View Full Version : LoI Fixtures 27 Apr to 30 Apr

Pages : 1 2 [3]

D24Saint
30/04/2018, 9:02 PM
We were terrible in the second half but Dundalk turned it up a level aswell, big game Friday.

mcgonigle
30/04/2018, 9:15 PM
As for the rest of your post, we've heard all that before.

Didn't take long. Happy Monday to you

bholg
30/04/2018, 9:23 PM
We were terrible in the second half but Dundalk turned it up a level aswell, big game Friday.

Yis werent great in the 1st half either, we could have had 2 or 3. But I thought that the offside goal for pats should possibly have stood. It was 0 - 0 at that stage. Great perfomance by the whole Dundalk team after that.

oriel
30/04/2018, 9:42 PM
A result like this has been coming for us really. Performances have been very poor. Amazing really that we find ourselves level on points at the top.

I still think Cork did well to get the 3 points on Friday, a draw would have been a fair result, just shows how quickly things can change.

Dundalk were ropey in the first half, but some excellent movement in the second half particularly goals 3, 4 and 5. Duffy with goal of the month contender for his.

Why are Cork playing on Sat afternoon this weekend instead of Friday night ?

White Horse
30/04/2018, 9:44 PM
Rovers can play a bit, that was clear from their performance in Oriel Park a few weeks ago.

I thought Cork would struggle to impose their typical game plan on such a large pitch. It all depended on which Rovers turned up. It appears to be the good one.

It could have been ten in Oriel against Pats. This fixture schedule kills teams that aren't full time.

oriel
30/04/2018, 9:49 PM
It will get worse in May too re fixtures, Dundalk have 6 league games and one EA Sports match. I’d imagine most of the others have 5 league games also in this period, the other one is the re-arranged game away to Derry.

Real ale Madrid
30/04/2018, 9:52 PM
Why are Cork playing on Sat afternoon this weekend instead of Friday night ?

Ed Sheeran playing Pairc Ui Frainc , not enough Gardai to police both the concert and an event of the magnitude that is a CCFC home game.

30/04/2018, 10:04 PM
Delighted with the win in Limerick, but we make it hard for ourselves.

The pitch is terrible, we know, so why insist on passing it out from the back over all the bobbles? We also find it difficult to close games out.
Funny how games go though. O'Sullivan misses from bang in front of an open goal on 82, we head up and score a minute later, add a third after that. You'll be very happy with your points considering. Up until that stage, would have been harsh for Limerick not to get something from the game.

As an aside, considering basically every manager in the league has mentioned it at this point, this mid-week games are ridiculous. If even they were organised geographically, you'd understand. But for ourselves, a 730km round-trip on a Monday night (Limerick had the same to the Brandywell in March) is just stupid. Is it any wonder you had only a dozen odd Derry fans at it?

30/04/2018, 10:17 PM
The pitch is terrible, we know, so why insist on passing it out from the back over all the bobbles? We also find it difficult to close games out.
Funny how games go though. O'Sullivan misses from bang in front of an open goal on 82, we head up and score a minute later, add a third after that. You'll be very happy with your points considering. Up until that stage, would have been harsh for Limerick not to get something from the game.

Yeah, we were still in it up until that horrible miss, that really deflated us and you went up the other end and took advantage. I thought you were fairly shaky at the back for a lot of the game, but we just have nothing up front to threaten teams.

And yeah, the pitch really is atrocious. It's one thing when it has been ****ing rain like it was at the start of the season, but there really is no excuse for it in this weather.

Ezeikial
30/04/2018, 10:18 PM
Ed Sheeran playing Pairc Ui Frainc , not enough Gardai to police both the concert and an event of the magnitude that is a CCFC home game.

Do you think that the attendance will be much reduced after the mauling in Tallaght?

Ezeikial
30/04/2018, 10:20 PM
I trust that Bradser will get his contract extension now after proving his coaching excellence yet again tonight?

#4moreyears

patrickccfc
30/04/2018, 10:37 PM
I trust that Bradser will get his contract extension now after proving his coaching excellence yet again tonight?

#4moreyears

Aaaaah that's why we were so poor tonight. It's genius really...

NeverFeltBetter
30/04/2018, 10:38 PM
Boycott talk starting among some Limerick fans.

Real ale Madrid
30/04/2018, 11:10 PM
Do you think that the attendance will be much reduced after the mauling in Tallaght?

Will be a big crowd I think as we will probably have the chance to go back top again. #Daytrippers

sbgawa
30/04/2018, 11:15 PM
Great performance tonight back it up against pats now.
Big pitch with a decent surface didn't suit cork. It's dundalks to lose.

01/05/2018, 12:02 AM
Delighted with that. Cork looked tired but, funnily enough, the best I've seen them in Tallaght since the 5-0 in the cup. Aaron Bolger is a star - just imagine what a player he'll be with a Leaving Cert behind him.

bluemovie
01/05/2018, 2:03 AM
Delighted with Blues' first win away to Bohs this millennium. Main difference was we have a goalscorer and Bohs don't. They were good to a point and then let themselves down with no end product. Dylan Watts was outstanding though. The only time Vigouroux was really tested was from a header from Hery that would've been an own goal only for a fantastic save. Some great stuff in our midfield - Aborah especially. First time in my life I've seen us 15 points ahead of Bohs in the table!

redarmyfaction
01/05/2018, 6:28 AM
What good Will that do, plenty of teams come up from the the first, do well or wellish for a season or three until gravity starts to overcome the initial momentum, you have to cling on like a cockroach not organise boycotts to make the premier your home, boycott is just shorthand for giving up supporting the club.

Ezeikial
01/05/2018, 7:51 AM
Delighted with that. Cork looked tired but, funnily enough, the best I've seen them in Tallaght since the 5-0 in the cup. Aaron Bolger is a star - just imagine what a player he'll be with a Leaving Cert behind him.

I heard he was interested in taking a college degree course. I hope that doesn't rule him out of first team football for the next 4 years

Ezeikial
01/05/2018, 7:54 AM
Bradser is great craic

"We didn't become a bad team overnight. There was nothing major wrong. We'd a bad five days and everyone jumped on it. That's what happens when you're at the biggest club in the country.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/0430/959392-wed-a-bad-five-days-and-everyone-jumped-on-it/

I wonder which five days were 'the bad ones'?

NeverFeltBetter
01/05/2018, 8:00 AM
What good Will that do, plenty of teams come up from the the first, do well or wellish for a season or three until gravity starts to overcome the initial momentum, you have to cling on like a cockroach not organise boycotts to make the premier your home, boycott is just shorthand for giving up supporting the club.

Suffice to say that there are more problems than the results in Limerick.

White Horse
01/05/2018, 8:33 AM
Bradser is great craic

"He's shown tremendous character the last few weeks because a lot of people have spoken about him, an easy target, a young boy, 'let's go and have a go at him'," Bradley added.

"He's stood up, he's shown unbelievable character. Many players would have folded. He hasn't and he's produced some really good performances.

Very touching how he stands up for Horgan against all those nasty bullies. He doesn't mention that he has just signed a keeper to replace him though.

01/05/2018, 8:51 AM
What a bizarre interview. They've lost six league games, drew at home to Limerick, lost one LC game against Longford, so there's eight bad days straight off.
They were not excellent in Derry. An excellent team would have scored several of the many chances they created.

Still though, biggest club in the country! I do think he's just having fun with these statements at this stage.

Ezeikial
01/05/2018, 10:07 AM
Bradser

This team, we're three unbeaten now, is capable of going on a run."

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/0430/959392-wed-a-bad-five-days-and-everyone-jumped-on-it/

Getting turned over by Longford in the EA Sport Cup has been airburushed

A draw at home to Limerick is part of the celebrated unbeaten streak

Accentuate the positive Stephen

You've got to accentuate the positive
Eliminate the negative
Latch on to the affirmative
Don't mess with Mister In-Between
Bing Crosby

sbgawa
01/05/2018, 10:12 AM
Bradser

Getting turned over by Longford in the EA Sport Cup has been airburushed

A draw at home to Limerick is part of the celebrated unbeaten streak

Accentuate the positive Stephen

It never gets old with you :)

Asterix
01/05/2018, 10:16 AM
His last four posts on this thread are about rovers but he doesn't think he is obsessed. I think stephen kennys statement about connolly is funnier than anything bradley has said to be honest anyway.

01/05/2018, 10:46 AM
Suffice to say that there are more problems than the results in Limerick.

What are they?

Couch Potato
01/05/2018, 11:27 AM
We were absolutely battered last night. Dundalk should have been at least 3 or 4-1 up at half time.
When they weren't I was hopeful it would be one of those nights for them but it wasn't to be they upped the pace and left us for dust second half.
Granted the first two goals they got were as lucky as it comes double deflections and lucky bounces but they weren't undeserved.

We didn't play well at all and perhaps the 2 games a weekend especially playing a full time side in the second one on a very quick pitch didn't do us any favors.
Friday night against rovers is a big game for both sides they'll be looking to push on after a great result last night and we'll be trying to keep ourselves up there with an outside chance of pushing for 4th place.

RathfarnhamHoop
01/05/2018, 11:46 AM
Dundalk and Derry fans laughing at a statement from another manager, people in glass houses

Ezeikial
01/05/2018, 11:52 AM
It never gets old with you :)

His last four posts on this thread are about rovers but he doesn't think he is obsessed.

Bradser is just impossible to ignore when he comes out with these lines.

I'm beginning to consider a previous suggestion that maybe he is just "taking the pi$$" (copyright Mr L Varadkar) with some of his comments

I think stephen kennys statement about connolly is funnier than anything bradley has said to be honest anyway.

That website piece was pretty bizarre - it's hard to know if it was the writer or the interviewee who is primarily responsible for how poor the article reads

Ezeikial
01/05/2018, 11:57 AM
Dundalk and Derry fans laughing at a statement from another manager, people in glass houses

Don't you realise that his statements are consistently madcap?

Biggest club in the country on a 3 match unbeaten streak (except for 1 defeat in the middle) after a bad 5 days (despite not winning a game in a month) is all comedy of the highest order.

One day even Rovers fans will look back and laugh

sbgawa
01/05/2018, 12:08 PM
I look back at your obsession every day and laugh :)

01/05/2018, 12:18 PM
Bradser is just impossible to ignore when he comes out with these lines.

Pretty much everybody else manages it but you. Your constant posting about him is genuinely pathetic.

mcgonigle
01/05/2018, 12:29 PM
Pretty much everybody else manages it but you. Your constant posting about him is genuinely pathetic.

He keeps getting bites though. It's hilariously ironic really

01/05/2018, 12:41 PM
He keeps getting bites though. It's hilariously ironic really

It really isn't though.

NeverFeltBetter
01/05/2018, 1:17 PM
What are they?

Brief and potentially incomplete summation (and in no particular order):

-The lack of funding for the squad.
-The hiring process for the last two managers/general situation with Neil McDonald.
-the general quality of the pitch and the ongoing lack of clarity over who is in charge of its upkeep.
-The pricing policy for tickets, which has backfired given the quality of what's on offer.
-An ongoing dispute between the "Blue Army" section of supporters and club management over a variety of issues.
-The saga of the Bruff training facility which has been "close to opening" for a while now.
-The well-noted issues that have resulted in a restriction on public comment on the club on this forum.
-A serious lack of clarity over whether the current Chairman is selling the club or not.
-Chairman's apparent greater concern for away fans at matches than home fans.
-Concerns that too much has been invested in projects outside of the first team (in two minds on that myself).
-Perceptions of, shall we say, an unhealthy closeness between certain members of the media and club management.

I'm sure others could add more.

And then the actual football side of things: the bad results, the lack of goals, the lack of gumption. When Limerick were promoted a few seasons ago the hope was that the club could push on and secure a prominent place in the League of Ireland. Instead they wobbled around mid-table for two years, were relegated in a disaster cost-cutting season, strolled a poor First Division, and spent last season in another relegation battle. The enormous strides by Waterford in this season and last are also galvinising the negative appraisal of Limerick's last few years. Crowds are down, the mood is pessimistic, the OSC stopped functioning due to a lack of volunteers. Even if the club stays up this season, I think it is fair to say that there's little expectation of progression with the current leadership.

Ezeikial
01/05/2018, 1:41 PM

You could use the ignore option if it irritates you.

Or if you believe any of the comments unfair or I accurate, post your contrary arguments

sbgawa
01/05/2018, 1:43 PM
It really isn't though.

agreed

sbgawa
01/05/2018, 2:00 PM
Brief and potentially incomplete summation (and in no particular order):

-The lack of funding for the squad.
-The hiring process for the last two managers/general situation with Neil McDonald.
-the general quality of the pitch and the ongoing lack of clarity over who is in charge of its upkeep.
-The pricing policy for tickets, which has backfired given the quality of what's on offer.
-An ongoing dispute between the "Blue Army" section of supporters and club management over a variety of issues.
-The saga of the Bruff training facility which has been "close to opening" for a while now.
-The well-noted issues that have resulted in a restriction on public comment on the club on this forum.
-A serious lack of clarity over whether the current Chairman is selling the club or not.
-Chairman's apparent greater concern for away fans at matches than home fans.
-Concerns that too much has been invested in projects outside of the first team (in two minds on that myself).
-Perceptions of, shall we say, an unhealthy closeness between certain members of the media and club management.

I'm sure others could add more.

And then the actual football side of things: the bad results, the lack of goals, the lack of gumption. When Limerick were promoted a few seasons ago the hope was that the club could push on and secure a prominent place in the League of Ireland. Instead they wobbled around mid-table for two years, were relegated in a disaster cost-cutting season, strolled a poor First Division, and spent last season in another relegation battle. The enormous strides by Waterford in this season and last are also galvinising the negative appraisal of Limerick's last few years. Crowds are down, the mood is pessimistic. Even if the club stays up this season, I think it is fair to say that there's little expectation of progression with the current leadership.

Its funny when I saw the first post about a boycott , I did think them Limerick lads are nutters the team is 8 points above Bray in a tough 10 team league, but reading your points I can kind of get it,
Its the lack of hope of improvement that's the problem.
Its hard to shift owners (athlone) and its easy for the owners to just row back further on investment.
Boycotts rarely work , it hasn't with Athlone.
You need an investor like Waterford but its hard to find people interested in this league.

NeverFeltBetter
01/05/2018, 2:11 PM
To be honest, the gradually lowering attendance figures - just over 700 for Derry and dropping fast - will be almost as powerful a statement as an outright boycott would be.

Battery Rover
01/05/2018, 2:23 PM

When supporters do that they need to understand it can take time for change. Just look at us.

01/05/2018, 2:50 PM
To be honest, the gradually lowering attendance figures - just over 700 for Derry and dropping fast - will be almost as powerful a statement as an outright boycott would be.

It's a statement alright, but what impact will it actually have?

However we view the past spending/wastage, the fact remains that we have no money right now to improve things.

marinobohs
01/05/2018, 2:52 PM
Pats in control of the game up until the sending off, Watts hardly got a touch of the ball until then, granted he was very good after that.
There was contact for the peno incident but it might not have been enough for a foul but could have been enough for it not to be a dive one of those were you've seen them given but seen them waved away too.

Thought Pats were solid too after the sending off and looked to be taking all 3 points until Murphy decided to almost throw the ball into his own net for the Bohs first goal.

It certainly isn't an open free flowing Bucko team of old but there is still quality there and far more resilient than last few seasons, were a god keeper and a certain forward away from the top 4 IMO.

As I said possibly Bohs worst display of the season and still worth a point.If by solid you mean trying to hold the ball at the corner flag, then yes, Pats were 'solid'. At no stage were Pats 'in control' of the game, even before the sending off. Once they got the first goal they sat back and tried to hit Bohs on the break. Bad passing and snatching at chances were all that preserved their lead (first goal a fluke cross following Buckley slipping out wide and the second goal from a corner - hardly 'in control').
Anyway sure if you are happy with pats and think them quality then fine.Your comments regarding the dive, I wont dignify with a response. always nice to get a late late equalizer but I would have been gutted to drop three points to such a poor Pats team

PS every team in the premier division are just a 'God keeper and a certain forward' away from top 4 :cool:

01/05/2018, 4:01 PM
As I said possibly Bohs worst display of the season and still worth a point.If by solid you mean trying to hold the ball at the corner flag, then yes, Pats were 'solid'. At no stage were Pats 'in control' of the game, even before the sending off. Once they got the first goal they sat back and tried to hit Bohs on the break. Bad passing and snatching at chances were all that preserved their lead (first goal a fluke cross following Buckley slipping out wide and the second goal from a corner - hardly 'in control').
Anyway sure if you are happy with pats and think them quality then fine.Your comments regarding the dive, I wont dignify with a response. always nice to get a late late equalizer but I would have been gutted to drop three points to such a poor Pats team

PS every team in the premier division are just a 'God keeper and a certain forward' away from top 4 :cool:

Holding the ball in the corner flag was in the last couple of minutes, when, as you may have noticed, we were down to 10 men. There's not a team in the league that would have done different. Plus we nearly scored a third goal in that spell. And you accused me of talking rubbish:rolleyes:

On looking at the TV it was no penalty, so I'll hold my hands up there. Doesn't necessarily mean it was a dive. And we were comfortable at two up with 11 v 11. I'll stand by my statement that you weren't getting back into it without the sending off. Even your manager admitted the sending off changed the game.

It wasn't one of our better performances this year, we miss Garvan and Brennan in the centre in my view, we'd be a different team with those two.

PS - I'd quite like a "God" keeper. :cool:

02/05/2018, 7:12 PM

Very true! There isnt a club in the league that hasnt had spells where crowds have bottomed out due to the well publicised examples of problem owners and some crazy and whacky managers/teams on show. No matter how any club is doing right now its not an indication of years of being well run or that current success or security will be forever and a day. At Dundalk we have been blessed with some proper white knight owners (including Gerry Matthews when we needed his ownership regardless of how things went south at the end of his era), FastFix lads and the key decisions they made that turned fortunes around (again with some retrospective criticism in some quarters for not trying to do more with Oriel Park), Peak6 is too early to call but so far not so bad. There were Enda McGuill, Eamonn Hiney, Paddy Malone types in the more distant past who were club saviours but then, in particular with Enda McGuill came in for smoe criticism in the end.

Waterford recently, Cork, Shamrock Rovers, Derry have been on life support but have gotten back to the business end of the league and cup competitions. Limerick, Galway, Athlone, Bray and to a lesser extent Longford are having issues currently. Sligo and Pats have had scares but not the extent of others that I remember. Bohs and Shels have worked hard to reduce their crippling debt. Drogheda, Cobh(?), and Wexford have been bailed by the FAI by taking on the millstone like purchase of their grounds. Harps have done reasonably well to try and keep things afloat by working withing their means, Sligo too had their appeals to the public for greater support - Is there anyone left out as its every club.

I know this is all stating the well known turmoil in our league over the years, without even mentioning clubs that are no longer around but Athlone fans among others should never totally give up. It obviously helps to have some sort of organised supporters group ( eg Cork Foras, Dundalk Trust, Rover's 400 club) preparing to step up and offer an option to an owner when they eventually have nowhere to turn and they just want to offload their vanity projects or whatever and Athlone have enough history and prestige for the town not to forever have abandoned the club if a more palatable owner or board were to take the helm one day.

marinobohs
03/05/2018, 11:50 AM
Holding the ball in the corner flag was in the last couple of minutes, when, as you may have noticed, we were down to 10 men. There's not a team in the league that would have done different. Plus we nearly scored a third goal in that spell. And you accused me of talking rubbish:rolleyes:

On looking at the TV it was no penalty, so I'll hold my hands up there. Doesn't necessarily mean it was a dive. And we were comfortable at two up with 11 v 11. I'll stand by my statement that you weren't getting back into it without the sending off. Even your manager admitted the sending off changed the game.

It wasn't one of our better performances this year, we miss Garvan and Brennan in the centre in my view, we'd be a different team with those two.

PS - I'd quite like a "God" keeper. :cool:

'certain forward' wouldn't go amiss either :cool: anyway thought a draw was probably fair but can understand your frustration at pats tossing away a two goal lead.

Dalymountrower
03/05/2018, 12:05 PM
[QUOTE=TonyD;1959986]

On looking at the TV it was no penalty, so I'll hold my hands up there. Doesn't necessarily mean it was a dive.

Ref was very close to the incident and called it, inconclusive from TV coverage, most benign explanation is that Brennan may have tripped over his laces or hit by a sniper in the stand.