23/04/2019, 7:41 PM
Top of the league :)

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/04/2019, 7:42 PM
Did he handle it or did it hit his head? I know he had his hand up alright

23/04/2019, 7:43 PM
Great crowd there

Cracking game so far in fairness. Great drama. Two reds cards, peno shout refused, aanother given and missed and finished on the rebound. The Bohs hoodoo over Rovers continues.

Some nice chants too, nice to hear "they always cheat...." get an airing. Bohs fans singin "One Stephen Bradley" quite amusing too.

DFCForever
23/04/2019, 7:44 PM
I'm loving watching Rovers fall apart 3 days before they play us :D

Bohs11
23/04/2019, 7:44 PM
I can watch it on my Kodi

What channel are you using to watch it?

joey B
23/04/2019, 8:04 PM
Bohs have been unreal,Rovers cursed in these games ,enjoyable game for the neutral.

23/04/2019, 8:05 PM
Missed the first half - did I miss anything?

23/04/2019, 8:05 PM
Did he handle it or did it hit his head? I know he had his hand up alright

Lookeda stonewall penalty to me originally. The close up at half time looked more like it hit his head though. Rovers will rightly be sick over that. Bohs playing well though, even at 11 each.

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 8:20 PM
Lol grace sent off for heading the ball showed it clearly in replays on eir sport.
Then bohs score from the peno.
Another brutal ref performance in this league.

Losing the 3 points isn't the end of the world after 8 wins in a row but missing Clarke and grace for Friday is harsh to swallow.
You can't get a yellow overturned I'm pretty sure.

White Horse
23/04/2019, 8:47 PM
McEneff fortunate not to be the third Shams player sent off. Blatant denial of a goal scoring chance.

Ezeikial
23/04/2019, 8:50 PM
Losing the 3 points isn't the end of the world after 8 wins in a row but missing Clarke and grace for Friday is harsh to swallow.
You can't get a yellow overturned I'm pretty sure.

Do you think both red cards were unfair?

Or just the Lee Grace one?

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 8:54 PM
I agree with the air sport guys , no penalty, no sending off.
Clarke probably fair enough , he could argue he wasn't last man back but you couldn't hammer the ref for it.

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 8:56 PM
Fair play to the lads good shift after going down to 9.
On to Friday, still top of the league :)

23/04/2019, 9:04 PM
6414 in attendance. Great to see a modern stadium packed full of fans. LOI never looked so good.

Sendings off killed the game really. First one was correct I thought, second one looked correct at first viewing, but sounds like it came off his head (I missed the half-time analysis and replays).

For a team down to 9 men, Rovers did fairly well, but it's just too big a task. I didn't think Bohs actually played all that well given the 2 man advantage. Not quite conservative enough to kill it off defensively, and not attacking enough to finish it off with a second goal.

Jack B
23/04/2019, 9:05 PM
This Bohs-Rovers saga is absolutely gas, top of the league or not. If anything that might make it even funnier.

Rovers were terribly unlucky with the Grace decision but to be fair to the ref it was only noticed after about 10 replays in from Eir, so you can't exactly hammer him for it. The Clarke one is a stone wall red, saw Fabio O'Brien say it was a terrible decision because Lopes may have been covering which is just a nonsense argument. The rule isn't last man back, it's if the player committing a foul is denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity. Not only that but it's just a really cynical foul regardless that would get you booked almost anywhere on the pitch, much less the edge of the box.

CorribsideSteve
23/04/2019, 9:11 PM
Ref can't be blamed for either red though. Rovers will feel a little unlucky, the game just blew up in their faces after 35 minutes. Bohs play in the 1st half was excellent at times, but Rovers could have nicked an equalizer as Bohs looked unsure of how to handle the surprise 2 man advantage, particularly late on with a couple of half chances. 6414 is a great attendance. I think last year's biggest gate for a Bohs match at Tallaght was 5,300 or so.

mcgonigle
23/04/2019, 9:11 PM
Lol grace sent off for heading the ball showed it clearly in replays on eir sport.

It was clear even in the replay. They had an angle the ref didn't have and they had to slow it down and zoom in. Now if he was staring straight at it from 10 yards (e.g. Grace on Gannon) you could blame the ref, but not for this.

I'm sure marinobohs will be very sympathetic to your plight. He knows what it's like to be robbed by the corrupt home town refs

mcgonigle
23/04/2019, 9:12 PM
It was* clear even in the replay. They had an angle the ref didn't have and they had to slow it down and zoom in. Now if he was staring straight at it from 10 yards (e.g. Grace on Gannon) you could blame the ref, but not for this.

I'm sure marinobohs will be very sympathetic to your plight. He knows what it's like to be robbed by the corrupt home town refs

That should say wasn't. Doh! If I try edit the post it will be deleted 🙄

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 9:14 PM
Luck will hopefully balance out over the season.
A draw would be a good result in dundalk now without grace and clark

mcgonigle
23/04/2019, 9:16 PM
Luck will hopefully balance out over the season.

Bradley would play for a draw regardless

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 9:17 PM
Not this season I don't think.
Looking forward to it anyway.
Phenomenal crowd 6500 great to see it.

Calcio Jack
23/04/2019, 9:25 PM
Bradley would play for a draw regardless

Re Friday - Bradley just finished an interview on Eir sport and I quote what he said re Friday’s game “... great game to bounce back on we go up there and win the game....”

That quote should be enough to send the usual suspects into an apoplexy meltdown.

Have to say being a great league so far fir entertainment - proves yet again the League needs a strong Rovers

Ezeikial
23/04/2019, 9:26 PM

Don't kid yourself - Bradley would be understandably content to play for a draw no matter who was available.

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 9:28 PM
No point having a discussion with you EZ.

RathfarnhamHoop
23/04/2019, 9:31 PM
So to break it down Clarke was sent off when he wasn't last man back, Grace was booked in the third minute and an identical foul for Bohs went without a booking ten minutes later, Grace was then sent off for heading the ball putting rovers down to 9 men and giving Bohs a penalty and Bohs still needed a rebound off said penalty to look like scoring.

Supple saying he's blocking his head from the ref but if the ball at that power and distance hits your arm your arm is going backwards, Grace's arm doesn't but his head does, that alone shows it didn't hit his arm. Don't even get me started on Buckley getting away with gesturing for a card which is a bookable offence itself.

Ezeikial
23/04/2019, 9:37 PM
No point having a discussion with you EZ.

That's your call, but it does not take any great insight to realise that coming out of Friday night with a draw and maintaining a 7 point lead over Dundalk would be a strong position.

Bradley has already demonstrated his cautious instincts in the first fixture in Tallaght

placid casual
23/04/2019, 9:38 PM
its a game dundalk have to win. Rovers dont.
Have no fears of Rovers going up to oriel on friday-get dan carr in the team and he'll run monkey Gartland into the ground,

sendings off killed the game tonight - 1st one looked a peno as he was inside the box, ref $hit himself realising he'd made a mistake and sent off clarke to even it up( in his own frenzied brain)
2nd one wasnt even a penalty, corcoran misses the peno, lunges with 2 feet into mannus to score- nothing again from the ref. this fixture needs competent refs from outside the league as they seem to get caught up in the raw emotion of the game and lose control

bohs wont finish ahead of Rovers, dundalk or Derry at seasons end as they are toothless up front, even with a tidy midfield. they'll end up hoping Rovers win the cup just to get them a little jaunt to Europe.
Rovers fans were brilliant tonight and backed the team nonstop- I heard more noise out of the 150 waterford fans in tallaght than the 1100 boez fans- sitting on their hands hoping they dont mess up their 2 man advantage.

Hoops are Top of the League!

White Horse
23/04/2019, 9:40 PM
its a game dundalk have to win.

No its not. Rovers seem to think they are running away with the league. They are getting ahead of themselves.

Calcio Jack
23/04/2019, 9:41 PM
Don't kid yourself - Bradley would be understandably content to play for a draw no matter who was available.

Oh dear you’re even more delusional than you accuse Bradley of being , hopefully over the coming days you’ll spare us your usual boring conjecture that you seem to think is fact just because you say it is...

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 9:44 PM
That's your call, but it does not take any great insight to realise that coming out of Friday night with a draw and maintaining a 7 point lead over Dundalk would be a strong position.

Bradley has already demonstrated his cautious instincts in the first fixture in Tallaght

EZ on his usual hobby horse...bradser...yawn

Jack B
23/04/2019, 9:45 PM
So to break it down Clarke was sent off when he wasn't last man back

This is irrelevant though and isn't actually in the laws of football.

Dalymountrower
23/04/2019, 9:46 PM
You're a hoot PC.
Great atmosphere.Rovers did well to keep their shape with 9 men.Carr excellent again..
11 v 11 was a top class game.
Yeah Bohs will have a huge task to finish above Rovers Derry or Dundalk, but we will enjoy pushing them all the way.

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 9:46 PM
No its not. Rovers seem to think they are running away with the league. They are getting ahead of themselves.

Agree with that even a draw would leave you 4 points behind if u win your game in hand...
Nothing in it

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 9:48 PM
You're a hoot PC.
Great atmosphere.Rovers did well to keep their shape with 9 men.Carr excellent again..
11 v 11 was a top class game.
Yeah Bohs will have a huge task to finish above Rovers Derry or Dundalk, but we will enjoy pushing them all the way.

That's the unfortunate bit but it was a magnificent spectacle record crowd both teams going for it.
Can't wait for the next one.
Law of averages :)

23/04/2019, 9:54 PM
So to break it down Clarke was sent off when he wasn't last man back, Grace was booked in the third minute and an identical foul for Bohs went without a booking ten minutes later, Grace was then sent off for heading the ball putting rovers down to 9 men and giving Bohs a penalty and Bohs still needed a rebound off said penalty to look like scoring

Carlsberg don’t do wins over Rovers...

RathfarnhamHoop
23/04/2019, 9:58 PM
This is irrelevant though and isn't actually in the laws of football.

It can't be a "clear goal scoring opportunity" if you still have a defender and the keeper to beat so yeah it sort of is

23/04/2019, 10:02 PM
Oh dear you’re even more delusional than you accuse Bradley of being , hopefully over the coming days you’ll spare us your usual boring conjecture that you seem to think is fact just because you say it is...

If positions were reversed I'd be happy enough to take a draw Friday and maintain the gap. Rovers fans should not want your thinking to be similar to Bradley as there are key moments in a season that need consolidation and not gung ho football trying to prove title challange credentials!

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 10:04 PM
Without grace and Clarke I'm inclined to agree with you.
I was confident of getting at least a draw based on how we have been playing but now I'd take a draw and run

Jack B
23/04/2019, 10:07 PM
It can't be a "clear goal scoring opportunity" if you still have a defender and the keeper to beat so yeah it sort of is

By that logic a clear goalscoring opportunity only exists if a player has an open goal in front of him. Grant is bearing down on goal and likely to shoot before Lopes can realistically cover the ground, the fact that Clarke even makes such a cynical foul in the first place is an indicator in itself as he's surely not doing that if he's safe in the knowledge that Grant is going to be faced with the impossible task of having a defender near him AND a goalkeeper being in goal.

It's as clear a goalscoring opportunity as you are a Rovers fan for even debating the fact that Clarke denied an obvious goalscoring opportunity.

Rovers can count themselves very unfortunate otherwise but the ref got the free and red card call completely spot on.

ger121
23/04/2019, 10:09 PM

It was a clear goal scoring opportunity. Tackle was outside the box.Lopes wasn’t going to get across in time to intercept. Red card the correct decision.

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 10:21 PM
That one didn't matter in the end, it was the grace header and the peno that made the difference.

At the risk of getting all sentimental 20 mins in I was thinking wow this league is really starting to go somewhere 6500 people on a Tuesday night and radio stations all day promoting the loi even with English matches on.

DFCForever
23/04/2019, 10:26 PM
proves yet again the League needs a strong Rovers
I think I've just given myself brain damage from excessive eye-rolling

sbgawa
23/04/2019, 10:27 PM
I think I've just given myself brain damage from excessive eye-rolling

Would anyone notice...:)

El-Pietro
23/04/2019, 10:33 PM
That one didn't matter in the end, it was the grace header and the peno that made the difference.

At the risk of getting all sentimental 20 mins in I was thinking wow this league is really starting to go somewhere 6500 people on a Tuesday night and radio stations all day promoting the loi even with English matches on.
Plenty of crowds of that size down this way over the last 5 years. Means nothing now. You are reading too much into it just because its in front of your eyes right now. The league is no better or worse off than its been in the past, just with different teams near the top of the table.

RathfarnhamHoop
23/04/2019, 10:34 PM
By that logic a clear goalscoring opportunity only exists if a player has an open goal in front of him. Grant is bearing down on goal and likely to shoot before Lopes can realistically cover the ground, the fact that Clarke even makes such a cynical foul in the first place is an indicator in itself as he's surely not doing that if he's safe in the knowledge that Grant is going to be faced with the impossible task of having a defender near him AND a goalkeeper being in goal.

It's as clear a goalscoring opportunity as you are a Rovers fan for even debating the fact that Clarke denied an obvious goalscoring opportunity.

Rovers can count themselves very unfortunate otherwise but the ref got the free and red card call completely spot on.

You're own wording even says is. A red card is given when there's a clear goalscoring opportunity, you can't assume a player is going to to get to the ball first you have to know they're getting there first.

All this is ignoring the fact if a touch like that can cause a player to fall over and another to be sent off we should just pack it all in the games gone beyond soft.

topia
23/04/2019, 10:47 PM
You're own wording even says is. A red card is given when there's a clear goalscoring opportunity, you can't assume a player is going to to get to the ball first you have to know they're getting there first.

All this is ignoring the fact if a touch like that can cause a player to fall over and another to be sent off we should just pack it all in the games gone beyond soft.

Ha. That's exactly how it works mate. You assume it's a goalscoring opportunity! Take your salt!

marinobohs
23/04/2019, 10:48 PM
its a game dundalk have to win. Rovers dont.
Have no fears of Rovers going up to oriel on friday-get dan carr in the team and he'll run monkey Gartland into the ground,

sendings off killed the game tonight - 1st one looked a peno as he was inside the box, ref $hit himself realising he'd made a mistake and sent off clarke to even it up( in his own frenzied brain)
2nd one wasnt even a penalty, corcoran misses the peno, lunges with 2 feet into mannus to score- nothing again from the ref. this fixture needs competent refs from outside the league as they seem to get caught up in the raw emotion of the game and lose control

bohs wont finish ahead of Rovers, dundalk or Derry at seasons end as they are toothless up front, even with a tidy midfield. they'll end up hoping Rovers win the cup just to get them a little jaunt to Europe.
Rovers fans were brilliant tonight and backed the team nonstop- I heard more noise out of the 150 waterford fans in tallaght than the 1100 boez fans- sitting on their hands hoping they dont mess up their 2 man advantage.

Hoops are Top of the League!
Here. endeth. The. Lesson. - on and off the pitch 😂😂😂😂😂

marinobohs
23/04/2019, 11:32 PM
So to break it down Clarke was sent off when he wasn't last man back, Grace was booked in the third minute and an identical foul for Bohs went without a booking ten minutes later, Grace was then sent off for heading the ball putting rovers down to 9 men and giving Bohs a penalty and Bohs still needed a rebound off said penalty to look like scoring.

Supple saying he's blocking his head from the ref but if the ball at that power and distance hits your arm your arm is going backwards, Grace's arm doesn't but his head does, that alone shows it didn't hit his arm. Don't even get me started on Buckley getting away with gesturing for a card which is a bookable offence itself.

Keep deluding yourself, it makes it even funnier for everyone else 😁
How many games is that now that Bohs have been “lucky” against shams ?

sbgawa
24/04/2019, 12:03 AM
It's not actually that unusual a run for either team.

wexfordned
24/04/2019, 12:08 AM
When does Bohs beating Rovers become a tradition and not a trend??

1st red card was an obvious professional foul and the ref was spot on.

Also FAO Placid Casual it wasn't Dinny that slid in two footed to take out Mannus after the penalty save. It was actually Joey O'Brien who buried him going in with both feet!! Should have been sent off for such a shocking challenge. Dont know how he didn't break his ribs

Dinny was the one playing the ball to score the goal.