View Full Version : LOI Fixtures 25th March '17

Pages : 1 [2]

sbgawa
26/03/2017, 6:59 PM
I said last week that Rovers season was over, I was wrong, enjoy the relegation battle.

Lol all things come to he who waits

sbgawa
26/03/2017, 7:52 PM
Rovers have a load of young fella's lads including the manager, leave him at it but i agree he needs to think about what he is saying, loola stuff another sending off playing against 10 men with Pats having to turn up eventually this season always going to be tough. Keep at it Rovers.

Agreed weve lost by the odd goal to the top 3 and our replacement left back (clarke away on u19 duty) gets himself sent off when we were looking good. Things are better then they appear , other people's obsessions with us won't change regardless of results.

ger121
26/03/2017, 11:35 PM
Agreed weve lost by the odd goal to the top 3 and our replacement left back (clarke away on u19 duty) gets himself sent off when we were looking good. Things are better then they appear , other people's obsessions with us won't change regardless of results.

I wouldn't call it obsession. More amusement. Sure maybe it will be your year in the cup. No better time do it, than on the 30th anniversary of your last success.

26/03/2017, 11:51 PM
I wouldn't call it obsession. More amusement. Sure maybe it will be your year in the cup. No better time do it, than on the 30th anniversary of your last success.
I know you're being sarcastic, but while we'll do OK in the league we're utterly incapable of beating any team that's better than us. So unless the First Division sides start doing some giantkilling it'll be an early exit for us again.

El-Pietro
27/03/2017, 7:11 AM

You call yourself the biggest club in Ireland, you say that your underage system is unparalleled but you can't back any of this up with results at any level. Its hilarious to see you show almost as much hubris as Cork City fans and then fall 12 points behind before the end of March (and theres still one game left this month).

Bohs were touted as relegation candidates and they are four points ahead of you, Harps were another candidate and they are 2 points ahead of you, Drogheda are level with you on points. You'll probably be fine for relegation, but Europe looks like a tough ask at this point. You've only scored 7 goals, that has to be worrying, especially as you are creating so few chances.

27/03/2017, 8:20 AM
Cork City fans and then fall 12 points behind before the end of March (and theres still one game left this month).

and you think you are getting anything from that game do you? In the cauldron of noise that is The Market's Field?

El-Pietro
27/03/2017, 8:29 AM
and you think you are getting anything from that game do you? In the cauldron of noise that is The Market's Field?
I'm a Cork City fan. Hubris is my middle name.
I was more pointing out that they are 12 points behind and we still have a game in March so there is the potential that it could be 15. Equally it could be 9 by Saturday morning.

Ezeikial
27/03/2017, 8:42 AM
Things are better then they appear , other people's obsessions with us won't change regardless of results.

Have you ever considered why Shamrock Rovers attract so much mirth and amusement when the regular implosions are happening?

The club right from the chairman down is riddled with an arrogance and condescending attitude that really irritates. While not all supporters are culpable, the majority are difficult to have any social contact with (either because of this patronising attitude or thuggish behaviour). The current manager is simply carrying on the tradition of delusions of grandeur that is cultivated and fostered within the club.

I have no doubt that Rovers will improve on their current 8th place (especially with Harps, Drogheda and Sligo being the next 3 matches) - but it is always good fun watching the soap opera unfold.

El-Pietro
27/03/2017, 9:15 AM
Remember when Bradley called Cork City a "so called big club". That was funny.

oriel
27/03/2017, 11:27 AM
That's Aldi!!!

Brilliant !!!!!!!!!

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 11:36 AM
You call yourself the biggest club in Ireland, you say that your underage system is unparalleled but you can't back any of this up with results at any level. Its hilarious to see you show almost as much hubris as Cork City fans and then fall 12 points behind before the end of March (and theres still one game left this month).

Bohs were touted as relegation candidates and they are four points ahead of you, Harps were another candidate and they are 2 points ahead of you, Drogheda are level with you on points. You'll probably be fine for relegation, but Europe looks like a tough ask at this point. You've only scored 7 goals, that has to be worrying, especially as you are creating so few chances.

Loving all this , wil remind you later....its Corks title to lose .. : )

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 11:43 AM
Have you ever considered why Shamrock Rovers attract so much mirth and amusement when the regular implosions are happening?

The club right from the chairman down is riddled with an arrogance and condescending attitude that really irritates. While not all supporters are culpable, the majority are difficult to have any social contact with (either because of this patronising attitude or thuggish behaviour). The current manager is simply carrying on the tradition of delusions of grandeur that is cultivated and fostered within the club.

I have no doubt that Rovers will improve on their current 8th place (especially with Harps, Drogheda and Sligo being the next 3 matches) - but it is always good fun watching the soap opera unfold.

Whereas Cork fans are humble and Dundalk fans don't get carried away ??? Do you remember the "is this the greatest team ever debate?"
Rovers are just Irelands version of the ABU's in the EPL its a compliment to the club , the ABR's just don't get it

27/03/2017, 11:46 AM
Rovers will be grand. They'll get something out of their games with Sligo and Drogheda.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/03/2017, 11:50 AM
If they can't get anything out of their game with us they'll be in serious trouble

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 11:51 AM
Rovers will be grand. They'll get something out of their games with Sligo and Drogheda.

You should book yourself and a few mates into the 1899 suite Nigel, few beers and a meal and the banter was good last week with a few of the Cork lads.

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 11:52 AM
You should book yourself and a few mates into the 1899 suite Nigel, few beers and a meal and the banter was good last week with a few of the Cork lads.

All of whom acknowledged they were "battered by the biggest club in Ireland :)

27/03/2017, 12:04 PM

Sorry mate, I'm taken. Flattered by your interest though.

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 12:09 PM
Sorry mate, I'm taken. Flattered by your interest though.

They brought in same sex marriage there last year but I think interclub marriages are a step to far : )
I'll stick with the missus who is even more fanatical then me about the biggest club in Ireland.

27/03/2017, 12:48 PM
They brought in same sex marriage there last year but I think interclub marriages are a step to far : )
I'll stick with the missus who is even more fanatical then me about the biggest club in Ireland.

Conflict of interest in your house next week when the biggest club in Ireland head to Tallaght then.

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 1:02 PM
Conflict of interest in your house next week when the biggest club in Ireland head to Tallaght then.

We're going to batter you :)
The missus likes Donegal for the holidays that about all.

El-Pietro
27/03/2017, 1:34 PM
We're going to batter you :)
The missus likes Donegal for the holidays that about all.

Will you have any shots on target during this battering? Or will it be like your last battering?

El-Pietro
27/03/2017, 1:36 PM
Loving all this , wil remind you later....its Corks title to lose .. : )

You are welcome to, won't change the fact that your season is over (bar a relegation battle) and it isn't April yet. Whether we win or lose the title we will be in the title hunt. Rovers meanwhile? I suppose you can book your summer holidays for 2018 now, get a good deal.

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 1:48 PM
Bitterness is a terrible thing...let it go.

Pablo Escobar
27/03/2017, 2:03 PM
Bitterness is a terrible thing...let it go.

Did you make it to Turners Cross on Saturday? That was a nice one to get to if you did!

On the Rovers point. I did find it amusing when the hyperbole started before the start of the season. I find it less amusing now though. Maybe I'm getting soft.

El-Pietro
27/03/2017, 2:09 PM
Not bitter at all, I'm enjoying the impending Rovers meltdown!

Ezeikial
27/03/2017, 2:10 PM
It must be very exciting for Harps fans, getting to a cup final so early in the season

sulywaterfordfc
27/03/2017, 2:58 PM
Highlights from Waterfords 2-0 win over Wexford. Which saw Waterford extend our unbeaten run to four games. https://youtu.be/MeTR2aUVEBo

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 2:58 PM
It must be very exciting for Harps fans, getting to a cup final so early in the season

they are going to get battered !

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 3:05 PM
Did you make it to Turners Cross on Saturday? That was a nice one to get to if you did!

On the Rovers point. I did find it amusing when the hyperbole started before the start of the season. I find it less amusing now though. Maybe I'm getting soft.

I did indeed get there and have the country tan to show for it.
Thought Cork were deserved winners and kilduffs lack of a first touch that led to a goal for McMillen led to a degree of panic from Cork that kind of showed how much they needed/wanted the win considering how comfortable Cork looked up to that point.
Was delighted for Shep he was always one of my favourite players when he was at Rovers, always thought he should score more goals but he gives a lot for the team always.
Don't worry about Rovers we will come back, life is a rollercoaster nothing surer :)

El-Pietro
27/03/2017, 3:08 PM

Nil all draw so?

Ezeikial
27/03/2017, 3:08 PM

so.....Rovers 1, Harps 2 with Rovers to hit the bar?

sbgawa
27/03/2017, 3:12 PM
so.....Rovers 1, Harps 2 with Rovers to hit the bar?

No it was Cork 2 Dundalk 1 they battered you :)

sulywaterfordfc
27/03/2017, 3:25 PM
Highlights from Waterfords 2-0 win over Wexford. Which saw Waterford extend our unbeaten run to four games. https://youtu.be/MeTR2aUVEBo

A young fans view of the game. These videos every week by the lad are great. And it's great to see a young fan have so much love and passion for the club

https://youtu.be/Wi6FhbHjICY

placid casual
27/03/2017, 7:04 PM
In amongst the petty schadenfreude lie some good points, well made.

(1) Cork have won the sum total of 1 trophy in 5/6 years... 1 more than Rovers.
(2) Chelsea were 5 points behind man city after 7/8 games, and are now 12 points ahead of them- things change in leagues.

I fully appreciate that Rovers, as the biggest, most successful, most noticed, most publicised, most hated, most of the mostness are a complete soap opera and in this case not helped by a manager learning his trade in media barbs as well as on the tactics board.

I'm rather sanguine about the recent situation ( I'm surprised myself!), and have adopted a position of "we'll see what happens". If we continue to lose games that's sure to change of course!

27/03/2017, 10:26 PM
I'm not too worried. We're losing but, as Our Trevor used to say, we're losing the right way.

ger121
27/03/2017, 11:56 PM
I'm not too worried. We're losing but, as Our Trevor used to say, we're losing the right way.

Ok, that was funny. You may be losing almost weekly, but you haven't lost your sense of humour!

28/03/2017, 12:49 AM
Ok, that was funny. You may be losing almost weekly, but you haven't lost your sense of humour!
Hey, he's your problem now :)

28/03/2017, 4:42 AM
In amongst the petty schadenfreude lie some good points, well made.

(1) Cork have won the sum total of 1 trophy in 5/6 years... 1 more than Rovers.
(2) Chelsea were 5 points behind man city after 7/8 games, and are now 12 points ahead of them- things change in leagues.

I fully appreciate that Rovers, as the biggest, most successful, most noticed, most publicised, most hated, most of the mostness are a complete soap opera and in this case not helped by a manager learning his trade in media barbs as well as on the tactics board.

I'm rather sanguine about the recent situation ( I'm surprised myself!), and have adopted a position of "we'll see what happens". If we continue to lose games that's sure to change of course!

Who are you? and where is PC, you must have hacked his account!!

desaintsno.12
28/03/2017, 1:04 PM
Our own worst enemies again, as usual. Thought we were comfortably in control when Heaney had his series of brainfarts. Conan is a lovely player but wouldn't be known for his pace, so why Heaney went out of his way to foul him three times in the space of ten minutes is beyond me.

Still, very poor response to going down to ten men. Don't think we had a single spell of possession in their third between the red card and their goal half an hour later, which says it all. Bradley is a young manager but going all-out defend against a team whose confidence has been bashed is just crazy.

Fair play to Pats for the win - well deserved in the end. Hopefully Bradley learns the lessons from this and our players realise the discipline that's required in this division.

We were starting to come in to it just before the red, but Rovers were looking better than us ( which is more of a reflection on how bad we were to be honest).
The reaction to the red by rovers shows Bradley has a LONG way to go. I know we had a man advantage but it actually seemed more at times. He completely soiled the bed. I dont think i have ever seen a team retreat so badly and look so disorganised after a red, especially given how pony we have been of late as you say. I was sure after the break that they would come out and we wouldnt have it so easy, but it got easier and he didnt have a clue.

That young Burke lad put in one of he worst performances I have seen since, coincidentally, Killian Brennan got roasted in the 5-0 beating a few years back. He was so so poor, even for a lad out of position. Amazed Bradley didnt do something, Conan was having a field day.

Delighted with the win, we needed it badly. We played well, but given the opposition performance and the man advantage, i certainly dont think we are sorted yet. The first 20 mins showed that.

Philosophizer
29/03/2017, 12:25 PM
A question were Shamrock R fans under the Shed behind the goal today. Was there some suggestions of that section of the ground being closed for safety reasons.

Yes, Rovers fans were under the shed in Richmond last weekend. And there were a lot of them too.

That end only tends to be open nowadays for Derbies i think, when there is a substantial amount of away fans.