13/10/2017, 8:54 PM
No thread!?

Cork still not champs

MattB11
13/10/2017, 9:11 PM
We'll be back

patrickccfc
13/10/2017, 9:15 PM
This is getting ridiculous now. We were poor tonight. Probably should've had a penalty but that doesn't matter we didn't do much tonight. The wait goes on...

Dalymountrower
13/10/2017, 9:18 PM
You were crap.
I hope the stars and bars idiot got his racism tutorial?

White Horse
13/10/2017, 9:21 PM
This is getting ridiculous now. We were poor tonight. Probably should've had a penalty but that doesn't matter we didn't do much tonight. The wait goes on...

Almost there. It's amazing that Cork have to grind it out like this. Tough on their fans.

We're weren't great either tonight. Very weakened side with so many injuries.

Ryan Brennan's stupidity in getting himself sent off was the difference between one point and three.

WoodquayBoy
13/10/2017, 9:55 PM
Ah lads, they want to win it in the Cross and fair play to them for that

13/10/2017, 10:24 PM
I almost started to miss the trips to Cobh and Cabinteely.

13/10/2017, 10:28 PM
You were crap.

Wellity wellity wellity

ToberonaTornado
13/10/2017, 10:39 PM
On the Dundalk game tonight.Is Ryan brennan the dumbest player ever to play LOI?

He gets fouled in a meaty enough challlenge by Dundalk's Shane Grimes and it's a yellow card for Grimesey all day long.Nothing bar a yellow.Conor Kenna runs to the ref protesting that the Dundalk player should be sent off.Kenna is booked for dissent and waved away by the ref.Grimes is booked.
Spurred on by Kenna's protest Brennan is also looking for Grimes to be red carded.The ref waves his protests away.

The match restarts with a free-kick to Bray and Brennan immediately fouls Grimes.Grant produces a yellow card for Brennan who by this stage is apoplectic and right in the refs face almost pushing him.Ref produces 2nd yellow for balls face and he is sent off.

Bray had kinda been holding their own up until that stage and his dismissal ultimately cost Bray at least a share of the spoils imo.

Have never seen this level of stupidity in the LOI before and i've been watching a good few years!!! :(

White Horse
13/10/2017, 10:43 PM
On the Dundalk game tonight.Is Ryan brennan the dumbest player ever to play LOI?

He gets fouled in a meaty enough challlenge by Dundalk's Shane Grimes and it's a yellow card for Grimesey all day long.Nothing bar a yellow.Conor Kenna runs to the ref protesting that the Dundalk player should be sent off.Kenna is booked for dissent and waved away by the ref.Grimes is booked.
Spurred on by Kenna's protest Brennan is also looking for Grimes to be red carded.The ref waves his protests away.

The match restarts with a free-kick to Bray and Brennan immediately fouls Grimes.Grant produces a yellow card for Brennan who by this stage is apoplectic and right in the refs face almost pushing him.Ref produces 2nd yellow for balls face and he is sent off.

Bray had kinda been holding their own up until that stage and his dismissal ultimately cost Bray at least a share of the spoils imo.

Have never seen this level of stupidity in the LOI before and i've been watching a good few years!!! :(

Brennan gets booked and goes up to the ref's face and starts clapping, Is he nuts? Ref had no choice.

ToberonaTornado
13/10/2017, 10:46 PM
Brennan gets booked and goes up to the ref's face and starts clapping, Is he nuts? Ref had no choice.

And he clapped the red! :mad:

bluewhitearmy
13/10/2017, 10:52 PM

Hat-trick.

oriel
13/10/2017, 10:57 PM
I honestly thought given the start Cork had that they might have won the league by end of August. It does seems incredible though that the massive lead, I actually forget the maximum was it 15 or 18 points? that it will most probably be reduced to less than 4 points or so.

Credit to them though when they do win it, best team wins the league each year, no question about that, but they looked far from league champions tonight. I couldn't make the Dundalk v Bray match but it was interesting to watch the match on TV from Dalymount in the background.

bluewhitearmy
14/10/2017, 12:14 AM
You were crap.

Excuses being made by some already for this. Three times in one season from the same club.

Crosshead
14/10/2017, 1:15 AM
The penalty we were denied was as clear as day, but then again the Dublin ref didn't give it against the Dublin club. Funny that.

Sheppard isn't a hold up play striker and i don't know why Caulfield keeps playing him as one.

Glad the crowd around the ********s with the flag quickly put them in their place.

Back of the Des Kelly stand really is a disgrace, the redevelopment can't come soon enough.

14/10/2017, 1:33 AM
Rovers were good in the first half tonight but woejus in the second. Sligo played well and deserved their draw - cracking free kick too.

Watched the Cork game back there - wish I hadn't. Sheppard should have had a peno - maybe his "I'm a diving ****" tweet finally came back to bite him :)

14/10/2017, 1:45 AM
It was only an obvious penalty on TV replay. Live it looked like Supple had swept up nicely. Even on the replays the commentators questioned whether he got a knee to the ball. So no overt bias against Cork from a Dublin ref, but an agrument for a TV footage review official.

patrickccfc
14/10/2017, 8:30 AM
This, unfortunately, is turning out to be a rather underwhelming league title win. 11 points needed when Maguire left in July, only picked up 8 points since then.

White Horse
14/10/2017, 9:19 AM
A league win is still a league win.

It must rankle with fans that any plaudits that come Corks way are in the past tense. Fans love their team to win but they also like to see their team praised by opposing fans and the so called experts. Anyone who says different is being disingenuous.

It will be remembered as Maguire's title and that is a bit unfair on the other players. Cork were not a one man team. Yes, Maguire was pivotal to their way of playing, but I've said it before, the back four in the first 3-4 months of the season was as good as I've seen in the league.

disgruntled
14/10/2017, 11:58 AM

Having Grant as referee didn't help either 😁

14/10/2017, 12:22 PM
We'll be back

Aye, no chance of staying up at this point really.
I thought Harps would offer more than they did last night, compared to our first two games against them.
Handy win for ourselves, without having to break much of a sweat. The poor defending made it easy really.

That leaves us needing just one point to guarantee Europe. Would be nice if we could get third, but we've Cork away on Monday, followed by two matches against relegation threaten Sligo and Pat's. Difficult ask.

Ezeikial
14/10/2017, 12:24 PM
Having Grant as referee didn't help either 😁

Ref can't be faulted here. He warned Brennan about his verbals to Grimes immediately before his first yellow. The aggressive dissent that followed left the ref with no options but to issue a second yellow

mcgonigle
14/10/2017, 12:48 PM
Ref can't be faulted here. He warned Brennan about his verbals to Grimes immediately before his first yellow. The aggressive dissent that followed left the ref with no options but to issue a second yellow

Thought Grant was really good last night. Let it flow and made the right calls. Restored a bit of faith after Mclaughlin's atrocious performance on Tuesday

patrickccfc
14/10/2017, 1:04 PM
That leaves us needing just one point to guarantee Europe. Would be nice if we could get third, but we've Cork away on Monday, followed by two matches against relegation threaten Sligo and Pat's. Difficult ask.

We need a point for the League, last night bohs needed a point to mathematically ensure survival, and now derry come down needing a point to guarantee Europe. All the teams were playing are in need of something. Play for the draw Monday so yeah? Mother Nature might actually be the next force to delay the title as a hurricane is due to hit us Monday afternoon

bluewhitearmy
14/10/2017, 1:37 PM
It will be remembered as Maguire's title and that is a bit unfair on the other players. Cork were not a one man team. Yes, Maguire was pivotal to their way of playing, but I've said it before, the back four in the first 3-4 months of the season was as good as I've seen in the league.

Is it really unfair though? Back four doing well at the start or not there wasn't a hope in hell they would be winning this league without Maguire. Their form since he left indicates they were very close to being a one man team at least.

LK37oldskool
14/10/2017, 2:01 PM
As previously stated Cork picked up only 8 points since July. The two wins came against Harps and Drogheda. Terrible form for champions. More than a coincidence that it occurs with McGuires departure.

rebel
14/10/2017, 4:27 PM
A lot of people are overlooking the fact that Kevin O Connor left at the same time as Maguire. He was probably the best left-back in the league at the time and scored a few goals as well.
Dunleavy got injured which left us short at the back because Kenny Brown left just before the start of the season.
I know people will say it's the manager's job to replace players but that's easier said than done.

AlanOB
14/10/2017, 4:48 PM
Live audio analysis of Limerick/Drogheda, featuring Noel O'Connor, upcoming here: www.mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-live/

wonder88
14/10/2017, 9:25 PM
Well Limerick are safe now. Important point for Sligo last night, and the way Saint Pats players and fans celebrated at the end of the game last night you could see that the draw meant a lot more to them than to Galway. Galway are still well able to avoid the drop, but my expectation that 35 points would do for us is clearly wrong. Really should have gone 2 up last night before Pats equalised on the stroke of half-time due to lack of concentration from some of the players who were possibly on their way to the dressing room mentally before the whistle.
Still there is a good spirit in this team, and a fair bit of talent, so all is far from lost yet.
Good crowd and atmosphere in EDP, which the team deserves but has been lacking this season until the Sligo game.

AlanOB
14/10/2017, 10:32 PM
Analysis from the Markets Field, where Rodrigo Tosi's penalty bailed out Neil McDonald's over-cautious approach: http://bit.ly/2xGetuI

Johnnie C
15/10/2017, 12:52 AM
Why did the flag of the redneck appear in the Shed End at Dalymount Friday night???

15/10/2017, 1:27 AM
Clearly with the team not having committed a foul in five years or more the fans felt compelled to commit one in the stands.

JC_GUFC
15/10/2017, 7:12 AM
This hurricane could be huge for the relegation battle. If Cork v Derry is postponed then Cork will play Pat’s still needing a result.

As for Cork’s collapse I don’t think putting it all down to Maguire and O’Connor leaving is totally fair.

They went pretty much 2 series of games with only one draw and winning every other game. Once Bohs broke that run there was always going to be a dropping of intensity.
For everyone slagging them off it reflects even worse on other clubs start to the season that Cork are limping along like this and even at this stage the pressure isn’t really on.

15/10/2017, 11:00 AM
This hurricane could be huge for the relegation battle. If Cork v Derry is postponed then Cork will play Pat’s still needing a result.

Indeed. Ideally Cork will play and wrap it up tomorrow. Really don't want to play them when they still need something. We have to win that one I think. Anything less and we are deep in the crap. Also a pity that Limerick are all but safe now. Galway have a great chance of winning their last two games I think.

oriel
15/10/2017, 11:06 AM
Cork will obviously still win the league, probably tomorrow, but maybe next Friday if Derry match is postponed, they surely won't slip up again tomorrow if that goes ahead, (red weather warning already in place) or will they slip up? a draw should be well within them.

I think the key point though is, Cork fans would have much preferred to have won it in greater style, sooner and with a bigger points total. Dundalk lost a significant lead in 2014 to finally win it on the last day but romped home in the following two years, and in particular in 2015.

However at the end of the day, will Cork fans really be bothered that much about crawling to the finish line? The records will still record a league title and these are not easily won.

kksaints
15/10/2017, 1:01 PM
Can't see that Cork match going ahead tomorrow evening. Would be very dangerous for fans.

White Horse
15/10/2017, 2:05 PM
Can't see that Cork match going ahead tomorrow evening. Would be very dangerous for fans.

It would be reckless to go ahead with it, given the dire warnings being issued.

15/10/2017, 2:23 PM
Derry are requesting that the match be moved to Tuesday. The team will already be on the road down, so would be less hassle just to stay the extra night rather than having to go down again next week.

Pablo Escobar
15/10/2017, 2:51 PM
The schools are now closed in Cork tomorrow. I'd say the game will be postponed (just an opinion). If it is I just hope that they announce it sonner rather than later.

Yossarian
15/10/2017, 4:20 PM
Game's off. Moved to Tuesday. Makes sense with the potential for very bad weather.

Ezeikial
15/10/2017, 4:39 PM
Game's off. Moved to Tuesday. Makes sense with the potential for very bad weather.

Looks like they haven't got the memo about Tuesday being a training night - crowd could be decimated

nr637
15/10/2017, 5:03 PM
Now that the Cork City v Derry game has been moved to Tuesday, October 17th, the Kick-off time has yet to be confirmed.

Is this RTE controlling again to suit their schedules. The printed & purchased tickets are still valid, thet have the standard 7.45pm kick-off which was to be 7.20pm to suit TV, now we have to wait to see what RTE decide if they want to cover it or not.

They may have to postpone the following!

https://users-images-atlas.metabroadcast.com/?source=http://www.channel4.com/assets/programmes/images/secret-eaters/series-3/episode-7/0ab2fad5-9e12-4e80-8007-31b378587e67_625x352.jpg&resize=485
Secret Eaters
Episode 7
Ticket inspector Michael, 24, and stay-at-home mum Katie, 22, have piled on more than eight stone between them in four years, and have no idea why, so Anna Richardson puts them under 24-hour surveillance to solve the mystery. In Secret Science, psychologist David Lewis gathers a group of diners to test the theory that where people eat is just as important as what they eat.

It will also clash with TV3 coverage of Liverpool v Maribor
Live UEFA Champions League.

15/10/2017, 6:25 PM

Good. Day less to prepare for Friday too. Come on Cork. Just wrap this up and be done with it. (I say this purely out of concern for Cork and their supporters of course :p)

patrickccfc
15/10/2017, 6:55 PM
Good. Day less to prepare for Friday too. Come on Cork. Just wrap this up and be done with it. (I say this purely out of concern for Cork and their supporters of course :p)

Of course I hope we do it too. I don't want us going to pats needing a result either, the way we're going.

IsMiseSean
15/10/2017, 7:14 PM

Dublin bias from the FAI again. Clearly want to make it easier for Pats to stay up... ;)

oriel
15/10/2017, 7:31 PM
Sensible decision postponing the match, tough on Derry though who will prob have to stay down two nights, but absolutely the right call to cancel it tomorrow given the weather warnings.

It probably wont come to it, but if it does, that is going to be some match v Pats on Friday night.

patrickccfc
15/10/2017, 8:00 PM
I'm assuming rte will still be showing the game Tuesday? If we lose there, they'll show the pats game, and then the bray game regardless if we win it before then for the trophy presentation, if we actually win it. Then of course the cup final. How many consecutive TV games for us would that be? Costing them a fortune lol

Trainee
16/10/2017, 9:43 AM
http://leagueofireland.ie/index.php/2017/10/16/kenny-shiels-thinking-not-playing-cork-fixture-tomorrow-due-safety/

I think Sheilds has lost the plot on this one. Does he really want to go home & come back to Cork next week. Match was correctly called off fore safety reasons as refixed. Which is worse for Derry playing tomorrow or paying next Monday?

16/10/2017, 9:49 AM
Yeah, not sure why he wants it moved back a week.
Granted, the preparation isn't what you'd want, but it's the same for Cork. At least the hotel will have a swimming pool and a gym, you'd imagine.
We've Sligo away on Saturday, so you'd be looking at Tuesday match. Can't see it being changed really, unless there's some sort of damage to the Cross or if RTÉ decide otherwise.

16/10/2017, 9:51 AM
More Shiels mind games. He is some buck.