View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Moldova - Friday 6th October 2017 - World Cup 2018 Qualifier
06/10/2017, 2:09 PM
McGoldrick has a hamstring problem, according to the article.Ah, I didn't read it. Just assumed PunditArena embedded Nathan Murphy's tweet and repeated the names
06/10/2017, 4:05 PM
I have mulled over this fixture and I think it one we must win.
koneinc
06/10/2017, 4:23 PM
I have mulled over this fixture and I think it one we must win.
I concur
06/10/2017, 4:42 PM
I concur
Mulled over = Moldova!!
Ohhhh Georgia nearly scored!!
koneinc
06/10/2017, 4:50 PM
Mulled over = Moldova!!
Ba-doom-thish
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 5:25 PM
Starting line-up:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLeJ6KjWAAUxzLc.png
I think O'Neill should have rested Hoolahan for this one, in order to save him for Monday. We could always have brought him on in the second half if a goal was needed.
Colbert Report
06/10/2017, 5:29 PM
How will we line up? 4-2-3-1 with Murphy up front by himself and O'Dowda and Long flanking Hoolahan?
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 6:12 PM
Just seeing that Christie is on a yellow-card, meaning he'll be suspended for Cardiff if he gets a booking tonight. Makes the omission of Matt Doherty even more inexplicable.
Irish_Praha
06/10/2017, 6:13 PM
any streams for outside Ireland lads?
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 6:17 PM
any streams for outside Ireland lads?
https://mamahd.tv/5750-Ireland-vs-Moldova-live-stream.html
Fixer82
06/10/2017, 6:22 PM
McGeady must’ve thought he was in. Good luck O’Dowda. Tidy player
06/10/2017, 6:25 PM
o dowda murphy long up front according to sky
However I expect o dowda will be on the wing really.
Irish_Praha
06/10/2017, 6:36 PM
https://mamahd.tv/5750-Ireland-vs-Moldova-live-stream.html
Thanks. Hope it works.
texidub
06/10/2017, 6:39 PM
More streams here, but none up and working yet. Let me nkow if you find a good one Praha.. Cheers!
http://www.myfeed4u.com/section/football/
EDIT: stream #1 working well. Fingers crossed.
06/10/2017, 6:45 PM
Ireland 9-1 on to win, I don't think there is anything back able for me even or a fun bet.
06/10/2017, 6:48 PM
1-0.........
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 6:49 PM
Good start. Murphy was due a goal. I hope we don't sit back now. We should push on, hopefully score another one or two and then we can think about taking players off to conserve energy for Cardiff.
06/10/2017, 6:59 PM
Good finish for Murphy, his Ireland account was very bare compared to his club football, hopefully we have found a regular goalscorer.
sbgawa
06/10/2017, 7:03 PM
Typical miss by long
06/10/2017, 7:08 PM
Good finish for Murphy, his Ireland account was very bare compared to his club football, hopefully we have found a regular goalscorer.
Goal number 2 great header. Looks like we have found a goal scorer at last!
06/10/2017, 7:08 PM
Another Long miss!
sbgawa
06/10/2017, 7:10 PM
If long could combine a bit of coolness with his pace he would be great.
06/10/2017, 7:10 PM
If Long could finish he'd be quality...,
Murphy starts vs Wales.
Fizzer
06/10/2017, 7:12 PM
Brilliant save!!
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 7:13 PM
Second goal was a great header. Delighted for Murphy as he's a good worker and often comes close.
Ward has really come on as a player of late.
Top save from Randolph there.
For what it's worth, we could still actually afford to draw this game, so long as we then beat Wales by three goals or more, and it would make no difference to our runners-up table standing.
06/10/2017, 7:15 PM
Long is favourite to score next, my money would be on Murphy again!
Agree about Ward, I can remember when he was slow and chubby!
He is a super player now.
If we drew this game Wales we would have no chance v Wales!
rebelmusic
06/10/2017, 7:33 PM
Anyone else notice Ronnie criticising them for playing from the back. "If your're going to play the long ball then just play it, 100%"
What the absolute Feck like?!? He's been giving out about it for 10 years!
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 7:39 PM
Anyone else notice Ronnie criticising them for playing from the back. "If your're going to play the long ball then just play it, 100%"
What the absolute Feck like?!? He's been giving out about it for 10 years!
Far better to mix it up a bit than play 100 per cent hoofball. Bizarre comment.
O'Dowda has impressed.
06/10/2017, 7:41 PM
Good half but Moldova are really poor. Should be looking to put five or six past them and really get the confidence soaring ahead of Monday. Few early subs might do no harm to conserve the energy of the likes of Hoolahan and a few players waiting on bookings.
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 7:43 PM
If we drew this game Wales we would have no chance v Wales!
Heh, just speaking theoretically/mathematically!
06/10/2017, 7:52 PM
Well of course Wales is the big issue, we need another 3 goals to get our goal difference level, however I guess
it will not matter anyway?
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 8:03 PM
It isn't Long's night.
sbgawa
06/10/2017, 8:03 PM
Jeez get him off and get maguire on
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 8:05 PM
Well of course Wales is the big issue, we need another 3 goals to get our goal difference level, however I guess
it will not matter anyway?
Goal difference won't matter as we can't finish on equal points with Wales if we win.
It could matter if Serbia drew tonight and lost against Georgia, or if Serbia lost tonight and then drew against Georgia, as we'd finish equal with Serbia then if we beat Wales. That's very unlikely though.
06/10/2017, 8:05 PM
Is there a Specsavers in Cardiff?
06/10/2017, 8:06 PM
Get Christie up front. I have him at 8-1 to score!
06/10/2017, 8:07 PM
I can see Duffy scoring
Colbert Report
06/10/2017, 8:09 PM
O'Dowda very good but as mentioned by others, Moldova very poor. I hope Hoolahan is available to play against Wales. I wonder who will be left out to make way for McClean and Brady. Barring knocks or injuries I'd guess O'Dowda and Long? It seems like a terrible shame to leave Long out but he has been very poor the last few matches.
06/10/2017, 8:10 PM
This is not the game for Long, his pace is of little use against a defensive minnow.
TrapAPony
06/10/2017, 8:11 PM
This is not the game for Long, his pace is of little use against a defensive minnow.
Long usually does nothing when he starts. In any case it seems he is very low on confidence. There is no way he should start v Wales on this form.
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 8:12 PM
Just saw Walters in the row of players behind the bench sitting next to McClean. Hadn't thought he was called up at all.
Why on earth is Hoolahan still on the pitch? Get him off and get him rested.
Does it mean he won't start in Cardiff? Disappointing, if so, as you just know it's going to be a long and frustrating night that way.
sbgawa
06/10/2017, 8:21 PM
FFS send mcgeady on instead of maguire because we have a lot to learn about him.....o Neill is a complete waste of space
placid casual
06/10/2017, 8:24 PM
This game is the equivalent of seeing 2 virgins stumbling wide eyed around a brothel.
International football is dead in the water folks, and only serves as a pi$$ up opportunity for fans who don't really follow any league team properly.
Very very proud to see Maguire come on. A great source of pride for LOI to swet that.
06/10/2017, 8:26 PM
Criminal that it took so long to make those changes.
06/10/2017, 8:43 PM
Has to be said, the last hour of that was turgid stuff. There was a hammering available there but we couldn't muster the energy. Maybe it was with Monday in mind, but that was a worrying performance.
Long should have been hauled off at half time
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 8:44 PM
Delighted Maguire got the nod ahead of Hogan.
I see there from RTÉ's stats that Moldova completed over 120 more passes than we did tonight.
Arter was trying a bit too hard when he came on. Silly to get booked.
06/10/2017, 8:50 PM
Not too bothered about the second half. The job was done and we were able to slow down and relax. Hopefully they will be a bit fresher that they otherwise would have been against Wales.
Hoolahan staying on so long was wrong though, as think he must start in Cardiff. We need to win, he is central to getting us attacking.
Metrostars
06/10/2017, 8:59 PM
Goal difference won't matter as we can't finish on equal points with Wales if we win.
It could matter if Serbia drew tonight and lost against Georgia, or if Serbia lost tonight and then drew against Georgia, as we'd finish equal with Serbia then if we beat Wales. That's very unlikely though.
Unlikely but it was poor not to push for the extra goals in the second half. It would very well end up Serbia and Ireland on 19 points. Don't understand why Houlihan wasn't taken off much earlier, even half time. We know now he definitely won't start on Monday.
Delighted Maguire got the nod ahead of Hogan.
Same here, he deserves it. See John Giles in the Herring tonight reckons Maguire has had a good start to his professional career at Preston. Didn't realise Cork weren't paying him!!
DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 9:19 PM
Same here, he deserves it. See John Giles in the Herring tonight reckons Maguire has had a good start to his professional career at Preston. Didn't realise Cork weren't paying him!!
He's "only starting out" (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/john-giles-two-things-martin-oneill-said-in-his-eyebrowraising-postmatch-interview-gave-me-pause-36114222.html), don't you know?... :rolleyes: