibly be expected to see the ball hit his head from his position at that speed?
Told you marinobohs would be very sympathetic to your plight!
sbgawa
24/04/2019, 1:12 PM
The empty seats are covered with netting which means the only access to tyhe pitch is through narrow channels.
It works kind of but around 100 rovers fans came on the pitch when mceneff scored against Derry so it's only sort of tbh
sbgawa
24/04/2019, 1:13 PM
Give it up sbgawa, the peno in Oriel was clear robbery and cheating by Connolly, Dundalk, the FAI, IRFU, Government, CIA and Trump. All trying to keep the "Big" club down.
The peno last night was just hard luck on Rovers, ref can't be blamed, how could he possibly be expected to see the ball hit his head from his position at that speed?
Your right I give up :) should no better.
See you in dalyer....Law of averages, new tradition :)
Asterix
24/04/2019, 1:19 PM
Sean Kavanagh apparently picked up a knock last as well, should be fun seeing our defence on Friday. Could have 16 year old Alex Dunne making his debut as right back and Greene playing left back. :)
dundalkfc10
24/04/2019, 1:30 PM
The empty seats are covered with netting which means the only access to tyhe pitch is through narrow channels.
It works kind of but around 100 rovers fans came on the pitch when mceneff scored against Derry so it's only sort of tbh
Yas do like a pitch invasion when you score a goal in fairness.
My favourite one was when was 50 or so (knackers) on the pitch when you went 1 up V us in Tallaght only for Richie to score a Penalty near the end and we win the league :cool:
If there's enough doubt that he can't be expected to see where it hit then surely it's not a penalty. It's bizarre to me that multiple people have suggested the default outcome is a penalty. Still, twas only Rovers, so it's all well that ends well.
mcgonigle
24/04/2019, 1:57 PM
If there's enough doubt that he can't be expected to see where it hit then surely it's not a penalty. It's bizarre to me that multiple people have suggested the default outcome is a penalty. Still, twas only Rovers, so it's all well that ends well.
I was being sarcastic and suggesting that would be marinobohs view of the two incidents.
The ref had no doubt and that's all that matters
RathfarnhamHoop
24/04/2019, 2:46 PM
Think a good bit of credit has to go to the gardai at the game last night. From what I saw they kept a low profile as much as they could and I think it really helps the atmosphere around the game in general. They get a lot of stick so it's only fair they get some praise when they do stuff right. When you compare what the police Scotland have at games and the problems having that big police presence causes they really deserve some credit
dundalkfc10
24/04/2019, 3:18 PM
Think a good bit of credit has to go to the gardai at the game last night. From what I saw they kept a low profile as much as they could and I think it really helps the atmosphere around the game in general. They get a lot of stick so it's only fair they get some praise when they do stuff right. When you compare what the police Scotland have at games and the problems having that big police presence causes they really deserve some credit
That will change Friday in Dundalk. The Gardai will all be out for their overtime
bohsmug
24/04/2019, 4:29 PM
Great two have 2 sets of support with enough numbers to create a lot of noise. Definitely helps sell the game on TV when there's a roar from both sides for every corner, calling for fouls, celebrating goals etc. It can seem a bit tin pot when an important goal is met with the kind of sound that would typically accompany a goal down the local park at the weekend. Bohs could have sold more tickets but 1,100 is a great allocation so fair play to Rovers for that. I'd hope both clubs would continue to allocate in and around the 1,000 mark.
Results have been going well for Bohs in the derby recently but it's a fixture both clubs can benefit from in terms of marketing (and gate receipts). And the league generally, as long as there's not a major violent incident, which I suppose there's always the potential of. There's less of that these days though... I think.
sbgawa
24/04/2019, 5:20 PM
Agree and considering the slightly bizarre nature of the game last night the fact there was no trouble was a good sign
marinobohs
24/04/2019, 6:22 PM
I didn't actually comment on the peno last night as I hadn't a view of it from where I was sitting. So don't put YOUR bull**** down as my view.
Connolly known as "homer" at Oriel and gave a highly debatable penalty last week (even Ezek had doubts )
marinobohs
24/04/2019, 6:23 PM
Agree and considering the slightly bizarre nature of the game last night the fact there was no trouble was a good sign
Will shams be taking action about the "fans" that threw bottles at Talbot after FT ?
One more small point just thought it was a shame RTE didn't have the game ,woulda looked great if the game had have been on free to air with little cross channel football to compete with.
Maybe, but the Eir coverage is far superior to RTE's in my view. Better commentator, a proper build up pre game, no Peter Collins :D
RathfarnhamHoop
24/04/2019, 6:51 PM
Will shams be taking action about the "fans" that threw bottles at Talbot after FT ?
If they can pick them out by all means I say ban them. What happened to Bohs fans that threw bottles at Twiggy few years back as a matter of interest? Or at Lukey Byrne?
Maybe, but the Eir coverage is far superior to RTE's in my view. Better commentator, a proper build up pre game, no Peter Collins :D
The Eir coverage is quality, especially compared to RTEs. Having an loi man like Con involved really shows, especially when you have stuff like the RTE commentators getting Jack Byrne and Aaron Greene mixed up like they did up in Derry.
bohsmug
24/04/2019, 6:53 PM
Yeah Con Murphy has turned out to be a much better commentator than I thought. Rovers through and through but I think he manages to maintain a good cloak on his bias. Certainly more than most could! Good that he really knows the league well too so it can sound a little less forced when he's doing commentator babble
Dalymountrower
24/04/2019, 7:00 PM
Yeah, Con is badly missed from RTE. Top class broadcaster notwithstanding the hoopiness.
When Peter Collins has that wistfull" I wish I was at the Grand Prix" look when he is introducing some game from the sticks, it would bring a tear to a glass eye.
marinobohs
24/04/2019, 7:06 PM
If they can pick them out by all means I say ban them. What happened to Bohs fans that threw bottles at Twiggy few years back as a matter of interest? Or at Lukey Byrne?
So that would be NO then. Whataboutery more important.
Anyway, will shams be calling for retrospective action against the player that “lunged in” injuring Manus in the goal incident ? Appeared to be a “concern” earlier 😁
marinobohs
24/04/2019, 7:12 PM
Sean Kavanagh apparently picked up a knock last as well, should be fun seeing our defence on Friday. Could have 16 year old Alex Dunne making his debut as right back and Greene playing left back. :)
Just as well you have the “project” 😁
sbgawa
24/04/2019, 7:35 PM
Just as well you have the “project” 😁
Your embarrassing yourself 2 weeks in a row at this stage lose or win u have very little class.
RathfarnhamHoop
24/04/2019, 8:20 PM
So that would be NO then. Whataboutery more important.
I'll take your lack of a reply to say no action was taken then.
People in glass houses...
mcgonigle
24/04/2019, 9:09 PM
I didn't actually comment on the peno last night as I hadn't a view of it from where I was sitting. So don't put YOUR bull**** down as my view.
Connolly known as "homer" at Oriel and gave a highly debatable penalty last week (even Ezek had doubts 😁)
By the way even a fool like you must know Bohs couldn't get any "home" decisions last night. They were "away" 😁
And yet from the away section you were able to conclude that a foul at the opposite end of the pitch was outside the box, something not even your manager saw from his dugout. Some man, we need heros like you to step forward and save us from all these corrupt officials. Does your eagle eyesight extend to every ground or just Oriel?
marinobohs
24/04/2019, 11:23 PM
And yet from the away section you were able to conclude that a foul at the opposite end of the pitch was outside the box, something not even your manager saw from his dugout. Some man, we need heros like you to step forward and save us from all these corrupt officials. Does your eagle eyesight extend to every ground or just Oriel?
Mod Edit - I'm all for 'lively' debate but stop it with the namecalling.
marinobohs
24/04/2019, 11:25 PM
I'll take your lack of a reply to say no action was taken then.
People in glass houses...
As I have no idea what instances you are talking about I can't say what action was/wasn't taken.
Does that justify the bottle throwing morons last night ?
Ezeikial
25/04/2019, 6:40 AM
Ah but I was right, that's the difference no amount of inbred nonsense will change that.
Are you oblivious to the increasingly arrogant and ignorant impression your posts leave?
Do you think insults or name calling somehow enhances a point you want to make?
marinobohs
25/04/2019, 9:53 AM
Are you oblivious to the increasingly arrogant and ignorant impression your posts leave?
Do you think insults or name calling somehow enhances a point you want to make?
Can’t all live up to your intellectual heights 😁
Maybe I just don’t like having words put in my mouth by some random Dundalk fan. Appears some from Dundalk think they are the only ones allowed an opinion (not yourself to be fair)
marinobohs
25/04/2019, 10:01 AM
Your embarrassing yourself 2 weeks in a row at this stage lose or win u have very little class.
Tell us again about Shels “master plan” 😁 now THAT was class (especially as three Bohs players turned down Shams this season) 😎
dundalkfc10
25/04/2019, 11:40 AM
Tell us again about Shels “master plan” 😁 now THAT was class (especially as three Bohs players turned down Shams this season) 😎
You two are as bad as Liverpool n Man Utd supporters having a go at each other down the pub
placid casual
25/04/2019, 11:50 AM
Quite the opposite in fact.
At least these two guys are passionate about their own football team, and not some financial plaything over the water.
And the Rovers fan is right , by the way.😀