View Full Version : Weekend April 21st Fixtures
24/04/2017, 10:50 AM
He can't be doing that well if they're as awful as you say they are.
Anyway, Rovers are hilarious. We might be crap but definitely the most fun Rovers team in years. Full of head the balls and as liable to lose 5-0 as win.
As I said the standard of football in the first division is dreadful but to get them into the play offs last season and have them challenging this year even tho they've cut their budget is some going
Comic Book Guy
24/04/2017, 11:06 AM
Does this years Cobh side contain many of last years team ? From all the turkey shoots that took place in the Markets Field last season, I remember thinking Cobh had something about them, young and in the end they got butchered but not without contributing to the game as a spectacle before this. A lot of visiting sides hardly registered their presence at all in matches. Fair play to them, delighted they are back and doing well.
We lost three or four from last season, Shane O'Connor and Gary Comerford to Waterford, Kevin Mulcahy retired and we were never going to be able to keep Conor Ellis but a few of our 19's and one of our 17's have made the step up. We'll never match the resources of Waterford but as long as they keep plugging away who knows.
sbgawa
24/04/2017, 12:14 PM
He can't be doing that well if they're as awful as you say they are.
Anyway, Rovers are hilarious. We might be crap but definitely the most fun Rovers team in years. Full of head the balls and as liable to lose 5-0 as win.
agree with you there Charlie, think we will still qualify for Europe but will do it with more fun then last year under fenlon
jinxy lilywhite
24/04/2017, 1:18 PM
Jaysus the way rovers fans keep revising their seasons objectives it could be realistically top half finish by end of series 2 and confirming pd status with 5 games to go.
PartySaint
24/04/2017, 1:19 PM
Cork are absolutely favourites at the minute and obviously in a great position, 9 points is a huge lead,
It’s a huge lead and added to that as well is that everyone below 3rd in the table are absolutely garbage so it will handy enough for Cork to keep winning
They were solid against us on Friday night without being spectacular but still won comfortably in the end without giving us any real chances.
El-Pietro
24/04/2017, 1:52 PM
It’s a huge lead and added to that as well is that everyone below 3rd in the table are absolutely garbage so it will handy enough for Cork to keep winning
They were solid against us on Friday night without being spectacular but still won comfortably in the end without giving us any real chances.
Heres the thing, we haven't been good away from home in any game really except for Limerick and they just didn't turn up that day. We were woejus against Rovers, and we were very poor in Dalymount. Apparently we werent great in Inchicore, and only played well in Drogheda once they went down to ten men. The Harps game we are happy enough due to the pithc/weather so won't read too much into that.
We weren't great away from home last year either but scored very few and so we would lose or draw in a lot of games. This year, at least so far, we have been taking our chances and winning 2 and 3 nothing. The question is will we continue being so good at punishing teams or will we revert to last season and start dropping points in these games as the season goes on.
The good news from a City point of view is that it shouldn't take more than 80 points to win the league. Even if we revert to last seasons away form and drop points regularly again then we may be off to a good enough start to make up for that. If we picked up 2 points per game for the rest of the season we'd finish with 76 points. That is roughly the equivalent of winning all our home games and drawing all our away games. Obviously you'd expect we would win a few and losee a few rather than draw them all, and we will drop points at home at some point but that gives you an idea of what it would take.
Dundalk won the league with 77 in 2016, 78 in 2016 and 74 in 2014. In order to reach 77 points this year Dundalk need another 56 points. Thats 2.4 points per game for the rest of the season. That is roughly equivalent to winning all their home games and picking up 2 points per game away from home - i.e. win half and draw half of their remaining 12 away games.
It's by no means in the bag, but we're off to a very good start which puts us in a string position for the remainder of the season. Winning on Friday would be incredible though. I don't think anyone thought we'd win every game in the first series. We still might not do that but its suddenly possible. I think the bookies would have us as favourites to do so at this point.
sbgawa
24/04/2017, 2:58 PM
Jaysus the way rovers fans keep revising their seasons objectives it could be realistically top half finish by end of series 2 and confirming pd status with 5 games to go.
How have I revised my expectations? I never said we would win the league this year but I do expect us to come back into it as the season go's on.
We are the same distance behind Dundalk as you are behind Cork, I assume you haven't given up yet ?
24/04/2017, 4:04 PM
Game could have gone either way up to the first goal, crowd was desperately disappointing, I guess the Munster game and and the Chelsea/spurs game affected the crowd. I don't know what more can be done to entice people in, the club for instance is very active in social media etc but a few more good results might get the floaters back.
The programme is great alright, Michael Geasley, former programme of the year editor from years back is doing it again.
yeah I remember reading that as I am a member of the Irish programme club. I have loads of old issues from 80s and 90s of our matches against ye and they were collectors items. Good to see him on board again.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/04/2017, 5:04 PM
Bradleys comment about them being able to catch Cork looks like quote of the season
El-Pietro
24/04/2017, 5:24 PM
Bradleys comment about them being able to catch Cork looks like quote of the season
I loved his "So called big club" comment. Honestly that interview has been my highlight of the season so far, and we've won 10 games.
sbgawa
24/04/2017, 6:32 PM
I loved his "So called big club" comment. Honestly that interview has been my highlight of the season so far, and we've won 10 games.
We might catch you yet.
sbgawa
24/04/2017, 6:33 PM
Next season : ))
placid casual
24/04/2017, 7:53 PM
That has to be one of the saddest things i've ever read on this forum. :loser:
How you can possibly derive more enjoyment from another teams manager quotes, that your own teams perfect record so far-
it says a lot about you as a person, I have to say.
sbgawa
24/04/2017, 8:33 PM
E P has a rovers obsession reckons we are in a relegation battle :)
dundalkfc10
24/04/2017, 9:17 PM
How you can possibly derive more enjoyment from another teams manager quotes, that your own teams perfect record so far-
He is just a troll. Pass no remarks
NeverFeltBetter
24/04/2017, 9:23 PM
Sligo let Limerick use their training facilities on the way up to Donegal, very nice gesture.
joey B
24/04/2017, 10:40 PM
Buttimer at Bray ! He must be a season ticket holder:confused:
El-Pietro
25/04/2017, 8:44 AM
Its because of our winning streak that his comments are so funny. The fact that we keep hearing about how Rovers are doing everything right with their academy etc but other clubs never get a mention? Our U19s are all conquering, we bring players towards the first team every year. I enjoy Rovers getting comuppance because they are the only club with anywhere near as much hubris as us.
sbgawa
25/04/2017, 9:19 AM
Its sad that you still are going on about it and are so obsessed, I'm tempted to go back and pull out some classic John Caulfield but I couldn't be bothered , you can troll away.
disgruntled
25/04/2017, 3:00 PM
Buttimer at Bray ! He must be a season ticket holder:confused:
I think he must have a season ticket everywhere he refs :rolleyes:
25/04/2017, 4:27 PM
Any radio stations in Derry doing live coverage of the game tonight?
ToberonaTornado
25/04/2017, 4:40 PM
Any radio stations in Derry doing live coverage of the game tonight?
BBC foyle (available on freeview as well as www) and Drive 105 Derry
25/04/2017, 7:33 PM
Limerick 1-0 up away to Derry at half-time.
Shane Duggan with a shot from outside the box apparently.
MattB11
25/04/2017, 8:11 PM
Derry level it, Barry McNamee with the goal
DannyInvincible
25/04/2017, 8:33 PM
Limerick just about holding on with under four minutes to go now.
DannyInvincible
25/04/2017, 8:42 PM
Final whistle has gone in Buncrana. Derry and Limerick draw 1-1.
25/04/2017, 8:42 PM
Finished 1-1.
thomas72
25/04/2017, 9:28 PM
Excellent point for Limerick but we missed an absolute sitter to take all 3 points Chris Mulhall one on one with the derry keeper hit it straight at him :(
Kingswood Rover
25/04/2017, 9:31 PM
Rovers home to Lims on Friday night, can staff roistered to work that day please hide all the self destruct buttons prior to our 1st teams arrival at ground. PS....please use the scented duct tape on Mr Bradly's mouth as soon as the game ends, he flushed the other roll down the loo last week.
wonder88
25/04/2017, 9:59 PM
Derry played some nice soccer in the League cup at Galway and have had 2 draws in the league since, so some signs that they are on the way back. I expect more draws in the next section of games as it seems that there are a lot of teams of similar quality(if not budgets) this season. The 3 points for a win has distorted the league table this year and we may see Bray, Drogheda and Cork draw some games as we go forward. The awarding of penalties may have a more wider distribution also from now on due to the intervention of Stephen Kenny: Galway have benefited already after being without one for 2 years.
26/04/2017, 7:45 AM
Paul Tuite with an attention seeking performance last night in Buncrana.
26/04/2017, 10:18 AM
Sounds about right. Mans a w@n€er
26/04/2017, 10:57 AM
Some strange decisions alright. I'd say most cards were deserved though, but he could have booked McNamee sooner.
Happy enough with the draw in the end, after going one down. Limerick's goal against the run of play, but it was our own fault for giving possession away like that. Great finish from Duggan for it.
Second half, we improved and Limerick, briefly, became less physical. Allowed us to get a few shots away, but nothing all that threatening. Superb free kick from McNamee to bring us level. Pity we couldn't go on and win it.
Seven yellows cards given out last night, five of which to Limerick. Thought they were very physical, cynical and dirty at times, but it was hard not to admire how they got away with no-one getting sent off, how players just did as much as they without picking up the second yellow. Limerick's defending, especially in the first half, was great. Really restricted us.
Pretty convinced there's something wrong with Gerard Doherty too. Not once did he attempt a long kick-out, possibly injured.
Overall, an enjoyable game of football, and a huge improvement over what we saw two weeks ago against Harps and Galway.
26/04/2017, 11:27 AM
Didn't think it was an especially dirty game at all to be honest, just tuite firing cards around like snuff at a wake.
Derrys second yellow summed him up for me. He'd let a few lunges from both sides go in the previous few minutes then booked a derry lad for approximately **** all.
You neglected to mention mulhalls awful awful miss when through one on one ;)
Still don't know this morning whether that was a good point or two points dropped. One thing I do know having seen everyone bar shamrock is there's gonna be three or four pretty poor sides duking it out for the last European place unless someone spends a few shekels in July.
26/04/2017, 11:33 AM
Also forgot to mention I must have missed the ceremony where Nicky Low was granted the freedom of Magin Park. I reckon he had more touches than the rest of the two teams combined.
wonder88
26/04/2017, 11:35 AM
Seems to have been a change of style in Limerick's play since Russell's departure according to those reports and cards given out. The Shamrock R v Limerick game on Friday will be interesting and could define the direction of both clubs this season. Hope skill/passing and building from the back is not totally discarded by the blues.
26/04/2017, 11:44 AM
You neglected to mention mulhalls awful awful miss when through one on one ;)
So I did! And also the awful, awful pass that led to it. Let off there.
bluewhitearmy
26/04/2017, 2:42 PM
Seems to have been a change of style in Limerick's play since Russell's departure according to those reports and cards given out. The Shamrock R v Limerick game on Friday will be interesting and could define the direction of both clubs this season. Hope skill/passing and building from the back is not totally discarded by the blues.
The reports of the style are inaccurate though and the cards were as much if not more to do with a ref desperate to be the centre of attention as they were physical play from us.
DannyInvincible
26/04/2017, 10:06 PM
Video highlights from Derry-Limerick: https://www.facebook.com/derrycityfc/videos/10155988979733906/
bluewhitearmy
26/04/2017, 10:20 PM
I beg anyone to go to 2.05 in that video and tell me how in the name of god that was a free against us.
27/04/2017, 12:40 AM
I beg anyone to go to 2.05 in that video and tell me how in the name of god that was a free against us.
That was amazing. Making them take the free another 5 yards away afterwards was a great touch too.
disgruntled
27/04/2017, 12:28 PM
That was an awful decision but typical of what you get in the LOI.
Who was the referee ? It looked like Tuite but its hard to tell from the video.
bluewhitearmy
27/04/2017, 12:39 PM
That was an awful decision but typical of what you get in the LOI.
Who was the referee ? It looked like Tuite but its hard to tell from the video.
Was Tuite alright.
That is absolutely outrageous. You'd wonder how it's even possible to get something so clear so wrong. And then move the free kick for no apparent reason.
27/04/2017, 1:50 PM
They both missed the ball and caught the other. Granted the Derry player's foot was more raised but it's hardly outrageous that he gave it the other way.
bluewhitearmy
27/04/2017, 3:40 PM
They both missed the ball and caught the other. Granted the Derry player's foot was more raised but it's hardly outrageous that he gave it the other way.
Even trying to put my obvious bias aside I think that challenge was a definite booking for the Derry player let alone us being punished.
27/04/2017, 3:43 PM
I think the foul was given for the attempted pull of the arm by the lad in the yellow boots. Hence the reason the free was taken from there rather than where the 2 players went for the ball.
28/04/2017, 11:55 AM
Considered that myself.