View Full Version : Series 4 games postponed

28/02/2018, 2:51 PM
Expected really.

http://sseairtricityleague.ie/news/all-weekend-matches-postponed-due-to-weather/id-1311

28/02/2018, 4:04 PM
Ollie Horgan gave out sh!te about the decision this afternoon.

FAI rang Harps at 3pm and asked what's the pitch condition, and what roads were like around the area. Harps said pitch fine, roads clear.

3:55pm, Ollie is walking into a press conference and is told by club press officer that an email has just come through saying every game is cancelled this weekend.

The argument made by Ollie is that the decision may be made too early and would have been better left until 12pm on Friday.

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 4:40 PM
Couldn't agree more. Remember "hurricane" Ophelia , at least a decent chance this will be another damp squid. Why not wait until Friday at 12

Ezeikial
28/02/2018, 4:45 PM
Ollie Horgan gave out sh!te about the decision this afternoon.

FAI rang Harps at 3pm and asked what's the pitch condition, and what roads were like around the area. Harps said pitch fine, roads clear.

What is even stranger is that the website announcing the postponements has a published time of 2.25pm

LATEST NEWS
ALL WEEKEND MATCHES POSTPONED DUE TO WEATHER

2:25PM, 28 Feb 2018

http://sseairtricityleague.ie/assets/images/social/facebook.png (http://sseairtricityleague.ie/#)
http://sseairtricityleague.ie/news/all-weekend-matches-postponed-due-to-weather/id-1311

El-Pietro
28/02/2018, 5:23 PM
Couldn't agree more. Remember "hurricane" Ophelia , at least a decent chance this will be another damp squid. Why not wait until Friday at 12

Three killed, a school roof blown off and the Derrynane roof destroyed at Turners Cross. More would have died if they hadn't heeded the warnings. But yeah, a damp squib.

We've just had half an inch fall in about 20 minutes. Really started to come down this evening. I'm sure Dublin is going to get it worse.

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 5:30 PM
Not disputing there was damage and deaths but compared to what was supposed to be happening it was less than was expected by a mile. The world is gone health and safety mad.
There were viral stuff on social media at the time showing one garden chair blown over etc.

El-Pietro
28/02/2018, 5:33 PM
It was less than expected because we got serious warnings and we stayed inside. Maybe Dublin wasn't badly hit but the storm was crazy down here. Cop on will ya, talk like yours is how people get hurt. The clubs and FAI are obviously worried about people travelling to the games in dangerous conditions.

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 5:44 PM
Ikm not saying people should ignore warnings etc just like Ollie said wait until after the red alert is over at 12pm Friday and make the call then. To be fair it would be obvious by Friday morning.

28/02/2018, 6:03 PM
The worst of the storm is, and always was, due for tomorrow. Today is just a warm-up by all accounts.

28/02/2018, 6:06 PM
Ikm not saying people should ignore warnings etc just like Ollie said wait until after the red alert is over at 12pm Friday and make the call then. To be fair it would be obvious by Friday morning.

Are you actually being serious? Wait until 12pm to make a decision on a game due to kick off 8 hours later. For once the FAI have got it right. Idiots like me would’ve attempted driving to get to the game regalrdess of Road conditions. They’ve put player and fan safety first.

28/02/2018, 6:35 PM
Not disputing there was damage and deaths but compared to what was supposed to be happening it was less than was expected by a mile. The world is gone health and safety mad.
There were viral stuff on social media at the time showing one garden chair blown over etc.

Yes, there were idiots on social media downplaying a serious storm which caused deaths and horrible damage, simply because it didn't hit their particular area. Damp squib? Cop on to yourself.

Health and safety mad? Actual safety alerts which saved lives.

RathfarnhamHoop
28/02/2018, 7:01 PM
I can see why ollie and harps may be annoyed considering they're supposed to be hit the least by the storm and they just want to play some football. I can also see though why the FAI made the decision they did, especially in terms of Longford players and fans travelling.

Personally I'd have thought it'd be preferable to push it back 24 hours and assess at 12pm Friday but thats a lot of messing around to be doing so ultimately i think the FAI got it right here, Jesus never thought id be saying that.

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 7:02 PM
8 hours notice is plenty of notice to get to a game in Ireland. I think Ollie had a point as to the need to decide on Wednesday. Anyway obviously some people disagree I think he is right.

mcgonigle
28/02/2018, 7:13 PM
8 hours notice is plenty of notice to get to a game in Ireland. I think Ollie had a point as to the need to decide on Wednesday. Anyway obviously some people disagree I think he is right.

You're really not thinking this through, have a good think about the logistics of a match from all sides not just the fact that most won't have begun travelling 8 hrs before ko.

Horgan is wrong to be complaining, making himself look foolish. All we need now is a Kenny Shiels ridiculous comment on the situation and we've the full compliment

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 7:21 PM
We could wake up tommorow to be told by met eireann that a shift in direction of the storm means it's going to miss Ireland. Panic over they could at least have waited until tommorow.

28/02/2018, 7:31 PM
We could wake up tommorow to be told by met eireann that a shift in direction of the storm means it's going to miss Ireland. Panic over they could at least have waited until tommorow.

No. That's not going to happen. It's not even one storm, it's two different storms. You seem to think you know more about the likelihood of these things than the experts do. You don't.

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 7:40 PM
Lol me suggesting they wait at a minimum until tommorow to cancel a game on Friday night and that's me saying I know more than the experts
...get over yourself

El-Pietro
28/02/2018, 7:55 PM
You're embarrassing yourself now. Go away and have a think about the dangers of hundreds of fans and footballers traveling needlessly across the country on Friday afternoon.

Or just think about it selfishly. Fans and (some) players need to get time off work to get to these games. Its better to know now that they don't need it rather than waiting and finding out in a couple of days.

28/02/2018, 8:01 PM
The upside of all of this is the matches have been rescheduled for a Bank Holiday Monday. Win Win for away fans who were never going to be able to get to the original game.

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 8:01 PM
Your embarrassing yourself if you think waiting until 24 hours before a match is due to be played to cancel it is completely unreasonable. Pitch inspections happen on the morning of a match. What is so unreasonable about saying wait until tommorow.....

28/02/2018, 8:04 PM
Lol me suggesting they wait at a minimum until tommorow to cancel a game on Friday night and that's me saying I know more than the experts
...get over yourself

No. Suggesting 'the storm might turn' (which it won't) as if the experts have not considered this possibility before closing all the schools and shutting down bus services, is implying you know better than they do. They wouldn't have confirmed all schools and education services closed on Friday if there were a possibility tomorrow might change the forecast. Waiting til tomorrow would be pointless, and simply give clubs, players and fans less time to change their plans.

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 8:13 PM
No. Suggesting 'the storm might turn' (which it won't) as if the experts have not considered this possibility before closing all the schools and shutting down bus services, is implying you know better than they do. They wouldn't have confirmed all schools and education services closed on Friday if there were a possibility tomorrow might change the forecast. Waiting til tomorrow would be pointless, and simply give clubs, players and fans less time to change their plans.

Lol the storm "WON'T TURN" . It appears that the "forecast " part of weather forecast has escaped your notice. Weather turns all the time....the experts are planning based on the current FORECAST Rightly so. my point was and is that the fai could have waited until tommorow to see if the experts downgraded or changed their forecast.

28/02/2018, 8:18 PM
Are you actually being serious? Wait until 12pm to make a decision on a game due to kick off 8 hours later. For once the FAI have got it right. Idiots like me would’ve attempted driving to get to the game regalrdess of Road conditions. They’ve put player and fan safety first.

All very true, if I was the one who had to travel.

But because Limerick are at home, its's a FOOKIN JOKE!

28/02/2018, 8:25 PM
Lol the storm "WON'T TURN" . It appears that the "forecast " part of weather forecast has escaped your notice. Weather turns all the time....the experts are planning based on the current FORECAST Rightly so. my point was and is that the fai could have waited until tommorow to see if the experts downgraded or changed their forecast.

Each post shows you understand less and less about the current weather we're experiencing. They don't 'plan' by shutting down all schools for Friday two days in advance if it's not absolutely necessary. If there was a chance it wasn't needed, they'd wait til tomorrow to make that call. These people understand the situation better than you do. The FAI have rightly taken their lead and given plenty of notice.

MattB11
28/02/2018, 8:32 PM
Be grand lads we'll play it another time sure, finn park may or may not be playable come Friday but can't expect longford to travel in dangerous conditions

NeverFeltBetter
28/02/2018, 8:33 PM
I think I'll take the advice of Met Eireann when it comes to the weather, and not a guy who thinks a storm that killed three people was nothing to get worked up about.

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 8:34 PM
I reckon I know a bit more than a guy who can tell the world tonight that a weather forecast is in fact a weather fact.
Again what would be so wrong with waiting until tommorow to see if the experts have downgraded their forecasts before cancelling the game?
Have you ever heard of a hurricane being downgraded to a storm ??
Jeez I didn't even really care that much about this I thought Ollie had a point ...

28/02/2018, 8:51 PM
Again what would be so wrong with waiting until tommorow to see if the experts have downgraded their forecasts before cancelling the game?
In general you're right, and ordinarily this decision probably would have been made tomorrow.

But in this case, it appears the forecasts are so strong that there is simply zero chance that Thursday afternoon/all day Friday is going to be chaos for travel. In that case, why delay making the decision?

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 8:52 PM
I think I'll take the advice of Met Eireann when it comes to the weather, and not a guy who thinks a storm that killed three people was nothing to get worked up about.

My point (poorly made)about hurricane Ophelia was that it was downgraded by the forecasters to a storm , I didn't mean any disrespect to the people who were killed, just that it didn't turn out as bad as was expected....which was great obviously.

sbgawa
28/02/2018, 8:58 PM
In general you're right, and ordinarily this decision probably would have been made tomorrow.

But in this case, it appears the forecasts are so strong that there is simply zero chance that Thursday afternoon/all day Friday is going to be chaos for travel. In that case, why delay making the decision?

A reasonable point but it's still a possibility that tommorow the forecast will change, cancelling a match with 24 hours notice is hardly unheard of...but like I said I just thought Ollie had a point and tbf he is nothing if not straightforward and reasonable and my favourite non rovers manager

onlooker
28/02/2018, 9:09 PM
with the current weather the players can't train outdoors either so I think it was an excellent decision to pull the plug now. well done FAI, credit where it's due.

28/02/2018, 10:56 PM
I know in Longford tonight the weather is lethal.. I got a lift home and the roads are slippery with the hard snow.. Bus Eireann cancelled at short notice within 45 mins of ringing to see that they were definitely going back home so had no option but to get a train back at short notice.

I can see both arguments but tbh the weather in the midlands is way worse than the East.. I can well imagine the North West will get it just as bad.. I think the FAI have made the right call in our case but if its a local derby and the travelling distance is short maybe allow the match to go ahead if its safe to do so..

Candystripe
01/03/2018, 1:50 AM
I just left the Brandywell and as a diehard Derry city fan, the Brandywell pitch looks amazing 30 mins ago @2am
But even though the whole city is buzzing about the 'homecoming" the windchiill here is-11 right now with snow all around the area and streets beside the stadium. No way should the opening of the Mark Farren stand and the first home game in 18 months should go ahead with these conditions.

The reschedule game Derry City V Dundalk is on Ryan Mc Brides first anniversary.

01/03/2018, 9:14 AM
In fairness, the Brandywell would be grand to use tomorrow.
Derry will be the warmest place in the country for the next couple of days, with next to no snow forecast. The light dusting we're getting at present is barely lying too.

The real issue is with the Dundalk team and fans travelling up here. Monaghan will be bad, the N2 is closed at present, for example, and I'm sure Glenshane Pass will be similar.

So whilst it's frustrating, I can accept that's it's probably the correct call by the FAI.
Maybe ourselves and Harps could organise a friendly in the meantime?

Dalymountrower
01/03/2018, 9:17 AM
A reasonable point but it's still a possibility that tommorow the forecast will change, cancelling a match with 24 hours notice is hardly unheard of...but like I said I just thought Ollie had a point and tbf he is nothing if not straightforward and reasonable and my favourite non rovers manager

Given your evident skills in digging yourself into and out of holes, any chance you could bring that shovel over to North County Dublin, blizzard for the last hour and snow and iced in?

FAI decision allowed me to cancel my hotel booking for the Cork/Bohs match without a penalty, Pity that the Tuesday games werent cancelled too!

01/03/2018, 9:33 AM
Pity that the Tuesday games werent cancelled too!
They should be retrospectively cancelled, all results annulled, and all memories and footage wiped clean.

monkey9
01/03/2018, 11:11 AM
The FAI will always have someone sniping at them. They made the right and easy decision. Games off, fixed them for March 19th. Grand job. Nobody needs to give out about leaving it too late......but they did it too soon!!!!!

Get a grip FFS!!

sbgawa
01/03/2018, 12:10 PM
Given your evident skills in digging yourself into and out of holes, any chance you could bring that shovel over to North County Dublin, blizzard for the last hour and snow and iced in?

FAI decision allowed me to cancel my hotel booking for the Cork/Bohs match without a penalty, Pity that the Tuesday games werent cancelled too!

Should have brought a shovel the last time I was north side. Bit of pitch digging.
With all this disruption they should really start the league again

Yossarian
01/03/2018, 3:41 PM
The FAI will always have someone sniping at them. They made the right and easy decision. Games off, fixed them for March 19th. Grand job. Nobody needs to give out about leaving it too late......but they did it too soon!!!!!

Get a grip FFS!!

From a purely selfish point of view I’m delighted as I couldn’t make Derry on Friday but will be able to get there on the bank hol, as will a good few others.
I think they were right to make the decision early. No point risking life just for a football match.

01/03/2018, 7:15 PM
My point (poorly made)about hurricane Ophelia was that it was downgraded by the forecasters to a storm , I didn't mean any disrespect to the people who were killed, just that it didn't turn out as bad as was expected....which was great obviously.

Thats an impressive level of backtracking. The phrase you used was 'another damp squib'. Not sure how that could be misinterpreted.

sbgawa
01/03/2018, 7:54 PM
Not back tracking at all, Ophelia was downgraded from a hurricane to a storm I just should have made the point that obviously even this was tragic for those involved I was usingv it to illustrate that things could change 're the latest alerts. I know you don't believe weather forecasts ever change but unfortunately this juvenile opinion is wrong. It appears that the forecasts are worsening and the red alert has been extended by 3 hours and extended across the entire country(that would be a change btw) and cancellation ended up beingv the right call whether it was today or yesterday.

01/03/2018, 8:24 PM
No one said weather forecasts don't change. Your comprehension skills could do with a bit of work along with your word choice issue.

sbgawa
01/03/2018, 8:29 PM
Grow up you said the storm wouldn't change direction as a statement of fact. A mature person would leave it there but I expect another history rewrite from you to come. Why don't you just leave it there.

01/03/2018, 8:47 PM
Thats an impressive level of backtracking. The phrase you used was 'another damp squib'. Not sure how that could be misinterpreted.

Actually, I believe the phrase he used was "another damp squid".

You're welcome.

sbgawa
01/03/2018, 8:51 PM
Indeed and what I should have said was another downgrade send pointed out it was still tragic.
Your welcome

Whoops just spotted t he squib issue....appols

marinobohs
01/03/2018, 9:41 PM
Totally the right decision and kudos - for once, to the League. Travel and spectator safety made it a no brainer and an early decision suits those arranging time off, travel and/or accomadation.

02/03/2018, 5:41 AM
Grow up you said the storm wouldn't change direction as a statement of fact. A mature person would leave it there but I expect another history rewrite from you to come. Why don't you just leave it there.

Yes, I said the storm wouldn't change direction to miss Ireland. Again, comprehension. That is not the same as saying a forecast can't change. Feel free to stop posting at any point if it's getting too much. No issue with you leaving it there and being 'mature'.

And while we're being 'juvenile' it's 'you're welcome'.

You're welcome.

sulywaterfordfc
02/03/2018, 6:27 AM
Even if the snow isn’t that bad in areas, the pitch is more then likely to be frozen as well as anything else. People have clear agendas and they look to jump on the FAI’s back at any opportunity. Great call by the FAI. Even if it wasn’t what was expected there’s no way it could be risked, I’m sure players in certain arsss struggled to get to training since Tuesday.

As for the storm in October, it might not of been that bad in Dublin but Dublin was one of the lesser hit areas. From been in cork it was evident it was bad and met eirean were spot on, the level of trees fallen was ridiculous (Ten trees fell in the space of road of about 50 meters or less) , the roof off the school, the stadium, the deaths and the fact the wind blew the hinges off the window in the house speaks for itself. It’s another case dubs think they’re above everyone else and they know it all but the rest of the country doesn’t matter. If you could name and prove one ground that is suitable to have a game today fire ahead. For a change it was nice to see the FAI have a proper plan in place!!

02/03/2018, 7:02 AM
Ollie is not the most logical person. Another breakdown coming if his Monday fixture is postponed.

sbgawa
02/03/2018, 7:06 AM
Yes, I said the storm wouldn't change direction to miss Ireland. Again, comprehension. That is not the same as saying a forecast can't change. Feel free to stop posting at any point if it's getting too much. No issue with you leaving it there and being 'mature'.

And while we're being 'juvenile' it's 'you're welcome'.

You're welcome.

Ok so storms don't change direction except within strict limits (suggest you do a bit of googling there :) ) , waiting untill 24 hours before a match to give notice of cancellation is way to little and Ollie Horgan is a public menace.
Lol. Just because your arguing with someone doesn't mean you can't change your view you know. Tx for the spelling advice you've finally stated a fact.