View Full Version : Life's Simple Pleasures...
14/04/2005, 8:49 AM
After all the bitching yesterday, I thought it was time to focus on some of the positive things in life.
I'll start off with some obvious ones.
Waking up in a mini panic that you're late for work, only to realise it's Saturday and you don't have work.
Hearing your title rivals have slipped up at home and realising that you're right back in the chase.
Waking up after a mad session and finding you still have some money left.
Getting a sunny day and finding a pub with a nice outside area so that you can enjoy it.
Getting someone to scratch that itch in the middle of your back for you.
Babysis
14/04/2005, 9:52 AM
The cold side of the pillow
Going drinking with friends during the day on a saturday
Finding money in your pocket/purse/bag you had forgetten about
Watching an old film on a wintery cold afternoon inside in the warm
Getting in to freshly changed bed
14/04/2005, 10:06 AM
Seeing my baby son smile at me when he wakes up in the morning :)
14/04/2005, 10:09 AM
The cold side of the pillow
Going drinking with friends during the day on a saturday
Finding money in your pocket/purse/bag you had forgetten about
Watching an old film on a wintery cold afternoon inside in the warm
Getting in to freshly changed bedYum to everything but the movie. Not that the movie would be bad, just everything else is too yum to compare.
joey B
14/04/2005, 10:11 AM
Making my nephew laugh bit soppy I know :o
14/04/2005, 2:12 PM
Making my nephew laugh
I hear ya on that one!
Men are allowed to be soppy on foot.ie ;)
Babysis
14/04/2005, 2:14 PM
Seeing my baby son smile at me when he wakes up in the morning :)
Ah bless.(and you too Joey B) :)
14/04/2005, 3:05 PM
* Going home and having Mum's wonderful homemade soup(slurp!), eat proper bread and nicer meat and catching up on all the mad gossip and funny stories.
* Finding money which I have left in another bag when I am broke :D
* Hugging a loved one
* When you need help in a new place and people are genuinely kind and useful, making you feel welcome.
* Reunions of family and friends who live abroad
* The rest is not suitable for a public forum..... ;) :p :D :D
14/04/2005, 4:00 PM
* The rest is not suitable for a public forum.Absolutely, we'll have no filth posted in public. PM it to me instead. :)
http://foot.ie/private.php?do=newpm&userid=1
14/04/2005, 4:05 PM
Absolutely, we'll have no filth posted in public. PM it to me instead. :)
http://foot.ie/private.php?do=newpm&userid=1
Ha ha, of course!!! :rolleyes: :D :D
Men are allowed to be soppy on foot.ie ;)OK so.
Asking my little daughter where she lives and she says "Happily Ever After"
14/04/2005, 4:07 PM
-Having a dream that something really terrible has happend, get really worried about it, waking up and suddenly realising that it was just a dream. It can't be beaten.
-Going out with the lads
-Winning a league title. Trust me on this one Cork lads :)
-Winning two league titles. Trust me on this one Bohs lads :)
-Flicking through the music channels on Sky digital. Dunno how many of you do this, but I always start from the highest music channel (Think it's 473) and keep hitting channel down, you always find some absolutley quality song, get to the bottom and start again. I can do it for hours.
-Getting all the family from all over the place together at christmas and times like that
Eire06
14/04/2005, 4:12 PM
OK so.
That is so cute.... :)
stojkovic
14/04/2005, 4:14 PM
and for everything else
there's MASTERCARD
14/04/2005, 4:17 PM
Beer.
14/04/2005, 4:17 PM
OK so.
But she lives in Cork??? :confused: ;) :D
Babysis
14/04/2005, 4:23 PM
But she lives in Cork??? :confused: ;) :D
Ah bit harsh :D
Right now id say one of life's simple pleasures is family.
-Getting all the family from all over the place together at christmas and times like that
God bless day release...:D
Sleeping in after a nights drinking
14/04/2005, 4:33 PM
Ah bit harsh :D
Right now id say one of life's simple pleasures is family.
only pulling his leg.........
:D :D
stojkovic
14/04/2005, 4:34 PM
Watching your team concede a goal and then see it get dissallowed for off-side - absolute bliss.
1) the way tea tastes with a fry
2) last minute winners/ equalisers (or both if u're a man u fan - 99 :D )
3) the first hot day of the year
4) catching up with friends
5) being told you've passed your driving test
14/04/2005, 4:58 PM
1) the way tea tastes with a fry
2) last minute winners/ equalisers (or both if u're a man u fan - 99 :D )
3) the first hot day of the year
4) catching up with friends
5) being told you've passed your driving test
:D :D :D some deep thought there, but it is nice!
14/04/2005, 5:43 PM
Speaking of fries, and still on the alcoholic front, there's nothing like a proper greasy spoon fry first thing in the morning after a night on the town, or a breakfast roll if a greasy enough cafe can't be found. Or the almost instant relief that only Alka Seltzer can bring. :)
Fair_play_boy
14/04/2005, 7:35 PM
K.C.s in Douglas village.
dcnags
14/04/2005, 11:12 PM
K.C.s in Douglas village.
Oh my god yes!
Some great ones mentioned and i'd only be repeating ye...
Getting back to your own bed after being away somewhere. Nowhere beats your own bed....
Finding money. My buddy once found 10 euro in a bin. Don't ask me why he was looking in there in the first place though.
A drink of water after playing a match in the middle of summer.
Laughing so much that it hurts and you've tears in your eyes.
Bosco
14/04/2005, 11:17 PM
Walking up in the morning,looking at your clock to realise you still have another 2 hours in bed.
Walking up in the middle of the night after a night out with a dry throught and then drinking the pint of orange you thoughtfully remembered to leave beside your bed
I really liked the 'cold side of the pillow' one.
How about:
1. taking off your shoes at the end of the day.
2. finally getting to a toilet after not being able to get to one for a long time (e.g. long car journey)
3. farting (though not too pleasant for those around you).
4. getting an inviting smile from a girl you fancy. :) (which is obviously unlikely to happen if you've just done no. 3! :D )
5. the first beer on a foreign holiday.
boysingreen
15/04/2005, 5:10 AM
The time from when the plane touches down in Ireland til you see your family that are there to greet you :D
15/04/2005, 7:55 AM
--Flicking through the music channels on Sky digital. Dunno how many of you do this, but I always start from the highest music channel (Think it's 473) and keep hitting channel down, you always find some absolutley quality song, get to the bottom and start again. I can do it for hours.
I hear ya....quality :D Annoys the wife though :rolleyes:
aido_b
15/04/2005, 7:57 AM
Good thread this;
Making a sandwich from the leftovers of a Sunday dinner
New socks!
A good curry after a night out
Snatching the Eircom League title from under Shels noses in Kilkenny then arriving home to find your brother and all his other Shels fans mates in your sitting room!
Ashley Bayes! what a legend!
Flicking through channels last night, don't have a subscription to setanta but it was on and got the Newcastle game, which was nice.
Babysis
15/04/2005, 10:34 AM
coming in to work on a Friday hung over to find everyone else including your directors are feeling just as bad. :D
davey
15/04/2005, 11:14 AM
Making a sandwich from the leftovers of a Sunday dinner
Love this! Think I've put everything in a sandwich in my time.
15/04/2005, 11:17 AM
2. finally getting to a toilet after not being able to get to one for a long time (e.g. long car journey)
God, yeah. Those bus journeys to Derry. :eek:
Eire06
15/04/2005, 1:29 PM
Driving with the radio turned up full blast and singing along as loud as you can.. (best done to girls cheesy songs)
Making new friends..
Having a secret admirer..
Your fav team winning a tough match..
Scoring a goal \ try in a match..
Having your hair \ nails done..
Being congratulated ona job well done..
Meeting Robbie Keane... ;) :p :D
15/04/2005, 1:41 PM
Driving with the radio turned up full blast and singing along as loud as you can.. (best done to girls cheesy songs)
Making new friends..
Having a secret admirer..
Your fav team winning a tough match..
Scoring a goal \ try in a match..
Having your hair \ nails done..
Being congratulated ona job well done..
Meeting Robbie Keane... :D
How could I forget.......? :rolleyes:
.......... meeting Mick McCarthy :) nice! :D
...... :o
Eire06
15/04/2005, 1:43 PM
How could I forget.......? :rolleyes:
.......... meeting Mick McCarthy
Nightmare stuff... :( :eek:
15/04/2005, 1:46 PM
Nightmare stuff... :( :eek:
Hee hee, i think it's his eyes, i'm a sucker for nice eyes! :D
Eire06
15/04/2005, 1:54 PM
Hee hee, i think it's his eyes, i'm a sucker for nice eyes! :D
Its just wrong and sick...... :confused:
You do really need help urgantly :rolleyes:
15/04/2005, 2:03 PM
Its just wrong and sick...... :confused:
You do really need help urgantly :rolleyes:
:D :( He's far too old now! :eek: , I just thought he looked good for his age but when he was younger, he would have been acceptable.
15/04/2005, 2:05 PM
i feel we are hijacking the thread again. Leon will give us a boll*cking! :D
Eire06
15/04/2005, 2:11 PM
i feel we are hijacking the thread again. Leon will give us a boll*cking! :D
I'll get my brothers to sort him out!! :D
They're after Peadar too.. Two birds with one stone :D
We are going off topic though this should be in Totty watch..
Drinking Ice cold beer on a really hot day in a beer garden..
Waking up and its really hot and sunny... :D
15/04/2005, 2:36 PM
i feel we are hijacking the thread again.
We are going off topic though this should be in Totty watch..
Finally, you two are learing! :rolleyes:
Wiseguy
15/04/2005, 3:07 PM
It's hard to beat backpacking through Asia with no money and no one speaks english then all of a sudden you see someone with an Irish Jesey and a big sunburned freckley face and a generous look about him.Cheers Owen!
The feeling after the drogs score ;)
Oh yeah, and taking an unplanned 'sickie', sit at the bar in a pub from 1130 am, get them to stick on the racing, have a few flutter in the bookies next door and have lovely pints of guinness - ye just cant beat that :D
Babysis
16/04/2005, 4:16 PM
One for the future, now that Rule 42 has been changed, Id say watching Ireland play in a great stadium :D
16/04/2005, 4:27 PM
yes here here, its a great stadium, and i honestly think the atmosphere will be as good if not better there. there are however a lot of issues to be sorted out such as floodlighting, segregation etc. I do hope landsdowne gets redeveloped though.
on another note. the cold pillow is great. or when you wake up in the morning and go for a pee and then realise you have another 3 hours of sleep :D
waking up in teh morning and realising you are late for your train/plane is one of the worst. or being at an airport 35 mins before flight time and not being allowed to check in, even though it only takes 10 mins to get through security and to your gate, all this happening because the bus you have taken has been delayed by some stupid feckers messing about up ahead on the road.
Gerrit
17/04/2005, 12:32 AM
Great things in life ??
football
music
travelling
women
Life's not that bad if I think of that :) Unfortunately the not so pleasant list is longer :( Starting with work *damnit the weekend's already half over*
17/04/2005, 2:08 AM
Great things in life ??
football
music
travelling
women
Life's not that bad if I think of that :) Unfortunately the not so pleasant list is longer :( Starting with work *damnit the weekend's already half over*
yes, we know we are great!!! :D :D Merci Gerrit! ;)
Gerrit
17/04/2005, 4:19 PM
Certainly some parts alright :) Temple Bar on a Friday/Saturday night is a great place ;)