View Full Version : Players In Stand off

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

24/02/2005, 10:03 PM
excellent CC. well said. jokers the lot of them.

colblimp
24/02/2005, 10:24 PM
I'm surprised no-one's mentioned the fact that Georgie said we'd be more likely to finish 2nd, 3rd, 4th or even 5th in the league than 1st!!!

If the players are doubtful then that says a lot.

Don't you think? :eek:

24/02/2005, 10:28 PM
I'm surprised no-one's mentioned the fact that Georgie said we'd be more likely to finish 2nd, 3rd, 4th or even 5th in the league than 1st!!!
thats ****-stirring and scare-mongering. I spoke to a few players within the last few weeks and they seemed to think we had a great chance of winning the league. Georgie's a great player, but we could do with a little less of the melodrama from him

25/02/2005, 7:36 AM
Players and Managers come and go, its up to Brian to do whats right for the club and to do it sensibly.

25/02/2005, 7:55 AM
Georgie's a great player, but we could do with a little less of the melodrama from him
It'd be too much to expect George to keep his mouth shut and the same goes for the rest of them. They'd be on the scrap heap but for City.
For a manager that loves to have a rant on anything Dolan is keeping extremely quiet, me thinks something more sinister is going on here.

Lennox seems like a sensible bloke and in my opinion is doing his best in the circumstances. Hes dead right to say to the players put up or shut up.
Let the players take a pay cut and then we maybe we could afford some proper training facilities.

jimhacker
25/02/2005, 9:00 AM
thats the only thing I'd disagree with in your post

No! I'm sure he has a small dinghy moored down in the Atlantic Pond

kevincronin2000
25/02/2005, 9:11 AM
Thre are some players you never here complaining. It seems to be the same ones over and over again.

Never heard Kearney, Doyle, Horgan or Devine complain there are others aswell.

Ok there are problems in every aspect of life you just have to live to overcome them. We have seen it before Saipan and the cork gaa teams its called sport in Ireland.

25/02/2005, 9:37 AM
This is NOTHING like Saipan.
This is an eircom League club we are talking about, not some multi-million euro organisation.
I love all those players, but quite frankly, thye need to cop on, look at where they are, and if they don't like it, p*ss off to clubs with massive training facilities, million euro budgets and servants to wait on them hand and foot.

Oh wait, none of those clubs wnat them or are prepared to give them a good living....:rolleyes:

btw, EVERY club in this league train on the same type of facilities we have. I don't hear any whinging and moaning coming out from those clubs though.

harry crumb
25/02/2005, 9:52 AM
btw, EVERY club in this league train on the same type of facilities we have. I don't hear any whinging and moaning coming out from those clubs though.

What about Galway Utd.

25/02/2005, 9:55 AM
Lennox thinks he .....Abramovich

Dolan may think he has those kind of resources, but Lennox knows how to live within his means.

25/02/2005, 10:10 AM
I was away from media outlets yesterday, so the first I heard of this was this morning. All I can say is I am disguisted with the way some of the people on this board have turned on Lennox. I don't see anyone else putting THEIR money into City...what is Brian supposed to do, stop it raining??
And as for lacking ambition on Dolan's scale...If we spent our money the way he wanted us to, we'd be heading the way of Leeds.

25/02/2005, 10:21 AM
All I can say is I am disguisted with the way some of the people on this board have turned on Lennox.Par for the course around here niamh. They turn on their own granny if she had anything to do with City and it gave them a good reason to whine like a bunch of girls. No offense like.

25/02/2005, 10:26 AM
NINE threads merged. Yes, NINE. Cop on.

jimhacker
25/02/2005, 10:35 AM
I was away from media outlets yesterday, so the first I heard of this was this morning. All I can say is I am disguisted with the way some of the people on this board have turned on Lennox. I don't see anyone else putting THEIR money into City...what is Brian supposed to do, stop it raining??
And as for lacking ambition on Dolan's scale...If we spent our money the way he wanted us to, we'd be heading the way of Leeds.

or SPA

adamd164
25/02/2005, 10:40 AM
Today's Mirror claims that Dolan's on the verge of leaving!

3-weeks to go FFS!!!

I noticed on the same page that Drogheda have made their TENTH signing since the end of last season and are flying to Turkey next week ......and look at the state of our club - it's a joke! :mad:

observer
25/02/2005, 10:43 AM
NEWS FLASH - CRISIS HITS CORK CITY FC

Breaking new indicates a massive crisis at self styled League contenders Cork City. A press conference held by leading players reveals that the squad have no balls. This has led to severe embarrassment for the players at training sessions which are held on a GAA pitch. One player informed me (off the record) that a lot of GAA players were gathering at the side of the pitch and sniggering at them.
Following a two hour meeting with City manager Pat Dolan, chairman Lennox announced that his door was always open but no disgruntled staff or supporters were going to demand his balls on a plate.
Pressure has now been placed fully on the shoulders of Pat Dolan following a statement by "The Corner" that when he arrived in Cork he had "balls and ambition". Players are now asking what he did with those balls and are asking for a face to face meeting with Dolan to examine the position. Following a suggestion by "The Corner" it has been decided to "do it behind closed doors" in view of the sensitivity of the matter.
We await developments. :ball:

adamd164
25/02/2005, 10:51 AM
With all due respect, this really isn't the time to take the ****, observer.........trying to start a petty argument with the corner isn't going to help.

25/02/2005, 10:52 AM
Today's Mirror claims that Dolan's on the verge of leaving!Any chance you could scan in the article or give some more detail.

observer
25/02/2005, 11:04 AM
Would'nt dream of arguing with "The Corner" or any other of your posters Anti Dub. Just trying to bring a smile into the continuing doom and gloom of this thread. He just happened to be eminently more quotable then the rest of ye.
Lighten up boys! :D

adamd164
25/02/2005, 11:05 AM
Scanner's broken, but it's a full page, headline "Dolan Set To Quit Cork As Row Over Training Pitch Splits Boss And Chairman". It says that there isn't another contract offer for Dolan on the table from Lennox and it says his patience is 'wearing thin' about the lack of improvement.

25/02/2005, 11:12 AM
The more sceptical amongst us might think Pat is using the training pitch issue to either push Lennox out and bring in his pal Wallace or to pressure the chairman into giving him a new contract.
If Dolan thinks that this is the right way to go about getting a new contract then he is sorely mistaken.

Brian needs to be strong through this and show Dolan who pays the wages.
If it means Dolan walks then so be it.
I never liked him anyway. :D

25/02/2005, 11:27 AM
Pressure has now been placed fully on the shoulders of Pat Dolan following a statement by "The Corner" that when he arrived in Cork he had "balls and ambition". Players are now asking what he did with those balls and are asking for a face to face meeting with Dolan to examine the position. Following a suggestion by "The Corner" it has been decided to "do it behind closed doors" in view of the sensitivity of the matter.
We await developments. :ball:

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Fair_play_boy
25/02/2005, 11:35 AM
With our weather even in an average winter and spring, I could never see the point of training on grass. It is bound to suffer and makes it miserable for the players.
I could not understand why the club moved away from training on astroturf. They used to train at Ashton school, I think. What happened there, get too expensive or something?

25/02/2005, 11:53 AM
when chatting to brian over in nantes he said to mehe will be trying to have pre-season over in england touring playing clubs.

what did they get...cold showers in bishopstown against dublin city

bit of a difference there me reckons

25/02/2005, 11:59 AM
FROM eleven-a-side (http://www.elevenaside.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=16189)

Dolan in quit speculation

February 25, 2005

Cork City manager Pat Dolan is said to be considering his position in the light of the latest disagreement between the players and the club over sub-standard facilities, according to morning reports.

Cork players Joe Gamble and John O’Flynn made their feelings known on Thursday, drawing attention to the standard of facilities in which the players had been asked to train in recent weeks.

The squad put on a united front on Thursday night, issuing a statement in which they backed the opinions of the players quoted in national newspapers.

Link: Cork players display united front

A meeting between chairman Brian Lennox, manager Dolan and the playing staff is scheduled for this morning (Friday), but with tensions running high between Dolan and Lennox, it would be no surprise if there was further confrontation.

Lennox is said to be displeased by the way in which the club’s expenditure has increased since Dolan took charge two years ago.

The chairman last season put in place a series of cost-cutting measures, forcing the release of a number of players – a move which resulted in a marked reduction in the wage bill at Turners Cross.

But whether this latest tete-a-tete between the two most powerful figures within the Leeside club results in a parting of the ways remains to be seen.

25/02/2005, 12:00 PM
can I now say IT WASNT A RUMOUR

25/02/2005, 12:02 PM
Cork players display united front

February 25, 2005

Cork City’s players have issued a statement reaffirming their position on the state of the facilities in which they have been asked to train, insisting that the squad is united in its dissatisfaction with the current state of affairs.

Players Joe Gamble and John O’Flynn made their concerns public on Thursday, with former Irish under-21 international Gamble describing the playing surface the squad had been using as a “cabbage-patch”.

Link: Gamble hits out at Cork “cabbage-patch”

And far from being dissenting voices amongst the squad, the players were speaking on behalf of their colleagues.

A statement released on Thursday night read: “The views and opinions aired by the Cork City players in the papers are 100 percent honest and are shared by the whole squad. As players, all we are striving for is an improvement in our working facilities/environment.”

Partizan
25/02/2005, 12:04 PM
FROM eleven-a-side (http://www.elevenaside.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=16189)

Lennox is said to be displeased by the way in which the club’s expenditure has increased since Dolan took charge two years ago.

The chairman last season put in place a series of cost-cutting measures, forcing the release of a number of players – a move which resulted in a marked reduction in the wage bill at Turners Cross.

Dont say that I told you so many a time on this forum. :rolleyes:

He had to be stopped.

25/02/2005, 12:10 PM
I think Dolan was also moaning about size of squad. What size does he want it to be?????????

25/02/2005, 12:14 PM
I think Dolan was also moaning about size of squad. What size does he want it to be?????????

{neccessary "don't bring size into this" comment in a dolan thread/}

25/02/2005, 12:25 PM
Dont say that I told you so many a time on this forum. :rolleyes:

He had to be stopped.

Shut up ya clown.

25/02/2005, 12:29 PM
If Dolan leaves this club over training facilities, he is nothing but a spoiled little child.
At his disposal he has:
nearly the best squad in the country
the best ground, even though there are some constraints
the largest following
the biggest potential

Where will he go?
$hels are not going to give him a job
EVERY other club in the country is smaller
Who would allow him run a club with his hopeless financial management

Whether he likes it or not, Dolan already HAS the biggest job in Irish domestic soccer.
So buckle down, get on with winning either the FAI, Setanta Cup or the league, and stop moaning....... :mad:

25/02/2005, 12:33 PM
lots of copy and pasting going on the last 2 days :D :D

25/02/2005, 12:34 PM
lots of copy and pasting going on the last 2 days :D :D
No, just being consistent in my opinions!....:p

25/02/2005, 12:36 PM
If Dolan leaves this club over training facilities, he is nothing but a spoiled little child.
At his disposal he has:
nearly the best squad in the country
the best ground, even though there are some constraints
the largest following
the biggest potential

Where will he go?
$hels are not going to give him a job
EVERY other club in the country is smaller
Who would allow him run a club with his hopeless financial management

Whether he likes it or not, Dolan already HAS the biggest job in Irish domestic soccer.
So buckle down, get on with winning either the FAI, Setanta Cup or the league, and stop moaning....... :mad:

do you agree that if the club had been more transparent about the disagreements on these issues, then they may have been resolved before they boiled over following John O'Flynn's comments oppening the flood gates?

ollie
25/02/2005, 12:37 PM
on red Fm BL was saying that himself and PD are talking but they were supposed to have a meeting yeaterday(i think) but PD didn't attend.BL also said that he got no reason as to why.He sounded really uncomfortable about it all,sounds like the relationship is very strained as the recent rumours have been speculating.

25/02/2005, 12:39 PM
He is always welcome up to Galway, as Stephen Lally hasn't got an assistant yet !!! :) and last year he stated that GUFC have the best training facilities in the EL, up in the Drom !! :)

25/02/2005, 12:41 PM
Next time I have to merge a thread on this subject I'm banning the person responsible.

25/02/2005, 12:42 PM
do you agree that if the club had been more transparent about the disagreements on these issues, then they may have been resolved before they boiled over following John O'Flynn's comments oppening the flood gates?
Transparent to whom?
Go out and tell all the fans and the whole world that there are dis-agreements within the club?

PRESS RELEASE: Cork City today said that there is major disagreement within the club at the moment. With a few weeks to go to the start of the season, CCFC is an unhappy place at the moment. :END.

Yeah, I guess that would have been the best thing to do.....:rolleyes:

25/02/2005, 12:46 PM
Transparent to whom?
Go out and tell all the fans and the whole world that there are dis-agreements within the club?

PRESS RELEASE: Cork City today said that there is major disagreement within the club at the moment. With a few weeks to go to the start of the season, CCFC is an unhappy place at the moment. :END.

Yeah, I guess that would have been the best thing to do.....:rolleyes:

a few weeks to go? all this crap started 1/4 way through last season :rolleyes:
if they'd made public the problems and tried to sit down and solve them, you wouldnt have the nearly year-long tension precipitating in players and staff falling over themselves to talk to the news in one week as soon as one player has the balls to break the silence.

25/02/2005, 12:57 PM
meetin with lennox is postponed until tuesday or wednesday as paddy gilly is away on business

25/02/2005, 1:24 PM
well i am 100% behind lennox. if dolan has a prob and is causing this mess then slan.

how can you be blindly 100% behind someone? dolan, the players, and lennox are all guilty of something in this bloody mess.

25/02/2005, 1:29 PM
all the players cant be wrong

25/02/2005, 1:29 PM
what has lennox done wrong so in ur opinion??????
snide digs at the staff in public last year, during a time when he wouldnt even talk to them for 5 months.

for a start.

like i said, no-body's an angel in this.

25/02/2005, 1:32 PM
its understandable that the players want top class facilities but they r not going to appear out of thin airexactly........... they are not gonna appear out of thin air.........but this is ongoing problem which the players seem ****ed off with now because it has not been resolved..........it has taken too long if anything

25/02/2005, 1:34 PM
Its ridiculous, Dolan wanting to spend money like its going out of fashion and Lennox holding the purse strings tightly, rightly.
You can't have everything and land costs serious money these days so training facilities would be fairly expensive.
If Lennox turned around tomorrow and said sh@g the lot of ye i'm out of here, where would we be then?

25/02/2005, 1:35 PM
its understandable that the players want top class facilities but they r not going to appear out of thin air

they didnt appear out of thin air for any club. they didnt appear out of thin air for UL, where noel took the players training whenever he could. theres been no progress on securing a proper training facilty in YEARS. the last thing we need is anotther like what happened when Noel Mooney was ruled out for the first half of a season when he was injured... by the trainign pitch. no-bodies suggesting lennox ask Chelsea's contractors to replicate the one they just made, but wandering around, training at UL, Stiofan Naofa, some GAA club, and Bishopstown is not a solution.

25/02/2005, 1:40 PM
If Lennox turned around tomorrow and said sh@g the lot of ye i'm out of here, where would we be then?
church of lennox first meeting this weekend....you just gotta join this cult lads

FFS...some people make the man out to be god

25/02/2005, 1:47 PM
FFS...some people make the man out to be god
Look you can take the Dolan attitude, I want money for this, this and this.
Lets spend, spend, spend and if I don't get all these things then we won't win anything or you can be realistic about the whole situation like Brian and say lets plan and spend within our means.
If you want to live in Dolans airy fairly world then by all means do but for the sake of the longevity of the club i'm with Brian.

25/02/2005, 1:55 PM
Look you can take the Dolan attitude, I want money for this, this and this.
Lets spend, spend, spend and if I don't get all these things then we won't win anything or you can be realistic about the whole situation like Brian and say lets plan and spend within our means.
If you want to live in Dolans airy fairly world then by all means do but for the sake of the longevity of the club i'm with Brian.

its not a case of spend,spend,spend

its a case of just getting the basics
eeven giving the cash to buy a player or 2 or did they forget to use cheque books aorund turners x