View Full Version : Cork League (Neutral Venue)

bluewhitearmy
21/09/2017, 5:28 PM
So hardly expecting anything from this one are we? Nice to make Cork feel as at home as we possibly can though by giving them half of our own home section. After all they treated us so well down there.

21/09/2017, 5:36 PM
So hardly expecting anything from this one are we? Nice to make Cork feel as at home as we possibly can though by giving them half of our own home section. After all they treated us so well down there.

€€€€ only reason I can think of.

bluewhitearmy
21/09/2017, 5:40 PM
€€€€ only reason I can think of.

If we are that badly stuck that the difference of something like another 400 tickets is that badly needed then we are in trouble. Minnow move from us none of the proper clubs would do it.

fc hammer
21/09/2017, 6:18 PM
The club making us look small time yet again. I wonder will we be looked after the same next week in turners cross.

21/09/2017, 6:19 PM
If we are that badly stuck that the difference of something like another 400 tickets is that badly needed then we are in trouble. Minnow move from us none of the proper clubs would do it.

Like every club any extra €15 you can get through the gate is needed, be it 40 more people or 400 more. If we can get in a few more quid this week and next weekend then the chance has to be taken. Not really a minnow move considering the popular side is usually half empty. It would be different if we were packing the popular side on a regular basis and putting out loads of home support.

fieldofmarkets
21/09/2017, 6:26 PM
It's only the east end of the popular side. Would be daft not to do it.

bluewhitearmy
21/09/2017, 6:59 PM
Has to be brought into account too that fans that were banned and well known to be banned from Cork were in the ground the last day which Corks board knew full well and someone from within the club has said Cork have refused to send a list of people that are banned now these aren't people that have been banned for shouting something stupid like one of our fans are in Cork these are people banned for causing bother all over the country setting up organised fights and attacking rival fans including attacking Limerick fans with glass bottles previously. If there is trouble at this game its on our club imo if these lads start.

I'd have less of a problem with this if I felt our club would push for us to be accommodated in such a way I'd wager though the poor treatment of last time wasn't even brought up and if we are treated the exact same way next week nothing will be done again by our club while they bend over for the big boys. Like I said no hope Rovers, Bohs etc would have it happen if in the same situation. Small time attitude again.

AlanOB
21/09/2017, 9:31 PM
Usual live audio analysis, featuring Noel O'Connor, also available here: www.mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-live

Weirdly, we had a much larger audience than expected the last time Limerick were televised, so we'll plough on regardless.

21/09/2017, 9:45 PM
I don't have any problem with it. Give them extra space, take their money.

I'd say a max of 40-50 limerick fans will be affected, going by the notice on the club website.

da bishop
21/09/2017, 9:54 PM
Mountain out of a molehill.

bluewhitearmy
21/09/2017, 10:22 PM
Mountain out of a molehill.

Your right its as little as someone posting two letters of a name. ;)

bluewhitearmy
21/09/2017, 10:23 PM
We won't actually make much money at all from it by the way the extra income of the ticket sales is wiped out by security costs.

blueblood
22/09/2017, 12:59 PM
No matter what anyone says this arrangement suites Cork City, surely they gave us something for being so accommodating besides the few quid we'll make off them from ticket sales alone.

El-Pietro
22/09/2017, 2:11 PM
The club making us look small time yet again. I wonder will we be looked after the same next week in turners cross.
You'll get more tickets than you need next week. Not like you would be bringing 1,000 to Cork. Plenty of room in the St. Annes for all of you.

We have an outside chance to win the league, its a short journey to Limerick for us (comparatively speaking), so lots of our fans want to be there in case we do manage to win it. Your club gets some much needed income (like any club can afford to turn away fans in this league). Your club will also look better as the game is on tv, and the stadium will be much more full as a result, which will hopefully encourage increased sponsorship, and for some casual/first time fans to be hooked on a partisan atmosphere.

By the way, the away end in Markets Field is awful, almost impossible for most fans to see the game. Could barely see Seanis goal earlier this season. I know the St. Annes isn't paradise but at least you can see the whole field.

El-Pietro
22/09/2017, 2:15 PM
No matter what anyone says this arrangement suites Cork City, surely they gave us something for being so accommodating besides the few quid we'll make off them from ticket sales alone.

What? Thats just stupid. You get 1,000 paying customers (actually I'm not sure if we have sold all 1,000 but I hope so), and considetring your average for the year is 1,538, that has to be a good thing. I see someone else mentioned that the security costs would be through the roof because of this, thats equally silly. Theres a large crowd traveling either way. Many would have tried to buy tickets for the home end, leading to more security issues. JKeepign us all in one or two areas makes us much easier to manage.

Enjoy the game, I know I will try to, and we'll see you back in Cork next week for the Semi final. Big week for your club, focus on the positives.

El-Pietro
22/09/2017, 2:20 PM
Has to be brought into account too that fans that were banned and well known to be banned from Cork were in the ground the last day which Corks board knew full well and someone from within the club has said Cork have refused to send a list of people that are banned

In total about 10 people are/have been banned this season. Banned from the Cross by the way doesn't mean banned all over the country. You should check out our forum, those individuals constantly give out about the club sending their details to other clubs, so it seems unlikely that we wouldn't pass that information onto any club that asked for it.

now these aren't people that have been banned for shouting something stupid like one of our fans are in Cork Wouldn't be you by any chance would it? You sound very bitter about the whole thign

I'd have less of a problem with this if I felt our club would push for us to be accommodated in such a way I'd wager though the poor treatment of last time wasn't even brought up and if we are treated the exact same way next week nothing will be done again by our club while they bend over for the big boys. Like I said no hope Rovers, Bohs etc would have it happen if in the same situation. Small time attitude again.
Last game in Cork your fans set a flare off under a crowd cover. They need to be handled carefully in case they hurt themselves or others!

22/09/2017, 2:42 PM
Your club hides perverts.

More in your line to take your faux concern to the city forum and find out what's being done about that.

Well done on the three post streak tho. :good:

bluewhitearmy
22/09/2017, 2:53 PM
Wouldn't be you by any chance would it? You sound very bitter about the whole thign

Last game in Cork your fans set a flare off under a crowd cover. They need to be handled carefully in case they hurt themselves or others!

You got me it's me that is banned from the cross. Mad then that I was complaining about the treatment of our fans the last day. Don't bother actually reading everything before you comment works well.

One of our fans did do something stupid that COULD have ended in bother at least yours go all the way with it like the las that nearly got himself killed up at Tolka (saved by a Limerick fan btw) and the lad that ended in an ambulance after attacking Limerick fans outside Thomond so you can see why I would worry about security with your lads.

bluewhitearmy
22/09/2017, 2:55 PM

More in your line to take your faux concern to the city forum and find out what's being done about that.

Now now LTID that would be impossible as there is a vow of silence in place on that particular matter couldn't have something like that getting in the way of telling others how things should be done.

El-Pietro
22/09/2017, 3:35 PM

Assuming I know what you are talking about that man was acquitted. To the best of my know at least. Bit harsh there.

El-Pietro
22/09/2017, 3:42 PM
You got me it's me that is banned from the cross. Mad then that I was complaining about the treatment of our fans the last day. Don't bother actually reading everything before you comment works well.

One of our fans did do something stupid that COULD have ended in bother at least yours go all the way with it like the las that nearly got himself killed up at Tolka (saved by a Limerick fan btw) and the lad that ended in an ambulance after attacking Limerick fans outside Thomond so you can see why I would worry about security with your lads.
So it's impossible for you to be banned and also know what happened at the cross after? I mean it's unthinkable that you could talk to people there.
If it's not you then fair enough. But you do sound bitter.
I'm not going to defend the actions of anyone. Plenty of idiotic behaviour from some city fans. The shels incident was six or so years ago though and it's been mostly quiet in recent years aside from flares and the likes. I'm not aware of the Limerick incident. As it happens I'm not a part of that crowd, would know a few to talk to from travelling to games.

But I get it. You'd prefer as few away fans as possible. Attitudes like yours are why clubs like Limerick have crowds of 1500. Before you jump on that comment I'm not exactly ecstatic that our own crowds aren't better but turning away fans so that a grassy bank can be made available for a few home fans who could otherwise be accommodated a few yards closer to the halfway line does nothing for your club or the league as a whole.
Three posts from me. Three replies too. None actually addressing any of my comments though

22/09/2017, 3:49 PM
Three posts from me. Three replies too. None actually addressing any of my comments though

For my own part, I'm actually quite busy, and they are genuinely, hand on heart, all three of them, oozing with dribble and bluster and nonsense.

I don't have the time. Honestly. I might laterthis evening.

Still think you'd be better off taking your faux concern to the city forum though. :good:

Ancient Rush
22/09/2017, 5:19 PM
Hope city's fans disdain for ex- Cork City players playing with Limerick extends beyond Ogbene tonight. They were tweets from some Cork City fans at the Turners X match which suggested more than a hint of racist intent.

On the other hand, because the two cities are so close to each other we should be wise to the fact that they are plenty of Cork people living in Limerick who are not going to have got an away ticket (only on sale in Cork). At the first match saw a father with kids being given abuse on the popular side because one of his kids cheered when Cork scored.

blueblood
22/09/2017, 5:29 PM
What? Thats just stupid. You get 1,000 paying customers (actually I'm not sure if we have sold all 1,000 but I hope so), and considetring your average for the year is 1,538, that has to be a good thing. I see someone else mentioned that the security costs would be through the roof because of this, thats equally silly. Theres a large crowd traveling either way. Many would have tried to buy tickets for the home end, leading to more security issues. JKeepign us all in one or two areas makes us much easier to manage.

Enjoy the game, I know I will try to, and we'll see you back in Cork next week for the Semi final. Big week for your club, focus on the positives.
So giving Cork 3 or 4 or 5 times the amount of tickets ye are entitled to and giving ye a chance to possibly outnumber Limerick fans doesn't suit ye...... Jesus you're obviously having a drink or two

bluewhitearmy
22/09/2017, 5:37 PM
So giving Cork 3 or 4 or 5 times the amount of tickets ye are entitled to and giving ye a chance to possibly outnumber Limerick fans doesn't suit ye...... Jesus you're obviously having a drink or two

I'm just surprised a Cork fan went so long without telling us we should be fan owned.

NeverFeltBetter
22/09/2017, 6:01 PM
They can have every seat in the ground, as long as we get at least a point.

Treaty Gooner
22/09/2017, 8:55 PM
Robbie is tubby enough isn't he

22/09/2017, 9:12 PM
Robbie is tubby enough isn't he

I heard that mentioned tonight alright.

22/09/2017, 9:23 PM
Great great night to be in the ground, wonderful stuff.

LK37oldskool
22/09/2017, 9:33 PM
Those Cork supporters are rubbish. They were so quiet through the game.
Great atmosphere created by the Limerick fans. Memorable night.

CraftyToePoke
22/09/2017, 9:40 PM
Fantastic win lads :) what a night, well done to all involved, a massive result.

bluewhitearmy
22/09/2017, 9:46 PM
As well as the well noted ones Dave O'Connor and Dean Clarke were unreal.

Bluelivesmatter
22/09/2017, 9:51 PM
Superb performance in front of the camera's. Hopefully they can push on or safety now and give Cork at rattle next week in turners cross.

Ogbene really showed his potential tonight as did Sadlier for Cork.

Buzzing :D

da bishop
22/09/2017, 10:07 PM
A brilliant effort from the entire team even allowing for one or two poor individual performances,O Connor and Hery outstanding in a great game with some fierce battles,wonder can we play in this ..neutral..venue every week.man of the match for me has to go to John Caulfield,since Maguires departure he has made some glaring errors of judgement and in making one in particular i want to take this opportunity to sincerely thank him..thank you John for taking that overweight sack of unprofessional rubbish of our hands AND playing him tonight.He must be an absolute embarassment to all associated with Cork City [surely they have 19s defender who could do the job].Super three points marshelled by Mcdonald ..a very good night.

SandwichBoy
22/09/2017, 10:16 PM
Brilliant stuff. Everyone worked their ******** off, Tosi was unreal challenging for lost balls in the second half just to take the sting out of the defence. Some change from Dave O'Connor being called a "reject sh**bag" by the red head drummer to getting his name chanted off the field three weeks alter. Fine player when he was played in the right position. Not sure why a player forced out of the club got such a poor reception. I presume Paul O'Conor will get the same treatment in a few weeks.

The subs were brilliant, first time I think everyone in the ground agreed with the decisions. It was inspiring to see the team were well drilled to deal with Cork's high line, played some beautiful passes in to the space in the first half when their midfielders pressed. Their only tactic was to cross the ball and hack Ogbene. Nicely set up for next week.

22/09/2017, 10:41 PM
Cotter was ****. Good sub made.birki was poor but did run about a lot. Crowe is good in that position. Ball retention by the fans on the popular side won the crowd battle

Ballistinianlad
22/09/2017, 10:43 PM
Sandwich boy there's a reason Robbie was forced out. When a player bets on his own team to lose do you expect the fans to give him a guard of honour lol

Treaty Gooner
22/09/2017, 10:46 PM
It is if that's what he did tonight...here you go Rodrigo, swan off there and chip the keeper

Ballistinianlad
22/09/2017, 10:57 PM
Tosi first goal scorer he had backed.
Super atmosphere created by the boys at the back of the stand. At one stage there was about 70 kids with them. Great to see.

LK37oldskool
22/09/2017, 11:02 PM
Don't say that too loudly or sandwich boy will get upset. He's allergic to them.
Especially obsessed with the drummer. All the crowd responded well to the Blue Army singing. Made for a superb atmosphere.

SandwichBoy
22/09/2017, 11:14 PM
I only supply my objective portrayal of what I witness and the opinions of people I know who used to frequent matches. I think some of the singing and support is great, it's the lowlife degenerate behavior which I don't agree with. Abusing our own players, opposing managers, opposing players, shouting obscenities. LK37oldskool endorses that behavior and that's ok too, that's her view. I don't understand why she feels the need to reference me continuously I only supply my own perception. Take a night off sweetheart everybody enjoyed the win.

bluewhitearmy
22/09/2017, 11:55 PM
Only time I will ever comment on sandwich boys stuff about us and all I'll say is just let it go lads all that should be talked about how is the fantastic night we had tonight and the unbelievable performance of the lads on the pitch we needed a night like tonight. Fantastic night.

Lims4ever
23/09/2017, 12:42 AM
What a special night superb performance real pleasure to have been there long second half waiting for that clock to thick away but first half especially we were immense some shift put in from everybody .Hery for me clear motm outstanding performance what an engine he has gives his all , tosi his hold up play unreal and what a goal , Shane Tracy has been unreal since he came back for Galway I was not in bray but the Galway game seems to have been the turning point we have looked a completely different team shape suits us so much better Dave o Connor and whitehead rock solid at centre half , let's hope ogbene can give that display next Friday aswell his best display by far and great interview after the game on rte he has some potential if McDonald can get consistency from him , my god Robbie Williams looked much heavier than when he was playing for us did not think that would be possible surprised caul field entertains that , what ever about the ticket allocation cork got how disappointing was the home turnout last time we played them 3k with a smaller away crowd , tv would affect it yes but so disappointing our biggest game of season Munster Derby no matter how the team has been playing I was really surprised but then again how many times big crowd and we fail, anyway they missed out on a very special night by not going roll on cork again next week Aviva here we come 🤓😎

NeverFeltBetter
23/09/2017, 8:55 AM
Great win, great performance, for the most part. Seeing Williams mess up so spectacularly for the first was fairly satisfying, even if he'll have a league medal to dangle back at any detractors soon enough. And perfect free kick from Tracey.

Thought we played very well throughout, especially in the midfield, Hery bossed the show and should have been MOTM in my opinion. Not that Ogbene didn't deserve consideration, love when he gets going and rattles defenders. Some of the treatment he got was shocking, Cork players wagging their fingers for his temerity in getting hacked down when they couldn't get the ball off him. Liked his response in the post-match interview. Game could have turned very nasty, but thought the ref was fqir enough with the whistle, if not so much with the cards.

Others to pick out: any one think Clarke was a little iffy? A few shots he seemed to have trouble with. Poor Cotter got roasted in that first half for the goal especially, reminded me of Seanie Russell in the League Cup final last year, only on this occasion the manager fixed it in time. It strikes me that he might be a better winger than a right back, since he seems to do better with the ball at his feet than dealing with oncoming attackers. At the end of the day, he's 18 going up against an in-form Sadlier though, so you can't be too harsh. Tosi was great at the hold-up play, and I was stunned with how coolly he slotted home with the chip, like a guy whose been scoring for fun. Whitehead was good, Lynch was great. Duggan a little anonymous but did his job well enough. Clarke saved the day defensively when he came on, though Cork had enough chances and half-chances to win the game if they had been at the races.

Market's Field looked grand on TV, save for the pitch, which seems to be in a bit of a state, despite what the commentators were saying. The extra Cork allocation didn't seem to effect things too much.

Good position now, need to push on and get the points against Drogs, Pats and Galway, don't get lulled into thinking we're safe. As for next week, you'd assume Cork will be extra motivated, and Ogbene will get a harsh reception for no good reason. It's all uncharted territory.

We've had to put up with a lot of negative stuff with the club this season - on the field, off it, on here - some of it justified, some of it in no way justified. Last night was one of those nights that make it all worth it.

LK37oldskool
23/09/2017, 9:18 AM
Just to clarify sandwich boy I'm not a girl and I've been a Limerick supporter since the Eoin Hand days. I'm sure I'm certainly older than you and seen plenty of changes at this great club. I'm just wondering why every post you put up has to mention the BA and a certain member of that group. I'd like to read your posts without your obsessions included. Are you actually a boy?

Treaty Gooner
23/09/2017, 10:30 AM
Are you actually a sandwich?

Thought the pitch was sticky, Should have dealt with the rain we've had recently and it was disappointing. That said we kicked the ball away more often than not so it disrupted Cork more than us

AlanOB
23/09/2017, 10:49 AM
Analysis: McDonald’s man-management vindicated by sweet Munster derby success: http://bit.ly/2hozQFK (https://t.co/K6yRqUqIm4)

Castlepook
23/09/2017, 11:20 AM
[QUOTE=AlanOB;1936884]Analysis: McDonald’s man-management vindicated by sweet Munster derby success: http://bit.ly/2hozQFK (https://t.co/K6yRqUqIm4)[/
Vindication of McDonald, your having a laugh. Going through the dressing room or any workplace like the plague is a Victorian concept, fine if you have an alternative, toxic when you don't, and could have cost us our premier position. Actually reminiscent of NOC jettisoning Derek McCarthy in the middle of a promotion push which ultimately ended up with us dropping, off the pace and a dressing room lost. Dropping Trace is one thing, not acknowledging your screw up and playing players out of position is criminal and reflects in the poor Limerick attendance last night. You obviously have your own agenda regarding Duggan, but as they say someone has to "pay" for the free press. Best of luck in your new position as club PRO .. slotting in nicely....

SandwichBoy
23/09/2017, 12:00 PM
Are you actually a sandwich?

Good thing I'm not or the big lads at the back of the stand might eat me :D

LK37oldskool, sorry the nature of your posts made me think you were a lady. Apologies about that. In any case there is no obsession, the red head drummer seems to be at the fore of the moronic activity. I'm not making up lies I'm only relaying facts. He was roaring abhorrent abuse at Dave O'Connor against Finn Harps and last night singing his name off the field. He shouted for somebody to break Sean Maguire's leg in the Cup game back in April. Stood at the tunnel antagonizing Ollie Horgan as he left the field a few weeks ago for no reason. He isn't the only one who conducts himself poorly. A blue army member was abusing Ryan Brennan last week after halftime. There is a lot more moronic behavior which people like yourself endorse and I don't. If people act like scumbags they should be prepared for people to talk about them acting like scumbags.

Robbie Williams was a great servant to Limerick. He wanted to stay at the club. If the gambling rumours were true he would have been reported and you can be sure Cork would have heard before signing him. Very poor form and gives a bad representation of the fans.

LK37oldskool
23/09/2017, 1:06 PM
Not sure what in my posts indicated i might be female but your misogynistic and patronizing reply tells me enough about you.
After this i wont be responding to your posts on the BA anymore. I will finish by making a few points.
I don't condone some of the chants or behavior of the group all the time. It goes on in every league in the world. However goading and baiting of players, officials and supporters of other clubs has been constant for decades in football. Limerick fans are no worse than any others in this league. They have never stooped to the level of some , like Cork , who have racially abused players. Ex players always get stick from the fans they left, its more common than you think. Logic is not always at the forefront of supporters during the intensity of the game. Ollie Horgan is a pitiful man who's example as a manager is beyond excusable and i have no sympathy for him. From experience the Rovers & Bohs fans put our lot in the halfpenny league when it comes to dishing out abuse. I just wish that you could post items on football matters and i would gladly respond in an honest discussion with you. All the best kid.