View Full Version : Working abroad
I'm half thinking of going working abroad for a laugh for a year in january.
Has anyone ever done the whole taken a year out?
Half thinking of Canada - anyone ever been there? Heard its a bit boring?
I've a mate doing that teaching english stuff in south korea next month - sounds interesting?
Bear in mind, ill be more than likely heading off on my own - my mates will be back from australia in 2 months and they tell me thats defo the place to go? (just seems a bit obvious seen as everyone has done it)
09/04/2005, 10:54 PM
Have only been away for a summer myself. I went to France and loved it, half thinking about going back for a longer stint.
I was in South Korea last summer for 6 weeks and its one of the most boring places in the world and next to impossible to speak the lingo + you'll get fed up of the Confeucian system quite quite quickly. Your friend will quite quickly be turned to drink (like all the other exPats) however he will still earn quite a few pennys for himself as your accomodation is paid by your employer and you are paid western rates, while the cost of living is low enough.
As for Oz, from what Ive heard from people who've been there and New Zealand too, New Zealand seems to be the one to go for by a country mile, still have to hear a bad word said about the place.
10/04/2005, 10:36 AM
Confeucian or Confucian?
Yeah I agree with what you said about NZ. Anyone who goes there thinks it brilliant.
10/04/2005, 11:15 AM
I worked in Canada for a summer. Calgary to be exact. I found it great craic and the options for travelling in between. Montreal was a really kewl, trendy city and was buzzing the week we were there (F1 was on). Didn't like Toronto so much, but Calgary was great, especially during Stampede when it really came alive. Great money to be made if you work waitering/bar work for that fortnight...
Neish
10/04/2005, 11:45 AM
Just back from a two week holiday in China was visiting a freind who is teaching in Guanghoz(China's 3rd largest city). Visited Guanghoz, Beijing, Hong Kong, and spend two days in Sanya on Hainian Island(The chinese Hawaii). Class Holiday Beijing is beautiful and would recomend it to anyone
Now we are thinking of a working holiday in OZ round Janunary time next year.
Anyone know of good organisations who could get non-students sorted with jobs down under?
10/04/2005, 11:52 AM
done it in NY and Boston before, v easy to fall into the expat irish pub scene and miss alot of the experiance of living in a different culture.
Problem with the US though is getting a green card sorted though.
Neish, apparently its a piece of p**s getting work in australia when you get over there - my mates are over there 10 months and havent been in the one place for more than 2 months and got sorted with jobs whereever they were.
Reckon its a toss up between Canada, Australia and NZ :confused:
id go NZ given the chance
Def plan to see New Zealand. There over Oz though I'd like to visit Australia as well. Nice way to spend a month or so!!
Gerrit
10/04/2005, 3:09 PM
I am currently working abroad :D I am from Belgium, though living and working in Dublin since August 2004.
After Ireland I hope for another foreign experience, yet I'd like to go to a country with a lifestyle/culture more different from Belgium. Ireland and Belgium are a bit too similar, just like most countries of Western Europe, which is very nice for a first experience abroad. But the next one may be a bit more different.
Given that, I am currently gaining info on working in Mongolia. Really a different world, as the only big city Ulan Bator looks like a 50s USSR town, and the rest of the country constitutes of wilderness and small nomadic settlements.
Though far from sure if I'll ever get there apart from holidays, as there is not much employment opportunities for foreigners and wages are rather low compared to European standards. But one can only try...
I'd also be interested in going to Meditarranean Europe or the Middle-East/Israel for a while (if it is safe at least), Canada is an option (friends of mine live there and offer me to spend a summer there ; I'd only have to focus on applying for jobs, other than that they'd offer me a room for free), I'm still very interested in the Far North (Norway, Iceland, Greenland) and also Australia and the Pacific.
About the latter, it's mainly the smaller archipelagos such as Samoa, Tuvalu or Nauru that interest me, but I think it's better to work in Australia/NZ and travel around, as employment on the Pacific isles itself is very hard to get (they give almost all office jobs to locals, unless you have a skill no one on the islands has).
I'd advise you, Cosmo, to register with the forums of www.travellerspoint.com, where some members also know where to go and what preparations to take if you want to apply for jobs abroad. I'm a member there myself as well.
10/04/2005, 6:12 PM
Live and work in the US. Pure Rat race I tell ya. Decent money but not a lot of time off.
When I was younger I worked abroad for an hour, but we couldn't agree on a price :eek: :D
Problem with the US though is getting a green card sorted though.
Neish, apparently its a piece of p**s getting work in australia when you get over there - my mates are over there 10 months and havent been in the one place for more than 2 months and got sorted with jobs whereever they were.
I've also have several mates over there, but was chatting to one of their mothers recently she saying the opposite their finding it hard to get jobs, 3 of them have jobs due to their trades but the others with no trades get a day labouring here a day painting there and they mpoved 3 times just about surviving
I plan to work 6 months and travel 6 months
10/04/2005, 9:29 PM
Live and work in the US. Pure Rat race I tell ya. Decent money but not a lot of time off.
When I was younger I worked abroad for an hour, but we couldn't agree on a price :eek: :D
:D :D hi strangeirish, don't know where u are exactly in the US, but do u happen to know much about Miami, what it is like to live and work in?
cheers!
10/04/2005, 10:04 PM
:D :D hi strangeirish, don't know where u are exactly in the US, but do u happen to know much about Miami, what it is like to live and work in?
cheers!
I'm in Jacksonville, North East Florida. Been to Miami loads of times, but have never worked there. Very expensive from what I understand. In recent years it has become a hot spot for Celebs and the like, Southbeach being the main place to flaunt your wears. There is a heavy Hispanic population in Miami, so a grasp of the Spanish language is a must! They can't tell the difference if you use a Cork accent though ;) :D . Weather is perfect almost all year round, with the exception of hurricane season. A lot of posers and fakers down there, but other than that, I'd say it's an alright place to visit. Don't know about working or living there though.
10/04/2005, 10:25 PM
I'm in Jacksonville, North East Florida. Been to Miami loads of times, but have never worked there. Very expensive from what I understand. In recent years it has become a hot spot for Celebs and the like, Southbeach being the main place to flaunt your wears. There is a heavy Hispanic population in Miami, so a grasp of the Spanish language is a must! They can't tell the difference if you use a Cork accent though ;) :D . Weather is perfect almost all year round, with the exception of hurricane season. A lot of posers and fakers down there, but other than that, I'd say it's an alright place to visit. Don't know about working or living there though.
oh, cheers! i thought it would be a flash place. Posers and fakers would annoy me, i would end up ripping the p1sh out of them,winding them up :D
not for me i think! Do a lot of the americans annoy you the way they go on, wired to the moon etc, full of BS.. Floridians that i have met seem to be a bit more 'normal' though
Closed Account 2
10/04/2005, 10:53 PM
Post of the month!
10/04/2005, 11:10 PM
Do a lot of the americans annoy you the way they go on, wired to the moon etc, full of BS.. Floridians that i have met seem to be a bit more 'normal' though
They are all a bit whingey, but the folks from the southern US are a little bit more easy going, and a little bit more in touch with reality, no matter what you read in the media.(And yes, a lot of them do annoy the sh*te out of me. If I hear one more speech with freedom and liberty in it, I'm going to have to drop kick the speaker in the boll***s)
11/04/2005, 12:21 AM
They are all a bit whingey, but the folks from the southern US are a little bit more easy going, and a little bit more in touch with reality, no matter what you read in the media.(And yes, a lot of them do annoy the sh*te out of me. If I hear one more speech with freedom and liberty in it, I'm going to have to drop kick the speaker in the boll***s)
:D i wouldn't trust myself in their presence, i would probably come out with some sarky comment :D
hamish
18/04/2006, 11:45 PM
Couldn't fins an appropriate thread but I have mentioned in other threads that many US new jobs are "McJobs". The following report might, perhaps, bear that out. Given the Prime Time programme tonight, maybe Ireland will have an even greater degree of outsourcing in the future.
Wonder of Metrostars, Strangeirish, Dancinpants and co have any comments on the following?? Seems a tad pessimistic to me???
http://www.counterpunch.org/roberts04182006.html
Extracts:
Ninety-five percent of the new jobs created are in domestic services. The US economy no longer creates jobs in export or export-competitive sectors.
From January 2001 to January 2006 the US economy lost 2.9 million manufacturing jobs. The promised replacement jobs--“new economy” high-tech knowledge jobs--have failed to materialize
A country that loses high value-added jobs and gains low value-added jobs is in danger of losing its prosperity. Offshoring raises corporate profits in the short-run at the expense of destroying the domestic consumer market in the long-run.
That last paragraph makes a great deal of sense - for any country.
The following article again rings true for us too.
http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article12780.htm
19/04/2006, 7:58 AM
I lived in Canada as a kid and went back when I was 15 for a 3 month holiday. What a place. Its America without Americans! Canadians are lovely. Less whinging, more tolerant etc. I didnt want to leave. Only for my kids I would be living there or in France. Edmonton is where I lived and its a thriving bustling city with lots to do. Vancouver is great (especially the gas district) and Vancouver Island is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, particularly the town of Whistletree Junction (population 13 when I was there!)
There are less dangerous creatures in Canada than in Oz so thats where I would like to be!
I still have contacts there that may be able to get you work if you wanted?
New Zealand has a high enough unemployment rate as far as I know.
Very nice country though, scenary is amazing in some parts.
I lived in Australia for about 10 months and work is handy enough to get
so long as your not fussy about what you do. A lot of the backpacker work
is either on the buildings or doing warehouse work. I was lucky enough to
get an IT contract for the last 2 months there but they other months I
worked in a mixed bag of places. Good craic though in some places.
I'm heading to Sweden for the month of May with my current job so I'll let
ye know what thats like.
19/04/2006, 9:48 AM
cosmo, if i were you i wouldnt go to oz, everyone goes tehre, does temp work or the like and gets ****ed up for 6 months, i havent been there, but most people i ahve spoke to, both family and friends, say if you have to go then go to western australia, dont do the irish thing and get ****ed up every night in the **** and bull in sydney or what not...
if i were you i would go to canada, or even chicago, its a quality city and you dont really ahve to worry about a green card if you dont plan on living there for a long time/would def want to go back.
ive lived in boston and am currently living in london, but i would jump at the chance to get back to america. just for another year even and chicago or san fran is def where i would work.
i think cosmo canada would be the place to go for you. how is it easier to get a visa to work there though?
19/04/2006, 2:42 PM
Thing about oz is that if you dont do it you'll forever be saying "what if"? I'd recommend it for its scenery. Beautiful country however the locals leave a lot to be desired. If you do go dont live in Sydney or ****ney as we called it. Start in Melbourne and check out Tasmania too.
I know a guy now in NZ and loving it. Says no problem picking up work.
But above all go to NY. You'll never forget it. Experience of a lifetime. Dont worry about a green card! If you're not gonna settle down there and just wanna live there for a while you'll be fine. As for the jobs it's all about contacts. If you want to know more PM me.
Yep, definately depends on where you go and what your into.
Although I lived in Bondi I avoided the Cóck & Bull as much as possible but the
amount of Irish people I met who would only drink there because it was
"great craic full of Irish" was unbelievable. The worst thing is that pub actually
used to be an English themed pub until they realised that Bondi was a haven for
milk bottle legged Irish and so they put a tricolour on the wall, got a rebel band
in every week and made a mint on it.
I didnt get to do as much travelling as I wanted cos of money etc but from the
bit I did I'd definately recommend going there for a while.
20/04/2006, 2:06 AM
As for Oz, from what Ive heard from people who've been there and New Zealand too, New Zealand seems to be the one to go for by a country mile, still have to hear a bad word said about the place.
Im living in New Zealand at the moment, it is an amazing country scenery wise and so forth. So much to see and a decent climate. Working here is a bit hit and miss imho I dont think unless you get a very well paying job be able to do much in the lines of saving with a view of having a lot of cash earned for moving back to ireland with. Wages are pretty much half of what they are here. Along with the weakening Kiwi Dollar. Average shop work etc pays maybe 5 euro an hour. i had interviews for other jobs as a technician average wage offered was around or under 30,000 NZD which is pretty low when you turn that into euros.
Cost of living here is pretty much comparable to Ireland, groceries are a bit cheaper for certain products, fruit and veg vary.
Also the locals here rock! Great bunch I find, currently living with 4 of them. Very laid back nation anymore so they are on their backs!
klein4
20/04/2006, 1:12 PM
My mate played that **** and bull regularly and he was told if he was gonna play sunday nites he would have to do more Ra songs...it is actually a bit a craic there but once or twice is all you could stick it. people go there and dont leave it for the year.but sure whatever floats your boat. I thought new zealand was amazing.and sydney is lovely as well.
20/04/2006, 4:15 PM
been living in Japan for almost 5 years now. Came out to watch Ireland in the 2002 world cup, and never left.
Apart from the obvious language problems, its a great place to live, if you like concrete, raw fish, and without doubt the most attractive women on the planet.
klein4
20/04/2006, 4:21 PM
care to elaborate on how ya ended up stayin out there so long?
do you need a visa ???
20/04/2006, 4:24 PM
care to elaborate on how ya ended up stayin out there so long?
do you need a visa ???
if that question is for me, yeah you need a visa, either work or working holiday.
With a work visa you need a job beforehand, with a working holiday visa you cant have a job beforehand, the idea is that you find one there.
Companies need to sponsor the employee's visa, so not every company has the finances to do it.
21/04/2006, 8:47 AM
Goodbye VI Toe.
We'll miss you!
Wiseguy
21/04/2006, 9:18 AM
Canada is a very cool place i would defo recommend going there and work is easy enough to come by but don't dismiss OZ. I've been there twice and loved it. What i find is that most Irish either go to Melbourne or Sydney and end getting into a routine of working and drinking without saving any money and before they know it their time is nearly up and they have no money to travel around and see the country. I would suggest to Fly into Perth. Spend a couple of weeks there then get a job out in the sticks and save your nuts off. There is a company in Perth who get you a job and a place to stay and then your sorted. I made friends with a couple of people and we bought a car together and drove all around OZ. It was the best time i ever had. To many people go on the guided tours and end up spending to much time in a place where there is feck all to see and not long enough in other places where there is lots to see. Western Oz was the best because there were feck all backpackers, work was easy to come by, the beaches and scenery are by far and away the best in Oz ,the weather was amazing and the people were top notch.If you want any advise or you have any questions just pm me and i'll help anyway i can.
21/04/2006, 9:23 PM
I lived in Canada as a kid and went back when I was 15 for a 3 month holiday. What a place. Its America without Americans! Canadians are lovely. Less whinging, more tolerant etc. I didnt want to leave. Only for my kids I would be living there or in France. Edmonton is where I lived and its a thriving bustling city with lots to do. Vancouver is great (especially the gas district) and Vancouver Island is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, particularly the town of Whistletree Junction (population 13 when I was there!)You're comparing that to Monaghan though, so naturally Canaduh would seem much better:p.
Just joking, I actually plan to go to Canada to work for a while too:cool:.
hamish
21/04/2006, 9:47 PM
I actually plan to go to Canada to work for a while too
:eek: Who am I gonna slag the sh!te out of then??:p
Have you told Angel about this??? Least you could do.:D
21/04/2006, 10:22 PM
Who am I gonna slag the sh!te out of then??:p I'll still be on, internet cafes etc.
Have you told Angel about this??? Least you could do.:DShe's coming too:p
hamish
21/04/2006, 10:30 PM
She's coming too
LOL:D Yer that good eh, Sligoman.:D
I'm actually taping Podge and Rodge as I type so I'm gonna enjoy Aine later. Wonder why she hasn't posted in Foot.ie since she joined the forum??
Fcuk it - should have posted those birds in tottyland.
21/04/2006, 10:35 PM
LOL Yer that good eh, Sligoman.:D
I'm actually taping Podge and Rodge as I type so I'm gonna enjoy Aine later. Wonder why she hasn't posted in Foot.ie since she joined the forum??Should have known you'd change that into something like that:o.
You know you can see it online too Hamish?:confused:.
hamish
21/04/2006, 10:46 PM
You know you can see it online too Hamish?:.
Ah, Sky+ is easier - no messing about with the internet.
23/04/2006, 8:10 AM
I worked in Canada for a summer. Calgary to be exact. I found it great craic and the options for travelling in between. Montreal was a really kewl, trendy city and was buzzing the week we were there (F1 was on). Didn't like Toronto so much, but Calgary was great, especially during Stampede when it really came alive. Great money to be made if you work waitering/bar work for that fortnight...
I've been to Calgary for a brief holiday in 2004. Very nice city, they also have a professional soccer team you can go and watch while you are there.:D I was in Montreal in the 1960's and early 70's as a child. It's a nice city but be warned about winters in Canada they are like nothing you have ever experienced in Ireland. Take your worst snow experience and treble it and then you have an average Canadian winter.
23/04/2006, 12:13 PM
Yeah winters in The Artic City of Edmonton were unreal. I remember the snow being so high that my mum would warn me not to go to the end of the garden or they would never find me until the snow melted. Great as a kid but feckin freezing. My dad lost part of his finger in a paint-gun-frost-bite incident. He always says he left part of him in Canada!
23/04/2006, 10:06 PM
I visited Toronto with work. Not a very lively city and not a single attractive woman in sight. Some pretty scenery in Ontario though. Niagra is quite impressive!
23/04/2006, 10:20 PM
I hope to head off for a year after I get my uni finals out of the way......
The wee brother taught in Hong Kong last year and had a ball out there. I was out seeing him for a few weeks and it seemed a great spot.
Hoping to head to teach in Taiwan next year myself........
26/04/2006, 3:16 PM
LOL:D Yer that good eh, Sligoman.:D
I'm actually taping Podge and Rodge as I type so I'm gonna enjoy Aine later. Wonder why she hasn't posted in Foot.ie since she joined the forum??
Fcuk it - should have posted those birds in tottyland.
Hey just getting the gist of this Aine lass... was she reallly on this forum and what was her name (couldnt find an Aine)?
hamish
26/04/2006, 10:30 PM
Hey just getting the gist of this Aine lass... was she reallly on this forum and what was her name (couldnt find an Aine)?
Well, Pauro, her name popped up on the members' list about a month or two ago but she never posted anything - probably checking us out.:D
She has this forum promoting Sligo and herself but TBH I don't know what she works at or anything.
She
She's certainly getting a lot of attention.
Maybe she has a plan.........??
27/04/2006, 9:26 AM
Well, Pauro, her name popped up on the members' list about a month or two ago but she never posted anything - probably checking us out.:D
She has this forum promoting Sligo and herself but TBH I don't know what she works at or anything.
She
She's certainly getting a lot of attention.
Maybe she has a plan.........??
Everyone seems to be talking about her back home and had no idea why.... now I know!!! :D
finlma
27/04/2006, 9:12 PM
I did a year in NZ. 6 months in both Oz and New York and 2 years in London (doesn't really count I suppose)
Definitely worth doing. Canada would be far from boring. Boring is this country. My mate lived in Vancouver for 6 months and then went to Whistler for the whole winter working on the slopes. He's moving back there permanently with his bird this year. Given half a chance I'd go there myself and probably will some day.
30/04/2006, 11:54 AM
I wouldn't leave when my team is on the brink of it's greatest success, I would wait till the bubble bursts and Doolin flies the coop :D
30/04/2006, 12:26 PM
Canada is a deadly place. Only ever been there on holiday but I enjoyed every minute. Toronto's a deadly city. Also a friend of mine's going to live there for the summer.
30/04/2006, 3:15 PM
Your mate is not staying for a winter I notice... that would soon put manners on anyone :D
30/04/2006, 4:24 PM
Who could blame him?? Sure in Churchill when I was there it was 6 degrees in the middle of July!! Toronto's really nice though. It's about the same latitude as Rome, suprisingly.
And I remeber I was in a museum in Montreal about the history of the city and there was an entire section dedicated to the cities extreme weather.
30/04/2006, 4:26 PM
Lived in Montreal for 6 years as a child one day the temperature hit -65 F
We were 10 degrees colder than the North Pole.