View Full Version : Premier Division 2017-WE'RE BACK

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

03/03/2017, 10:30 AM
Prediction time: I'm going for an optimistic 1-2 win. Confidence high, another game under the belt and it's not on in the Brandywell.

leedsfan88
03/03/2017, 2:37 PM
Anyone know if there will be commentary online or radio for tonight's game?

03/03/2017, 2:39 PM
Anyone know if there will be commentary online or radio for tonight's game?

Have heard 95fm. If not then chance one of the Derry stations online.

topfan
03/03/2017, 5:14 PM
http://www.drive105.co.uk/ have live comms

thomas72
03/03/2017, 8:36 PM
What a absolute disgrace a kip.

On the 25mins that were played how were we going?
By reports on clubs twitter we were under huge pressure since clarkes goal.

LFC Blue
04/03/2017, 2:19 AM
Apparently Limerick offered to play the game at 2pm tomorrow. A practical and logical solution. However Kenny Shiels and co had the audacity to refuse while the governing body sat idely by..

04/03/2017, 12:35 PM
We were under a bit of pressure but not massive, we were causing hassle on the break and were in with a very good shout of making it two one to us just as lights went off. Derry didn't look anything fantastic any pressure was mainly self inflicted for two reasons.

1. Bastien Hery while outrageously good fun going forward is about as useful defensively as half a Stephen Folan.

2. Because Martin Russell in his wisdom has switched to zonal marking. The biggest joke of the night wasn't the floodlights it was the two free Derry men at every set piece. I counted the time in my head and for their equaliser the Derry player had nearly eight and a half minutes to steady himself in the box after his original effort at goal was a swing and a miss. Hopefully zonal marking was taken out the back of the hotel and shot before they went home. If we try that nonsense in dundalk we'll be hammered.

Last night was shaping up to finish about seven five to Derry til the lights went. Maginn Park is a terrible, terrible, ground. Pitch aside (which is decent in fairness) Jackman Park is better in every way.

bluewhitearmy
07/03/2017, 12:23 PM
So everyone happy if we keep it to a narrow defeat this week then?

blueblood
07/03/2017, 12:54 PM
Anyone know when O'Connor is back from injury, I'd be delighted with a draw v dundalk, I'm never happy with any loss 😁 but narrow defeat wouldn't be the worst I suppose.

thomas72
07/03/2017, 2:17 PM
2nd game back in premier league I think it's asking a bit much to beat a team as good as dundalk away from home there a very very strong side a bridge to far IMO but as long as we are competitive and give them a good game I'll be happy with that.
a draw would be a amazing result.

xRedmanLFCx
07/03/2017, 9:00 PM
Anyone know when O'Connor is back from injury, I'd be delighted with a draw v dundalk, I'm never happy with any loss 😁 but narrow defeat wouldn't be the worst I suppose.

Paudie signed for Leeds.

I'm going to Dundalk on Friday hoping for a draw, but looking forward to seeing how will we perform against 3 in a row champions. Will be a huge test. Can't wait. LTID.

08/03/2017, 12:33 PM
Paudie signed for Leeds.

I'm going to Dundalk on Friday hoping for a draw, but looking forward to seeing how will we perform against 3 in a row champions. Will be a huge test. Can't wait. LTID.

He meant David O'Connor. Big test on Friday alright. We have the fire power to cause problems but how we hold up defensively will be the big question.

blueblood
08/03/2017, 6:07 PM
He meant David O'Connor. Big test on Friday alright. We have the fire power to cause problems but how we hold up defensively will be the big question.
Wasn't he expected to be only out for 3 or 4 weeks, that was a week or two before season started.

fieldofmarkets
08/03/2017, 7:37 PM
It was supposed to be 5 weeks at the Waterford friendly (17th Feb) so he has a couple weeks to go before he is even available.

Briuk
10/03/2017, 12:13 PM
What’s going on with Flynn? Is he injured?

10/03/2017, 8:59 PM
We are a good side and should do very well this year.

Robson is a little gem of a player.

CraftyToePoke
10/03/2017, 9:08 PM
We are a good side and should do very well this year.

Robson is a little gem of a player.

Right move to swap Hery out for this one and would you put him back in at home Monday ?

10/03/2017, 9:19 PM
Right move to swap Hery out for this one and would you put him back in at home Monday ?

I would play him Monday absolutely. Bohs at home is a game you need to be winning.

Was the right call tonight. Paul O'Conor was mostly absolutely woejus but he was a body in front of the back four I suppose.

CraftyToePoke
10/03/2017, 9:28 PM
Paul O'Conor was mostly absolutely woejus but he was a body in front of the back four I suppose.

But was he woejus in a snaily crafty art of standing in the right place a la Glenn Whelan and while he looks he was doing nothing, remove him and your enemies come flooding through while eating a picnic maybe ?

10/03/2017, 9:37 PM
He was more like Marty Whelan to be honest.

Constantly being startled by the game going on around him.

It's not a night for giving out though. Like I said we look a good side who could do very well this season.

Crucial we don't do a Limerick now and let bohs turn us over Monday.

Market's Field
10/03/2017, 9:58 PM
Crucial we don't do a Limerick now and let bohs turn us over Monday.

It's Anthony Buttimer so anything could happen on Monday!

10/03/2017, 10:42 PM
Good performance all round. The difference this year is fitness. No player with a GAA arse, we got stronger as the game went on.

bluewhitearmy
11/03/2017, 12:05 AM
Couldn't complain at all tonight played well and had them pinned back near the end. Would have been some moment if Freddy header went in.

LFC Blue
11/03/2017, 12:47 AM
Good performance all round. The difference this year is fitness. No player with a GAA arse, we got stronger as the game went on.

Gamble has undoubtedly done a top class job with the lads fitness in pre season. Strange comment re GAA arses though!

whatyouwant
11/03/2017, 9:44 AM
Tommy must of settled in ok.ive read some reports hes getting good reports.

xRedmanLFCx
11/03/2017, 10:48 AM
Very happy with how last night went, even game, draw would have been a fair result. We have nothing to fear this season, we more than matched the 3 in a row champions in their own back yard.

bluewhitearmy
13/03/2017, 9:04 PM
Such a Limerick thing to do go from a great performance against Dundalk to one of the most one dimensional sh1t performances I've seen in ages.

thomas72
13/03/2017, 9:16 PM
Martin Russell wouldn't want to start this ****e again how he left Turner on that pitch for 82mins was a complete mystery to everybody in the ground even pat o Sullivan was screaming for him to act and get Kenny on.
Duggan was terrible aswell and could of been taken off aswell.
This passing around the back needs to stop it's 5 to 6 passes then it gets played up the line we were lucky not to be 2 down in the first half over it.
Massive game already coming up Saturday

13/03/2017, 9:24 PM
Experience shone through with a few bohs players. Both Lorcan Fitzgerald and Derek Pender gave a master class in defending back there. Once they sussed us out we offered absolutely nothing. Keith Long got his tactics spot on tonight. I think Bohs had one shot on goal in the second half and zero corners but came away with the win.

13/03/2017, 9:57 PM
I'm not saying we don't have experience I'm saying the experience of certain Bohs players shone through as they easily counteracted our attempts tonight. That was pretty clear to be seen.

bluewhitearmy
13/03/2017, 10:19 PM
I'm not saying we don't have experience I'm saying the experience of certain Bohs players shone through as they easily counteracted our attempts tonight. That was pretty clear to be seen.

Countless teams have found it easy to counteract us at this level it's not hard when we do the same thing over and over and over again with no results at all.

13/03/2017, 10:22 PM
Countless teams have found it easy to counteract us at this level it's not hard when we do the same thing over and over and over again with no results at all.

I agree.

First thing that needs to be done is decide the best starting eleven and work from there.

Lims4ever
13/03/2017, 11:40 PM
It was fustrating to watch that's for sure , it's gas reading people's comments we have gone from being top 4 contenders to relegation candidates in one bad performance at the start of the season . We just gave the league champions a very good game 3 days ago taught some of them looked tired and flat tonight for some reason which was a real shame considering that was a good crowd for a Monday night and it would have been great to keep the momentum going at home with a 2pm kick off to Finn harps next Saturday will we get 1k at it after tonight. Bohs were the better team overall but we had enough chances to score , goalkeeper motm must have been for his first half display as he had **** all to do second half . Lee j poor Duggan shocker can't remember him being as bad , ogbene plenty of power and pace lacks end product which is why he struggled to get his place in corks team week in week out last season .

13/03/2017, 11:55 PM
It was one bad result.

After a great night against Sligo and a decent night against Dundalk.

Frustrating to watch, but at least there is another home game to get over it. Unfortunately, it's against Harps, whose manager completely out-managed ours two seasons ago. And we still have the same two wingers for him to defend wide against and deep too.

bluewhitearmy
14/03/2017, 12:19 AM
I think it is the contrast from Friday to tonight that is really bothering people that and the fact that like our play tonight its so utterly predicated with us to do this kinda thing. Doesnt mean anything in terms of the season but the chance to have a serious buzz going into Saturday lost.

14/03/2017, 8:24 AM
Feel way more meh today.

Just typical.

Everyone's knows the problems.

There are some really, really, good, players in that squad. And a few absolute charlatans.

We are spending at least twice what bohs are spending.

It's a results business at the end of the day. Good performance in oriel my hole. Played 3 Points 3 that's what matters.

Another big game now Saturday. Knock a 1 off the front of the 1700 I'd say....

blueblood
14/03/2017, 5:35 PM
Fcuk lads we weren't that bad bar some very sloppy passing 2nd half, it was 2 mistakes that cost us the goal. Its only the 3rd game for a newly promoted team, we had an off night bohs keeper had a great night but we need to cut out the stupidity of playing the ball across our own goal.

bluewhitearmy
14/03/2017, 5:37 PM
Personally think Supple is being made out to be way better than he actually was.

14/03/2017, 6:21 PM
Personally think Supple is being made out to be way better than he actually was.

Definitely. He was decent and pulled off some good saves but in the second half bar maybe one chance when mulhall just came on he actually had nothing really to do. His defence did all the hard work.

whatyouwant
14/03/2017, 7:03 PM
I listened back in england it was all limerick

blueblood
14/03/2017, 8:02 PM
As do I but he did keep them in the game with a few great saves. Strange he got motm since he did nothing 2nd half. Anyway hopefully 3pts v harps on Saturday

Mastershake87
14/03/2017, 8:25 PM
Worst thing I saw on the night wasn't from the players but from our own fans. I hate seeing "SUPPORTERS" boo and then cheer the substitution of a Limerick player. Thought Turner had a decent first half but like all of the players seemed lost in the second. Didn't deserve the treatment he got though. Fans need to get over the fact that we're not in the first division anymore. We will loose plenty of games this year and if we start getting on the backs of players we'll struggle.

da bishop
14/03/2017, 8:43 PM
Supple was excellent,Bohs game plan carried out really well.early days but important ones.

bluewhitearmy
16/03/2017, 10:31 AM
So Saturday already feels like a big one we have to win it if we are serious about pushing top half or top four even. I know its very early days but you can't be losing to teams like these and Bohs if you're serious.

If we lose Saturday I personally hope Russell is gone by Sunday what do ye think?

16/03/2017, 3:11 PM
If we lose Saturday that will be three times Russell has been outcoached by a gorse bush impersonating a man. finn harps have less quality than tv3.

I think our next four games will go beat harps respectable defeat in buncrana nine goal free for all in bray and an absolute show made of us against cork.

Teams for Saturday?

I'd go:

Clarke

Our only four defenders.

Hery
Duggan
Lynch

Ogbene
Tosi
Clarke

16/03/2017, 5:00 PM
'Gorse bush impersonating a man' just made me laugh quite loudly there.

I don't expect Harps to get anything out of the game on Saturday, but we've a little bit more quality than TV3.

fieldofmarkets
16/03/2017, 6:44 PM
Dropping Freddy or just giving Clarke a run?

16/03/2017, 6:52 PM
Dropping Freddy or just giving Clarke a run?

A bit of both.

Freddie has done a couple of Freddieisms already this season and his distribution in the second half the other night was painful to behold.

Clarke has done more than enough at LoI level to warrant a go anyway.

thomas72
16/03/2017, 7:30 PM
If Pat o Sullivan didn't sack Russell when we got relegated he never will especially when we went about 15 to 20 games without a win Russell will be going nowhere anytime soon.

fieldofmarkets
16/03/2017, 7:47 PM
A bit of both.

Freddie has done a couple of Freddieisms already this season and his distribution in the second half the other night was painful to behold.

Clarke has done more than enough at LoI level to warrant a go anyway.
Fair enough. I am usually happy to have Freddy in goal but would be interesting to see what Clarke is like, I can't remember seeing him for Pat's. Is there any concern if it would have an impact on back four (positive or negative)?