View Full Version : 2017 EA Sports Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

ToberonaTornado
15/09/2017, 3:51 AM
I was in the Emerald that day when, presumably, I was one of the people Dundalk fans swore smashed the place up! I'm not ruling out the possibility some people boycotted the new stand but certainly didn't hear anything about it, nor seemingly did the many people who tried to get access to it. I will, of course, bow to the superior knowledge of Dundalk fans on what Rovers fans think in the event of any disagreement.

Now, I wouldn't dare comment on the "inevitable" Dundalk fans standing on seats as I seem to remember your lot having problems with that before :)

Oh indeed about the standing on the seats stuff,it wasn't our fans greatest day at the Aviva but at least we didn't close a pub down :D
That hole of a pub(The Emerald) closed down due to it being associated with Shams fans and the attack on the funeral.

placid casual
15/09/2017, 7:18 AM
Any chance we can move away from the pointless drivel, and talk about the game itself?
Both Rovers & dundalk in good form at present, so should make for a decent game.
Rovers have won the previous 2 between the teams, so have no fear of this team.
I don't think Burke is a massive loss for Rovers, as it gives others around him the space to do their thing. dundalk are scoring freely at the moment, and Rovers back 4 will need to be on their guard. If dundalk play their ageing midfield I think Rovers will win. If they don't I think dundalk will sneak it 2:1

sbgawa
15/09/2017, 8:56 AM
Losing Grace as he is cup tied is a bigger loss than Burke, the two together is a real blow.
I still think it could go either way , both sides runs have included a few matches that were uncompetitive but on balance Dundalk start favourites and deservedly so.
The next two matches between these two are huge , for Dundalk it could mean 2nd in the league and a cup Double , for Rovers 3rd or 4th in the league and a cup double. Season defining stuff , win two matches and its a "great" season , lose two and its a "failed" season.

I actually don't believe two matches should define the season for either club, Rovers have made huge progress on and off the pitch this season and Dundalk have consolidated their position at the top table without recklessly blowing the euro millions beyond a few bob extra on a few players.

15/09/2017, 9:22 AM
I dont recall any claims of smashing up the Emerald - that would be an improvement and you would have been more likely to have been applauded, I too will bow to to Rovers fans superiority on what Dundalk fans think in the face of accusations of misbehaviour (what happened on the way to the ground again? apart from the Gardai letting yiz wander off the wrong way). Little bit touchy Charlie, I'm only repeating what was stated at the time on various fora by yer own fans. If you remember there was plenty of winding up by Dundalk fans saying that we would use the temporary stand for the following game to conniption fits by some Rovers fans who genuinely believed they ponied up for the stand themselves - for an FAI run even I still dont know why either club had to pay but the FAI have it every way to suit themselves of course. A lot of Rovers fans chose not to use the stand as was said at the time and it was to be the 'family area - not too many families travelled to the match it seems. But I note you neither confirm or deny that you were on the beers in the Emerald ;)

Actually in a rammed Oriel Park for the league decider v Cork the stand temporary stand wasnt full in a sold out game as a lot of Dundalk fans chose to cram in to the shed instead of taking their designated place as per the ticket. It was very poorly dealt with by stewarding where they allowed a free for all and let people with tickets for other parts of the ground in to the shed and then people with shed tickets turned up and were refused entry to that area -after a lot of dignified protesting and polite discussion they were allowed in to the shed. Lack of common sense and both games in question had a mix of home and FAI stewards but the FAI ones were calling the shots.

ger121
16/09/2017, 1:32 PM
Any links for this?

sbgawa
16/09/2017, 3:34 PM
Feckin ref has killed this game

RathfarnhamHoop
16/09/2017, 3:36 PM
I said it in the fixtures for this weekend thread before i remembered there was this but what an absolute joke of a red, clearly got the ball but trust vemmerlud to act as if hed gone in two feet off the ground on him

sbgawa
16/09/2017, 3:47 PM
Shame good game up til then. Two good sides

RathfarnhamHoop
16/09/2017, 4:03 PM
Was a great game until that decision. Salt in the wounds then too when vemmerlud went through the back of a rovers player, got nowhere near the ball and nothing given just not long after

16/09/2017, 4:59 PM
I said it in the fixtures for this weekend thread before i remembered there was this but what an absolute joke of a red, clearly got the ball but trust vemmerlud to act as if hed gone in two feet off the ground on him

Take off the hoop tinted specs! It was the wrap around/kick out with the other leg that got the second yellow. Both commentators on TV suggested it could have been a straight red but that may have been a bit harsh. There had been a few tasty tackles prior too. Sadly these days winning the ball is not the only consideration for a tackle, follow through, going to ground et al are considered. The mob that surrounded the ref after could each have been carded. On the balance of things Dundalk deserved the win and even if the red card hadnt happened Rovers were no certs to level the game. There is a quick turnaround for you in another cup game where home advantage cant be handed over and try to get one over us.
Pitch looked very heavy and a little dead in the stands too.

White Horse
16/09/2017, 6:17 PM
Feckin ref has killed this game

Nah, Bolger killed the game.

Nice player, but it was stupid to get himself sent off.

Rovers long ball game didn't work today. They badly missed Shaw.

Dundalk were streets ahead of Rovers but that shouldn't be that surprising given the youth of several of Rovers better players. Rovers will improve if they keep this group together and Bradley allows them to play football.

Olander
16/09/2017, 6:37 PM
Take the goggles off lads, Bolger received a deserved red card - in fact, he could've got a straight red, never mind just a second yellow. There was absolutely no need for him to follow through on Vemmelund with his left foot, it was an idiotic, reckless challenge that ultimately cost you. You should be blaming Bolger for ruining the game, not the ref.

RathfarnhamHoop
16/09/2017, 6:43 PM
Take off the hoop tinted specs! It was the wrap around/kick out with the other leg that got the second yellow. Both commentators on TV suggested it could have been a straight red but that may have been a bit harsh. There had been a few tasty tackles prior too. Sadly these days winning the ball is not the only consideration for a tackle, follow through, going to ground et al are considered. The mob that surrounded the ref after could each have been carded. On the balance of things Dundalk deserved the win and even if the red card hadnt happened Rovers were no certs to level the game. There is a quick turnaround for you in another cup game where home advantage cant be handed over and try to get one over us.
Pitch looked very heavy and a little dead in the stands too.

Football has gone completely to pot when a perfect tackle like that could even be mentioned in the same sentence as "potential red", youre man vemmerlud was awful too, went down as if he'd been shot then as soon as the cards came out was back up and fine again, he'll be a saint in no time with healing powers like that, then the in consistency of the ref not to even give a free when vemmerlud went through the back of a rovers player just compiled it all.
Dundalk deserved the win but not the score line today but hopefully we'll reverse the result in the cup semi

16/09/2017, 7:27 PM
Football has gone completely to pot when a perfect tackle like that could even be mentioned in the same sentence as "potential red", youre man vemmerlud was awful too, went down as if he'd been shot then as soon as the cards came out was back up and fine again, he'll be a saint in no time with healing powers like that, then the in consistency of the ref not to even give a free when vemmerlud went through the back of a rovers player just compiled it all.
Dundalk deserved the win but not the score line today but hopefully we'll reverse the result in the cup semi

You sure you are not a Cork fan masquarading as a Shams fan??

mcgonigle
16/09/2017, 8:02 PM

You're letting your bias rule your head here. It was an awful and needless tackle, thought it was a straight red at the time. He won the ball first but went through Vemmelund needlessly and with intent.

It didn't ruin the game either, Rovers wouldn't have scored if they were there until Christmas, absolutely clueless.

Kiki Balboa
16/09/2017, 9:04 PM

He tried to hurt the Dundalk player, and was a dirty tackle. He did something similar for the first yellow. Fairly laughable if you think that was a 'perfect tackle'. Hes a young player, but the blame has to be on him for tackling like that, especially when on a yellow, its asking for trouble.

Rovers are a very physical team, but where toothless going forward. There more of a bullying team than a football playing team. They hassle a lot and defend with intensity, but never brought that into there attacking play.

Interesting match up in that sense, as they dont give Dundalk the time that other teams do, but with Duffy and Fats, there is an abundance of guile in midfield for Dundalk, and McMillan up front to finish, Dundalk are always a threat. Also, with 3 starters out of their back 5 not starting, they looked incredibly solid. If Dundalk hold on to Vemmelund at the end of the season, they will be in great shape next year.

Rovers are 4 wins and 37 goals for and against behind Dundalk in the league who are in second. Its a big gap to close next season to win the league. I think once a team can match Rovers physically, Rovers will struggle, and will be dropping points to lower teams in the table to often to win the league next year with how they play.

oriel
16/09/2017, 9:13 PM
Interesting selection by Kenny retaining the players who played most of the EA campaign, which meant he selected Sava over Rogers, Grimes over Massey, Hoare over Gartland and possibly even Shields over the return from injured O'Donnell.

Delighted with the win, some nice passages of play especially last 25, thought Rovers were on top lat 15 of the first and possibly first 5 after the break, 3-0 probably flattered Dundalk a bit but no question about we were deserving winners.

The bigger game is in 2 weeks time though, cup semi final.

Interesting to note this was Kenny's 6th trophy so far with Dundalk, 3 Leagues, 1 Cup, 2 League cups.

Ezeikial
16/09/2017, 10:36 PM
Stephen Bradley on whether the scoreline was harsh on Rovers
"To be fair to them, they go and take their chances - so yeah they deserve to win 3-0"

On whether he is concerned that Rovers have got red cards in 3 of the last 4 meetings, Stephen Bradley said
"No, no"

https://twitter.com/eirSport/status/909090692995133441

Could it possibly escape him that these two factors are directly related?

sbgawa
17/09/2017, 4:31 AM
It's ages since we had a peno whine whine whine....

placid casual
17/09/2017, 6:25 AM
Kenny was smart to drop the ageing O'Donnell & Gartland as they would have handed the initiative to Rovers. Rovers players need to learn to " maximise" tackles the way Dundalk do. The ref was clueless the entire game. Rovers were indeed toothless up front, and once they resolve that situation will be able to match dundalk and cork.
Game in 2 weeks is more important, and once Rovers use their intensity wisely, will give dundalk a good game. Price being back at centre half should help, as the 1st goal yesterday was a farce.

Ezeikial
17/09/2017, 6:40 AM
Rovers players need to learn to " maximise" tackles the way Dundalk do. The ref was clueless the entire game.

Do you think this was a factor in Aaron Bolger getting sent off? Or Graham Burke in the first meeting earlier this year? The number of red cards Rovers have collected this season is indicative of their OTT aggression and lack of discipline. It was encouraging to hear Bradley saying he does not see it as a problem.

Aaron Bolger could easily have got a straight red for either of his two bookings

Price being back at centre half should help, as the 1st goal yesterday was a farce.

I presume you mean Lee Grace. He would be a smarter choice than Aidan Price - is he even registered as a player?

17/09/2017, 8:11 AM
Thought dundalk were extremely comfortable throughout, rovers on top last 15-20 minutes of first half but sava never had to make a save all night. Dundalk could have easily been 3-0 up before rovers hit the post. Thought rovers were poor in all honesty, missed Shaw big time. Hel make a difference in a few weeks but you'd imagine dundalk could do another job on them in Oriel.

sbgawa
17/09/2017, 8:43 AM
Having luke Byrne back at left back will allow Clarke to push on. Shaw and Grace back will also help.
Don't agree on Gartland being over the hill I'd take him at rovers alongside Grace.

White Horse
17/09/2017, 9:01 AM
I'm not sure why Kenny chose Hoare ahead of Gartland. Gartland has been playing very well during Dundalk's excellent run for over the last few months.

Did Kenny know that Shaw wouldn't start and therefore didn't need his most aerially dominant centre half?

Rovers always play a long ball game but it is different when Shaw plays. The long balls are higher and focussed on his getting good knock downs, which was a feature of their last league win over Dundalk. With O'Connor, the long balls are more into the channels and, given his mobility, the quickest centre halfs are the better option.

Bradley's tactics were very poor, the fact that Sava didn't have a save to make and Rovers didn't creating anything from open play is all the evidence needed.

Dundalk, if more clinical, could have score quite a few more goals.

The person I felt sorry for was Ronan Finn, such a waste of talent.

Ezeikial
17/09/2017, 9:14 AM
It's ages since we had a peno whine whine whine....

Lacking in imagination, repetitive, no cutting edge, irrelevant, boring, overly aggressive, one dimensional - Rovers tactics and display yesterday.

Crosshead
17/09/2017, 9:25 AM
I was accused of being bitter over the semi-final loss when I said Dundalk would comfortably win the final. They're a level above Shamrock Rovers and I reckon it'll be a cup double for them this season.

White Horse
17/09/2017, 9:30 AM
I was accused of being bitter over the semi-final loss when I said Dundalk would comfortably win the final. They're a level above Shamrock Rovers and I reckon it'll be a cup double for them this season.

We are probably favourites as it will take Cork time to adapt to losing top players to England and to injury. It took us half a season to adapt to losing three of our best players.

It is a one off game though, as is the semi final, I wouldn't take either of them for granted.

oriel
17/09/2017, 9:59 AM
I'm not sure why Kenny chose Hoare ahead of Gartland. Gartland has been playing very well during Dundalk's excellent run for over the last few months.

He has been playing well and he's been scoring too but Kenny did the same in the 2014 EA final, he stuck with the players who played in most rounds of the cup, explains why he picked Sava and Hoare and retained Grimes at left full.

I'd be expecting a much different match for the semi final but then again Dundalk will have more options for this one with Connolly and probably Mountney back in contention. I'd imagine he would go with Rogers and Gartland for that game.

17/09/2017, 10:42 AM
From what I've seen of rovers this year, they're a very talented group of young players with huge potential, but they're short a striker (like most of us!) and a decent manager. With the youth coming through I'd be seriously worried about them next year if it was an experienced or better manager. I'm not overly concerned with Bradley there though.

Dundalk back to being polished and professional. They'll be hard to beat in any games this year.

placid casual
17/09/2017, 10:47 AM
Lacking in imagination, repetitive, no cutting edge, irrelevant, boring, overly aggressive, one dimensional - Rovers tactics and display yesterday.
And yet I've read plenty of reports from other dundalk fans who felt they were overran for the majority of the 1st half by Rovers midfield, playing football.

Your opinion has become baseless, and a talented team like Dundalk are actually wasted on the likes of you.
Such a waste really.

White Horse
17/09/2017, 10:58 AM
And yet I've read plenty of reports from other dundalk fans who felt they were overran for the majority of the 1st half by Rovers midfield, playing football.

Rovers played with a narrow midfield three, while Dundalk's midfield three were very open and far apart. Rovers were in a better position to pick up knock downs and breaking balls in midfield. When one of the teams plays a long ball game, there are a lot of loose ball in the middle of the park. The key point is that Rovers did nothing with this possession.

Dundalk three played slightly narrower in the second half and Rovers were completely out of the game.

You can't get away from the fact that Rovers were shockingly bad and there was nothing in their set up that suggests that Bradley has a clue what he is doing.

You do have good young players, and it is a credit to Rovers that many of them are home produced. However, they won't achieve their potential by playing dinosaur football.

Ezeikial
17/09/2017, 11:07 AM

Your opinion has become baseless, and a talented team like Dundalk are actually wasted on the likes of you.
Such a waste really.

Context continues to be s problem for some.

Go back and look again at the post

Kiki Balboa
17/09/2017, 11:56 AM

Such a waste really.

Yes, we should bow our heads to the mighty rovers who played pure total football with pure fluidity......

Rovers had spells, like all teams do at this level, but Dundalk were fairly comfortable, and probably should have went into half time 2 nil up. Dundalk had another gear, hence finished the game very strongly.

It was Dundalks day, they win the cup. Roll on the semi final, maybe the result will be different.

Louth4sam
17/09/2017, 12:12 PM

Rovers played plenty of football in defence or the middle third of the pitch with Finn pulling the strings but they were no threat at all and Dundalk had the two best chances during that spell. Second half was a different story as Dundalks wingers came infield more and pressed higher nullifying Rovers possession and forcing them to go long and the sending off finished them off altogether.

I thought it was comfortable enough for Dundalk overall

El-Pietro
17/09/2017, 12:41 PM
Funny that Rovers are whinging about a red card costing them the league cup, when it was a red card that got them to the final in the first place. Short memories lads.

17/09/2017, 12:43 PM
Am I right in thinking that UCD have given Dundalk their toughest Cup game of the season so?

We at least got to penos in Oriel.

oriel
17/09/2017, 1:50 PM
Almost sure Dundalk only equalised too v UCD with less than 10 mins to go. Def won pens.

17/09/2017, 1:52 PM
Equaliser was earlier than that - 20/25 minutes to go I think. Though it did come when we were down to ten for an injury.

Just realised actually that we're playing ye again on Tuesday in the LSC semi (it's such a stupid competition, I knew we had a match on, but I'd forgotten who it was against)

Penos actually went to sudden death and all; 6-5 in the end.

oriel
17/09/2017, 1:57 PM

I would agree Rovers were on top in the MF area from around 30 mins to 50 but they were still 1-0 down during that period and Dlk were never really under that much pressure, I'm not even sure if Sava made a save of any significance in the match? He was troubled though on various high balls in. That's the area that Rogers has improved most this season, confidence in catching then a quick throw out to start off an attack.

Rovers can have no complaints yesterday, but as I said previously, the big one is in two weeks time and I'm expecting a different game then. Not taking anything away from the EA Sports cup, always nice to win a trophy, never mind the league cup is ranked 3rd. Still a cup to lift.

oriel
17/09/2017, 2:04 PM
Equaliser was earlier than that - 20/25 minutes to go I think. Though it did come when we were down to ten for an injury.

Just realised actually that we're playing ye again on Tuesday in the LSC semi (it's such a stupid competition, I knew we had a match on, but I'd forgotten who it was against)

Penos actually went to sudden death and all; 6-5 in the end.

I'll meet you half way PS, I had the programme from yesterday handy beside me, page on the route to the final. Second round Dlk 1 (Clifford 76) UCD 1 (O'Neill 17) 6-5 on pens correct.

I can't see playing any first team league players on tues night in the LSC semi, maybe 3 or 4 max who played yesterday.

17/09/2017, 4:09 PM
Fairy nuff so.

Wouldn't be surprised to see a couple of our 19s play on Tuesday; be a good match to give them ahead of the UEFA Youth League.

17/09/2017, 5:11 PM
He has been playing well and he's been scoring too but Kenny did the same in the 2014 EA final, he stuck with the players who played in most rounds of the cup, explains why he picked Sava and Hoare and retained Grimes at left full.

I'd be expecting a much different match for the semi final but then again Dundalk will have more options for this one with Connolly and probably Mountney back in contention. I'd imagine he would go with Rogers and Gartland for that game.

Massey is only coming back from injury, Grimes did fine tho but he hasn't got the attacking attributes of a Massey. Thought Sean Gannon was brilliant yesterday while we are talking about full backs.

Kingswood Rover
18/09/2017, 6:50 AM
Luke Byrne is poor at left back IMO. left back is Clarks best position, you still get all that attacking flair and the way he tracks back is amazing

White Horse
18/09/2017, 8:25 AM
Well done Stevie. LOI players don't get the credit they deserve at times.

https://talkofthetown.ie/souvenir-lifetime-young-dundalk-fan-given-ea-sports-cup-winners-medal/

18/09/2017, 9:49 AM
Thought it was quite an enjoyable match. Good pace to it, but maybe not enough quality in the attacking third, particularly from Rovers. Should be a good game in a couple of weeks now.

seand
18/09/2017, 11:27 AM
Kenny was smart to drop the ageing O'Donnell & Gartland as they would have handed the initiative to Rovers. Rovers players need to learn to " maximise" tackles the way Dundalk do. The ref was clueless the entire game. Rovers were indeed toothless up front, and once they resolve that situation will be able to match dundalk and cork.
Game in 2 weeks is more important, and once Rovers use their intensity wisely, will give dundalk a good game. Price being back at centre half should help, as the 1st goal yesterday was a farce.

Bringing Price back at centre half would be, erm, interesting alright....

20/09/2017, 2:57 AM
Bringing Price back at centre half would be, erm, interesting alright....

Sure he is a youngster at 36 even if not played for a few seasons - perfect for back at centre half! and keep PC content, all these ex Bohs lads in hoops...