17/10/2017, 9:26 AM
Finn Park shed is still standing.
Take that Cork.
Thanks for the offer but I think we'll be fine 😁
17/10/2017, 9:41 AM
Finn Park shed is still standing.
Take that Cork.
Unfortunately it's the only thing staying up belonging to Harps......
Ezeikial
17/10/2017, 10:39 AM
Derry City social media post
https://www.facebook.com/derrycityfc/photos/a.10152625395708906.1073741830.137900283905/10156617558903906/?type=3
dundalkfc10
17/10/2017, 10:54 AM
What happens is a few hundred away fans turn up?
Not saying they will!
EnzoScifo10
17/10/2017, 11:14 AM
Currently Cork have 26 articulated trucks on the pitch helping to remove the old stand. The engineers have been in direct contact with Ollie Horgan who has confirmed they used 27 trucks on the pitch before they played Dundalk so should be no issue with the game going ahead...
redobit
17/10/2017, 11:54 AM
What happens is a few hundred away fans turn up?
Not saying they will!
5% for away fans, Same as always I'd have thought.
Ye gotta love all the keyboard structural engineers doing the rounds atm.
17/10/2017, 11:56 AM
An away group that size would be in the St Annes anyway. I'm sure the club has a decent idea how many away fans will be there. Clubs communicate about this stuff. I couldn't see there being any issues with Derry fans anyway.
17/10/2017, 2:00 PM
I thought Derry were originally satisfied with the game on Tuesday, and only wanted the game postponed 24 hours as that's easier than just going home and making another journey down soon.
If that is the case, then am I the only one that can't see what Derry are even objecting to?
El-Pietro
17/10/2017, 2:25 PM
Roof has been cleared. The game is definitely going ahead now.
Dalymountrower
17/10/2017, 2:59 PM
Roof has been cleared. The game is definitely going ahead now.
Any chance of dumping the stars and bars waving thrash in the skip while its there? There is a particularly clear photo of them on Extratime.
El-Pietro
17/10/2017, 3:30 PM
Any chance of dumping the stars and bars waving thrash in the skip while its there? There is a particularly clear photo of them on Extratime.
I'm disgusted about that. Hope everyone involved is banned. At least two board members were informed on the night. I don't know who those in the picture are though. Recognise yer man in the blue alright but don't know his name.
17/10/2017, 3:41 PM
Game officially sold out tonight.
sbgawa
17/10/2017, 5:13 PM
I'm disgusted about that. Hope everyone involved is banned. At least two board members were informed on the night. I don't know who those in the picture are though. Recognise yer man in the blue alright but don't know his name.
Im relatively new to this guys , what is the issue with the flag??
Am I missing something? what is it supposed to represent
KrisLetang
17/10/2017, 5:25 PM
It's the Confederate flag. Some people on here would HATE Dukes of Hazzard episodes.
sbgawa
17/10/2017, 5:45 PM
It's the Confederate flag. Some people on here would HATE Dukes of Hazzard episodes.
I always liked that daisy girl
redarmyfaction
17/10/2017, 6:08 PM
Is keeping the hoods up a Klan thing?
sbgawa
17/10/2017, 6:22 PM
Come on cork get the flipped job done
CorribsideSteve
17/10/2017, 6:49 PM
Cork look like they are going to nil nil their way to the League Title tonight.
Yossarian
17/10/2017, 6:54 PM
Derry should be in front. Poor miss by Monaghan there from a corner.
CorribsideSteve
17/10/2017, 6:57 PM
Absolutely. They've certainly quietened the crowd down. Tense and nervous in TX for Cork fans right now
sbgawa
17/10/2017, 7:02 PM
If cork lose tonight I can't see them getting anything off a desperate for the points pats side at the weekend.
All down to the final game !!??
If cork lose tonight I can't see them getting anything off a desperate for the points pats side at the weekend.?
Maybe, but I wouldn't want to be taking that chance. We want Cork nice and disinterested on Friday. Oh, and Limerick to beat Galway, if you're up there Superman.
LK37oldskool
17/10/2017, 7:16 PM
The lads from KKKork fancy themselves as rebels.
sbgawa
17/10/2017, 7:17 PM
They could do with being a bit more obvious so. Muppets
17/10/2017, 7:32 PM
That cork team being league champions is like the time david arquette was wcw champion.
Ezeikial
17/10/2017, 7:46 PM
Hard to decide which is grating most - Ger "Quehane" Canning or Corks lack of cutting edge
DannyInvincible
17/10/2017, 7:55 PM
The ridiculous Ger Canning is the only commentator I've ever heard refer to attacking players as "raiders". He's used the term about five or six already this game and I've often heard him use it before. Always makes me laugh.
It reminds me of goalkeepers being referred to as "custodians of the goal" in football articles where the journalist has evidently run out of synonyms to use after "net keeper" or "net minder".
And where did Canning get "Drew" Jarvis (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drew_Jarvis) out of?! :rolleyes:
DannyInvincible
17/10/2017, 8:04 PM
Canning referring to Rory Patterson as "Ronan" now... He'd be better sticking to commentating on croquet or dressage, or whatever it is he's into.
Ezeikial
17/10/2017, 8:05 PM
The league about to be won by a team showing relegation form?
DannyInvincible
17/10/2017, 8:06 PM
Cork looking like they might just about pull themselves over the line in reverse-gear tonight.
jinxy lilywhite
17/10/2017, 8:09 PM
This is painful to watch, how we relinquished a league title to Wimbledon
Well done Cork
DannyInvincible
17/10/2017, 8:11 PM
The atmosphere is really poor for a team who are a minute away from winning the league title. The crowd seem positively underwhelmed. Cork's stuttering form and performance might have just about sucked all enthusiasm out of their poor supporters.
White Horse
17/10/2017, 8:11 PM
Congratulations to the RTE broadcasting crew who will no longer have to travel the country watching this poison.
DannyInvincible
17/10/2017, 8:13 PM
Haha, Campion is absolutely not a "flair player"!
Canning, hi... :rolleyes:
NeverFeltBetter
17/10/2017, 8:18 PM
That cork team being league champions is like the time david arquette was wcw champion.
I wonder how many other people on here understood this immediately.
Well done to Cork. Some work to be done for next season mind.
DannyInvincible
17/10/2017, 8:19 PM
No trophy presentation on the night the league was won this year either? Poor form from the FAI again. They've had months to plan for this.
Anyway, congrats to Cork. Got there in the end.
17/10/2017, 8:22 PM
No trophy presentation on the night the league was won this year either? Poor form from the FAI again. They've had months to plan for this.
I'd assume Cork asked for it to be held off, get another decent crowd for the last day of the season.
sbgawa
17/10/2017, 8:22 PM
Congrats. Ironically the brutal finish to the season might motivate them to go again next season. The players will get little or no credit for winning the league.....motivation
Ezeikial
17/10/2017, 8:34 PM
Maribor 0 Liverpool 7.
Rarely have I regretted choosing to watch a loi match
patrickccfc
17/10/2017, 9:53 PM
What a surreal feeling this is. The absolute blistering first 2 thirds of the season and the hard slog to get it over the line. Never experienced such a nervous atmosphere at the cross but such a great feeling to run out on the pitch and celebrate with the players and fellow supporters. CHAMPIONS
DannyInvincible
17/10/2017, 10:09 PM
The Confederate flag has controversial connotations (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modern_display_of_the_Confederate_flag#Revival_and _controversy); it was the banner under which the Confederate pro-slavery states fought in the American Civil War and, in a modern-day US context, it is associated with neo-Nazis, far-right nationalists and unashamed racists in the deep south.
I know Cork GAA fans used to wave it at GAA matches (https://www.irishcentral.com/news/confederate-flag-flew-proudly-at-a-major-irish-sporting-event), albeit without any supremacist or racist intentions. At least I'm pretty sure it was (more or less exclusively?) used innocently or naïvely and wasn't at all an expression of solidarity with any of the nastiness it represents in the US. I dunno if Cork GAA fans still wave it as there was a lot of debate (and official condemnation) in respect of its use during the summer, probably as the flag's more toxic and unsavoury associations gained a bit more notoriety on account of increased media exposure and coverage of right-wing reactions to and protests against the Black Lives Matter movement in the US. The GAA might well have banned the flag actually.
I think the supposed "connection" between Cork GAA and the flag has always been fairly superficial really; it was due to the flag's red and white colouring, along with the fact the Confederate flag is also known as the "rebel flag". Cork is known as the "Rebel County", of course. I don't think there was anything deeper or more significant to it than that apparent shared sense of rebelhood.
I'm not certain either whether or not the well-intentioned "rebel" thing is why those lads in the photo up-thread are displaying it, or if they're just being intentionally antagonistic and trying to provoke a reaction from someone whilst knowing full well the flag's contentious nature. I'll guess it's the latter, judging by their gestures.
Is the flag often seen in Turners Cross?
Pablo Escobar
18/10/2017, 5:09 AM
The Confederate flag has controversial connotations (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modern_display_of_the_Confederate_flag#Revival_and _controversy); it was the banner under which the Confederate pro-slavery states fought in the American Civil War and, in a modern-day US context, it is associated with neo-Nazis, far-right nationalists and unashamed racists in the deep south.
I know Cork GAA fans used to wave it at GAA matches (https://www.irishcentral.com/news/confederate-flag-flew-proudly-at-a-major-irish-sporting-event), albeit without any supremacist or racist intentions. At least I'm pretty sure it was (more or less exclusively?) used innocently or naïvely and wasn't at all an expression of solidarity with any of the nastiness it represents in the US. I dunno if Cork GAA fans still wave it as there was a lot of debate (and official condemnation) in respect of its use during the summer, probably as the flag's more toxic and unsavoury associations gained a bit more notoriety on account of increased media exposure and coverage of right-wing reactions to and protests against the Black Lives Matter movement in the US. The GAA might well have banned the flag actually.
I think the supposed "connection" between Cork GAA and the flag has always been fairly superficial really; it was due to the flag's red and white colouring, along with the fact the Confederate flag is also known as the "rebel flag". Cork is known as the "Rebel County", of course. I don't think there was anything deeper or more significant to it than that apparent shared sense of rebelhood.
I'm not certain either whether or not the well-intentioned "rebel" thing is why those lads in the photo up-thread are displaying it, or if they're just being intentionally antagonistic and trying to provoke a reaction from someone whilst knowing full well the flag's contentious nature. I'll guess it's the latter, judging by their gestures.
Is the flag often seen in Turners Cross?
Good summary. Personally, I've never seen it.
seand
18/10/2017, 10:40 AM
Maribor 0 Liverpool 7.
Rarely have I regretted choosing to watch a loi match
Maribor are worse than Cork.
disgruntled
19/10/2017, 4:27 PM
Maribor are worse than Cork.
But not quite as bad as Dundalk :cool: