View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Moldova - Friday 6th October 2017 - World Cup 2018 Qualifier

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

DannyInvincible
01/10/2017, 4:43 PM
Think I'd be using this game to blood Declan rice,hes likely our future box to box midfielder.we're short at the moment with injuries to McCarthy and Arter and the reality is probably that qualification has gotten away from us in this campaign.i would have given him a run out with Meyer whose been exceptional whenever called upon,chance to build his confidence with little to lose

Oddly, he isn't even in the provisional squad despite having racked up more EPL appearances now than when he was last included in a training squad in May.

When is the squad to be whittled down?

DeLorean
01/10/2017, 7:37 PM
When is the squad to be whittled down?

Today supposedly, although I trust very little from this article. - http://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/dream-team-of-oneill-and-keane-going-nowhere-36184748.html

The Ireland manager will trim it further today, hoping he will make the decisions, not the medics.

02/10/2017, 2:23 PM
Squad finalised, Westwood (rib) and Doyle (retirement) are the only players to leave the provisional squad so far, with more to be assessed this week: http://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/oneill-finalises-squad-for-moldova-wales-games

Republic of Ireland MNT Squad
Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Colin Doyle (Bradford City)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Burnley), James McCarthy (Everton), David Meyler (Hull City), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Jonathan Hayes (Celtic), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), Daryl Horgan (Preston North End)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall)

DannyInvincible
02/10/2017, 3:28 PM
Squad finalised, Westwood (rib) and Doyle (retirement) are the only players to leave the provisional squad so far, with more to be assessed this week: http://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/oneill-finalises-squad-for-moldova-wales-games

There's to be another update at 5PM this evening and the press conference will be broadcast live on RTÉ Player: https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/1002/909112-westwood-ruled-out-as-oneill-prepares-to-give-update/

Edit: The press conference will be live here: https://www.rte.ie/player/ie/live/3/

DeLorean
02/10/2017, 4:24 PM
Edit: The press conference will be live here: https://www.rte.ie/player/ie/live/3/

They seem to have scrapped this idea.

DannyInvincible
02/10/2017, 4:31 PM
They seem to have scrapped this idea.

Seems so. There are updates on the FAI's Twitter feed though. O'Neill says that McGoldrick has had a scan and seems OK. McCarthy hasn't been ruled out just yet either. (https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/914886132810309632)

According to photos, Arter and McCarthy took part in (at least some form of) training today.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLJUnpGWAAE3j5U.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLJUeiaW4AAsuuu.jpg

Pretty certain that's McCarthy in the foreground of the second photo.

DannyInvincible
02/10/2017, 4:37 PM
Photos (from the FAI's Twitter feed (https://twitter.com/FAIreland)) of Hogan and Maguire in training earlier today:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLJRdKFWAAAX7Q6.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLJXyfQXkAAd78c.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLJYPzUXkAAcJA6.jpg

DannyInvincible
02/10/2017, 4:55 PM
That definitely was McCarthy training earlier as there's another photo of him in this tweet (https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/914895530114912260):

That's it for today. Over 49,000 tickets for Friday's game have been sold already. Remaining tickets available now: https://www1.ticketmaster.ie/fifa-world-cup-2018-qualifier-dublin-10-06-2017/event/1800531FDA257F07?artistid=1123642&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=741&bba=1

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLJcmFBW0AA1eKX.jpg

49,000 tickets have been sold, so the game is nearly a sell-out.

mark12345
03/10/2017, 11:23 AM
That definitely was McCarthy training earlier as there's another photo of him in this tweet (https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/914895530114912260):

49,000 tickets have been sold, so the game is nearly a sell-out.

Word this morning (in the Daily Mail) that O'Neill could play McCarthy. Seriously hoping this doesn't happen. Not because I dislike JM (which I don't) but because it would be a huge risk to play a player who has not kicked a ball all season and a real kick in the teeth to those midfielders in the squad who have.

colonelwest
03/10/2017, 3:08 PM
Word this morning (in the Daily Mail) that O'Neill could play McCarthy. Seriously hoping this doesn't happen. Not because I dislike JM (which I don't) but because it would be a huge risk to play a player who has not kicked a ball all season and a real kick in the teeth to those midfielders in the squad who have.

Crazy if he starts McCarthy with not a jot of football played in months and only just back from his latest injury. Myler in there for me on Friday anyway, whatever about Mondays game then.

Diggs246
04/10/2017, 11:48 AM
I'm guessing the start 11 will be
Randy
Christe Duffy Clark ward
McGeady, Jeff, Wes, Meyler, Arter
Long
Anyone agree?

DannyInvincible
04/10/2017, 12:14 PM
'Shane Long provides Ireland boost after coming through training': https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/1004/909653-long-provides-boost-after-coming-through-training/

Shane Long has taken part in Republic of Ireland training to provide manager Martin O’Neill with a boost ahead of Friday’s World Cup qualifier against Moldova at the Aviva Stadium. James McCarthy and Harry Arter were also part of today’s session as all 30 players featured under the watchful eye of O’Neill.

Long had a thigh problem but looks set to be okay for the game in Dublin. Arter sat out Bournemouth's scoreless draw with Leicester at the weekend but was involved yesterday in a restricted capacity and also came through today so the Irish boss should be able to call upon the midfielder. McCarthy continues to work day-to-day but doubts remain as he has failed to feature in the Premier League this season.

Olé Olé
04/10/2017, 12:23 PM
Randy
Christe Duffy Clark ward
Long
Anyone agree?

Not sure. I agree on the 11 but if McGeady gets free rein we look very narrow. Would like to see another wide option. A front three of McGeady, Long and Maguire would be lovely, given that is where Maguire has been for Preston.

04/10/2017, 12:31 PM
Randy
Christe Duffy Clark ward
Long
Anyone agree?
Hendrick is ruled out, isn't he?

04/10/2017, 12:37 PM
Hendrick is ruled out, isn't he?

don't think he is. Long was reported this morning as being the only major injury concern but I see he came through training today.

Fixer82
04/10/2017, 1:25 PM
I can see Wes playing V Moldova but not starting against Wales. I hope I’m wrong but if O’Neill does that and we lose, it’ll be his own fault.

Of course if he does that and we win he’ll be a tactical genius. I always despair when Wes is left out though. Whelan no doubt will be in there somewhere. I like Whelan but his time is up I think

nr637
04/10/2017, 3:21 PM
Randy
Christe Duffy Clark ward
Long
Anyone agree?

I reckon he might play Daryl Murphy instead of McGeady and Conor Hourihane may be an option? He will stick to his tried and tested with Hogan or Maguire possible subs. There is no hope of the manager putting on real strikers that may cause something to happen in the box.

And his team for Wales will be along the same lines with Brady, Walters & McClean coming straight back into the line up no matter what the team does on Friday!

Even if we had a 17 year old Ben Woodburn or a 16-year-old Ethan Ampadu he would only have them in the squad, but not really be prepared to take a chance and play them!

DeLorean
04/10/2017, 3:53 PM
Crazy if he starts McCarthy with not a jot of football played in months and only just back from his latest injury. Myler in there for me on Friday anyway, whatever about Mondays game then.

If he's fit though, is there anything to be said for giving him some minutes against Moldova with a view to starting him in Cardiff? Just say we are 2-0 up at half time, maybe bring him on for the second half. He played well in some crunch games at the end of the last campaign and against Italy at the Euros, it could be his kind of night but I totally get your reservations.

04/10/2017, 3:55 PM
Randolph (no problems)

Christie (shouldn't be starting but for some reason Doherty can't get a look in.)
Duffy (no problems)
Clark (no problems)
Ward (no problems)

The only time we look a unit under MON is 4-4-f-2

McClean (no problems)
Hourihane (not going to happen, Whelan will play safe choice)
Meyler (50/50 with Arter/Hendrick. McCarthy/O'Kane prob not going to be considered)
Brady (no problems)

Murphy (no problems)
Long (no problems)

Wes misses out but for gods sake get him on the pitch 60-70 min mark.

It might not be enough but theres no evidence that throwing Maguire, Hogan, Horgan, O'Dowda, O'Brien, McGoldrick etc will do/would have done any better than the lads have done so far.
We're lacking a talisman, someone to drag performances out of the other players and not only worry about their own game. I like Meylers attitude, he's not the worlds greatest footballer but I think the positivity he brings trumps the limitations.
We have enough to win the next two games, but I wouldn't be suprised by 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4 pts. It all depends on which Irish 'squad' shows up.

DeLorean
04/10/2017, 3:57 PM
Bar injury or suspension, Hendrick will start both matches for sure I think.

04/10/2017, 4:38 PM
Randolph (no problems)

Christie (shouldn't be starting but for some reason Doherty can't get a look in.)
Duffy (no problems)
Clark (no problems)
Ward (no problems)

The only time we look a unit under MON is 4-4-f-2

McClean (no problems)
Hourihane (not going to happen, Whelan will play safe choice)
Meyler (50/50 with Arter/Hendrick. McCarthy/O'Kane prob not going to be considered)
Brady (no problems)

Murphy (no problems)
Long (no problems)

Wes misses out but for gods sake get him on the pitch 60-70 min mark.

It might not be enough but theres no evidence that throwing Maguire, Hogan, Horgan, O'Dowda, O'Brien, McGoldrick etc will do/would have done any better than the lads have done so far.
We're lacking a talisman, someone to drag performances out of the other players and not only worry about their own game. I like Meylers attitude, he's not the worlds greatest footballer but I think the positivity he brings trumps the limitations.
We have enough to win the next two games, but I wouldn't be suprised by 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4 pts. It all depends on which Irish 'squad' shows up.
Brady and McClean are both suspended

04/10/2017, 6:49 PM
I'd like to see O'Kane. He might just be the tempo setter we need in midfield.

04/10/2017, 6:56 PM
McCarthy shouldn't have been called up. It's madness.

irishfan86
04/10/2017, 7:37 PM
Everton has reason to be cautious with McCarthy's health.

We quite frankly, don't. It's make or break and he's our best midfielder -- if he can participate effectively in a full-field scrimmage with his teammates, it's worth giving him some time against Moldova -- maybe an hour -- and if he comes through that well then start him against Wales.

I'll take an 80 percent McCarthy if our medical staff and the player himself feel that's he able to play.

04/10/2017, 7:45 PM
Brady and McClean are both suspended
Apologies, start O'Dowda and McGeady.

mark12345
04/10/2017, 7:59 PM
I can see Wes playing V Moldova but not starting against Wales. I hope I’m wrong but if O’Neill does that and we lose, it’ll be his own fault.

Of course if he does that and we win he’ll be a tactical genius. I always despair when Wes is left out though. Whelan no doubt will be in there somewhere. I like Whelan but his time is up I think

No, Whelan's time is not up. Keep him in for another ten years.
Leave Wes out he's no use.
Not half as good as Whelan

mark12345
04/10/2017, 8:01 PM
Everton has reason to be cautious with McCarthy's health.

We quite frankly, don't. It's make or break and he's our best midfielder -- if he can participate effectively in a full-field scrimmage with his teammates, it's worth giving him some time against Moldova -- maybe an hour -- and if he comes through that well then start him against Wales.

I'll take an 80 percent McCarthy if our medical staff and the player himself feel that's he able to play.

Take 80 per cent McCarthy.
You've obviously never gone through an off season trying to get your fitness and then your match fitness?
McCarthy shouldn't even be there. I like the lad - good player and dedicated to the cause, but as much as I have criticised Everton and sided with us over the last year, I agree with Koeman on this one.

DeLorean
04/10/2017, 8:09 PM
And how does one get their match fitness up then? Moldova could be ideal, if he has reached that point of his recovery. If not, obviously don't consider him.

DannyInvincible
04/10/2017, 9:36 PM
And his team for Wales will be along the same lines with Brady, Walters & McClean coming straight back into the line up no matter what the team does on Friday!

Walters is definitely out through injury. He's not in the squad.

mark12345
05/10/2017, 12:14 AM
And how does one get their match fitness up then? Moldova could be ideal, if he has reached that point of his recovery. If not, obviously don't consider him.

Don't consider him. He hasn't kicked a ball competitively. He just isn't match fit, and, not his fault as I'm sure he's glad to be there, but the fault of O'Neill for even including him.
And think of the kick in the teeth it would give to the player who misses out (Meyler maybe? Or Hourihane?)

mark12345
05/10/2017, 12:15 AM
Walters is definitely out through injury. He's not in the squad.

If we don't qualify, that may be the end of John's international career?
If so he has served us extremely well.

DannyInvincible
05/10/2017, 1:17 AM

Wes doesn't seem to have the stamina for two international games on the trot, so he should be conserved for Cardiff. Friday night's game is one game where I would actually defend O'Neill not starting Wes. We should have enough to break down Moldova without him. If not, we can always bring him on at some point in the second half, but starting him would be foolish and wasteful, in my opinion.

In saying that, I can see O'Neill selecting both Wes and McCarthy from the start on Friday night. It's hard to see how McCarthy could be match-fit though and I'd have serious reservations over starting a player who hasn't played in months and who might be half or three-quarters fit ahead of others who are 100 per cent. Maybe O'Neill could give McCarthy a bit of time towards the end of the Moldova game to ease him back into action and see how he gets on (if he's fit enough for even that). It may be possible to get a better judge of whether or not he'd be ready for Wales off the back of that. Personally, I'm not sure how he could be ready though and I certainly wouldn't be throwing him in from the start on Friday night. Then again, I'm not the team doctor, but O'Neill has misjudged things before with McCarthy when he had him down to start against Wales back in March before the player pulled up in the pre-match warm-up and missed the game.

I got the impression that Whelan was "phased out" during the last round of games. Meyler came in and did well; even O'Neill was talking about Whelan being an ageing player in a post-match interview, or something to that effect, if memory serves me right. Maybe someone can remember that in greater detail? I don't think Whelan will start again for Ireland if the likes of McCarthy, Arter and Meyler are fit, although he might sneak in on Friday night due to the others' injury troubles.

05/10/2017, 9:40 AM
Wes doesn't seem to have the stamina for two international games on the trot, so he should be conserved for Cardiff. Friday night's game is one game where I would actually defend O'Neill not starting Wes. We should have enough to break down Moldova without him. If not, we can always bring him on at some point in the second half, but starting him would be foolish and wasteful, in my opinion.

The trouble about that line of thought is that unless we take 3 points on Friday, then Monday may be irrelevant. I think you have to play your best side in all games, no matter who the opposition is and worry about the next one when the time comes. It's not as if we're Germany and are guaranteed a win even if we play a reserve side. We don't have a Robbie Keane in the side so goals may be an issue. Play Wes and IF we get two ahead, he can be taken off. Otherwise, I think he has to start.

DannyInvincible
05/10/2017, 10:20 AM
The trouble about that line of thought is that unless we take 3 points on Friday, then Monday may be irrelevant.

Not necessarily. We could lose to Moldova and it wouldn't change much for us so long as Wales also fail to beat Georgia. As I explained in another thread (http://foot.ie/threads/216367-World-Cup-Qualifying-2018-UEFA-Group-D-Opponent-Watch?p=1938227&viewfull=1#post1938227):

If Wales lose or draw against Georgia, we could afford to lose against Moldova and still finish second in the group by beating Wales then in Cardiff. We'd have 16 points on that basis and Wales would have 15 (if they drew against Georgia) or 14 (if they lost against Georgia). That tally of 16 points would then translate into 13 points for us in the runners-up table which is the same as what we would have even if we beat Moldova, as results against them will be discarded seeing as they'll (almost certainly) finish bottom of the group (unless they also beat Austria in their final game whilst Georgia pick up no more than two points in their final two games).

That's not to say I'd be banking on Wales failing to beat Georgia away, although it's very possible. I just think we'd have enough to win three points against Moldova at home without Wes anyway.

05/10/2017, 2:40 PM
Match fitness won't return in 3 days. If anything it'll take him longer to recover from his first game back, unless he only plays 30 mins or so.

05/10/2017, 4:02 PM
I'm getting more and more frustrated when I hear O'neill speak recently. HIs attitude has changed completely in the last month. He should have fcuken been this positive ages ago.

Failure to make the play-offs is purely down to him, and his hail mary football, relying on a player to pull him and us out of tight corners. He reminds me of the shy lad who waits all night for his mate to go over and chat a few birds and then lauds the thing when it all works out in the end. Well yer mate is sick and he hasn't been in the form to bail ye out Martin.

We should be talking about prospects about who we could get in the play-offs or even possibly topping at this point in time, Serbia slipping up in a game they are expected to win cos they are nervous. We should be criticising oneills friendlys, both teams selected to play against, teams selected to play, players not played and performances. We should be giving out that he never took them seriously and now we are going to be unseeded again for a play-off. These are all the things we should be talking about going into the penultimate match.

We should not be talking about Martin happy out expecting an extension and that we have a whole load more season tickets sold. Well don't martin ye know about season tickets sold but ye haven't a clue about points we needed all along to qualify or how important international friendlies are in this day and age....:rolleyes: :grindteeth:

Colbert Report
05/10/2017, 4:08 PM
So if we beat Moldova and Wales draw away to Georgia tomorrow, is there any chance that a draw against Wales would be enough to get us into the play-off?

05/10/2017, 4:58 PM
Not necessarily. We could lose to Moldova and it wouldn't change much for us so long as Wales also fail to beat Georgia. As I explained in another thread (http://foot.ie/threads/216367-World-Cup-Qualifying-2018-UEFA-Group-D-Opponent-Watch?p=1938227&viewfull=1#post1938227):

That's not to say I'd be banking on Wales failing to beat Georgia away, although it's very possible. I just think we'd have enough to win three points against Moldova at home without Wes anyway.

I said "may be irrelevant" because if Wales win and we lose....

05/10/2017, 5:20 PM
So if we beat Moldova and Wales draw away to Georgia tomorrow, is there any chance that a draw against Wales would be enough to get us into the play-off?

No. And there is no need to be worrying about us making the play-offs either.

05/10/2017, 5:21 PM

Doesn't matter, if Wales win and we draw, you said take all 3 points, not including the draw. How many points for the draw?! We'd still only be 3 behind and if we beat wales we would surpass them. It would be enough because our points against Moldova would be discounted anyway.

DannyInvincible
05/10/2017, 6:00 PM

It's theoretically possible. Very, very unlikely though.

Explained here in better detail:

Just going back to group H, I'm realising that the following is quite possible (and I see zero has mentioned it (http://foot.ie/threads/225065-Republic-of-Ireland-V-Serbia-Tuesday-5th-September-2017-World-Cup-2018-Qualifier?p=1935239&viewfull=1#post1935239) as I've been composing this post): Belgium beat B&H and B&H beat Estonia whilst Greece draw with Cyprus (that game is in Cyprus, importantly) and then Greece beat Gibraltar. That'd leave both B&H and Greece on 17 points in that group and whoever had the superior goal difference between them would finish second. In the runners-up table, that'd convert to a tally of 11 points, which'd be grand for us if we're to manage 13 points.

Just trying to work out if there's any chance that 11 points for us could ever be enough to keep us out of the worst runner-up spot in the runners-up table; seems it might be possible actually... Further to the scenario outlined immediately above, if we won against Moldova, whilst Wales lost to or drew with Georgia, and we then drew in Wales, that'd secure second position for us in group D with 17 points (as Wales would finish on either 15 or 16 points). That would, of course, translate into 11 points in the runners-up table. Our runners-up table goal difference total would not improve with those results, however, and would remain at +1, due to the fact we'd have drawn with Wales and our goals against Moldova would be discarded, so that could prove detrimental if we were ranked against another runner-up on 11 points.

It wouldn't necessarily be fatal though; B&H's current goal difference in the runners-up table is +2. In their group, it's actually +11 (compared to Greece's +6), but +9 of B&H's goals were scored against sixth-placed Gibraltar, so are discarded. If B&H were to lose by a few goals to Belgium and then beat Estonia by the slimmest of margins (and finish second in group H, meaning Greece would have to get no more than 4 points in their final two games and also fail to score enough goals to better B&H's group-table goal difference total), it might actually take B&H's goal difference total below +1 in the runners-up table. As one of Greece's games is at home to Gibraltar though, Greece could score highly in this, so there'd be an obvious worry these potential goals could take them ahead of B&H into second in group H if the two sides were to finish equal on points under the aforementioned circumstances.

I think, for B&H, a 3-0 loss to Belgium and a 1-0 win against Estonia would do the trick for us in bringing B&H's runners-up table goal difference to 0. It'd be unlikely to be of use to us at +1 as they've already scored more goals than us (which is the next differentiator in the runners-up table), unless our draw against Wales in this scenario is a very high-scoring one. If Greece drew against Cyprus and also failed to score over 3 goals against Gibraltar in Athens, I'm pretty sure Greece would finish behind B&H on goal difference (with both teams on 17 points) in their group. Or if Greece lost to Cyprus, that'd make it impossible for them to overtake B&H.

If Greece, on the other hand, were to finish second in group H on 17 points (giving them 11 in the runners-up table), it's highly likely the eventual Greek goal difference total (which would already be +3 if they were ranked in the table of second-placed teams), would also be superior to ours (+1) if both of us were to be ranked on 11 points.

Likewise, if a group E team was to finish with 11 points in the runners-up table and we also had 11 points, I think it's highly likely their goal difference would still be superior, especially if it's Denmark, as, although both Montenegro and Denmark have the same goal difference (+11) in their group right now, Denmark would have more goals than Montenegro in the runners-up table as Denmark scored more of their goals against teams other than Kazakhstan and both teams' goals against Kazakhstan would obviously be discarded; Montenegro would lose +8 goals whilst Denmark would lose only +5 goals due to the discarding of Kazakhstan results.

If Montenegro were, however, to somehow finish second, say, after losing to Poland in Warsaw by 3 goals or more after having drawn with Denmark in Podgorica, which would prevent Denmark from passing them (it would also require Denmark losing to Romania in Copenhagen by as many goals as the margin by which Montenegro lost to Poland), I'm pretty certain 11 points and our goal difference of +1 would be enough for us in the runners-up table in order to take us to the play-offs. That possible outcome would be extremely unlikely though, surely.

DannyInvincible
05/10/2017, 8:09 PM

Just realising that the Georgia-Wales game kicks off at 5PM tomorrow so we'll already know their result before our game starts at 7:45PM. No point risking players or expending unnecessary energy if Wales have already failed to beat Georgia. Do UEFA require team-sheets to be submitted an hour before kick-off though?

05/10/2017, 8:38 PM
Just realising that the Georgia-Wales game kicks off at 5PM tomorrow so we'll already know their result before our game starts at 7:45PM. No point risking players or expending unnecessary energy if Wales have already failed to beat Georgia. Do UEFA require team-sheets to be submitted an hour before kick-off though?

Hour and 45 minutes for League of Ireland games anyway so I assume that's some sort of UEFA directive.

samhaydenjr
06/10/2017, 12:10 AM
Here's a thought - in three full seasons together at Ipswich, Daryl Murphy and David McGoldrick scored 75 league goals between them and probably would have had a few more if McGoldrick hadn't picked up a couple of injuries. So they obviously have a decent understanding and they're both in good form, with six goals each this season. So why not start the two of them up front against Moldova and give their defenders two out-and-out forwards to worry about? You can always bring on Long in the second half and use his pace against a tiring Moldovan backline, like we did against Germany.

Colbert Report
06/10/2017, 6:44 AM
-----------Randolph
Christie-Duffy-Clark-Ward
McGeady-Whelan-Arter-Hendrick
Long-Murphy

Assuming we play 4-4-2 with Long up top with Murphy, it seems like McGeady is our only natural wide player available. O'Dowda perhaps?

If we win, I'd love to see this lineup against Wales:

---------------Randolph------------
Christie----Clark----Duffy----Ward
-----------Hendrick----Whelan--------
McClean-----------------------Brady
-------------Hoolahan---------------
--------------Long-------------------

DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 11:18 AM
So far, James McCarthy, Daryl Horgan, David McGoldrick, Jonny Hayes and Aiden O’Brien have all been cut (http://www.punditarena.com/uncategorized/sokeefe/ireland-squad-trimmed-moldova/) from the squad for tonight.

McCarthy was always a major doubt for these two matches. The midfielder is yet to play a single minute of competitive action for Everton this season (or, indeed, any action since pulling out in the warm-up of Ireland’s clash with Wales back in March) and his club are said to be bemused that he was even called up to the national squad in the first place.

McGoldrick was also a doubt despite being included in the final 30-man squad last weekend, with the Ipswich forward said to be struggling with a hamstring injury. It remains to be seen if he will recover in time for Cardiff on Monday.

The omission of the other three appears to be tactical. Two further players will miss out from the 23-man match-say squad although their identity hasn't been revealed yet.

It always disappoints me to see Horgan omitted, given how explosive he is. He could do serious damage to tiring teams.

Diggs246
06/10/2017, 11:32 AM
-----------Randolph
Christie-Duffy-Clark-Ward
McGeady-Whelan-Arter-Hendrick
Long-Murphy

Assuming we play 4-4-2 with Long up top with Murphy, it seems like McGeady is our only natural wide player available. O'Dowda perhaps?

If we win, I'd love to see this lineup against Wales:

---------------Randolph------------
Christie----Clark----Duffy----Ward
-----------Hendrick----Whelan--------
McClean-----------------------Brady
-------------Hoolahan---------------
--------------Long------------------- swap Whelan for Meyler and we have a deal

06/10/2017, 12:31 PM
So far, James McCarthy, Daryl Horgan, David McGoldrick, Jonny Hayes and Aiden O’Brien have all been cut (http://www.punditarena.com/uncategorized/sokeefe/ireland-squad-trimmed-moldova/) from the squad for tonight.

The omission of the other three appears to be tactical. Two further players will miss out from the 23-man match-say squad although their identity hasn't been revealed yet.

It always disappoints me to see Horgan omitted, given how explosive he is. He could do serious damage to tiring teams.
McCarthy's fitness meant he was unlikely to play.
You can justify Horgan being dropped because he's only been a sub in recent weeks, and hasn't started a game since early August. Same with Hayes, he hasn't really made an impact at Celtic yet.
Can't understand McGoldrick being dropped, he's in decent form (three goals in his last four) and has played well for O'Neill.
Disappointed to see O'Brien dropped too, he's worked hard to get into the team and thought he'd do ok against Moldova.

swinfordfc
06/10/2017, 12:51 PM
McCarthy's fitness meant he was unlikely to play.
You can justify Horgan being dropped because he's only been a sub in recent weeks, and hasn't started a game since early August. Same with Hayes, he hasn't really made an impact at Celtic yet.
Can't understand McGoldrick being dropped, he's in decent form (three goals in his last four) and has played well for O'Neill.
Disappointed to see O'Brien dropped too, he's worked hard to get into the team and thought he'd do ok against Moldova.

The other two to be dropped are McClean and Brady as both cant play tonight any how ... hence your 23!

DannyInvincible
06/10/2017, 1:44 PM
You can justify Horgan being dropped because he's only been a sub in recent weeks, and hasn't started a game since early August.

True, although, with McClean out, I thought there might have been an opening there. He's just a player I'd personally like to see given more time, but his omission isn't an outrage or anything.

McGoldrick has a hamstring problem, according to the article.