View Full Version : 2019 Televised Fixtures
16/02/2019, 9:05 AM
I find it bemusing that they went around the ground to all the reporters pre-match, but never went back to them again over the course of the broadcast.
Surely they could have done a quick half-time rundown with each of them, and the same again at full time as opposed to Peter Collins talking over the goals?
I presume it was a time thing. Those previews weren't live looking at the crowds in the background; they were recorded well in advance. Harder to do the same with a half-time update.
Crosshead
16/02/2019, 11:43 AM
If RTE do the 3 hour shows for 15 or 16 of the 18 live games those "extra" 15 or 16 hours makes up for losing the half hour on Monday, hopefully there'll be less sh1t talk too so for me that'll do nicely.
Usually I record Soccer Republic but fast forward through most of the chat and I'd say a lot of people do the same
Only ten of RTE's live games were from the league last season - the rest were FAI Cup and European nights when no one else was playing, so if it were the same ratio this season, the league would have a net loss in terms of broadcasting time.
legendz
19/02/2019, 1:17 PM
So there's no live game on RTE this Friday. That's fine by me as I plan to be at Limerick v Longford. Will RTE be making the night's goals available on some platform on Friday night?
19/02/2019, 6:04 PM
So there's no live game on RTE this Friday. That's fine by me as I plan to be at Limerick v Longford. Will RTE be making the night's goals available on some platform on Friday night?
doubt it some how.
legendz
19/02/2019, 8:37 PM
doubt it some how.Are clubs allowed show the goals or do they have to wait until after Soccer Republic is aired on the Monday?
ToberonaTornado
19/02/2019, 9:01 PM
Are clubs allowed show the goals or do they have to wait until after Soccer Republic is aired on the Monday?
Clubs can show the goals as soon as they want,no broadcast embargo from this season.
Shearer
19/02/2019, 9:47 PM
Clubs can show the goals as soon as they want,no broadcast embargo from this season.
Really? I saw the Pat's Instagram on Friday say midgame that they couldn't show the goal - is it a case of on televised nights RTÉ show it first?
If there is a live broadcast clubs can show their goals and highlights but if there isn't they still have to wait to Monday.
legendz
19/02/2019, 10:30 PM
If there is a live broadcast clubs can show their goals and highlights but if there isn't they still have to wait to Monday.This is where I thought the goals would be shown on the RTE News channel or online on the Friday night. Clubs should be allowed to show goals and highlights on the day after all their games. If RTE pass up an opportunity to show them first, it should not be blocking clubs from promoting their own product.
joey B
19/02/2019, 10:40 PM
A joke we have to wait 3 days for highlights,the Irish league get goals and reaction 20 minutes after full time on Saturdays.
20/02/2019, 12:08 AM
A joke we have to wait 3 days for highlights,the Irish league get goals and reaction 20 minutes after full time on Saturdays.
Well if you like the Irish League so much why don't you go and join?
Ahem.
Excuse me. Sorry, I thought you were Derry there for a second.
20/02/2019, 1:25 AM
Many an Irish League fan have said they envied the coverage that LoI gets, i presume they were thinking of live coverage though. A pet hate of mine is when Final Score cuts to BBC NI suddenly in the middle of watching the English/Scottish/Welsh results - Im a traditionalist and enjoyed lsitening to the results from the old conference and the Scottish Highland leagues then check the Irish League results on Ceefax:D
joey B
20/02/2019, 2:11 AM
Excuse me. Sorry, I thought you were Derry there for a second.
Never had anything worse said to me,moderator please!!!??
20/02/2019, 11:20 AM
If there is a live broadcast clubs can show their goals and highlights but if there isn't they still have to wait to Monday.
Incorrect, no embargo on goals this season.
I took this straight from an email sent by FAI to clubs.
"Clubs are reminded not to broadcast any highlights of their fixtures on websites, social media or other media forms until midnight on the Monday following their fixtures. This embargo is not in place where there is a live TV match on the Friday night."
20/02/2019, 12:32 PM
I took this straight from an email sent by FAI to clubs.
"Clubs are reminded not to broadcast any highlights of their fixtures on websites, social media or other media forms until midnight on the Monday following their fixtures. This embargo is not in place where there is a live TV match on the Friday night."
Not seen that but that's 100% not the case and the clubs know this. The above reads like last season's instructions.
Email was sent yesterday.
20/02/2019, 1:46 PM
Email was sent yesterday.
I don't doubt it!
mcgonigle
20/02/2019, 2:53 PM
What do you have to do to access the trackchamp feeds? It's my only was of catching our game v Harps on Friday :(
20/02/2019, 5:01 PM
What do you have to do to access the trackchamp feeds? It's my only was of catching our game v Harps on Friday :(
www.skorlive.com/football
Pretty self explanatory once you go onto there.
mcgonigle
20/02/2019, 9:02 PM
www.skorlive.com/football
Pretty self explanatory once you go onto there.
Cheers, had forgotten about that site.
dundalkfc10
20/02/2019, 9:54 PM
Did I not see somewhere that skorlive had none of the LOI games bar the Dundalk game which was on TV last week
lofty9
20/02/2019, 10:26 PM
Did I not see somewhere that skorlive had none of the LOI games bar the Dundalk game which was on TV last week
Derry UCD was definitely on it.
20/02/2019, 10:42 PM
McGonigle is a grand Donegal name, any divided loyalties? ;)
SPXcyan
21/02/2019, 7:12 AM
The Derry and Bohemians games were streamed from SkorLive, the Waterford game was a complete no go unfortunately for me, being in Germany now I have no way to watch my beloved LOI.
mcgonigle
21/02/2019, 1:16 PM
McGonigle is a grand Donegal name, any divided loyalties? ;)
No chance!
It's not actually my name, I'm struggling to remember why I picked it signing up all those years ago!
supersaint11
21/02/2019, 1:42 PM
is there any games on this week? as don't see it advertised on rte or eir? some good games on so cant see why they wouldn't show one..
Real ale Madrid
21/02/2019, 1:52 PM
It's not actually my name, I'm struggling to remember why I picked it signing up all those years ago!
I always thought it was The Simpsons - "You're off the case McGonigle!"
No chance!
Don't worry. There was a lecturer in UCG all those years ago that was nicknamed mcgonigle for no good reason.
mcgonigle
21/02/2019, 3:36 PM
Sir, I doff my hat to you. That is exactly were it was from. When that episode aired, my Mc surname was changed to McGonigle by a group of friends. Simpler times
21/02/2019, 4:23 PM
Sir, I doff my hat to you. That is exactly were it was from. When that episode aired, my Mc surname was changed to McGonigle by a group of friends. Simpler times
Lol fair enough! I wont mention what I got from friends, its certainly had nothing to do with a classy Italian defender!!
21/02/2019, 9:16 PM
Not to get too pedantic about a TV show, but that character was McGarnagle, not McGonigle.
It's the little things.
Real ale Madrid
21/02/2019, 11:46 PM
Yeah but kind of pronounced McGonigle. My cousin married a McGonigle and I used to shout the line at him to wind him up cos he hated the Simpsons. Probably why I remember it more than other lines.
22/02/2019, 7:47 AM
Tomato is kind of pronounced potato too.
mcgonigle
22/02/2019, 1:05 PM
Not to get too pedantic about a TV show, but that character was McGarnagle, not McGonigle.
It's the little things.
True but I was too lazy to Google it at the time and still to lazy to bother changing it...
22/02/2019, 2:36 PM
https://frinkiac.com/meme/S05E20/1055303.jpg?b64lines=IFlPVSBHT1RUQSBETwogVEhJUyBPT kUgRk9SIE1FLCBCSUxMWS4KIE1jR0FSTkFHbGUu
Dalymountrower
22/02/2019, 3:12 PM
[QUOTE=nigel-harps1954;1992190]Not to get too pedantic about a TV show, but that character was McGarnagle, not McGonigle.
You`re back on the case Mc Garnagle.
mcgonigle
22/02/2019, 5:48 PM
This could be thread of the season already....
Crosshead
24/02/2019, 8:10 AM
This sums up the state of the current broadcasting arrangement perfectly.
https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/1099313148115464192?s=19
We've to wait three days for highlights in a show that used to be twice as long, being aired at the same time many people will go to matches not having a clue when they'll get to watch the highlights of what they're about to see.
This sums up the state of the current broadcasting arrangement perfectly.
https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/1099313148115464192?s=19
We've to wait three days for highlights in a show that used to be twice as long, being aired at the same time many people will go to matches not having a clue when they'll get to watch the highlights of what they're about to see.
Yeah, but apart from that it's grand.
Real ale Madrid
24/02/2019, 11:51 AM
Tomato is kind of pronounced potato too.
Don't get too pedantic now!
24/02/2019, 12:22 PM
Love that one. “You’re off your case Chief!”.
25/02/2019, 11:54 AM
Expect goals & highlights from all LoI matches tonights on club social media. FAI are writing to all clubs today to confirm that the embargo from RTE doesn't exist, though wording will be interesting
Long overdue & a potential game changer for clubs ability to market.
The Fai lies through their teeth on this . How can the loi ever hope to develop when their being run by an organization that has no interest in it..
littlebray
25/02/2019, 2:57 PM
They're only following the fine example given by the Mail - recycle last year's everything.
25/02/2019, 4:19 PM
FAI Statement is pretty funny..
The SSE Airtricity League can confirm that following discussions with RTE, clubs can now broadcast goals from their matches on their official club social media channels.
RTE have removed the embargo on clubs promoting their own sourced goal footage until after the Soccer Republic show on a Monday night.
This decision follows talks on Monday, February 25 between League officials and RTE Sport and is welcomed by the SSE Airtricity League.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/02/2019, 6:48 PM
Embarrassing commentary on our game v Pats.
Darragh Markey takes a shot for us according to the commentator (Daryl Forsyth) and then the next play they show he says Darragh Markey had a shot for Pats (when it was Chris Forrestor). Then our next effort came from Mikey Drennan who in the next attack for Pats had a chance for them.
sbgawa
26/02/2019, 9:11 PM
Banging my head against a wall here but just to add my voice to it......women's feckin rugby, any old ****e, it's a disgrace how the league is treated
26/02/2019, 10:48 PM
Careful now!! Ye have to watch what you say on such things thsese days or you might have a hastag in front of you name in no time....
27/02/2019, 12:35 AM
Nothing wrong with showing women's rugby but the women's football team should be afforded the same space, which they aren't and never will be.
RathfarnhamHoop
27/02/2019, 12:01 PM
Banging my head against a wall here but just to add my voice to it......women's feckin rugby, any old ****e, it's a disgrace how the league is treated
Ah there's nothing wrong with showing the women's rugby it's the pointless reruns of ****e TV shows that deserve the criticism. As the publicly funded TV provider they should be showing as much Irish sport they can get their hands on, international, domestic, football, GAA, rugby everything but instead they show the same episode of the big bang theory or whatever for the 100th time