View Full Version : Your club's Greatest League in the world moment?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

07/11/2018, 3:09 PM
Was that the night v Shels that it was announced in the bar after the game that the entire squad were released?

seand
07/11/2018, 3:48 PM
Was that the night v Shels that it was announced in the bar after the game that the entire squad were released?

Dundalk or Shels squad? Either way I don't think so.

ForzaForth
07/11/2018, 4:47 PM
More from Wexford and a few nostalgic ones before I forget them:-

Playing two matches with Paul Doolin around the time he moved from Bohs to Rovers and quickly realising that my chances of playing LOI or near it were as good as snow in the summer;
The collective groan that went around a heaving Milltown when it was announced that George Best hadn’t travelled with the visitors, Cork Celtic. I think he only played three times for them in all;
Watching Rovers beat a strong Arsenal side, including Tony Adams, 1-0 in a quickly arranged friendly at Milltown in the middle of a bitterly cold winter when all matches in England had been called off for a number of weeks;
[The famous time when Limerick drove away from Ferrycarrig before the match as they were unhappy with the strength of the floodlights on the warm-up pitch;
Arriving at Ferrycarrig for a match to be told that the Wexford centre-forward has already been sent off for relieving himself at the far end of the ground before the game;
The graciousness of the Limerick fan standing beside me at the wall in Jackman Park to tell me that the better side had won after Shane Nolan scored for Wexford in the final minute with a speculative shot from 40 yards for our only shot on target;
Getting an embrace from the Wexford goal-scorer while standing on the sidelines at Drom as we salvage a late draw against Salthill Devon in a match watched by about 40 people including three supporters from Wexford;
Walking back from Turners Cross to the city centre after our famous league cup semi-final win against a strong Cork City side and getting quite emotional as I ambled along. I put it down to the fans in the Shed breaking their holes laughing as Mick led his team out with an early version of our pink jersey and then giving him and his squad a standing ovation as they returned. Made the hairs on my neck stand up!
To my eternal shame, going up to have a look at the famous “Mon-Dogs” on my first visit to Gortakeegan and not really fancying them after seeing these enormous specimens bubbling away in the warm water and then encouraging my son to have one.

07/11/2018, 6:11 PM
Carmarthen away is the worst in more recent years.

what about the avery john incident twice over?

firstly when we signed him we got threatened with a points deduction ,had points deducted for two months I think and then we had our points restored after our legal team proved who his last team was after his brief spell with Colchester Utd after not making an appearance.
a year later he does a runner to south africa saying he was visiting his sick mother and it was proven that he was about to sign for a south african side and got a worldwide ban. that ended in time for him to appear in trinidad and tabogo side in world cup finals!

07/11/2018, 6:12 PM
And the Galway sex tape that lead up to it. :D

what about the bold nick gleeson?

07/11/2018, 6:13 PM
I wasn't around at the time, but Limerick's superstar chairman-slash-manager Danny Drew prowling round the ground trying to get somebody to identify a few foot.ie Limerick posters so he could ban them, must be up there.

when was that trying to remember but struggling a bit?

oriel
07/11/2018, 6:29 PM

Was this not Dlk v Pats, possibly after one of those Thursday night games, a pure nuisance for Dlk fans living in Dublin or elsewhere at the time, anyway pretty sure it was after the Pats game and we might actually have won the game too, 1-0! Definitely the whole squad were told they were free to to. Possibly Keely was in charge so maybe 96.

07/11/2018, 6:31 PM
Dundalk or Shels squad? Either way I don't think so.

Dundalk. I'm sure it was late 90's, after a poor run we helped decide the destination of the title last day (again) but any lift in mood was soon dampened as the board announced financial difficulties and that the squad was going on the transfer list.

Could have been Pats but for sme reason Shels fits better in my memory.

Shearer
07/11/2018, 6:59 PM
Playing two matches with Paul Doolin around the time he moved from Bohs to Rovers and quickly realising that my chances of playing LOI or near it were as good as snow in the summer;
Wait, what?

Calcio Jack
07/11/2018, 7:52 PM
-Kilcoynes swearing to the jesuits they're buying the ground to secure the clubs future there before immediately flipping it.
- The 2006 play-off goalkeeper situation.
- Playing a home game in cork
To name 3

That’s a myth re the Jesuits- they were fully aware of what was happening and simply wanted the money - they’re only regret is that they didn’t sell directly to a developer.... but that’s what happens when your accountant is also acting as an adviser for the other side .

Calcio Jack
07/11/2018, 7:56 PM
Rovers in late 70s held a testimonial for a true legend. There was the usual pre match presentation on pitch by Louis K to the player and his wife. The ‘bouquet’ of flowers he presented to the wife was a bunch of plastic flowers he plucked from the Hoops club as he’d ‘forgotten’ to order a real bunch

ForzaForth
07/11/2018, 8:12 PM
Shearer, I just checked that he moved to Rovers in 1985 so I would say 1984 during his (summer) off-season. Exceptional player with a level of pace and power that you knew you would never replicate even though he wasn't the biggest. Scored a rake of goals from midfield.

RathfarnhamHoop
07/11/2018, 8:48 PM
That’s a myth re the Jesuits- they were fully aware of what was happening and simply wanted the money - they’re only regret is that they didn’t sell directly to a developer.... but that’s what happens when your accountant is also acting as an adviser for the other side .

Quote from RTE archives seems to suggest otherwise, but wouldn't shock me to hear they weren't being completely honest

"However Fr Senan Timoney says when the Jesuits were renegotiating the freehold they thought it was to keep Rovers at Milltown. When he heard about the move he was Flabbergasted."

08/11/2018, 12:39 AM
They were there alright. Weren't employed though. There was some sort of event, can't remember exactly what it was, some sort of cultural thing and they were in the ground for a game. Strangest sight.

Jealous much? ;)

08/11/2018, 12:46 AM
Before the away game v. Aberdeen, Roddy taking out an ad in the local papers looking for players who’d be interested in lining out for the part time team from Ireland. :D

joey B
08/11/2018, 1:03 AM
Half the squad dying their hair bleach blonde for a cup final is looking back on it hilarious!

Ezeikial
08/11/2018, 5:43 AM
Before the away game v. Aberdeen, Roddy taking out an ad in the local papers looking for players who’d be interested in lining out for the part time team from Ireland. :D

Brilliant

What's another creditor

08/11/2018, 7:28 AM
Jealous much? ;)

Ha! Everyone talks about the drummers there for one night...not the buck doing it for the the past 10/12 years

CorribsideSteve
08/11/2018, 7:30 AM
Having Nick Leeson as CEO. Simple as that.

08/11/2018, 8:22 AM
Rovers in late 70s held a testimonial for a true legend. There was the usual pre match presentation on pitch by Louis K to the player and his wife. The ‘bouquet’ of flowers he presented to the wife was a bunch of plastic flowers he plucked from the Hoops club as he’d ‘forgotten’ to order a real bunch

When Harps played Everton in the UEFA cup Fran Fields was surprised by Everton officials making a presentation of a gift. So he presented Everton with a painting that he had lifted off the wall in Jacksons Hotel.

Calcio Jack
08/11/2018, 8:53 AM
When Harps played Everton in the UEFA cup Fran Fields was surprised by Everton officials making a presentation of a gift. So he presented Everton with a painting that he had lifted off the wall in Jacksons Hotel.

When President if the FAI didn’t he also award himself a testimonial that featured the full senior international team to ensure a bumper pay out for himself

08/11/2018, 9:24 AM
That's a new one on me!

08/11/2018, 9:35 AM
Our Fran was a good one alright. Plenty of stories about thousands owed to different hotels over the years by him.

Patsy McGowans book (although by no means any sort of gospel) tells plenty of stories about him. Harps used to stay in different hotels all over the place through the 70s and end up never paying any of them according to him. Fran would hand in a check he knew would bounce and say nothing.

lofty9
08/11/2018, 11:05 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/oct/17/derry-city-bench-collapses-team-photo

I remember Gerard Pique and a few big players retweeting this at the time. Definitely greatestleagueintheworld material

08/11/2018, 11:36 AM
Wait, what?

I'd hazard a guess he was playing Civil Service league at the time. Civil Service league mid-80s to early 90s was a serious standard of football in the latter rounds.

08/11/2018, 2:01 PM
There was one odd experience in the Lilywhite Lounge that I had. People used to volunteer to work behind the bar with the paid staff on non match nights. One night when I was there a former board member (from decades ago) walked in to the lounge, in behind the bar, and proceeded to help himself to bottles of wine from the fridge, coke, 7-Up etc. I was a bit taken aback by the brazenness but was told that that was a regular thing for this chap to do and he did do loads for the club in the 60s and 70s afterall. There was that sense that some people thought were owed something by Dundalk FC for being 'good' supporters and were entitled to behave like they owned the place.

Maxi appearing in one of the national red top papers, 2 page spread prior to the 2002 Cup Final, as 'Head of Security' among other titles given in the article was another odd one.

The Monaghan United Chairman causing a row in the stand as he had sat in a designated ticket holders seat and refused to move, caused a row and was eventually escorted away by Gardaí. The team after used to change on the bus when heading to Gortakeegan as the away dressing room would have been flooded prior to their arrival among other things.

Volunteers used to make sandwiches for the team when on longer away trips and one player that had the munchies after a night out before matchday managed to eat his way through almost a full platter of ham sandwiches. He was brought on and after his first 'sprint' for the ball the sandwiches made a reappearance on the sideline.

Not an uncommon in LoI but Martin Murray as Manager getting sent off from the bench at a game in Limerick and then standing behind the Dundalk bench but outside the preimeter wall and continued to coach the team and roar at the 4th official.

Stock car racing being held in Oriel Park??!?!?

joey B
08/11/2018, 2:31 PM
This thread has highlighted that the maddest bas***ds in Ireland are definitely from Dundalk!!!

08/11/2018, 4:37 PM
Or just lots of stories about the same one or two people. Or that I am not sensible enough to not to tell the stories ha! We havet even got to the Sean Connor era.......

or just **** stories lol

GCdfc
08/11/2018, 8:47 PM
Over in Luxembourg at the Jeunesse Esch game. Playing football on the pitch and then after the crowds had left, myself and 4 others were taken on a tour of the small stadium by the groundskeeper and a Portuguese coach that worked at the club. We ended up drinking beer with them for hours in the boardroom. After that we ended up in a bar at the end of the road where I literally gave them the Dundalk jersey of my back for them to hang on the wall.

Travelling to Gortakeegan for home matches when as the pitch was on its way to Oriel for months.

The Gerry Matthews and Lisa Kelly affair.

Constant bucket collections.

Maxi...that's all to say about him.

oriel
08/11/2018, 9:01 PM
I was the other Luxembourg (Grevenmacher) trip in 2010, super craic, about 40 of us hired a bus from our bar to take us to the ground (match played in Lux city) then after the game we all piled on the official coach, even had the UEFA sign, dropped us back to the pub, the team were left stranded and an angry call was made to the chairman beside us by the then manager Ian Foster.

Not sure if the bus got back to pick them up but we arrived safely back to our pub for a good old session !

3-3 draw game, Dlk 3-1 up, and almost lost it in the last min, pure madness of a match, local cops drinking beers at HT ('as it was very hot') and a sign of things to come, Foster didn't do defending as a manager.

GCdfc
08/11/2018, 9:08 PM
I was on that Lux trip in 2010, super craic, about 40 of us hired a bus from our bar to take us to the ground (match played in Lux city) then after the game we all piled on the official coach, even had the UEFA sign, dropped us back to the pub, the team were left stranded and an angry call was made to the chairman beside us by the then manager Ian Foster.

Not sure if the bus got back to pick them up but we arrived safely back to our pub for a good old session !

3-3 draw game, and a sign of things to come, Foster couldn't do defending as a manager.

I was on that trip too. I took an allergic reaction to something I ate and went into anaphaletic shock. Found a chemist for antihistamines. Sadly I wasn't fit to take part int he sessions. Great bar and location.

eitoof
09/11/2018, 8:40 AM
Yeah, numerous LOI players played in those leagues and in house tourneys. I played with and against Paul Doolin, Alan O'Neill and a guy in Revenue who was either Derek O'Neill or Derek McGrath. Can't remember.

Ezeikial
09/11/2018, 4:51 PM
Stock car racing being held in Oriel Park??!?!?

Mattie in a white milking cost trying to keep the stock cars off the grass pitch by waving his arms at them like they were straying cattle

09/11/2018, 6:02 PM
what about the avery john incident twice over?

firstly when we signed him we got threatened with a points deduction ,had points deducted for two months I think and then we had our points restored after our legal team proved who his last team was after his brief spell with Colchester Utd after not making an appearance.
a year later he does a runner to south africa saying he was visiting his sick mother and it was proven that he was about to sign for a south african side and got a worldwide ban. that ended in time for him to appear in trinidad and tabogo side in world cup finals!

A good one alright Marty. There are other, more potentially defamatory stories from Michael O’Connor’s time in charge.

09/11/2018, 6:37 PM
A good one alright Marty. There are other, more potentially defamatory stories from Michael O’Connor’s time in charge.

thats something you have to tell me on the quiet as I wouldnt have being to privy to events off the field at that time! think I heard one of them before all right!!

ToberonaTornado
09/11/2018, 7:00 PM
COMING TO A THREAD NEAR YOU SOON!!

BOHS

SLIGO

DUNDALK

GALWAY

"I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids and your stupid dog" 🐕https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.15752-9/45717889_294812147803383_1919180898989768704_n.jpg ?_nc_cat=107&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=faf5e19eafd2f797297d85371af9ac1f&oe=5C7EFE99

09/11/2018, 7:07 PM
surprised it wasnt mentioned another low for us was being stranded at Dublin Airport from 7 am to 10 pm due to rogue travel agent not securing a bond with airline to reserve a spot for us to fly for FC Lovech match! never went to the UEFA cup match in the end in 2001. another strange thing happened was anyone who paid in cash got their money back which was me and one of my mates didnt cos as he paid it differently.
It was thanks to our vice chairman who got our players on another plane for Bulgaria as our chairman at the time was drinking down the pub apparently! only one fans plane went in the end instead of two!!

10/11/2018, 12:51 AM

BOHS

SLIGO

DUNDALK

GALWAY

"I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids and your stupid dog" 🐕https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.15752-9/45717889_294812147803383_1919180898989768704_n.jpg ?_nc_cat=107&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=faf5e19eafd2f797297d85371af9ac1f&oe=5C7EFE99

Best Wishes,

Steve Bruce

marinobohs
10/11/2018, 12:25 PM

BOHS

SLIGO

DUNDALK

GALWAY

His time at Bohs alone would form the basis of a book 😳 suffice to say the site could be in trouble legally if even half his “adventures” were recounted.

10/11/2018, 12:42 PM
He was a poor mans Roddy Collins.

Candystripe
11/11/2018, 12:37 PM
Derry signing a player from England in the early noughties and being shown the Brandywell and thinking it was our training ground and Celtic park next door was our actual ground and not being corrected by the manager.

joey B
27/11/2018, 6:06 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/1127/1013740-furore-as-amateur-club-fakes-players-death/?fbclid=IwAR0gITO5AMIXn011vU9AcfpsES-3ZJocxSxwe9tTyFDEZhpTWmSVMDooxqM

Not League of Ireland but holy god this is mad!

CorribsideSteve
27/11/2018, 6:41 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/1127/1013740-furore-as-amateur-club-fakes-players-death/?fbclid=IwAR0gITO5AMIXn011vU9AcfpsES-3ZJocxSxwe9tTyFDEZhpTWmSVMDooxqM

Not League of Ireland but holy god this is mad!

WTF!!! I mean ... how on earth did they think that was going to end well?
Mark Twain's 'Rumours of my demise' quote springs to mind.

NeverFeltBetter
27/11/2018, 7:47 PM
What's the punishment in the LSL for failing to fulfill a fixture? Is it really so bad as to risk something so ridiculous?

Shearer
27/11/2018, 9:15 PM
What's the punishment in the LSL for failing to fulfill a fixture? Is it really so bad as to risk something so ridiculous?
The death penalty.

Eminence Grise
27/11/2018, 10:08 PM

The FAI take over running the club and appoint Martin O'Neill as your coach. Severe punishment for a match that may have been a dead rubber.

marinobohs
28/11/2018, 10:49 AM

Walkover declared to opposition (points forfeited) and a small fine.
But you save money on funeral costs 😁

28/11/2018, 1:06 PM
Anyone know where Ballybrack are sitting in the table in whatever league they play in. Let them at least be in with a shout of winning something for doing something so daft or not coming clean when teams started wearing black armbands, fundraising or whatever!

marinobohs
28/11/2018, 2:51 PM
Yeah, numerous LOI players played in those leagues and in house tourneys. I played with and against Paul Doolin, Alan O'Neill and a guy in Revenue who was either Derek O'Neill or Derek McGrath. Can't remember.

Derek O'Neill played for Revenue, Paul Doolin, Dept. of Agriculture (I think), Alan O'Neill Dept. Education, Bobby Brown Dept. Social Welfare, Dave Dwyer Dept.Social Welfare and Dept. Labour . There were many, many more turning out, some used it as a way to stay fit in the summer (others were blackmailed/ threatened/encouraged by colleagues :cool:) the Civil Service League was almost like a LOI All Stars ;)

sbgawa
28/11/2018, 3:48 PM
https://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2743&stc=1

about 5th division LSL so win their games in hand and they are in with a shout , i feel an asterix coming