View Full Version : Matches w/e 21 Sept
DFCForever
21/09/2018, 6:20 PM
Was that Chris Shields or Zinedine Zidane?
ger121
21/09/2018, 6:23 PM
I preferred you both, when you were in the 1st Division:p
How many times has “long ball up to Cummins” been said already? Very one dimensional from cork. Let it stay that way.
FfS - thought this was a 7.30 kick off. Turn on and there's 20 minutes gone and Dundalk 1 up. Cork seem to have gone to the dogs from what I've seen so far. Bobs will fancy their chances in the semi final.
Caulfield sent to the stand!
21/09/2018, 7:18 PM
I couldn't care less about the relationships your staff chooses to build. Again, an observation. I would however be disappointed if our chairman tweeted similar.
That's what I thought! Why mention it though as an issue? If I were a Cork person (ugh!!) would be disappointed with some of the conduct of Cork officials, players, social media accounts and the like so I et where your disappointment is coming from.
JC showing his discipline as per usual!!
DFCForever
21/09/2018, 7:18 PM
That's typical Caulfield for you. Surely his days are numbered if it stays like this?
joey B
21/09/2018, 7:45 PM
Jaysis Cork are abysmal,can't lay a glove on Dundalk,
I see Deadly Buzz has come on for Cork. :D
DFCForever
21/09/2018, 8:02 PM
1-0 down in the 89th minute and they bring on a centre-back :loser:
He knows where the goals are.
Johnnie C
21/09/2018, 8:11 PM
Bad night for Cork, outsung and outplayed for 90 minutes.
Johnnie C
21/09/2018, 8:12 PM
Pat Hoban doing a Leigh Griffiths at the goalposts, cheeky😝
White Horse
21/09/2018, 8:57 PM
Fair play to the Cork fans, its not often a Dundalk side gets a standing ovation from their Shed.
Scrufil
21/09/2018, 8:57 PM
Athlone have managed to achieve the unimaginable - an entire season without a single win on the field of play. They are lying in the gutter facedown and no artifical pitch will cover the muck this season has been. It is disgusting what people in privaleged (spelling?) positions in Ireland get away with and the Athlone chairman is a prime example of same.
For the record I have boycotted the club all season but will attend this season's FAI cup final no matter who is in it.
21/09/2018, 9:18 PM
Fair play to the Cork fans, its not often a Dundalk side gets a standing ovation from their Shed.
Its showed more class than Caulfield!
Kingswood Rover
21/09/2018, 11:09 PM
jaysis Cork are in a jocker Good job the league is over soon as they may even have been caught for 2nd spot by us or Swindon on Suir. The Northside red and Black will be lickin their chops off with the thoughts of beating Cork and getting to a final.
22/09/2018, 12:00 AM
jaysis Cork are in a jocker Good job the league is over soon as they may even have been caught for 2nd spot by us or Swindon on Suir. The Northside red and Black will be lickin their chops off with the thoughts of beating Cork and getting to a final.
We have to win all our games and they lose all theirs to pip them. Waterford can't.
oldyouth
22/09/2018, 6:44 AM
Athlone have managed to achieve the unimaginable - an entire season without a single win on the field of play. They are lying in the gutter facedown and no artifical pitch will cover the muck this season has been. It is disgusting what people in privaleged (spelling?) positions in Ireland get away with and the Athlone chairman is a prime example of same.
For the record I have boycotted the club all season but will attend this season's FAI cup final no matter who is in it.
Athlone played very positive football last night and the result could easily have gone their way if they took very good chances. Obvious that both sides were very low on confidence
White Horse
22/09/2018, 7:37 AM
Cork City said they would not give up their title without a fight and they were true to their word.
But while they might have gone down swinging in the tunnel area at half-time, they could not land a punch on the pitch.
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/3153829/cork-city-0-dundalk-1-chris-shields-strikes-as-lilywhites-take-huge-step-towards-league-title/
That is just being plain cruel. Taken from Neil O'Riordan's match report.
22/09/2018, 9:50 AM
whats going to happen to ye Scurfil after the season is over? I really do miss the midland derbies and the proper matches ie 2013 season. Its sad to see this happen to a once great club. MOC I never had much time for him after our two years in the doldrum under him!
disgruntled
22/09/2018, 10:26 AM
Pat Hoban doing a Leigh Griffiths at the goalposts, cheeky
Not very original & pity there was no one still in the stadium to watch it ;)
At least the groundsman got a souvenir.
Dundalk were streets ahead of us & won handily.
Well done to them. Best team in the League by a long way.
Not sure what we can do against Bohs in the Cup.
We'll be doing well to get a replay from it.
White Horse
22/09/2018, 12:02 PM
https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF1056/1579241.jpg
22/09/2018, 12:15 PM
I had read he'd tied it to the goalpost. Hung it on the goal doesn't have the same ring to it I suppose!
They're deserved champions and gonna celebrate it. Sounds like some of the quality of singing from the dressing room after was far more offensive than a scarf....
It was an odd one in a way. I felt like the dundalk players actually celebrated the first win up in Oriel more than last night at the final whistle. I guess that was a monkey off the back moment, whereas last night the league was won either way.
White Horse
22/09/2018, 12:25 PM
It was an odd one in a way. I felt like the dundalk players actually celebrated the first win up in Oriel more than last night at the final whistle. I guess that was a monkey off the back moment, whereas last night the league was won either way.
That first game was important as they proved to themselves that they could compete in head to head games against Cork. Over the previous two years, Dundalk would play well against Cork but end up losing.
Kenny altered his tactics against Cork this season. They play longer and don't play out from the back as much. John Mountney was a very important outlet for Dundalk last night. He is great in the air and Rogers plays long to him a lot.
22/09/2018, 12:37 PM
He didnt get a chance to tie it as there was a steward closing in. Either way I think its unnecessary. Ye know that stuff you were saying micls about expecting certain standards rom players and club officials, well this is one of them and i think it was a cheap attempt to antagonise. Waste of a good scarf too! Singing in the dressing room after a result that all but seals the league would have been expected- Maybe f*ck the rebel army was in there as a bit of craic and banter.
I see Caulfield's sending off was in his defence of a player being 'intimidated' according to Cotter. Was that what happened in Waterford, or in Oriel Park this season, he was just defending the honour of his players. Funny that each time he was losing so really he is just a very ill tempered loser isnt he. 3 times in one season is too much for a manager to be in the stands unless you are Ollie Horgan and then in some way its salt of the earth cool!
22/09/2018, 12:50 PM
The singing was certainly expected. I don't think there was anything antagonistic, but not sure your lads version of wonder wall was less painful!
3 times is too much. I don't know the details of what happened last night, but it sounds like Caulfield stepped in to stop Beattie getting sent off. Beyond that, I dunno what happened for the red.
22/09/2018, 1:01 PM
Well maybe if this time he took one for the benefit of the team not being down to 10 men it was a shrewd move but still.
DFCForever
22/09/2018, 1:38 PM
but not sure your lads version of wonder wall was less painful!
Apparently they were signing "Three Little Birds" by Bob Marley, which has become an unofficial club anthem over the past few years.
There was a right sing song. Wonderwall definitely got a blast too.
dundalkfc10
22/09/2018, 2:43 PM
There was a right sing song. Wonderwall definitely got a blast too.
Wonderwall would be for Shields. The Oasis tribute band Live Forever who tour Ireland regularly lead singer is a big fan of Shields.
Shields agreed on twitter a while back if we won the league he would sing on stage with him when they are playing in town ober Xmas.
Last night was amazing, after Alkmaar it was the best away game ive ever been at.
4 Titles 1 FAI Cup (semi to play this season) 2 League Cups in 5 years.
Stephen Kenny Irelands greatest ever manager
RathfarnhamHoop
22/09/2018, 2:50 PM
4 Titles 1 FAI Cup (semi to play this season) 2 League Cups in 5 years.
Stephen Kenny Irelands greatest ever manager
Not even close to Jim McLaughlin
dundalkfc10
22/09/2018, 2:54 PM
Come back to me in 5 years when we get to 18 (i joke)
Ezeikial
22/09/2018, 3:00 PM
The Dundalk players were celebrating with the travelling fans at the away end - I doubt that a single one of them had left the ground (probably not able to either) until the players were back in the dressing rooms. It was an energetic and fun celebration and was indicative of the strong connection between players and fans
Many Cork fans had left long before the final whistle and most of the rest understandable cleared out quickly - although I doubt if the Hoban scarf thing was for their benefit anyway.
BTW the Steward Supervisor returned the scarf back into the away section from whence it came
Ezeikial
22/09/2018, 3:31 PM
The comparisons are interesting and both are regarded as living legends at Dundalk
Jim McLaughlin came to Dundalk as player-manager in November 1974 and by the time he left to manage Rovers in June 1983 he had won 3 league titles and 3 FAI Cups, including a double in 1979. Additionally he also won a couple of League Cups while giving fans some fantastic experiences in Europe which included a last 16 in the European Cup. 6 major trophies in 9 seasons is outstanding
Stephen Kenny is about to complete his 6th season at Dundalk and the impending league title will be his 4th in that period to add to the FAI Cup in the double winning season in 2015 and a pair of League Cup wins. 5 major trophies in 6 season (with the possibility of a 6th with a shot at another FAI Cup this season). He has also created some special European exploits that will remain long in the memory. There is little doubt that his record at Dundalk compares favourably with Jim's and may well surpass it if he stays to the end of his contract in 2020.
The biggest difference is when their honours at other clubs are taken in the mix, with Jim McLaughlin having 8 league titles and 6 FAI Cups across his career with Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers, Derry City and Shelbourne (in addition to winning promotion with Drogheda)
Stephen Kenny has a bit of catching up to do - he can add a single league title with Bohs and an FAI Cup win with Derry (to his haul of 6 League Cups) to his impressive Dundalk total, it remains well short of Jim's career total.
At only 46 years old, time is on his side but he has a lot of catching up to do. He is at the right club to close that gap rapidly
White Horse
22/09/2018, 3:46 PM
Getting closer though.
Jim is a legend and a great Dundalk fan.
Kingswood Rover
22/09/2018, 4:24 PM
Congrats to Dundalk, superb football team over the last 5 years, Respect, we will get our act together.........eventually
RathfarnhamHoop
22/09/2018, 4:37 PM
At only 46 years old, time is on his side but he has a lot of catching up to do. He is at the right club to close that gap rapidly
In any other league these would be huge factors but in LOI they can be pointless in 6 months. For example Jim retired before he was 60 and still had 8 league, 6 cup and 4 league cup medals in his back pocket, managers and players alike can just vanish from this league as well as appear from nowhere. As for the right club, when Kenny took over Rovers that was the "Right club", 10 years ago it was Bohs, 20 years ago it was Shels, it's a very fickle league we live in and i guess that's why we love it.
Ezeikial
22/09/2018, 6:19 PM
In any other league these would be huge factors but in LOI they can be pointless in 6 months. For example Jim retired before he was 60 and still had 8 league, 6 cup and 4 league cup medals in his back pocket, managers and players alike can just vanish from this league as well as appear from nowhere. As for the right club, when Kenny took over Rovers that was the "Right club", 10 years ago it was Bohs, 20 years ago it was Shels, it's a very fickle league we live in and i guess that's why we love it.
Managers can and do retire early in any league. Stephen Kenny's relatively young age does not guarantee anything, but it is blindingly obvious that it increases the chances of him winning more honours in his career.
Similarly the fact that he will be collecting his 4th title in 5 seasons augers well for more honours for him at Dundalk
That said, no one knows what's around the corner for any of us
Did that actually happen? I was in the shed but left before the end (shame on me I know but in my defence I had a long drive home).
1-0 down in the 89th minute and they bring on a centre-back :loser:
We were short of attacking players on the bench because McNamee,Shep and O' hanlon were not there.
DFCForever
22/09/2018, 6:40 PM
We were short of attacking players on the bench because McNamee,Shep and O' hanlon were not there.
Well McNamee at least should've been. Delaney's finished as a cantre-back never mind a striker.
SeanDrog
22/09/2018, 6:49 PM
early goal for Drogs
Well McNamee at least should've been. Delaney's finished as a cantre-back never mind a striker.
MacNamee was one of the three sent home from training during the week so that's why he wasn't on the bench. Dunleavy and O' Hanlon were the other two.
Yes Delaney will not and should not be there next season. It was seen as a coup by some people when we signed him but those people were forgetting his age (37). I know people slag off the LOI but you do need to be fit to play in it and not many 37 year-olds will stick it.
White Horse
22/09/2018, 6:55 PM
Bohs put out a second string this afternoon and comfortably beat Pats in their own backyard.
Looks like I'll be cheering on Cork in the cup semi final.
Who would want to play Bohs at the moment.
22/09/2018, 7:24 PM
All UCD fans as it would mean we made the final. ;)
Bohs put out a second string this afternoon and comfortably beat Pats in their own backyard.
Looks like I'll be cheering on Cork in the cup semi final.
Gutless and shameful performance from us. We actually started very well, but once Bohs equalised it was always going their way. Didn't think they played any amazing stuff, but in the popular parlance "wanted it more."
SeanDrog
22/09/2018, 7:49 PM
Drogs 2 up, looking like final playoff spot our👍
placid casual
22/09/2018, 7:51 PM
Great 3 points for Rovers against a dour Derry side.
The fight for 3rd remains the only bit of intrigue left this season it seems. The upcoming Rovers-Waterford game should be a belter.
And a big WTF to the psni stopping the ultras bus from getting into the ground cos" there's too much drink taken".
Presbyterian moral values alive and well in the nordie shades it seems.
mcgonigle
22/09/2018, 8:25 PM
Did that actually happen? I was in the shed but left before the end (shame on me I know but in my defence I had a long drive home).
No I presume this is sarcasm. About 50 Cork fans hung around for over 10 minutes to give the Dundalk players abuse as they left the pitch, which I'm sure made the victory even sweeter.
They could have been waiting for Caulfield to be fair but he didn't leave his hole until all fans had departed. Dead man walking me thinks