View Full Version : Faroese nights
19/04/2005, 8:17 PM
Sorry should have read your quote on another thread before asking that question!
ha ha :D :D
the big blond guys with eyeliner!! :D sorry Gerrit i'm only having a laugh.
19/04/2005, 8:23 PM
Someone split this...? Thanks!
19/04/2005, 8:46 PM
sorry, it has gone off on one :o
Gerrit
20/04/2005, 7:14 AM
ha ha :D :D
the big blond guys with eyeliner!! :D sorry Gerrit i'm only having a laugh.
No problemo, replies like the previous don't move me a single bit, and a bit of self-mockery is never bad so I just join in the game. Besides, from a Rovers fan, what can you expect but narrow-mindedness ? :D
And yeah, the big blonde busty girls up north float my boat alright, rargh :cool:
22/04/2005, 2:00 PM
Any more takers on this one? Still need another 13 needed! Want to get back to the tourist board to confirm as soon as I can!
Seriously, about 40 people turned up for the beach party in Tel Aviv. Keep that in mind.
Gerrit
23/04/2005, 2:01 AM
What's the total price and is there any sightseeing and groundhopping possible ?
We always start off with good intentions & end up boozing for the whole thing. Keep yer money for whiskey. :o
Update from the tourist board...
Lopez and Sylvo have been mentioned - are they around to confirm this themselves?
Stu, myself and Lopez will be right up for this. count us in please.
What were they doing in Hamburg? (Forgive the noseyness, it's an Irish thing). :D
It was Pat O'Banton's stag do, so we went over to see a St Pauli game plus go three days on the tear. :D Still suffering.
BTW. Love the sign off. :D
23/04/2005, 8:20 PM
Seriously, about 40 people turned up for the beach party in Tel Aviv. Keep that in mind.
Yeah, I know, but the tourist office would prefer if we can get the numbers confirmed ASAP because they are going out of their way to organise this. You're around for the game, aren't you? You around on the Tuesday? :)
25/04/2005, 10:21 AM
Well done on getting the mention in "Planet Football" in the IT today, should hopefully boost the numbers.....
25/04/2005, 11:55 AM
Yeah, I know, but the tourist office would prefer if we can get the numbers confirmed ASAP because they are going out of their way to organise this. You're around for the game, aren't you? You around on the Tuesday? :)
Just tell them 30 of us will be there. However many turn up will drink enough to make it worth their while anyway!
Babysis
25/04/2005, 12:14 PM
Just tell them 30 of us will be there. However many turn up will drink enough to make it worth their while anyway!
That does make sense. There are already a fair few of us confimred. add to that the fans who will follow everyone else on the Tuesday. we will have loadsa people. Tell the tourist board, you have at least 30, possibly more, and its all happy days :) Cheers for organising all of this
25/04/2005, 12:33 PM
Well done on getting the mention in "Planet Football" in the IT today, should hopefully boost the numbers.....
Cheers - you sure it didn't put you off the dinner though?! :p
Yeah, throw me in mate. Will there be any free booze for the price? I heard it's a tenner a pint, duty free vodka all the way....
25/04/2005, 6:24 PM
Dunno - not a big drinking country, really. Sure there'll be some. My guide books says pints are about E7 - not as bad as Ģ10! Still, he duty free'll be doing some good business! There's a post in the main thread about duty free limits though - fairly small... :(
Babysis
26/04/2005, 8:52 AM
Information on Duty free from the faroes tourist office (http:///www.visit-faroeislands.com)
Duty-free imports:
Travellers over 15 years:
Cigarettes, 200
Or
Cigarillos, 100
Or
Cigars, 50.
Or
Tobacco, 250 grammes
Travellers over 18 years:
Spirits 22-60 % alcohol volume
max. 1 litre
Wine and alcoholic beverages
up to 22% alcohol volume
1 litre, or 2 litres of table wine
Beer up to 5.8% alcohol volum
Travellers can also bring the following
goods duty-free:
Perfume, 50 grammes
Eau de toilet, 25 cl.
Chocolates and sweets, 3 kilos Other goods:
Travellers can bring additional goods worth up to
DKK 2500
Sorry if its just repeating what you all already know :o
Cowboy
26/04/2005, 9:09 AM
Is this piece on the web anywhere?
26/04/2005, 12:30 PM
Planet Football has its own section on ireland.com, but you have to register to view it. I'll try and remember to type it up this evening (only a few lines).
26/04/2005, 9:01 PM
Here we go...
Fishy Faroes Fare for fans fete
The Faroe Islands tourist board has offered to stage a special Faroese culture night (i.e. food, music, dancing and drink), numbers permitting, for travelling Irish fans on the evening before Ireland's World Cup qualifying match in June...if you're planning on travelling to the match, drop into the messageboard on www.foot.ie and leave your name.
What kind of food might the Irish visitors expect? Well, according to Travelocity's website, "One of the most popular treats is skeppijot - well-aged, wind-dried mutton that requires a sharp knife and strong jaws...other favourites are rast kjot (boiled mutton) and rastan fisk (boiled fish). After the bloody grindadrap, a favourite is grind og spik (whale and blubber) which you should probably avoid if the slaughter of pilot whales turns your stomach. Fresh fish also features strongly in the local diet, as do sea birds, such as puffins, and their eggs."
No offence, like, but we'll be bringing the ham sandwiches to the do.
Cowboy
26/04/2005, 9:06 PM
Thanks Stu, sounds like a Klingon banquet
26/04/2005, 9:11 PM
Yer wan says she's still taking Rennie just reading about it! :p
27/04/2005, 6:36 PM
Got this from the person running one of the places we're staying in over in the Faroes (had to swap dates to accommodate the Faroese night)...
You should expect pretty special food.. :) might not like all of it, but
give it a try! You might also enjoy some Faroese dancing, itīs pretty easy
to learn. The hard part is the songs.. 100 verses is not unusual, but for
tourists we might cut it down to 20. :)
The songs sound fun! Especially after a few pints! :p
Pat O' Banton
27/04/2005, 7:10 PM
Thats it settled arrive at seven, they sing one of their songs, we give them a burst of Skibereen by the time we've finished it'll be well gone last orders! :D ;)
Pat O' Banton
27/04/2005, 7:14 PM
Fishy Faroes Fare for fans fete
The Faroe Islands tourist board has offered to stage a special Faroese culture night (i.e. food, music, dancing and drink), numbers permitting, for travelling Irish fans on the evening before Ireland's World Cup qualifying match in June...if you're planning on travelling to the match, drop into the messageboard on www.foot.ie and leave your name.
What kind of food might the Irish visitors expect? Well, according to Travelocity's website, "One of the most popular treats is skeppijot - well-aged, wind-dried mutton that requires a sharp knife and strong jaws...other favourites are rast kjot (boiled mutton) and rastan fisk (boiled fish). After the bloody grindadrap, a favourite is grind og spik (whale and blubber) which you should probably avoid if the slaughter of pilot whales turns your stomach. Fresh fish also features strongly in the local diet, as do sea birds, such as puffins, and their eggs."
No offence, like, but we'll be bringing the ham sandwiches to the do.
err... I fear this maybe p*ssing in the wind but; anything for the more veggie amougst us :o
27/04/2005, 7:45 PM
Doubt it, I'm afraid. No trees on the Faroes, so a distinct lack of fruit available. The ground's probably not the best for growing veg either...!
Course, technically fish isn't meat! ;)
err... I fear this maybe p*ssing in the wind but; anything for the more veggie amougst us :o
Just do what you normally do when you go away, go on a crash course diet of booze and ciggie's.
It's worked everywhere else for you. :eek:
27/04/2005, 11:11 PM
Ever tried seaweed! Supposedly has aphrodisiac effects!
Pat O' Banton
28/04/2005, 3:38 PM
Doubt it, I'm afraid. No trees on the Faroes, so a distinct lack of fruit available. The ground's probably not the best for growing veg either...!
The more I hear about the place the more I believe we are going on some elaborate detour to play Arranmore United.
Just do what you normally do when you go away, go on a crash course diet of booze and ciggie's.
It's worked everywhere else for you. :eek:
It sounds like it will be my only sourse of vitamins for the whole week :eek:
Pat O' Banton
28/04/2005, 3:41 PM
Ever tried seaweed! Supposedly has aphrodisiac effects!
Once and the only thing to, er shall we say rise, was the contents of my stomache in revolt. :eek: :D
Pat O' Banton
28/04/2005, 3:52 PM
yeah but that seaweed that they give you with the Chinese is very tasty altogether.
I can't wait to try these delicacies. After some of the stuff I ate on the stopover in Hong Kong (en route to a honeymoon in Oz) my stomach can handle lumps of steel.
And anyway . . . nobody on here is vegetarian surely?????
Think that it is actually sherded cabbage, and your right it is lovely.
One vegetarian over here.
Anyway what were you eating that was that bad in Hong Kong?
28/04/2005, 5:19 PM
Think that it is actually sherded cabbage, and your right it is lovely.
One vegetarian over here.
Anyway what were you eating that was that bad in Hong Kong?
You can get strips of thin seaweed, popular as a snack in asia, bloody lovely, but if you don't like fish you'll hate it, quite a strong flavour of it. My flatmate supplies me regulary with packets of it from Taiwan and Japan. Slurp! :D
Babysis
28/04/2005, 5:22 PM
Pat we will bring you some beans and bread, and packets of Quavers - that and lager will see you have a nice balanced diet for the week :D
28/04/2005, 5:32 PM
Pat we will bring you some beans and bread, and packets of Quavers - that and lager will see you have a nice balanced diet for the week :D
And don't forget his Yoga mat to entertain him at half-time on the hill! :D
green army
28/04/2005, 5:55 PM
the local burger king will keep me going for the couple of days. like in the simpsons when they put a krusty burger on an unmanned oil rig. homer is lost at sea in a dinghy gets the spell of the krusty burgers and orders loads. :D
Pat O' Banton
28/04/2005, 6:08 PM
Jesus where do I start? We went into one restaurant and the waiter said "you like fish?" and I nodded but said I'd prefer a bit of chicken. I shouldn't criticise his language skills because I can't speak Chinese, but it seems they were his only words of English. Two minutes later he comes out of the kitchen with a live fish in a plastic bag, like you'd get at a fairground after hitting the wall with three darts or something.
One of the strangest nights out ever. We just ate what was put in front of us and to this day I haven't a clue what it was, except there might have been cashew nuts in it.
Not the place to go if you have food allergies anyway . . and definitely NOT a destination for vegetarians.
:D :D
A job as food critic for Harpers and Collins (or failing that foot.ie!) awaits
Pat we will bring you some beans and bread, and packets of Quavers - that and lager will see you have a nice balanced diet for the week
Yeah but I go abroad for a change of culture!
And don't forget his Yoga mat to entertain him at half-time on the hill!
I won't have much in the way of karma if I'm on the hill without a ticket.
Anyway would it be wise practising some of the moves amoungst some of the lads whove been couped up in a women free environment since they arrived in the Faroe's?!
Pat O' Banton
28/04/2005, 6:19 PM
You can get strips of thin seaweed, popular as a snack in asia, bloody lovely, but if you don't like fish you'll hate it, quite a strong flavour of it. My flatmate supplies me regulary with packets of it from Taiwan and Japan. Slurp! :D
My father's from the coast of Donegal so he used to always bring back some seaweed after he visits. It used to stay in the fridge for ages before he works up the courage to eat it and then tries to convince himself (and everyone else that it tastes nice.) As I said he convinced me once but never again.
28/04/2005, 6:45 PM
My father's from the coast of Donegal so he used to always bring back some seaweed after he visits. It used to stay in the fridge for ages before he works up the courage to eat it and then tries to convince himself (and everyone else that it tastes nice.) As I said he convinced me once but never again.
It is very nutritious and yummy!
Babysis
29/04/2005, 8:36 AM
:D :D
Anyway would it be wise practising some of the moves amoungst some of the lads whove been couped up in a women free environment since they arrived in the Faroe's?!
Id be more concerned with you trying to do some of those moves after the amount of beer you are likely to consume. I can just see Sky sports catching you on camera rolling off down the hill :D
Colie
30/04/2005, 11:57 AM
Hey Pineapple Stu, d'ya get the 30 needed?
30/04/2005, 5:41 PM
20 so far, but I e-mailed and said between the amount we have so far and the likes of GreenArmy's letter to his crowd of 50 and the bit in the Irish Times, there shouldn't be a problem. We'll be able to drag a few in from the pubs on the Tuesday once we get there too, I'd say!
sylvo
04/05/2005, 10:07 AM
20 so far, but I e-mailed and said between the amount we have so far and the likes of GreenArmy's letter to his crowd of 50 and the bit in the Irish Times, there shouldn't be a problem. We'll be able to drag a few in from the pubs on the Tuesday once we get there too, I'd say!
We've got two more to add to the list who are with us and want to go to the Faroese night, Barney and Mick.
Cheers.
12/05/2005, 11:09 AM
We'll be able to drag a few in from the pubs on the Tuesday once we get there too, I'd say!
I might have 3 more for the list.
23/05/2005, 5:52 PM
Incidentally, on this, I think you put your name down for it at the tourist office on the Tuesday. Mention that you're one of the Irish fans and they should have things organised and be able to tell you where it's at. Wherever it's at sounds like the best meet-up place, I think.
Pat O' Banton
24/05/2005, 11:44 AM
Wherever it's at sounds like the best meet-up place, I think.
No, it is the best place to meet, if we try anywhere else people will just get comfy and into rounds going at different speed so they'll wait for people to catch up and have another drink by which time the people they were waiting for have finished theirs and now have to wait for the first set to finish so they'll get a pint in themselves. Everyone turns up extremely late and already drunk.
Yes this is the voice of experiance on this one.
Babysis
24/05/2005, 12:05 PM
No, it is the best place to meet, if we try anywhere else people will just get comfy and into rounds going at different speed so they'll wait for people to catch up and have another drink by which time the people they were waiting for have finished theirs and now have to wait for the first set to finish so they'll get a pint in themselves. Everyone turns up extremely late and already drunk.
Ok, so lets try and make it official. Everyone meet at the Faroese night. A good few of us will have mobys over there hopefully. its one text to let someone else knoe the time and place. And then everyone can spread the word. Hopefully :)
Colie
24/05/2005, 10:11 PM
Well said, this crap always happens. Every night you go out.
25/05/2005, 1:30 PM
Got an e-mail today...
Dear Kevin
I talked with the organizers of the Faeroes nights today, and they told me
that it s difficult finding a location.
Did you manage to find 30 persons?
There will be a Faeroes and Irish concert in the Nordic house on the 7th.
Maybe this is of interest?
Sincerely
Kunningarstovan
I've replied just confirming what exactly the concert is - sounds like basically some traditional Irish and Faroese music or something. I've said there should be some interest in that as well. Will let yez know what comes back...
Kunningarstovan is a cool name.