SAT Sligo Rovers 19:45 Derry City
2 First Division
FRI Athlone Town 19:45 Wexford
FRI Cabinteely 19:45 Waterford
FRI Shelbourne 19:45 UCD
SAT Cobh Ramblers 19:15 Longford Town
1 Premier Division
TUE Derry City 19:45 Limerick
Predictions for this weekends games folks?
AlanOB
21/04/2017, 3:13 PM
Usual audio coverage over at Limerick Soccer Live (http://www.mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-live) tonight, for those who can't make it to a game; Noel O'Connor returns to the commentary booth for this one.
I assume there is no televised game this evening?
21/04/2017, 4:11 PM
Interesting tie in the Carlisle Grounds, went for a cheeky bet on Bray for it. Some very impressive results for them recently and Rovers lack consistency.
Cork, you'd expect to continue their winning streak, with Dundalk to bounce back and a get a win.
As for ourselves, a clean sheet would be great. Really need to stop this horrible run since McBride died. Lost four in a row, conceded ten, haven't scored in the last three. We've a pretty appalling record in Sligo, though.
NeverFeltBetter
21/04/2017, 7:43 PM
Limerick one up at halftime. Managerless Athlone beating Wexford too I see.
Edit: Did Bray just score 3 goals in four minutes against Shams?
SeanDrog
21/04/2017, 8:00 PM
Come on cork !!!! You're my none performer in my accumulator- do it for me!
SeanDrog
21/04/2017, 8:02 PM
You beauty - cork one up - I take full credit due to my motivation post
21/04/2017, 8:12 PM
Could be a good shout Brendy with Bray coming back after being one down to lead 3-1, there will be growing worries in Tallaght if that score sticks Simon Grayson in Richmond by all accounts - if Preston pinch Maguire and or Sheppard considering the form he is in then I will become a PNE fan as if either one moves in the summer it certainly helps our cause and i'd take all the help there is. 0-0 in Richmond so far; It seems strange to say it but it could be longer term gain for Dundalk if Maguire has a stormer bags a hat-rick and is properly on the Radar for English clubs for the summer rather than have a stinker in just one game and interest dropping a bit, (Sheppard too of course).
Drogheda are doing a fine job so far if giving themselves a sound chance of not being in a relegation battle and are eeking out performances and 0-1 in Finn Park, no easy spot to go and if they keeping picking up points and then beating those around them they're grand as they were no mugs in Oriel couple of weeks ago.
Galway look done for already. Points dropped by Limerick is the main things here as its as tough to see where Galway can get going and get a win as it is looking to see who can take points off Cork at the moment.
Pats are steadying the ship now too and if they slow Corks momentum even with a scoreless draw it will be a boost for them (scratch that!! how do you do a strike through of text here?).
I really hope Derry can stop the rot - there is often little sentiment in football for other teams but it is impossible not to feel for Derry City, players and fans with the circumstances of their dip in form. Games in hand could push them back in touch with the top grouping. Sligo under a new and out of leftfield managerial appointment will be interesting to see develop.
Stuck in work with no access to commentary of any games even so text messages and nipping online occaisonally on a Friday night is a pain.
Own goal in Inchicore?? Typical if Cork get 3 points and their star men have a stinker in front of scouts......naw Delaney from a free though sounds like a scrappy one. Sheppard really is taking the limelight off Maguire at the moment, 0-2 now. Congrats on the 10 in a row as it is no mean feat! Feel free to give up now as the record is broken....
Can the Shamrock Rovers board keep the itchy trigger fingers at bay lsing 4-1 now, they have to be concerned about the 'youth project' and the gamble not paying off. McCabe will have enjoyed the evenings efforts anway.
NeverFeltBetter
21/04/2017, 8:39 PM
1-1 FT for Limerick/Galway. Will regret those two points lost I feel. Fair play to AlanOB again, think your way ahead of the 95Fm lads.
SeanDrog
21/04/2017, 8:45 PM
Limerick !!! My poor accumulator ... my poor poor accumulator ... why ... why
At least Drogs looking like a great result, I in all honesty didn't think we would get anything tonight (especially after last weeks game vs limerick )
SeanDrog
21/04/2017, 8:55 PM
Drogs finished with a 0-2 away win :) happy days. I said it last week - we blow hot and cold.
Very good time to catch Harps after Monday night. Always felt we were likely to struggle tonight.
da bishop
21/04/2017, 9:04 PM
1-1 FT for Limerick/Galway. Will regret those two points lost I feel. Fair play to AlanOB again, think your way ahead of the 95Fm lads.Fair result to be fair,Galway improved in second half.Alanob excellent ,way ahead of 95fm.
thomas72
21/04/2017, 9:19 PM
Limerick deservedly ahead at half time but never kicked on 2nd half Galway dominated the ball without creating anything they levelled with a 30yrd screamer into top corner great goal draw fair result.
21/04/2017, 9:33 PM
Complete robbery in Tolka tonight.
Battered for 85 minutes, Corbet on fire again, then up the pitch and smash in a superb late volley for the win.
Football is great all the same.
patrickccfc
21/04/2017, 9:38 PM
Didn't think I'd see another 3 nil for us tonight. Bradley has to be feeling the heat after that result now. Bray game will be interesting next week although I can't make it
AlanOB
21/04/2017, 9:43 PM
1-1 FT for Limerick/Galway. Will regret those two points lost I feel. Fair play to AlanOB again, think your way ahead of the 95Fm lads.
Fair result to be fair,Galway improved in second half.Alanob excellent ,way ahead of 95fm.
Thanks lads. Really feels like we've hit a groove with the broadcasts now; very proud of the product we're offering, and it's great to get that outside acknowledgement too.
White Horse
21/04/2017, 10:12 PM
Decent Bohs side in Oriel tonight. Simon was lively and the young Sule lad was very handy in the centre of the park.
There should be no relegation fears in Dalymount with that side.
oriel
21/04/2017, 10:26 PM
Yeah Bohs were well organised and looked miles better than Pats who visited Dlk last month. Thought we were just ok tonight, happy with the 2-0, clean sheet always good, but still missing a spark throughout the side, lack of speed around the team also.
7 wins from 10 is still a good start though.
21/04/2017, 10:27 PM
Our home form is so, so poor. 4 points from 15 is just horrible.
Drogheda far the better team in the first half and well worth their 1-0 lead, but if only Harps had taken one or two chances Drogheda would have just fallen apart. Enough chances to win ten games and McGuinness didn't even have a save to make. Missed three or four sitters.
Hard to know why we manage to be so up and down this season. Bohs could be an interesting one next week.
El-Pietro
21/04/2017, 10:31 PM
7 wins from 10 is still a good start though.
tis grand like... :P
Big game in Cork next week. Bray are rolling right now and will fear nothing from us. They have nothing to lose coming to Cork. Great to see McCabe scoring so many. Seani who?
One last thing, it will take about 80 points to win the league maximum. We have 30 already. WW3 is definitely going to happen now cos something will have to **** this up for us.
El-Pietro
21/04/2017, 10:56 PM
There a couple of clear divides in the league now. Obviously we have a large gap to Dundalk and Bray, but those two have opened up a 7 point lead on Limerick in 4th. Granted they have a game in hand to be played Monday so that could be shortened. At the moment then you have 4 points between Limerick in 4th and Pats in 9th, and just 6 between Limerick and Sligo in 11th. Galway will be happy with the point tonight but they need a couple of wins soon or they will be cut adrift.
WoodquayBoy
21/04/2017, 11:15 PM
We were absolutely god-awful in the first-half, much improved in second-half but still had a few scary moments. Draw was probably a fair result but we really need to get a win soon. And that won't happen with the side we started with tonight. Love Markets Field as a venue, a cracking spot.
Dalymountrower
22/04/2017, 7:50 AM
Decent Bohs side in Oriel tonight. Simon was lively and the young Sule lad was very handy in the centre of the park.
There should be no relegation fears in Dalymount with that side.
Yeah, Bohs had some good patches last night. Again made 2 or 3 really good chances, but without a proven fit centre forward we are struggling to score. Some nice football at times from us, that and the 4 euro pints of Harp in the club bar made the trip up worthwhile.
I thought Duffy was the difference last night, made one scored one. He roasted Fitzgerald down the right in the first half
Not a great performance from Dundalk but no doubt they will improve. Hilarious baying for a penalty from the crowd each time they got into the Bohs box!
If Bohs can stay out of the bottom three until Dinny and Izzy are both back , we should be fine.
Huge game against Harps next Friday, our biggest game of the season.
Kingswood Rover
22/04/2017, 8:45 AM
Where to start, well firstly Bray are excellent, i saw them a couple of times during the later part of last season and they had really improved. Harry has brought them on again. They pushed up on Trevor Clarke nullifying the threat down that flank pretty much all night. they did look vulnerable in the 1st 20 mins to the ball over the top to Shaw but sorted that out when 1 of the center halve moved over to give cover the minute the ball was hit. The biggest thing that annoys me is the total lack movement or any of our players coming short for the ball when we have it and are trying to fashion an opening, there are also very little diagonal runs in front of the box seeking to get between or behind the oppos central defenders. Its all very static and lets be honest its hoofball. Individually apart from perhaps Webster who is struggling and that guy in blue that seems to get a game every week, (he is the worst sort of goalkeeper one that is ****e but thinks he is good, penalty all day long), we have good footballers, we also have good coaches but to my untrained eye the natural football instincts have been consistently coached out our players in the last few years and Rovers are a team that go on the pitch each week Playing with fear. The Club need to bring in an experienced number 2 who can give the manager the support and advice he needs, they also need to thin the bench of coaching staff. Manager, the number 2 and the doc. Oh and if any of you that played for us last night are looking in here stop running over to kiss the badge till you have earned it please, we will still be standing on the terraces long after you have left.
desaintsno.12
22/04/2017, 8:47 AM
Fairly gutted about that result. I hate saying it, but 3-0 was very unfair. We were pretty good for the majority of the game and cork got very lucky breaks.
That cork side aint all that from what i've seen. 10 wins is impressive though, but they are fairly limited.
We are getting no luck at all. Last night wasnt an issue though, the results against limerick, harps and galway are the ones that have us in serious trouble.
patrickccfc
22/04/2017, 10:21 AM
That cork side aint all that from what i've seen. 10 wins is impressive though, but they are fairly limited.
We have had games where, the first half in particular, we haven't been great. But seem to come out better in the second.
We've learned to win despite not playing well and that is music to my ears and long may it continue as over the last few years we have dropped stupid points in games we should've been winning.
Unfortunately I'll miss the game next week, but bray will definitely come for the points the way they are playing, having already won away to dundalk and derry.
oriel
22/04/2017, 10:36 AM
and the 4 euro pints of Harp in the club bar made the trip up worthwhile..
Great to hear, thats the stuff, noticed Bohs fans have cracked this move in recent years, go to the stand, get there early, skip down to the main bar, usually not a problem if in a small group. €4 a pint bargain.
oriel
22/04/2017, 10:38 AM
We have had games where, the first half in particular, we haven't been great. But seem to come out better in the second.
We've learned to win despite not playing well and that is music to my ears and long may it continue as over the last few years we have dropped stupid points in games we should've been winning.
Unfortunately I'll miss the game next week, but bray will definitely come for the points the way they are playing, having already won away to dundalk and derry.
Cork v Bray would be a perfect game for RTE or EIR to show live. I don't think there are any live games next few weeks?
Dalymountrower
22/04/2017, 11:40 AM
Where to start, well firstly Bray are excellent, i saw them a couple of times during the later part of last season and they had really improved. Harry has brought them on again. They pushed up on Trevor Clarke nullifying the threat down that flank pretty much all night. they did look vulnerable in the 1st 20 mins to the ball over the top to Shaw but sorted that out when 1 of the center halve moved over to give cover the minute the ball was hit. The biggest thing that annoys me is the total lack movement or any of our players coming short for the ball when we have it and are trying to fashion an opening, there are also very little diagonal runs in front of the box seeking to get between or behind the oppos central defenders. Its all very static and lets be honest its hoofball. Individually apart from perhaps Webster who is struggling and that guy in blue that seems to get a game every week, (he is the worst sort of goalkeeper one that is ****e but thinks he is good, penalty all day long), we have good footballers, we also have good coaches but to my untrained eye the natural football instincts have been consistently coached out our players in the last few years and Rovers are a team that go on the pitch each week Playing with fear. The Club need to bring in an experienced number 2 who can give the manager the support and advice he needs, they also need to thin the bench of coaching staff. Manager, the number 2 and the doc. Oh and if any of you that played for us last night are looking in here stop running over to kiss the badge till you have earned it please, we will still be standing on the terraces long after you have left.
I am hearing that , if not beforehand, but certainly If you lose against Limerick next week , that a low key announcement will be made that Bradley will be focusing on the Roadstone Acadamy and the day to day management of the first team will assigned elsewhere.?
AlanOB
22/04/2017, 11:48 AM
This week's tactical dissection, focusing on the meeting of Limerick FC and Galway United (click below)
Limerick 1-1 Galway United: Second-half change of shape earns point for winless Tribesmen (https://tacticstruck2.com/2017/04/22/limerick-1-1-galway-united-second-half-change-of-shape-earns-point-for-winless-tribesmen/)
White Horse
22/04/2017, 2:07 PM
The biggest thing that annoys me is the total lack movement or any of our players coming short for the ball when we have it and are trying to fashion an opening, there are also very little diagonal runs in front of the box seeking to get between or behind the oppos central defenders.
Ronan Finn played that position very well for Dundalk last season. He was the link between the wide players and McMillan up front. Where is Bradley playing him?
Rovers have been unlucky with Corry breaking down but he was a very risky signing. A fit Corry would make a big difference to that team.
Are fans starting to doubt Bradley? It is always difficult to know whether to stick with a young manager or accept that he doesn't have it. At least with an experienced manager, you know that he has a track record of success even if he goes through a tough patch.
El-Pietro
22/04/2017, 4:11 PM
Bradley isn't related to a football manager. Hope Rovers stick with him for a long time. Alternatively, sack him and poach Harry Kenny. That would take Bray out of the running!
Calcio Jack
22/04/2017, 4:31 PM
Bradley isn't related to a football manager. Hope Rovers stick with him for a long time. Alternatively, sack him and poach Harry Kenny. That would take Bray out of the running!
We didn't even give Kenny an interview so doubt the Board will be sacking Bradley anytime soon and getting H in... unless Shane Robinson gives them permission .
There a couple of clear divides in the league now. Obviously we have a large gap to Dundalk and Bray, but those two have opened up a 7 point lead on Limerick in 4th. Granted they have a game in hand to be played Monday so that could be shortened. At the moment then you have 4 points between Limerick in 4th and Pats in 9th, and just 6 between Limerick and Sligo in 11th. Galway will be happy with the point tonight but they need a couple of wins soon or they will be cut adrift.
Cork are absolutely favourites at the minute and obviously in a great position, 9 points is a huge lead, and I'm almost sure we never managed to build up that type of lead during the past 3 years, although we did win it in the end by 11 and 7 points respectively last 2 seasons.
I do think they will win it this year, but it was interesting to read earlier a similar scene up north. Crusaders were 9 points ahead of Linfield in early Feb, and after today's penultimate games, Linfield are now 2 clear, only need a draw in the final game (albeit they are away to Cliftonville), they still might not do it, but they are in pole position for sure.
Probably the only good thing about 3 going down is the competitive edge to mid table teams now, and this should continue right into the final month.
22/04/2017, 9:27 PM
Complete robbery in Tolka tonight.
Battered for 85 minutes, Corbet on fire again, then up the pitch and smash in a superb late volley for the win.
Football is great all the same.
A classic smash and grab. I hadn't been to Tolka in years. The size of the crowd astonished me even by Shelbourne standards. They're now at UCD levels of attendances.
El-Pietro
22/04/2017, 11:44 PM
Cork are absolutely favourites at the minute and obviously in a great position, 9 points is a huge lead, and I'm almost sure we never managed to build up that type of lead during the past 3 years, although we did win it in the end by 11 and 7 points respectively last 2 seasons.
I do think they will win it this year, but it was interesting to read earlier a similar scene up north. Crusaders were 9 points ahead of Linfield in early Feb, and after today's penultimate games, Linfield are now 2 clear, only need a draw in the final game (albeit they are away to Cliftonville), they still might not do it, but they are in pole position for sure.
Probably the only good thing about 3 going down is the competitive edge to mid table teams now, and this should continue right into the final month.
Sounds similar to the 2014 season, we reeled in a good lead, went ahead going into the last day.
sbgawa
23/04/2017, 3:44 AM
I am hearing that , if not beforehand, but certainly If you lose against Limerick next week , that a low key announcement will be made that Bradley will be focusing on the Roadstone Acadamy and the day to day management of the first team will assigned elsewhere.?
Not a chance of that hsppening
oriel
23/04/2017, 10:10 AM
In 2014 i think Dundalk were max 7 points clear at the end of Aug, then lost 1-0 away to Pats, the odds to win the league were crazy too, went from something like 1/16 to 1/1 going into that last day, so just proves anything can happen.
El P was that the first time Cork went top that season, 2nd last weekend?
Ezeikial
23/04/2017, 10:43 AM
Not a chance of that hsppening
Which part?
No chance of Bradley being retained in the Academy when he is relieved of first team duties, or simply no chance that the board will make any changes at all?
23/04/2017, 3:50 PM
Cobh Ramblers got their first home and away double over us since the closing stages of the 98/99 season. Interesting enough we didnt go up that year in Stephen Kennys first year in charge.
Cobh will be very close this year I think. They have a fierce young side out most of them 18 and 19 years old. We wont do anything this year. The turning point was Enda Curran hobbling and we were fierce slow in substituting him. It was around this period that Cobh got their first goal.
BTW Cobh programme is top notch. Well done to all involved in producing as there was serious reading in it. For the first time in years there will be a first division programme of the year awarded. Loads of colour which is great to see.
sbgawa
23/04/2017, 5:54 PM
Which part?
No chance of Bradley being retained in the Academy when he is relieved of first team duties, or simply no chance that the board will make any changes at all?
No chance of the board asking him to step down
Comic Book Guy
23/04/2017, 7:18 PM
Cobh Ramblers got their first home and away double over us since the closing stages of the 98/99 season. Interesting enough we didnt go up that year in Stephen Kennys first year in charge.
Cobh will be very close this year I think. They have a fierce young side out most of them 18 and 19 years old. We wont do anything this year. The turning point was Enda Curran hobbling and we were fierce slow in substituting him. It was around this period that Cobh got their first goal.
BTW Cobh programme is top notch. Well done to all involved in producing as there was serious reading in it. For the first time in years there will be a first division programme of the year awarded. Loads of colour which is great to see.
Game could have gone either way up to the first goal, crowd was desperately disappointing, I guess the Munster game and and the Chelsea/spurs game affected the crowd. I don't know what more can be done to entice people in, the club for instance is very active in social media etc but a few more good results might get the floaters back.
The programme is great alright, Michael Geasley, former programme of the year editor from years back is doing it again.
23/04/2017, 7:41 PM
Cobh will be no where near, awful side. Pitch is a complete disgrace. Waterford will win what is the worst first division I've ever seen. CABO are the best team I've seen so far and that's simply because they were well organised and could defend. The bar isn't set too high
23/04/2017, 8:21 PM
Team judgements, from the guy who reckoned UCD would ship 5 or 6 against Longford.
To be relied on, for sure.
sbgawa
23/04/2017, 8:28 PM
Jeez I would have tought it was better than last year by miles.
Town Legend
23/04/2017, 9:18 PM
Pipe down will ya and take a look at the table. Cobh are only one point behind Waterford at the minute. They have a decent squad put together and a manager who knows how to get the best out of them. They may not get promoted this year but they will give it a good shot.
23/04/2017, 9:29 PM
Hendersons doing a fantastic job down there, if he had the resources of other clubs who know what he'd be able to achieve.
23/04/2017, 9:57 PM
Longford
Waterford
Shels
Cobh
UCD
Wexford
CABO
Athlone
Lovely hurling!
24/04/2017, 12:30 AM
Hendersons doing a fantastic job down there, if he had the resources of other clubs who know what he'd be able to achieve.
He can't be doing that well if they're as awful as you say they are.
Anyway, Rovers are hilarious. We might be crap but definitely the most fun Rovers team in years. Full of head the balls and as liable to lose 5-0 as win.
CraftyToePoke
24/04/2017, 3:05 AM
Does this years Cobh side contain many of last years team ? From all the turkey shoots that took place in the Markets Field last season, I remember thinking Cobh had something about them, young and in the end they got butchered but not without contributing to the game as a spectacle before this. A lot of visiting sides hardly registered their presence at all in matches. Fair play to them, delighted they are back and doing well.