View Full Version : Games 14th Sept

14/09/2018, 12:14 PM
The biggest game tonight is surely in the Bowl; a point and UCD are champions, but obviously Harps are on a great run of form at present. Both their manager and top scorer are suspended; perhaps inevitable that their bad disciplinary record would impact their run-in, although their good form is based more on a solid defence than a potent attack.

Drogheda v Longford could well be a straight shoot-out for the final play-off spot.

In the Premier, Waterford badly need a win against Bray to keep their European hopes alive; they're in danger of falling behind Pats in fifth on recent form.

sbgawa
14/09/2018, 1:41 PM
Yeah just my luck Rovers are at home I would have liked to shoot along to the Bowl for UCD Harps, that is a proper cup final (spare me the Rovers cup final jokes :) )
Based on what I saw from Bray when we played them a couple of weeks ago they are good value for 14/1 against Waterford on PP.

Everyone seems to be saying its over re UCD but lose tonight and its a shoot out next week and going to Longford needing something isn't very comfortable.
PP going 5/4 UCD 21/10 the draw 15/8 Harps......that looks about right to me

Candystripe
14/09/2018, 7:05 PM
That was some OG in the Bohs game!

2-0 to Bohs now. That's some form they're in.

Yossarian
14/09/2018, 7:07 PM
Strange to be home on a Friday night, but there’s great entertainment on the tv at the minute!

14/09/2018, 7:07 PM
Limerick look woeful in the first few mins. Could be a hammering on the cards (bound to end 1-0 now)

14/09/2018, 7:08 PM
Well, the dundalk ticket worries are over. ****ing hell

Candystripe
14/09/2018, 7:09 PM
Wow 3-0 to Bohs

That's the league over.

mcgonigle
14/09/2018, 7:12 PM
What pub did Cork pull this Delaney fella from? Awful signing

14/09/2018, 7:15 PM
Second screamer for Rovers. Limerick barely getting out of their half so far heading to 14mins played. Brandon Kavanagh really looks like a player.

14/09/2018, 7:22 PM
3-0 big deflection 19mins gone, looks like it might get very embarrassing for limerick if they don’t get something back fast

White Horse
14/09/2018, 7:27 PM
Cork have been a shambles at the back since Delaney came in. Their defending in this game is shocking.

14/09/2018, 7:31 PM
Fair. Aaron Barry is also not a footballer. Disaster that injuries have let him back in. Injuries are in no way an excuse for tonight though. What an absolute shambles.

MattB11
14/09/2018, 7:37 PM
0-0 at the bowl at HT as it stands UCD will be champions

14/09/2018, 7:41 PM
0-0 half time in the Bowl. Fairly open game; Harps slightly better the first 25 and us slightly better the last 20. Nervy stuff though

14/09/2018, 7:42 PM
0-0 at the bowl at HT as it stands UCD will be champions

Harps happy enough with that scoreline, you'd imagine.
Keep it tight until 70 minutes, then all in for the winner.
Not that that's exactly Ollie's style.

14/09/2018, 7:48 PM
4-0 Rovers just before half time. 3 of the 4 coming from corners, the first two strikes from outside the box when limerick failed to clear and the 4th a header. New stand is looking well with most of the seats in. Continuing with the random mix of green, white, red and yellow.

mcgonigle
14/09/2018, 7:52 PM
Cummins loves a dive. Gets a good grip of the defender and goes down screaming. Expect plenty of it next week

EAFC_rdfl
14/09/2018, 7:56 PM
Harps happy enough with that scoreline, you'd imagine.
Keep it tight until 70 minutes, then all in for the winner.
Not that that's exactly Ollie's style.

I'd say they'll be a bit disappointed, not even a red card yet for the hatchet men

14/09/2018, 7:59 PM
Harps playing ball alright. Better than the last couple of times

DFCForever
14/09/2018, 8:11 PM
Remember when Delaney was going to win Cork the league? He wouldn't even make the Dundalk bench.

14/09/2018, 8:28 PM
Two goals in a minute in the Bowl. Nervy ending again ! Harps score; we equalise

14/09/2018, 8:41 PM
Result! UCD up (Just)

14/09/2018, 8:42 PM
I remember arguing mid season that a John Caulfield team wouldn't fall apart and let the title go with a whimper without a fight.

I'd like to withdraw that comment please. Clearly, I was wrong. Spineless.

SeanDrog
14/09/2018, 8:48 PM
Result! UCD up (Just)

Congrats Stu- fully deserved

ToberonaTornado
14/09/2018, 8:58 PM
Congrats UCD,see yee soon:D

Dundalk closing in :cool: cheers Bohs

mcgonigle
14/09/2018, 9:06 PM
I remember arguing mid season that a John Caulfield team wouldn't fall apart and let the title go with a whimper without a fight.

I'd like to withdraw that comment please. Clearly, I was wrong. Spineless.

Send up the remaining 6700 tickets as an apology

14/09/2018, 9:20 PM
If ye could sell them, I'd say ye could have them.

14/09/2018, 9:32 PM
Feels like a defeat tonight. More the manner of the goal given away than anything else.

Funny thing is, we were below par tonight. It was one of our worse performances over the last third of the season. Badly missed Mikey Place up front and Mark Timlin was a loss too given how well he's been playing of late.

UCD deserved league winners over the course of the season though. It was good to see a big crowd there tonight, must have been around 1,000 in with about 150/200 Harps fans down.

CorribsideSteve
14/09/2018, 9:35 PM
Cork's late-season implosion continues unabated. Is Caulfield's time up/ nearly up? Statistically Cork's most successful manager, but living in a bygone era of long ball to the big man, sit tight and grind things out. Bland and limited. They have plateaued under his guidance at this point. Bohemians play lovely football at times though. 4 wins in a row and looking to finish midtable. Must be viewed as a success given their low budget. Shamrock Rovers are on a real roll now since they beat Dundalk. Considering they'd lost 6 matches by May, they're in a decent place now. Makes you wonder what their season would have been like had they not started so terribly. Congrats to UCD, best team in the Graveyard by some distance. Perhaps not pointwise but certainly on skill and ability. A +30 goal difference too. Thank god it's almost over for Galway. A real shambles of a year. I suppose congrats to Dundalk too. The title hasn't looked in danger recently, but now it's done and dusted. Look forward to seeing how they do in the CL qualifiers next summer.

SeanDrog
14/09/2018, 9:44 PM
Feels like a defeat tonight. More the manner of the goal given away than anything else.

Funny thing is, we were below par tonight. It was one of our worse performances over the last third of the season. Badly missed Mikey Place up front and Mark Timlin was a loss too given how well he's been playing of late.

UCD deserved league winners over the course of the season though. It was good to see a big crowd there tonight, must have been around 1,000 in with about 150/200 Harps fans down.

I was listening to your manager on off the ball this week as a preview to the game and he didn’t exactly talk up your chances - very strange approach tbh, if I was a player I wouldn’t be exactly inspired.

14/09/2018, 9:49 PM
I can't imagine Caulfield being sacked, but for the sake of his legacy as a player and a manager, he might be best walking at the end of the year. He looks a beaten man at the moment

RathfarnhamHoop
14/09/2018, 9:52 PM
Just seen some pictures of the bowl, that's brilliant to see

14/09/2018, 9:55 PM
I was listening to your manager on off the ball this week as a preview to the game and he didn’t exactly talk up your chances - very strange approach tbh, if I was a player I wouldn’t be exactly inspired.

If you believe he says the same things in the dressing room then you'd need to give yourself a bit of a shake!

EatYerGreens
14/09/2018, 10:20 PM

A manager talking down their own team's chances in the media is hardly a new thing, to be honest.

EatYerGreens
14/09/2018, 10:20 PM
Just seen some pictures of the bowl, that's brilliant to see

Can you post them up ? Thanks.

oriel
14/09/2018, 10:28 PM
It’s obviously a significant result in terms of the league title and it’s a long road back for Cork now, not sure I’d agree on sacking JC, Cork fans have to think back where he took them from, mid table to a double, and where he came from, Avondale was it?

What I will say though is the chance to get closer or to overtake Dundalk has been missed. I was thinking at the start of season, we had no idea how likes of Hoban would settle back in, or how year two players like McGrath and Hoare would progress, (Duffy was a different case) after a disappointing team performance in 2017. If Cork had retained the title it would have been 2 in 5 years for them and ‘only’ 3 in 5 for Dundalk. It’s probably looking all but certain now, it will be 4 in 5 for Dundalk and 1 in 5 for Cork. This just shows how hard it is to retain a title. It’s also worth remembering even the great Jim McLaughlin never managed that at Dundalk.

The strange part in all of this is the speed of the collapse in league form by Cork, the Pats home draw was the start and I was hopeful the gap would get bigger, but I would never have foreseen them losing to both Sligo and Bohs.

Some teams obviously peak and for Cork it was probably that 3-0 win in Dundalk to go 18 points clear in May/June 2017, game over then, but they just never looked the same side really after that, obviously minus Maguire but Caulifield in my view doesn’t appear to like any player who wants to play. I also said it at the time and a lot on here disagreed but Delaney was a bad signing, at the time and still, Cork were crying out for another striker.

Have to give credit to Bohs though, that’s a fine side Long has nurtured. They were well worth the win.

Anyway looking forward to my trip south next week, still no tickets, but I think we’ll be fine.

oriel
14/09/2018, 10:36 PM
Result! UCD up (Just)

Congrats PS. Looking forward to seeing UCD next season, well deserved and they’ll be a fine addition to the PD.

They play football the right way.

Dalymountrower
14/09/2018, 10:40 PM
It’s obviously a significant result in terms of the league title and it’s a long road back for Cork now, not sure I’d agree on sacking JC, Cork fans have to think back where he took them from, mid table to a double, and where he came from, Avondale was it?

What I will say though is the chance to get closer or to overtake Dundalk has been missed. I was thinking at the start of season, we had no idea how likes of Hoban would settle back in, or hear two players like McGrath and Hoare, Duffy was different, and after a disappointing 2017, if Cork had retained the title it would have been 2 in 5 years for them and ‘only’ 3 in 5 for Dundalk. It’s looking all but certain it will be 4 in 5 now for us and 1 in 5 for Cork.

The strange part in all of this is the speed of the collapse in league form by Cork, the Pats home draw was the start and I was hopeful the gap would get bigger, but I would never have foreseen them losing to both Sligo and Bohs.

Some teams obviously peak and for Cork it was probably that 3-0 win in Dundalk to go 18 points clear in May/June 2017, game over then, but they just never looked the same side really after that, obviously minus Maguire but Caulifield in my view doesn’t appear to like any player who wants to play. I also said it at the time and a lot on here disagreed but Delaney was a bad signing, at the time and still, Cork were crying out for another striker.

Have to give credit to Bohs though, that’s a fine side Long has nurtured. They were well worth the win.

Anyway looking forward to my trip south next week, still no tickets, but I think we’ll be fine.
That Cork team , 8 Mastadons amd a couple of footballers,,were poison.Lots of nasty off the ball stuff that the ref decided to ignore .The two footed lunge by Sheppard would have had anyone else sent off.
Great football from Bohs first half and blood and thunder defending in the second.
Some quality goals , The two Kelly goals and Penders and then Keohanes glancing header were as good as you will see .
Dundalk are a class above that Cork team

sbgawa
14/09/2018, 10:47 PM
Result! UCD up (Just)

Welcome back :)

14/09/2018, 11:04 PM
Can you post them up ? Thanks.

From Twitter

patrickccfc
14/09/2018, 11:16 PM
Congratulations UCD on winning the first division. Less said about our game the better, a complete horror show. Thank god I'm in Krakow next week so will miss the dundalk game.

15/09/2018, 6:32 AM
Congrats PS. Looking forward to seeing UCD next season, well deserved and they’ll be a fine addition to the PD.

They play football the right way.

Whatever about having no fans, etc, UCD have always been a great addition in how they play football with decent young players. Other clubs could learn a lesson from them in that regard.

Missed our match lastnight but delighted with the result. I think it’d be a shame for our lads not to go up. While not at level as UCD, I’ve been delighted in how weve attempted to play the right way, with some good young players. Our squad isn’t the strongest but would like to see some of our young lads get another crack at the premier league (and some of them might if we don’t go up :-(

SeanDrog
15/09/2018, 7:17 AM
If you believe he says the same things in the dressing room then you'd need to give yourself a bit of a shake!

This was different - the interviewer even raised the same point to him - have a listen on their podcast. Anyhow just my view - congrats on your playoff spot - you were looking shakey early in the season but pulled through.

ForzaForth
15/09/2018, 7:35 AM
Congratulations to UCD. Well-deserved.

ger121
15/09/2018, 9:02 AM
Congrats PS. Always enjoyed going to Belfield. Nice ground. Great to see the stand full.

ger121
15/09/2018, 9:05 AM
Best 1st 45 I’ve seen in Dalyer for years. Don’t ever remember a Bohs side getting a standing ovation coming off at HT. Cork had a horror show in defense and couldn’t cope with the pace of Kelly.

White Horse
15/09/2018, 9:32 AM
Congratulations UCD on winning the first division. Less said about our game the better, a complete horror show. Thank god I'm in Krakow next week so will miss the dundalk game.

That is football, highs and lows.

I kept reading about Cork not playing well, but still winning. That rarely lasts over a season, league winners need to be playing well for most of the season.

I think this season illustrates Caulfield's deficiencies as a manager. Success in LOI terms means losing players and having to replace them. Good managers have a firm idea of the playing style of their team and recruit players that fit into that style. I don't see that with Caulfield, did he have any plan to integrate Sadlier and McNamee?

It looks like Cork will have to rebuild and will have to decide whether Caulfield has the ability to do this.

Philosophizer
15/09/2018, 10:06 AM
How Sheppard stayed on the pitch is a miracle. He was even starting to walk off the pitch himself, then the ref only gave him a yellow!?!

15/09/2018, 10:06 AM
Gutted with our result. 1-0 up and on top we allowed drogs creep back into the game then they score off a free kick that shouldn’t have been but that’s the story of our season. Second half we had 2 glorious chances to win it and didn’t take them then we leave ourselves totally open and concede from our own set piece. Last action was our keeper coming up and skimming the post with a header. It was in our hands, it’s gone now. Unbelievable crowd up from Longford

Ezeikial
15/09/2018, 10:36 AM
It looks like Cork will have to rebuild and will have to decide whether Caulfield has the ability to do this.

When you consider some of the players contracted for next season, the scale of the rebuilding job becomes apparent. There is a lot of deadwood in that list. With the likelihood of a reduced playing budget, it is a huge job for anyone to undertake - Caulfied may be part of the problem, rather than part of the solution

Mark McNulty (2019)
Danny Kane (2019)
Alan Bennett (2019)
Aaron Barry (2019)
Gearoid Morrissey (2019)
Conor McCormack (2019)
Graham Cummins (2019)
Damien Delaney (2019)
Ronan Coughlan (2019)
Karl Sheppard (2019)
Conor McCarthy (2019)
Colm Horgan (2019)