View Full Version : Premier Division fixtures 20/21 October.

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

ToberonaTornado
19/10/2017, 7:25 PM
Hugely important weekend for the sides scrapping at the bottom.

Friday:

Saint Patricks Ath. v Cork City
Limerick FC v Galway United
Finn Harps v Drogheda United - 8pm

Dundalk FC v Bohemian FC
Bray Wanderers v Shamrock Rovers

Saturday:

Sligo Rovers v Derry City

-----------------------------------------------------
Refs:http://www.extratime.ie/articles/19917/match-officials-appointed---penultimate-weekend-of-2017-premier-division/
Suspensions:http://www.extratime.ie/articles/19920/suspension-list---penultimate-weekend-of-league-action/
Coupon:http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/ireland

As it stands:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DMXbY5RXUAEBMIT.jpg

Finlay Harp
19/10/2017, 7:39 PM
The weather might have something to say about the fixture list.

ToberonaTornado
19/10/2017, 7:51 PM
The weather might have something to say about the fixture list.

Was there much rain in the NW today?
Has been pishing here in N.Louth since 12 noon.
Any clubs reporting problems?

20/10/2017, 5:51 AM
Hope Harps can bring it to the final game. You'd surely imagine Cork will be off their game tonight although all this talk of them being boring champions might just have them fired up, although when they look at their medals im sure they don't really care.

patrickccfc
20/10/2017, 6:55 AM
Going to be a very interesting night. Pats of course will be fired up and will probably go all out. With the title confirmed now, our lads can play without that "will they won't they" pressure so I wouldn't be surprised if we went up there and got the win with the shackles off. Limerick v Galway will be a close one I reckon and I can see a draw there. I see harps getting the win against drogheda which would make it interesting if pats lost and galway only picked up a point. Massive game in Sligo tomorrow too, again another tough one to call. I wouldn't want to be involved in all this but it's fascinating to watch.

sidewayspasser
20/10/2017, 7:30 AM
What I'd like to see is Caulfield bringing on some players who didn't get the game time they might have hoped for and still want to prove a point. Ellis and Campion probably both would have hoped for more game time after Seanie left. Bolger certainly would have hoped for more game time as well.

20/10/2017, 8:58 AM
Was there much rain in the NW today?
Has been pishing here in N.Louth since 12 noon.
Any clubs reporting problems?

Wasn't too bad yesterday, but forecast isn't great for this afternoon and evening.

Fully expect Harps to win tonight, despite looking like a relegated team last week. Might take a wee run down that, assuming this Storm Brian isn't horrific.

Hard to know the other matches will go. Just don't know how Derry and Cork will perform. I'd say both Sligo and Pat's will reckon they can get wins, they're probably right.
Tie of the night is down in Limerick, should be very tense.

Straightstory
20/10/2017, 9:07 AM
Is there a game on TV? There is according to TV listings, but doesn't say which one.
(Fully expect a Pats win - Cork won't be that bothered).

20/10/2017, 9:12 AM
Wasn't too bad yesterday, but forecast isn't great for this afternoon and evening.

Jesus, it was brutal here yesterday, roads flooded all around Ballybofey and Letterkenny.

20/10/2017, 9:20 AM
Jesus, it was brutal here yesterday, roads flooded all around Ballybofey and Letterkenny.

Really? Not a bother in Derry. Strange how different it could be just up the road. It's a cracking day so far today, has to be said.

patrickccfc
20/10/2017, 9:21 AM
Is there a game on TV? There is according to TV listings, but doesn't say which one.
(Fully expect a Pats win - Cork won't be that bothered).
Pats vs City on Eir Sport 2. I think we will be bothered. Get some momentum going ahead of the cup final and the players won't want to just take it easy and roll over for anyone.

20/10/2017, 9:49 AM
Really? Not a bother in Derry. Strange how different it could be just up the road. It's a cracking day so far today, has to be said.

It really is. The really awful flooding in Inishowen and parts of Derry earlier this year were incredibly localised.

wonder88
20/10/2017, 10:41 AM
Hope Cork put in a big performance tonight, but it is going to be hard to predict what mood they will be in, wait and see I suppose. Can't make it to Limerick, so hoping for the best. It is winable provided some of the Galway players up their game from their last two matches. If a result in our last game can keep us up that will be a good outcome from this weekend's fixtures.
No doubt the 3 down has make the season more exciting, and I think boasted the attendance figure in recent games in Galway at least, the penalty for going down is severe. However if there is promotion for 2 or 3 teams next year it may not be so bad.

Yossarian
20/10/2017, 10:46 AM
Pats vs City on Eir Sport 2. I think we will be bothered. Get some momentum going ahead of the cup final and the players won't want to just take it easy and roll over for anyone.

It's easy saying that but last year we were well beaten by Pats in the same scenario. I think Cork will drop off a bit with no pressure on and Pats will do enough for the win.

El-Pietro
20/10/2017, 11:08 AM
It's easy saying that but last year we were well beaten by Pats in the same scenario. I think Cork will drop off a bit with no pressure on and Pats will do enough for the win.
I think last year was a bit more extreme as you were in the middle of your 3/4 games a week streak. Though I agree, its hard to imagine we will be playing at full intensity tonight. Pity as I would LOVE to see Pats relegated. I also think they and Sligo are best placed to make a quick comeback from the First Division.

PartySaint
20/10/2017, 11:40 AM
I feel sick.

sbgawa
20/10/2017, 11:49 AM
The return from the first division won't be easy. I cant see any more than 1 auto promotion with second place in the first having a playoff against second bottom in the top division.
Heading to Bray but will probably spend more time checking the other Scores on-line

oriel
20/10/2017, 12:32 PM
I think last year was a bit more extreme as you were in the middle of your 3/4 games a week streak. Though I agree, its hard to imagine we will be playing at full intensity tonight. Pity as I would LOVE to see Pats relegated. I also think they and Sligo are best placed to make a quick comeback from the First Division.

Would be interesting ok, their form for 3/4 of the season probably warrants a drop**, but they might escape, then that 'Never Relegated' flag can fly proudly high. If they do go down, it will make Bohs the only side never to have been relegated I think.

EL P, don't be at it on the relegation thing, think positive after the league win, you spent time in the FD, that counts.

** Also before any comeback from Pats fans, I've said on numerous occasions, Dundalk probably would have been relegated in 2012 only for the Magic Mons pulling out.

20/10/2017, 12:56 PM
Would be interesting ok, their form for 3/4 of the season probably warrants a drop**, but they might escape, then that 'Never Relegated' flag can fly proudly high. If they do go down, it will make Bohs the only side never to have been relegated I think.

Derry have never been relegated. Fecked out the league mind, but never relegated.
Same story at Cork really.

It's not much comfort to the likes of Pat's, but I thoroughly enjoyed our year in the First Division. It wasn't as disastrous as we thought it would be. We won most matches, played some great football, our crowds actually went up compared to the previous year and you'd the novelty of travelling to different away grounds. One season was enough though.

20/10/2017, 1:05 PM
I'd like to see Pat's and Sligo relegated so they can enjoy the 10 team First Division they voted for.

seand
20/10/2017, 1:12 PM
I think it's a bridge too far for Harps. Two winnable games, but even two wins will surely not be enough, with Sligo presumably winning at Drogheda next week one point for Pats (or 2 for Galway) puts them down. You'd think Galway really need to win in Limerick to have any chance.

Gonna be interesting viewing watching from the outside.

And my belated congratulations to Derry on avoiding relegation that time they played in the First Division a season after playing in the Premier.

oriel
20/10/2017, 2:06 PM
Derry have never been relegated. Fecked out the league mind, but never relegated.
Same story at Cork really.

It's not much comfort to the likes of Pat's, but I thoroughly enjoyed our year in the First Division. It wasn't as disastrous as we thought it would be. We won most matches, played some great football, our crowds actually went up compared to the previous year and you'd the novelty of travelling to different away grounds. One season was enough though.

Just that both were 'removed' from the Prem Div then!

20/10/2017, 2:18 PM
Just that both were 'removed' from the Prem Div then!

Removed from the entire league, I'll have you know. We don't do things by half!

sbgawa
20/10/2017, 3:30 PM
I'd like to see Pat's and Sligo relegated so they can enjoy the 10 team First Division they voted for.

lol irony indeed

20/10/2017, 4:21 PM
Removed from the entire league, I'll have you know. We don't do things by half!

Yet come back claiming to be the same club....
It's been a while since we had this argument.

20/10/2017, 5:36 PM

I understand the sentiment. I think we were wrong to vote for a 10 team league, and I'm not just saying that because of where we are. I don't wish relegation on anyone (except Shels back in the day, that gave me a laugh) however I'll be praying for a Limerick win tonight. They owe us after stealing a point in Richmond a couple of weeks ago. We need to do the business ourselves though, and talk of Cork not turning up makes me nervous.

MattB11
20/10/2017, 6:16 PM
Harps Vs Drogheda OFF

WoodquayBoy
20/10/2017, 6:28 PM
Teams yet to be announced in Limerick because . . . Mr Buttimer apparenty insisting one team changes jersey. Blue and maroon too similar?

20/10/2017, 6:33 PM
8 changes for us. Plenty of lads fighting for a cup final spot so hopefully it'l be a decent game anyway.

LK37oldskool
20/10/2017, 6:54 PM
Kick off in Limerick 8.10. Galway conviently forgot their 2nd strip. Refused an offer of Limerick white gear. Only in the LOI.

CorribsideSteve
20/10/2017, 6:59 PM
Pats 1 down. Lots of early pressure via corners for Cork. Ball falls to Williams and very tidily he takes two touches to finish from a few yards out. Take that.

CorribsideSteve
20/10/2017, 7:02 PM
Killian Brennan goes close with an effort from 20 yards after another great chance moments earlier for them. Pats not lying down. More goals in this game by the loos of it.

20/10/2017, 7:03 PM
Anthony buttimer reffing in limerick just saying

CorribsideSteve
20/10/2017, 7:05 PM
WHAT a goal from Sadlier. Cork playing with freedom tonight. Very tough on Pats as they were getting to grips with the match. Thats one of the goals of the season.

NeverFeltBetter
2-0 Cork. All the motivation Galway need.

Dalymountrower
Cork still in party mode, 2 up, cracker from Sadlier.This could be a 4:3

20/10/2017, 7:09 PM
If Limerick beat Galway, I guess the three relegation teams are decided? Galway v Dundalk last round.

Pats 2-0 down is going to put the jitters up them. I'd like to see them go down for the craic. And for voting for the 10-team league too

WoodquayBoy
20/10/2017, 7:10 PM
Kick off in Limerick 8.10. Galway conviently forgot their 2nd strip. Refused an offer of Limerick white gear. Only in the LOI.
Mr Buttimer decided that Limerick’s blue kit and United’s white kit clashed because Limerick’s blue kit has a white sleeve. I mean, seriously?

CorribsideSteve
20/10/2017, 7:12 PM
2-1 now. Jordi Balk two yard header. Great response from Pats. Cork went to sleep after going 2-0 up. Galway need to win tonight in Limerick regardless, as I can see Pats drawing this game.

total hoofball
20/10/2017, 7:16 PM
Mr Buttimer decided that Limerick’s blue kit and United’s white kit clashed because Limerick’s blue kit has a white sleeve. I mean, seriously?
So this? http://galwayunitedfc.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/colm-horgan-limerick.jpg

Seriously??

WoodquayBoy
20/10/2017, 7:17 PM
So this? http://galwayunitedfc.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/colm-horgan-limerick.jpg
Seriously??
Yes, they are the EXACT kits both sides had planned to wear tonight

20/10/2017, 7:17 PM
Harps Vs Drogheda OFF

Any rescheduled date in mind?
Would need to be fairly sharpish.

20/10/2017, 7:19 PM
Cracking game in Inchicore! Great to be able to enjoy it without really caring about the result too much!

CorribsideSteve
20/10/2017, 7:27 PM
2-2. What a game. Lovely passing move, cool finish. Dennehy. Enjoying this game immensely but obviously I want Cork to win, but can't deny what a response it's been from Pats.

sbgawa
20/10/2017, 7:31 PM

How does this idiot keep getting matches to ref....it's always all about him

sbgawa
20/10/2017, 7:34 PM
Ffs cork is there any chance you could play a little less like relegation candidates for 1 flippen game

total hoofball
20/10/2017, 7:36 PM
It never ceases to amaze me just what a talentless pathetic individual Buttimer is. Any other football association would have given him and his vanity the bullet a long time ago.

Straightstory
20/10/2017, 7:40 PM
It never ceases to amaze me just what a talentless pathetic individual Buttimer is. Any other football association would have given him and his vanity the bullet a long time ago.
Thoroughly stupid posturing from him tonight. Embarrassing stuff.

NeverFeltBetter
20/10/2017, 7:46 PM
Limerick one up. Another Tosi penalty.

20/10/2017, 7:46 PM
Harps - Drogheda now down for Monday night.