View Full Version : Cork League (Neutral Venue)
fieldofmarkets
23/09/2017, 1:10 PM
What a result and great effort. Cork should still have scored in the second half....but for once we got to ride some luck. some great blocks put in during the second half.
Poor home crowd alright, pity, but still a great atmosphere. Didn't like the booing of Williams.
I have not been a fan of MacDonald, but he does at least have the lads playing for him. Super shift all-round by everyone.
bluewhitearmy
23/09/2017, 1:42 PM
My only complaint and its a tiny tiny thing is can someone pleased teach JP a thing or two about football he is constantly interrupting the best times for a bit of atmosphere. There is no need to be in a huge rush to get your own voice in there when a goal has just been scored be quiet let the noises of the ground take over then when it's settled down call out the scorer and for the love of god be quiet and let the team take the acclaim as they are coming off on a night like that.
LK37oldskool
23/09/2017, 3:59 PM
Mcdonald seems to be getting his team selection and formation right. It would be nice to hear him say he made a mistake in not using Tracy earlier but we all know that won't happen. There is definitely a belief in the squad now and his substations were inspired last night. Maybe it took him this long to access his squad and the quality of the league also. Result of the season yesterday. Defence has improved no end. Hery must be signed up ASAP as there'll be no shortage of takers if we leave it to late. Another superb performance. Is there a better midfielder in the league?
Super_Blues
23/09/2017, 6:18 PM
Fantastic game, fantastic result. Credit to the Blue Army. Was great to see the entire stand involved in the singing at the end there. Hery has been superb in the last 5/6 games or so. He's a class above most in the team, a joy to watch.
Hopefully now we can kick on in the league and even possibly pull off a shock next week in the cup.
23/09/2017, 6:38 PM
Magnificent performance by all bar one or two (no more Barry Cotter now please and thanks)
We are still far more likely to be hammered next week than win next week but we can go down and have a right cut off them now.
The disgusting racial abuse of Chedozie Ogbene by a section of the cork crowd AGAIN should provide our players with all the motivation they need.
And lads Neil McDonald. We may be ugly as sin. And weay be carrying a couple of token comedy players. But the man has won four of his last six. :good:
23/09/2017, 6:40 PM
My only complaint and its a tiny tiny thing is can someone pleased teach JP a thing or two about football he is constantly interrupting the best times for a bit of atmosphere.
It's not a tiny thing. Fairplay to the man I've heard him plug us on radio a couple of times. But he's atmosphere arsenic. Someone should have a polite word with him.
Treaty Gooner
23/09/2017, 7:24 PM
If Cotter can nail a position down, concentrate for 90+ mins and cut out the brain farts he'll be grand. Real talent and ability, a serious athlete by the looks of things, just falls down on the mental side of the game. So BC playing right full for the semifinal and the remainder of the league season? Probably no thanks. BC as a 24 year old mature player? I'd take that.
fieldofmarkets
23/09/2017, 8:09 PM
He looks like he will be a very good player. He is very young and not used to right back anyway I think. He is playing in big games now because of others' ineptitude in clearing the place of anyone related to a RB. Completely understandable he wouldn't have the positional sense at this point. We won't have to wait until he is 24 and it won't necessarily be at RB. I think Dean has shown enough to make it his spot for the last few games so we will be fine.
24/09/2017, 10:16 AM
This idea of hes young give him a chance doesn't wash with me. Tosi is 34 but hes good. Stephen mcgann was 16 when he started with us as was David O'Leary they were very young but they were good. Cotter is not good. Hes 18/19 and he is not good. He should have been sent out on loan to the first division for a year.
If a player is in the team per say because he is young that is not a requirement of any team bar aged groups (u12/u13 etc)
This is a senior team. In a relegation battle.
This was our first televised game in the markets field without Martin Russell. Therefore this was the first televised game without sean Russell. And we won. Motto dont play players for televisual purposes and you will win
NeverFeltBetter
24/09/2017, 1:16 PM
There was a moment in the first half where he lost the ball in the Cork half then ran back and won it back. He's not lazy at least, but he's not skilled enough to be a right back going up against the likes of Sadlier. He needs a lot of coaching and game-time, but I wouldn't write him off.
24/09/2017, 1:21 PM
His decision-making was atrocious. Kept taking touches when he should just be clearing it. Kept letting players get too close and allowing himself to get closed down.
I got the impression he was trying to make up for earlier mistakes by trying to attack and use the ball smartly, but he just ended up making it worse.
Tosi was absolutely furious with him after their goal and rightly so.
bluewhitearmy
24/09/2017, 1:25 PM
At one stage McDonald literally grabbed him and started shaking him on the sideline. Whatever about him anyway you can't have a performance like Dean Clarke had in second half and not start the next game.
SandwichBoy
24/09/2017, 1:27 PM
He's not a right full. Shoehorned in there unfairly and tries his best. The experts labelled Dave O'Connor as one of the worst players we had when he was played out of position. Dean Clarke isn't a right full either. He got ripped apart for the first ten minutes that he came on, grew in to the game then. I'd start him next week but let's see how he does when he has a fresh Sadlier running at him. Both full backs need to do better stopping the cross next week, Ogbene covered back well but Kenny needs to do more for his right full.
bluewhitearmy
24/09/2017, 6:28 PM
El Pietro seems to have gone missing from the site the last few days. Wonder why.
Centenary
24/09/2017, 8:58 PM
If Cotter can nail a position down, concentrate for 90+ mins and cut out the brain farts he'll be grand. Real talent and ability, a serious athlete by the looks of things, just falls down on the mental side of the game. So BC playing right full for the semifinal and the remainder of the league season? Probably no thanks. BC as a 24 year old mature player? I'd take that.
Agree with this. He's a serious athlete but naeve to an astonishing level. He'll be a serious player in time. Hopefully McDonald the man to get the best out of him.
24/09/2017, 9:24 PM
Dave o'connor is a limited player but hes an organizer and was very good one at UCD.
Cotter is an athlete, cotter is v good defending off his right, but off his left (the cross from our left being an example) he cant defend. So he came to the club as a striker, but ended up at CH and played his schoolboy at RB in clare. So this shoehorning to RB might be a total of his limitations.
EnzoScifo10
24/09/2017, 11:48 PM
In fairness, Sadlier destroyed us in Sligo when we lost 3 zip. For the goal, should have got a body on him but again what a finish. I thought for the last 25 mins he defended well but the main problem was when Cotter got the ball where the majority of time he got us in trouble. Deano simply shoved him inside anytime he was 1 on 1 where Sadlier got bottled up.
Mastershake87
25/09/2017, 9:14 AM
Think Crowe should be brought into the team in the right back position. Looks like he can play ball a bit more than Dave O'Connor and would be better suited to that task of marking sadlier.
I don't know why it has taken us all year to come by our strongest back 5. From not playing Brendan Clarke initially to playing Dave O'Connor out of position and not starting with a recognised left back in Shane Tracy. It beggars believe that these players hadn't played together once in this system until September.
Hats off to Hery. For me easily our player of the season and without his performances in midfield we'd be right down there with Drogheda.