View Full Version : Turkey V Republic of Ireland - Antalya - 23rd March 2018 - Friendly
seanfhear
15/03/2018, 4:15 PM
I watched it in a special stream in Cricklewood's Galtymore Ballroom. Tenner in at the door.Did you get the Shift ?
IsMiseSean
15/03/2018, 8:16 PM
I watched it in a special stream in Cricklewood's Galtymore Ballroom. Tenner in at the door.
Fancy.... No such things as 'streams' in the west of Ireland back then. I was probably listening on the old wireless.
DannyInvincible
15/03/2018, 8:40 PM
Fancy.... No such things as 'streams' in the west of Ireland back then. I was probably listening on the old wireless.
I remember following that game on Aertel because I couldn't get it on the radio for some reason.
Fixer82
16/03/2018, 9:21 AM
I listened to that on RTÉ Radio 1.
Turks were trying to extort RTÉ and I admired RTÉ for not paying up.
If only Carsley hadn’t handled the ball on the first leg
CraftyToePoke
16/03/2018, 9:27 AM
I watched it in a special stream in Cricklewood's Galtymore Ballroom. Tenner in at the door.
Cute hoor synrome alive and well in the Galtymore.
16/03/2018, 11:07 AM
Turkey and France games will be on RTE
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/0316/947914-soccer-friendlies-against-turkey-and-france-live-on-rte/
NeverFeltBetter
16/03/2018, 2:04 PM
Yeah, I remember listening on the radio with my father in the kitchen. He took it a lot harder than I did, and the lack of visual coverage didn't help. RTE were right not to play ball though.
DeLorean
16/03/2018, 2:15 PM
My local definitely had it, they were pretty good for getting these strange Norwegian & Turkish channels for EPL games as well. I can't remember much about the game bar the ruckus at the end with Cascarino. I'm not sure we even created a single chance? There's something in my head about a set piece fairly late on from out the right wing - it was overhit and the Turkish keeper ended up touching it over. I think that's a close as we might have come to a goal!
Fixer82
17/03/2018, 9:55 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cd8NYwe2ris
We were fairly up against it. Turks had a good side. They were dirty though and terrible cheaters I remember (not quite up there with the Israeli keeper though). But good footballers and a good team.
18/03/2018, 5:23 PM
http://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/ireland-squad-finalised-for-turkey-friendly
Squad trimmed to 25.
Republic of Ireland Squad
Goalkeepers: Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Kieran O'Hara (Manchester United), Aaron McCarey (Ross County)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Alex Pearce (Derby County), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)
Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), David Meyler (Hull City), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), Alan Browne, Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)
Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Sean Maguire (Preston North End)
Fixer82
18/03/2018, 9:34 PM
Is Clark not injured?
Eminence Grise
18/03/2018, 9:40 PM
Eight uncapped players, and a whole slew with less than a handful? Maybe he's taking the rebuilding seriously after all. I'm quite pleased by that - I'd gladly swop a few friendly losses for a fresh bit of of talent, á la Mick McCarthy's early days.
Olé Olé
19/03/2018, 12:25 PM
McCarey has 14 appearances for Ross County this season and is 26. Could Lawlor feel aggrieved? Happy enough to see so many uncapped players. Are Egan and Kelly injured? Kelly scored Saturday but was subsequently substituted after 60 odd minutes. Egan played all 90.
liamoo11
19/03/2018, 1:55 PM
McCarey has 14 appearances for Ross County this season and is 26. Could Lawlor feel aggrieved? Happy enough to see so many uncapped players. Are Egan and Kelly injured? Kelly scored Saturday but was subsequently substituted after 60 odd minutes. Egan played all 90.
pity Kelly is injured. Would like to see Coleman not go to turkey coming back off his injury he could do with the training week then back to everton for recovery rehab what's the point dragging him all the way to turkey to learn what? Let Doherty have the chance to play most of game at right full. I imagine Stevens will get most Of The game at left full a great opportunity for him. Pity we dontbhave 2 games in this window.
Olé Olé
19/03/2018, 2:24 PM
Doherty 100% deserves his prolonged game time. Stevens deserves a look. Whether he deserves prolonged game time is a tricky one as he hasn't even got a full season of Championship football under his belt. Cunningham would have been far more worthy of the game time but his injury does the world of favours to Stevens.
19/03/2018, 2:59 PM
Genuinely would not be surprised to see Coleman sent back before the game
liamoo11
19/03/2018, 4:17 PM
Genuinely would not be surprised to see Coleman sent back before the game
What's the story after the game Friday is that the camp over or are they coming back and training in Dublin until Tuesday/wednesday?
backstothewall
20/03/2018, 10:36 AM
This game has snuck up on me, but I'm really looking forward to it. I'd echo what has been said above. It's a real pity about Kelly, and unlike like Doherty (and Rice) to get a decent amount of time.
20/03/2018, 12:48 PM
Liam Kelly turned down a call up
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/reading-young-gun-liam-kelly-turns-down-chance-to-play-for-ireland-36724753.html
Olé Olé
20/03/2018, 1:18 PM
Wow. I had never thought there was an issue over his commitment. Win some and lose some, I guess. We have won a good one in Rice.
bwagner
20/03/2018, 1:29 PM
Jordan Henderson,Raheem Sterling,Jack Wilshere, Adam Lallana, Ashley Young, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Eric Dier, Dele Alli, Jesse Lingard, Jake Livermore,Lewis Cook, Ruben Loftus-Cheek,Jack Cork, Fabian Delph, Harry Winks, Nathaniel Chalobah, Jack Grealish for a start and all the under age teams that England have winning all sorts.....good luck with that mate
DeLorean
20/03/2018, 1:42 PM
Liam Kelly turned down a call up
Balls to that anyway.
johnnyc
20/03/2018, 2:21 PM
It's a shame but he was born in England and apparently must consider himself English so good luck to the lad.
Olé Olé
20/03/2018, 2:28 PM
I don't get why he's dragging it out. It's far from guaranteed he will make it to the PL anyway, not to mention England. He's not a nailed on starter for a poor Reading side.
TrapAPony
20/03/2018, 3:01 PM
I don't get why he's dragging it out. It's far from guaranteed he will make it to the PL anyway, not to mention England. He's not a nailed on starter for a poor Reading side.
Probably an inflated opinion of his own ability plus a dodgy agent.
Park_Lane
20/03/2018, 3:26 PM
Best of luck to him, but pity we cant establish the lads who want to play before naming the squad.
Olé Olé
20/03/2018, 3:27 PM
Probably an inflated opinion of his own ability plus a dodgy agent.
Sounds exactly like that to me. And good riddance if that is the case.
20/03/2018, 3:33 PM
Best of luck to him, but pity we cant establish the lads who want to play before naming the squad.
its being reported today that his agent said he would play for us a while back
johnnyc
20/03/2018, 3:42 PM
It's funny that as soon as someone indicates they'd perhaps not like to play for us, they are suddenly accused of "having notions" and actually not being very good at football after all.
liamoo11
20/03/2018, 4:31 PM
best of luck to him a loss but if you feel English you need to give yourself a chance to get a cap one day, one cap for England if you feel English will be better than 50 for us if you don't feel Irish.tgat incredible goal for our 19 s will be a worthy memory
irishfan86
20/03/2018, 8:20 PM
Given he's played underage football for us I don't see the need to verify whether he'll show up for the senior team if called upon. Disappointing but we'll see how this plays out.
Park_Lane
20/03/2018, 8:44 PM
Given he's played underage football for us I don't see the need to verify whether he'll show up for the senior team if called upon. Disappointing but we'll see how this plays out.
Yep, but been dodging Martins calls by all accounts, so why name him without speaking to him? Anyway if he doesn't want to play at senior level for Ireland I have no problem with it.
harry crumb
20/03/2018, 9:07 PM
He probably saw how we treat our creative players and decided he probably had a better chance with the English.
backstothewall
23/03/2018, 12:21 AM
What sort of a team would people like to see?
I'd go with this, followed by something more conservative against France
---------------- Doyle ---------------
--- Doherty Duffy Rice Stevens ---
Christie Meyler Hourihane McClean
---------- Hogan Maguire ----------
Olé Olé
23/03/2018, 6:09 AM
Would love to see starts for Maguire, Hogan, Doherty, Rice and Browne.
Realistically, it could be anything the way O'Neill operates. I know Christie has been playing on the left in training and that Rice has been playing midfield in training, per Dan McDonnell on Newstalk.
23/03/2018, 6:30 AM
Rice has played there for the U21's as well
Olé Olé
23/03/2018, 7:31 AM
Keith Andrews hoping for 3-5-2 in a big way. I actually find it an interesting proposition. If you had Browne behind a front two of Maguire and Long, we could really find ourselves getting behind defenses but having enough men behind the ball (which Martin likes).
Couple of suggestions were made from Andrews and I agree with some:
Rice Duffy Clark/Long
Coleman Doherty
Hourihane Meyler
Browne
Long Maguire
Diggs246
23/03/2018, 9:20 AM
--------- O' Hara
Coleman Duffy Clark Stevens ---
--------------Rice
Doherty Hourihane McClean
------------Judge
---------- Maguire ----
23/03/2018, 3:31 PM
Doyle
Rice, Duffy, Long
Coleman McClean wingbacks?
Browne Hendrick Hourihane
Hogan Maguire
Fixer82
23/03/2018, 3:32 PM
Was wondering about LB. that makes sense
23/03/2018, 3:46 PM
Kevin Long has played left back also in the past so wouldn't rule that out.
Olé Olé
23/03/2018, 4:01 PM
Doyle
Rice, Duffy, Long
Coleman McClean wingbacks?
Browne Hendrick Hourihane
Hogan Maguire
Very happy with that. Stevens and Doherty in at half time in the full/wing back spots hopefully.
23/03/2018, 4:07 PM
Definitely an interesting line-up. Maybe a little bit too inexperienced? Part of me thinks you want to have some semblance of a first-team in there rather than do everything at one go - but then you think of Mick McCarthy's tenure, when he was throwing together very young teams.
Obvious elephant in the room is will the style of play be any different.
23/03/2018, 4:17 PM
Gutted this isn’t on in UK.
Future starts now.
Paddy Garcia
23/03/2018, 4:28 PM
Lads - any streams?
DannyInvincible
23/03/2018, 4:35 PM
Hoping Catt Coherty will make an appearance at some point.
23/03/2018, 4:55 PM
Lads - any streams?
http://cricfree.sc/iframe/sportsnetwork/st9.php
colonelwest
23/03/2018, 5:02 PM
Hoping Catt Coherty will make an appearance at some point.
https://i.redd.it/a36dsnn1xn9z.jpg
23/03/2018, 6:35 PM
not overly disappointed with the result, and Rice's performance is a boost, but I'm worried about the lack of options up front, and despite having Judge, Horgan, Hourihane on the pitch we never looked like creating anything
colonelwest
23/03/2018, 6:41 PM
Thought second half we played well enough, Rice took a bit of time to get into it but was excellent once he got into the game and was even more so when when he moved into midfield. Meyler & Rice in cm is what we should go with going forward in my opinion. Hendricks had another anonymous game, first half he's the senior lad in middle and he was nowhere to be seen. There's goals in Seani and Hogan if we can get them the service, Dunner had it right after the game saying we're too conservative in midfield, if you cede that and sit back in the middle you'll be hard pressed to create anything. Optimistic after that despite the result.