View Full Version : Matches w/e 21 Sept

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

joey B
22/09/2018, 9:14 PM
Great end to the normal season for Harps,pre -season friendly kind of game,lit up by Paddy McCourt!

22/09/2018, 9:18 PM
Paddy McCourt.

That is all.

22/09/2018, 10:34 PM
The first two seconds here make it all the better. Nonchalantly walking away from play going on ten yards from him...

Sidefx
22/09/2018, 10:40 PM
Oh my, SPA 1 Bohs under 19s 3! - classy performance by the Bohs youngsters. Poor Pats crowd also.

22/09/2018, 10:57 PM
Did that actually happen? I was in the shed but left before the end (shame on me I know but in my defence I had a long drive home).

Douglas is a bit out of the way all right....

sbgawa
22/09/2018, 11:03 PM
The first two seconds here make it all the better. Nonchalantly walking away from play going on ten yards from him...

Loving it. One more season paddy please.
Even if it's just off the bench for last half hour

22/09/2018, 11:10 PM
Great 3 points for Rovers against a dour Derry side.
The fight for 3rd remains the only bit of intrigue left this season it seems. The upcoming Rovers-Waterford game should be a belter.
And a big WTF to the psni stopping the ultras bus from getting into the ground cos" there's too much drink taken".
Presbyterian moral values alive and well in the nordie shades it seems.

To mirror those Presbyterians thinking in the Bogside...sweet jaysus! PC 'wise up!'

EatYerGreens
23/09/2018, 1:16 AM
The comparisons are interesting and both are regarded as living legends at Dundalk

Jim McLaughlin came to Dundalk as player-manager in November 1974 and by the time he left to manage Rovers in June 1983 he had won 3 league titles and 3 FAI Cups, including a double in 1979. Additionally he also won a couple of League Cups while giving fans some fantastic experiences in Europe which included a last 16 in the European Cup. 6 major trophies in 9 seasons is outstanding

Stephen Kenny is about to complete his 6th season at Dundalk and the impending league title will be his 4th in that period to add to the FAI Cup in the double winning season in 2015 and a pair of League Cup wins. 5 major trophies in 6 season (with the possibility of a 6th with a shot at another FAI Cup this season). He has also created some special European exploits that will remain long in the memory. There is little doubt that his record at Dundalk compares favourably with Jim's and may well surpass it if he stays to the end of his contract in 2020.

The biggest difference is when their honours at other clubs are taken in the mix, with Jim McLaughlin having 8 league titles and 6 FAI Cups across his career with Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers, Derry City and Shelbourne (in addition to winning promotion with Drogheda)

Stephen Kenny has a bit of catching up to do - he can add a single league title with Bohs and an FAI Cup win with Derry (to his haul of 6 League Cups) to his impressive Dundalk total, it remains well short of Jim's career total.

At only 46 years old, time is on his side but he has a lot of catching up to do. He is at the right club to close that gap rapidly

Surely Kenny doesn't plan to be at Dundalk forever, and will move on whenever he can get a bigger job in a different league ? He's done it before.

EatYerGreens
23/09/2018, 1:22 AM
Great 3 points for Rovers against a dour Derry side.
The fight for 3rd remains the only bit of intrigue left this season it seems. The upcoming Rovers-Waterford game should be a belter.
And a big WTF to the psni stopping the ultras bus from getting into the ground cos" there's too much drink taken".
Presbyterian moral values alive and well in the nordie shades it seems.

Does that mean the PSNI were outside the Brandywell car park ?!

There's a law against the presence and consumption of drink on buses on the way to or from sporting fixtures in NI - believe it or not. More details here : http://www.sportni.net/sportni/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/justice-act-_ni_-2011-alcohol-on-buses-to-sports-events-guidence-for-bus-operators.pdf

Ezeikial
23/09/2018, 8:14 AM
Surely Kenny doesn't plan to be at Dundalk forever, and will move on whenever he can get a bigger job in a different league ? He's done it before.

He may match Jim's record of major trophies this year and is currently contracted to 2020. If he stays till then he will most probably surpass his trophy haul record.

He has been open about his personal ambitions to manage at the highest levels possible.

Of course he will not stay forever - that's too long for anyone

23/09/2018, 8:30 AM
We have had plenty of Irish managers in the UK, but they were famous as players there also.

How many managers have actually been successful in the UK after a playing career and early management career that was only/mainly LOI?

Fenlon, Kenny, Collins had brief and less than successful spells there. Who else?

23/09/2018, 9:45 AM
Oh my, SPA 1 Bohs under 19s 3! - classy performance by the Bohs youngsters. Poor Pats crowd also.

Embarrassing from us. Gutless performance. Some poor selections too. Ian Bermingham and Conan Byrne both left on the bench. As was Kevin Toner.

marinobohs
23/09/2018, 12:59 PM
Great win for a ‘new’ Bohs starting X1 😎 even after shipping an early goal they won realitively comfortably. Nice game to watch but lacking any real intensity given both were safe and Bohs had one eye on next week. Pats were truly awful throughout. Great decision by Long to play the bulk of the U 19 team that won a cup recently at Richmond and it paid off.
For Derry fans ( who appear to fret on these things) nobody climbed over the fence although there was reports of goal celebrations - no injuries reported 😳

RathfarnhamHoop
23/09/2018, 1:32 PM
He may match Jim's record of major trophies this year

No he can't

EatYerGreens
23/09/2018, 2:05 PM
We have had plenty of Irish managers in the UK, but they were famous as players there also.

How many managers have actually been successful in the UK after a playing career and early management career that was only/mainly LOI?

Fenlon, Kenny, Collins had brief and less than successful spells there. Who else?

Does Sam Allerdyce count ? Launched his managerial career at Limerick.

Ezeikial
23/09/2018, 3:14 PM
No he can't

If you wanted to understand my point, you should be able to.

Go back and read my earlier response to you if you are struggling with it.

oriel
23/09/2018, 3:37 PM
Just recovered today really from a great trip to Cork, obviously got the result we wanted and a great display, but we certainly weren't expecting that type of lame display by the home side.

Had a great day and night down there, stayed over, have to say very friendly set up, including the steward who sorted us out from inside the away end when we told him a mate had left a ticket at the gate, he immediately got it and the two of us got straight in. Had a good chat with some decent Cork fans too after the game in the Beer Garden pub close to the ground.

To think of all the fuss everyone made about tickets, myself included to a degree, we didn't actually get ours until 4pm but always knew we'd get in. Sensible idea too moving all DFC fans who bought online to away end.

Its a lovely ground, my second visit, the other was Dundalk's last win there, 2-1 in April 2015. The new wheelchair area is just perfect, we had one fan in there and she enjoyed the game with a great view, new toilets too, other clubs and not too far away from me take note !

23/09/2018, 4:35 PM
Does Sam Allerdyce count ? Launched his managerial career at Limerick.
Sligo had a few too, but I think osarusan is looking at LoI players who've gone on to be successful managers abroad. Kenny is maybe the only one, and even then his success abroad is questionable/limited

23/09/2018, 5:38 PM
Sligo had a few too, but I think osarusan is looking at LoI players who've gone on to be successful managers abroad. Kenny is maybe the only one, and even then his success abroad is questionable/limited

Yeah, I am thinking about really homegrown players and then managers.

Allardyce may have started at Limerick, but most of the trust in him would have come from his career as a player. Winning the LOI first division would have meant nothing if he didn't have that career in English football.

westernflow
23/09/2018, 5:49 PM
Eoin Hand got around four years with Huddersfield after his time with Ireland had come to an end. Not sure he had much success. He cut his teeth as both a player and a manager in the LOI.

RathfarnhamHoop
23/09/2018, 6:17 PM
If you wanted to understand my point, you should be able to.

Go back and read my earlier response to you if you are struggling with it.

You cant just count Dundalk trophies in a conversation for the greatest Irish manager ever

Ezeikial
23/09/2018, 6:31 PM
You cant just count Dundalk trophies in a conversation for the greatest Irish manager ever

https://foot.ie/image/jpeg;base64,/9j/4AAQSkZJRgABAQAAAQABAAD/2wCEAAkGBxISEBUPEBEVFRUVEhUQFRUVExUWFRcQFRUWFxUVFR UYHSggGBolGxYVITEhJSkrLi4uFx8zODMtNyguLisBCgoKDg0O GRAQGi0fHyUtLSstNSstLS0vKy4tLS0tLS0tLS4tLS0tLS8tLS stLS4tLS0tLS0tLS0tLSstLi0tLf/AABEIAJYBUAMBIgACEQEDEQH/xAAbAAEAAgMBAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAQUCAwQGB//EAEEQAAEDAgQDBgIGCAQHAAAAAAEAAhEDEgQFITFBUWEGEyJxg ZGhsSMyUsHR8AcUQnKSorLhM0NighVjZHOzwtL/xAAaAQEAAwEBAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAQIDBAYF/8QAJhEBAQACAQMCBwEBAAAAAAAAAAECEQMSITEEIhMUMlFhcZF BBf/aAAwDAQACEQMRAD8A 4oiICIiAiKC4DchBKLDvW/aHuFN45j3QZIouHNJQSiKJQSii4c1F45j3QZIsO8b9oe4WQcDs UEoiICIiAiIgIiICIiAiIgIuLNM1pYdl9Z4aOA3cTyaOK8BnH6 UC14GGoXNkzc4XGI5SB8VG1pja mIvDdmP0hMrwzEUjTJJF4ILOgdxB4bQvcA8Ul2i42eUoiKUCIi AiIgIiICIiAiIgIigmNUEP105/JczcvYIHigCAJmByB3XRT5nj8uCzQamYdo2 a2WjkpRBEJClEEQkKUQRCQOSlEGl Gad591qdl7DprB3EwD5xqutEGLTw5fJZLCpz5fLiswUBERAREQ EREBERAVZ2kzhuEwz8Q7W0Q0faedGj3VmqvtNg6dXC1G1W3ANL wJI8TRLTp1UVM8vkTsJi8aTXqum8F0k2m0jZo4DYQqQ4Fw8MWl s3czy2346L6Rgi0M1MANMngOZJK8jiaj8W7u8povqBpN Jqw2gf 2HCXefsDuscba68pIr6DrYE6CNvMa9V9T/R/nBqUzQfqWCWn/Ry9CfzC812a7Ofq9J1SuBVrPJa8vtLA3XwsaR4QePPjorDJMvG CxjCCW0ny6XEkC9pNs8ACQAOQCS6qMsd4voiIi3cgiIgIiICIi AiIgIiIC0Yh2oYOOp8h/eFvVDicxiq 8mk2bG1C3wFrd/pNWs8RIh1p00kIL4LEvA3I91wUqLHi68vB1m8uB9jC6aeEYNmN 9gg29837Q9wnet5hZBoGwClBh3o5/Aqbx19islEqBF3n7KZ/MKUUjEvHX2KjvR QVmiDG8c0FQHYj3UkrVVa08AfRRsbSFpwz92Hdp/lO33rixVZjB4nCn1L7B8wFzYPMLqrbS6o0yx1QNhgn6vj0D9RH hmJ1hBeoiKQREQEREBERAWL2ggg7EQfLiskQfG8WLqtSjfYWEM oXOhpcZJexzTHeWgQ1xkCRG69N2brnuASIiW6AAeEkXADQNMSO hCuc67Pl1MtpNY6m1riKThpqQ60QNRI0GkTvER5XJse4B17Qxk lsEmWvBhzSDyPssc zs4/djb/r0LACddiZOvqF3Q14LHAELzOOzGnLaVNxLnmIaeA3lWWHxB0Gy ptNj02GxezCNm78wI K6RXH91RYCtNQA/Zd8pXYD4o5aepK3wu45s8dVZtqA6ArNVRrAftACYkkCSeEldlI kFWU06UWBqtBDS4AnYEiTG8DiuKtnVBt/0gJYQ0hoJN7nBjWNjdxeQ2BxITZMbfCwRUtTtALm02UXmo6qaF j4ZbUFPvRe4z4SwEgtu5byqrOc3q4jD1GUGtpkYSpXd3hNwqMc 9hYwtMS19My7Uat01VblGmPDlbN9nr0Xn8Lmrzimh7j3dYDuAz uyyDSbU lH I1 j9R4It2JXoFMu1Msbj5ERFKoSufBt8A66n11W9 x8lhQHhHkoo5amT0CS7umtcd3Mmm4 bmQUGXR9StVb/vv/APIHLuRSORtCqP8AOn95jf8A1hZltX7TD5tP4roRBykVv X/ADJ9Nyp/xO/BdSKNJcpNb7NP J3/AMpNblTH 5x 5dSJo3 HLFbnTHo4/epNOr9to8mH73LpRNIcLsHVO JeP3WUh/U0rE5S0/XqVn dZ7R7Uy0fBWCKRyUMsosMspMB 1aLv4jqs8YPDPIg xldC1YgeE SrRtRQFKsCIiAiIgIiICIiAvGduezNauW1cGGB ragJsuGha6emvXVezWnFvhh1gxAPU7KLNrY5XG7jw2X5EzC0xR JFSq4zXqRs/QhlOfqtAJ6nc9KpuZubWqUIN1Oo5sHWQD4XA9RB9V7FlDeeIB9 jB ELz c2txBdYPGxpJG9wlh/pCz5J2dHDd3VWWQ4i pJ0IY QdwfCPvVm2pMxuTHvp93xVR2fMuq1OTGs9TJP9IVnRB7yBtBPx/v8ABW4/pU5fqVfavDNLqTb6bL6deiX12B1ENc1s77VCQLegdodl3Ysmpg KVTx0o7slgZXqlwALbHClFUtOhkRsCdJCuqYW6Vbp71Hxe0n2e VblterVbXqUXw9uHqWipSHdVKUG173t70AEBwsOtzpHOyp5HV7 t2Gc9gpCoa1N7Qe9FTvu pkg HwP8AO6BMazdUnLco6YXmyqpoZILu9q1HPqd62tdAaJZTNNrQ0 bNtc7mZJ1W52SYcxdSa6HPeLpMGo69 /Au1jbQclYIp1FLnl92qlhmNgtY0ENDAQ0A2jZvl0W1EUqCLC5T cgl x8lhQPhHksrlrw 0KKNyIikERQSBqU2JRcNTOKDdDVaf3fF/TK1DPaExcfO1wHxCwy9Tw4 c5/Y1nBy3xjf4sakx4d uywoVruEEaOHEH8Oq4MdnmHYwk12AxoAbnfwjVVXZrPGVqzgfC 57ZaCRJDSRP55LLL1OM5cccbvf57NcfS8l4ss m6n4epREXY5RERAWrEnwnyW1acRtCrRtClFBKsJREQFpxlEvpu Y1xYXNIDhuDwIW5EHh zOPqYeqaFckNJILXGbKs ItcTNpEGORkcV7Z7wBJIA5kwF4ztZhKtPEDESCx9rWkNgse0GA/7QInXhtyXDic8qU2GrUddSp2tcz/p3wHEjiWnWdwGnqs5dXTfLHqnVHssVnFNgJHijloPfj6Squnnt R5iA0kgAASZIu1J5CPddJoU6mGc7DU2XOaNokgkXAOPEiYlefr YTEt7yKNRryH2ODQ8NLjoYaTqAGx5JlcjCYVdPq1YJdVI8iFrf iqkavvHX8Qt TdnAyiwYhzqtQauc5xGu4BAMGNp4wuTOMD3Ti6lo39pu4b1H nmOHltWzKd0y4W6dVDGtcQD4XREHj 6eOyq81y91Umwi5s6HQEHXfhqSsadUOEEdD5rNpc0yCTtvqdOR 3Udcs1ktMLjd4tmTYZ1LDEPEPeXOcN4J0A9gPUldNHGBp qSTHEAQuc4jSCCPWVooOkypyzmMnSiYXLK3JeszDTRn839luoY l7j/hwOd39lwYdWbNABz19FbC2qZyRtB0W m6RK0DkssPxWrJvREUIEREHL3id6ue5Rcr6HR3i2UXLkuW2g/VVynYdilYgqQqDGqCRDSAeZEx6KuOStcZqOLzv4hI9BsPmtuNz VlOrSokguq1O7gOFzQWPeHlu8Est83Bb8JjWVZNMyAYm1wB6tJ EOHUSFjycPHy33zf8AWuOfJhN49lbWyUbtPwVZi8PbofkvWErz ubu/BfD/AOl6Lh4serCars9Lz55ZarxGZPYy6WgifCQfETr4RyAJ3VRg8W 4Ve/Doc0g8oAiIHSFlnpd3zmuMnhAgWnVoA8o14mTxgacswhbUkuBb 3tjXaQ4OAgDaCSSI1MCVlhOnDe3rMbhhxzq79UfacpxvfUWVoi 5skcjsfiF2KtyemKVFlMRDQrEFeh4OTrwlvnU28PzSTO9Pjd1 koigreshaqh1HmthK5Kr9VEm6N5qJeua4pcVrodN6XrmuKXJod N6XrmuS8poMywwrUnUnGLhoeThqD7heJbTseadQCRNN4OoIPzB 39V7a4qlz3AOc4VmC4gQ9o3LRsR13WeeO5trx5aulJkeYnB1zh nHwfWpyf8ALn6v 3QeVq6e0PbOvh6xaKILIDmxqXMOzpnzHSCuVwD33Ag6FpB3ieB 4OHNV c5HWqtAZWc4Nm1riAWzEwdjt0VuHLHfuV5sMvMXmWfpHovIbUY QeI2P8LtTvwWt2e1DUc4O0uMAhu07bL54zs9ixWptfRqR3gNxB LWgGS4OHCJ466L01QET5kqPU3GWdK3psdy9S0/Wpf4W76w0GBGpga6bnourDY1p4iOC8/lOf08LiG1aoJGrJH7Fw uRxA29Z4K6zJmHxAdUoB7KsXgUxdRqieBOjXHnpB3mFlOLLKdU a5cuOOXTVmCDtqtjWrhwWDa3e47aOdIHq0CVa0qYJDYIJ2j349 E XyV Pi34SnrquxjpJPBcbg9vh34Ejn5LopjQDZaY49M0yyy6rt0Nct lN2sch8Vrb0WYESrKt16XrmvS9TpDpvS9c16XpoaJVNjc8NOo Ws7ulUpUqhL4qTVDYcxsQQL28ZMO2jW4hVuZZT3zwSWBsAO iBqloMljas Fp0nQ8eajLeuy/H0793hvxeYtp1qdAjxVASPE1ohpAMXEXHxDQSfhNWztBVcKj6d AuY0YiIFSQ gXABzi0NNxaRDSSNN FpmeXNrtse5wYZuaLYeDGhJaSNt2kHUrJmXUhUNUMhxcX7mL3f WcGzaHGTJAnVL1WrY3jk7zurquYEtoh LupvN9WpRFhaH0yaQcWEllMkPh2mzRJ489HL6uIae FRxOGqtpPcS22pSrPFCqW6BtV1NzHTAOjttV6LC0209GNDQTJt AGp3OnFdNyyuH3W Nr6Y88cpxBcT3dIF JoY3vHO8bC1tIVKZABl0Mc0GYh3TW0yrLXUqtR9wFN2jaTC wG4m HEhpgxDQB91lKBNK5cuVmmFdz4hgB8zAVb/wlz3A1niOLWTr0Ljw8h6q0LlAcsOT0uHJlvPv L4MObLCe3soc3yOlUqB5ZMRpwAbAEDhwC6cPl1LuXfRtBGu06A giJ6BWZKxtCwvo/fbvtd7n7a/M5XGS3x4aqOHcACI8jw9V20iY1WprltaV1cfBjx/SwyzuXlnKwc9QtZK1UTUfoueUeZUQtMZoTKSohIVhMpKiEhBlK SsYSEGUpKiFrfVaDBOvLf5IODOMpFUXsNtQbHg7o78V5yni303 WVWlrhz Y5r19TF02iXODeOuhjmRwHUqq7T5EMZR jq93VaLqVVpkT9l0fWYf7rPLCVpjyWdqrqmMaRuqvGxuvBVs0x dF76Nek6 mbXWg7zExxB0g6TIKt/1 WgP1dEuJJtb/paBv5lJ6bPKr/MYYxV1L61c2HTa7cBoPikcZI0HEgen0HIMHTw1EU6YIk3ul0m4 jjwEaCBsvF0MVaIYAByaA0GOgV1h80JAEdIX0JxaxkjhvJu216 h MG0/noEGbPNQPBBIE6mfCN9tPZeYxWMtMnlNu2kDf0lbMHiHvmG6Ah g4AuuJInjoFPw4r1V7TD5oNS4fWMzO3NWmFrNOvsvC08WRvoZg T9zh0KuMDjJ0Bjz58PPXyKzz4otjm9TTrCSNfY/gtpqCND5rhOIcacsIuAmHCQ4DgfxCjCY9tQlsWvAktmdJIlp/aEgjpxhc1xsbdW3XKAqERKZSVCIMEUQkIhKKISEErIOWMKCFFm xvaVkXLiaXDRbmuJVLEtpcsJKzbS8lm3DdVUawhJW79X6/BYPw55oMQ5ZtctRokcVg5xCmDe561OcsATxhTCvMRMoohIVkJR RaptQJUyotS1AlJSEhBMrkwdIRYdxqeriTc489fzquuFqrUA7Y lp4OG4UVLiqEMcWsgD6xBGkmCQAPzquN9FjWVKtMd0bKj/o3ua24CbnsaQ1x8wt2JwdS4Wgk7k3AtIGwdcQWkzMidt9lrq4d 5pupubBcxzBrIMgga ceyr3iez5FjMa6pNZzy5z4JcZJneNeABXNRfd1XKysWNNCqC0t eWmACWuaSHMcB1EekLsyTLMRVdZQAqD6xeHWhrJIBdI34QOM8l 9Lqjl07GFjNXkAfNWDahAFjCJGjnNI6gjSPzurXs52ddSrGvWc x7mjwNAJDHQTdruQBIPOeQXpK1MPBBnfiTqufk9V03Um2uPDvy 8bSfSpMFTEPAAuJnUweAaNST0VhleMub3haS0uJpACPAQG3nmS J4aSeKsMRljPC0UmkOkGZ0jbThpxVRXysUTfQa1jgXRq6Ost2M rP5rfmL/L/AGq Aa8fCIWbMPG2ms vRVOV5o2oTTILajIuEyDP7TTxHy67q4pYwAw/lx 9bzLc7MbNeVtRe4Maz8hu2nXX5KsrVi11Ks0 K4MeRrDb7X6DeQASt9bMmtYXsMkSG9XxA32An4ha8ipElrHawb j4d5An00I9 kxrtum/8j1UoikLmbIRTomiDGVCi5TKkFKiUlBKKJSUEoColJQbG1SFmM QeQWiUlRqDo/WTyHxUHEHkPZaJSVGoNhqlYyolJU6EoolJQSkqElSJRRKSoEqV jKmUBSsZSUGSiFEogySFiikUOZ9isBiHuq1aBvebnPbVqsJdpr AdHAcFqyvsPhcM81MO6swuFrx3xcx7dYDmuBGhMgiCOcEg jlJTd8IVjcjaHl4e6SIAMQD158fcrmxGELOBjeRyHM8R1V7KSq 3GVaZaeZa5vP0un4DdaamArVPqYd0H9p7mMGvGCbvgvVMaBsAP IALK5VnHFuuvm1b9HOLNY4hmKpse6PCQ9zIAgN2B9RC7G9mcwk tezDPb9oYioPWx1EwfVe9uU3LWZWeGdkvl4ql2bxel7KG86VXe g0p6hemyjLjSb43XOO8TA8idT5ld9yXKbnaiYyJhAFFym5UWLU tUXKbkHJeovRFKE3pciIFyXFEQLkuREE3JeiIF6XoiAHqb0RBF 6XoiJA9TcUREFyi9EQTepuREC5RepRBF6m9EQLlF6lEAOUyiII uS5SiJRepuREQSl6IgXpepRAuS5EQLkvREH//2Q==

Please keep up - the conversation had moved on to Stephen Kenny's likely duration at Dundalk - hence the trophy count comparisons between two Dundalk managerial legends

seand
24/09/2018, 8:29 AM
In any other league these would be huge factors but in LOI they can be pointless in 6 months. For example Jim retired before he was 60 and still had 8 league, 6 cup and 4 league cup medals in his back pocket, managers and players alike can just vanish from this league as well as appear from nowhere. As for the right club, when Kenny took over Rovers that was the "Right club", 10 years ago it was Bohs, 20 years ago it was Shels, it's a very fickle league we live in and i guess that's why we love it.

The othr thing about McLaughlin of course is that he didn't take over the 'right club' at any time.... Dundalk in the doldrums 74, Rovers 20 years without a title 82, Derry in the First Division 88. Kenny came in to Bohs, Derry and Rovers when they were flying, but ironically enough he achieved his greatest success at Longford and basket-case Dundalk

littlebray
24/09/2018, 5:04 PM
Athlone have managed to achieve the unimaginable - an entire season without a single win on the field of play.

Just from the single Division era, the following had no League wins in an entire season: YMCA 1921-22, Jacobs 1929-30, Bray Unknowns 1941-42 & Bohemians 1959-60. Haven't checked Shields, Cups, and other confrontations.

dejadem
25/09/2018, 6:58 AM
Just from the single Division era, the following had no League wins in an entire season: YMCA 1921-22, Jacobs 1929-30, Bray Unknowns 1941-42 & Bohemians 1959-60. Haven't checked Shields, Cups, and other confrontations.

Kilkenny City in the 1994–95 First Division, no wins, just 2 draws

White Horse
25/09/2018, 9:47 PM
Good win tonight against Derry. Dundalk were terrific for 60 minutes but lost their shape for the last 30 and let Derry back into the game.

Almost have the title, one more point needed to make it official.

ToberonaTornado
25/09/2018, 10:23 PM
Dundalk started awful and finished awful - but sandwiched in between were some brilliant goals and some absolute champagne football from the champions elect.

I'm not counting my chickens yet :p;)

The scenes at the end of the match tonight were amazing.
:worship:

26/09/2018, 11:32 AM
The match was over at half-time. Thankfully Dundalk took the foot off the pedal for the second half, though I think Dean Shiels did help us in midfield. In truth, Dundalk could have had three or four more, if they chose so.
Nice of Dean Jarvis to give us a wee break with the OG, and decent pass and finishing for our second.
Goal of the night, even with the non-existant defending, was Hoban's. Lovely shot.

Ezeikial
26/09/2018, 12:01 PM
Match highlights

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9cAe2iQy5g

Ezeikial
26/09/2018, 12:10 PM
Dundalk notch up their 16th league win in 17 matches last night, yet still fall short of the accolade of being the leagues form team, according to RTE.

It just shows you how high standards currently are in this league............

bohsmug
26/09/2018, 2:54 PM
Dundalk are champions. So they're a bit higher up the hierarchy than "form team". They're the best team. One of them things that's so obvious to most, there's no need to say it.

oriel
26/09/2018, 3:14 PM
Interesting to read last night, along with this being Dundalk’s 13th league title, they will also have the most PD titles now (since LOI moved to 2 divisions in 1985)

7 - Dundalk
6 - Shels
5 - Rovers & Pats*

ToberonaTornado
26/09/2018, 3:20 PM
Dundalk are champions. So they're a bit higher up the hierarchy than "form team". They're the best team. One of them things that's so obvious to most, there's no need to say it.

I think the National broadcaster should at least get the simple facts right.And thats the point
Bohs are on a good run but Dundalk more so.

Just off track here for a min but we'll connect the dots . . . . .
Paul Reynolds,crime correspondent @RTÉ described the €26k found on John Gilligan at Belfast/Aldergrove airport as a "suitcase full of money" :D

RTÉ haven't a fecking clue lol

bohsmug
26/09/2018, 3:27 PM
Jesus some people will find anything to be unhappy about :D

NeverFeltBetter
26/09/2018, 3:30 PM
I don't know if its been noted anywhere here, but the FD play-offs are down for 5th and 8th October for Drogs and Shels, then 12th and 19th for the winner vs Harps. Presumably Limerick vs the winner of that will be the week after?

ToberonaTornado
26/09/2018, 3:30 PM
That true

26/09/2018, 4:07 PM
I don't know if its been noted anywhere here, but the FD play-offs are down for 5th and 8th October for Drogs and Shels, then 12th and 19th for the winner vs Harps. Presumably Limerick vs the winner of that will be the week after?

Actually, rather inexplicably, a week and a half after. Monday 29th October and Friday 2nd November.

26/09/2018, 4:11 PM
The dates for the First Division Promotion/Relegation Play-off series are as follows.

Friday 5th October

4th placed First Division club v 3rd placed First Division club

Monday 8th October

3rd placed First Division club v 4th placed First Division club

Friday 12th October

Winner of 4th v 3rd Play-off v 2nd placed First Division club

Friday 19th October

2nd placed First Division club v Winner of 4th v 3rd Play-off

Monday 29 October

Promotion/Relegation Play-off Final

Winner of First Division Play-off series v 9th placed Premier Division club

Friday 2nd November

9th placed Premier Division club v Winner of First Division Play-off series

So for FHFC we have an extra four weeks of wages and expenses with one gate at the end.. and if we do poorly in the first leg it might not even be that good a gate. Am also surprised that the premier team gets the advantage of the second leg at home- when we played Limerick previously it was the other way around.

ToberonaTornado
26/09/2018, 4:14 PM
So for FHFC we have an extra four weeks of wages and expenses with one gate at the end.. and if we do poorly in the first leg it might not even be that good a gate. Am also surprised that the premier team gets the advantage of the second leg at home- when we played Limerick previously it was the other way around.

26/09/2018, 4:31 PM
Limerick will be in Waterford on the Friday and Ballybofey on the Monday.

I would say send the squad players to Waterford but what squad?!

26/09/2018, 4:34 PM
The second leg at home is no advantage whatsoever to Limerick either.

26/09/2018, 4:59 PM

Just you wait and see us UCD fans moaning about the 5 week gap if we make the final. ;)

26/09/2018, 5:31 PM
Serious question, do the UCD lads get any money in the off season or what way do their scholarships work?

26/09/2018, 5:47 PM
I think many of them don't get money during the season.

Scholarships aren't money though; it's course fees, accommodation, etc. So that continues through the iff-season - except that UCD don't have an off-season. Colleges league starts up shortly

26/09/2018, 10:02 PM
Cheers, I thought they may get some kind of additional payment for a bit of spending money. Most of the League of Ireland squad wouldn't play in the colleges league though would they?

26/09/2018, 10:20 PM
If you're in the college, you play in the colleges league. It's a condition of the scholarship

26/09/2018, 10:35 PM
Bohs are on a good run but Dundalk more so.
Just to be clear, you're saying Dundalk's three-game winning run is better than Bohs' nine-game winning run?

Ezeikial
26/09/2018, 10:38 PM
Just to be clear, you're saying Dundalk's three-game winning run is better than Bohs' nine-game winning run?

Bohs haven't won a match since last Saturday. Dundalk are the only ones on a winning streak this week

26/09/2018, 10:47 PM
Bohs haven't won a match since last Saturday. Dundalk are the only ones on a winning streak this week
Silly Ezekiel. Winning Streak isn't on until Saturday.

samhaydenjr
29/09/2018, 3:36 AM
I know it's a bit late, but I was visiting my family in Cork last week and got to see City play for the first time in nineteen years... and boy, was it a tough experience. Dundalk just totally outplayed us on all levels - better on the ball, physically stronger, better organised. Once they got in front, we never looked like getting back into it, there was just no spark and no penetration. And I heard some City fans muttering that it was a disgrace, but whenever we got the ball and started to build from the back, I looked upfield and just saw no gap in the Dundalk defence. Meanwhile when Dundalk attacked, we regularly looked stretched, although we did cling on after the goal.

Just seeing the two teams play in the flesh, I could suddenly see that there is a clear gap in Dundalk's favour again and that it's going to be a big task to close it, which leads to the question of how? And the first place to look is probably the manager's position. Now, it really feels awful to even question a man who was a legend as a player and has brought unprecedented success in the last five years, building a club that had only just returned from the dead into seemingly the only team in the League that can currently even live with Stephen Kenny's Dundalk, who probably still have a good chunk of Europa League money socked away.

But... there's still that gap. And last year's success was significantly influenced by the outstanding form of one player and probably also the fact that Dundalk were still in transition after the departure of Towell, Horgan and Boyle. So the question has to be asked... is Caulfield the man to close that gap? And if not, then who? Is there really another manager in the League who could do a better job? If not, could City afford somebody from outside? Is Damien Delaney's return an indication of an aspiration to start a coaching career at City?

My own feelings are that, as long as he still has the support of his players, Caulfield should be given another shot... his Cork City team aren't bad by any means, they're just not as good as an outstanding Dundalk team. His teams over the past few years have had a lot of success, been organised well and played some very good football, in spite of his conservative instincts. And player-wise, he has shown a good eye for finding diamonds in the rough. But he really needs to take a close look at where they fell short this year... he needs to be able to evolve the playing style of the team and listen to advice from his players, particularly Delaney, as well as employ his eye for talent to find players who have that X-Factor: the ability to pick apart even the most organized defences, to terrorize lesser opponents, to create a goal from nothing on a bad day.

Which brings me to the other area where improvements could be made i.e. the squad. The FORAS team did an outstanding job resurrecting Cork City F.C. and putting it on a sound financial footing - this has surely been helped by prudent financial decisions when it came to player recruitment. But is it time to open the purse strings a little? Should City try to emulate Larnaca's success and bring in a couple of mature players with extensive experience in the Segunda Division/2. Bundesliga/Serie B etc. in the hope that they could take us another round or two in Europe? (I could probably point City in the direction of a couple of MLS players they could afford). Or should they follow Shamrock Rovers and focus on youth development, combined with picking up cast-offs from the English academy system?

Of course it's vitally important that the fans don't get cynical or despondent after this season's setback - they must continue to turn out in large numbers (larger, if possible), even against "lesser" teams to ensure the club has the finances to compete with Dundalk, initially, and also potential European opponents. Otherwise, there's little or no chance of keeping up with Dundalk

One quick aside: after the game my Dad and I walked outside the stadium to the St. Anne's End (where the away fans were) to meet a friend of his who was going to drive us home. We thought we still had time to drive along St. Anne's Road before they left. But when we got to the end of the road (which is narrow), one of the Dundalk supporters' buses was blocking the exit. When we looked back we saw the Gardai putting a barrier across the road to corral the fans towards us and suddenly, with visions of being swamped by hundreds of opposition fans, it felt like a scene from a horror movie! Luckily we managed to get turned around and let out before that awkward situation arose.