View Full Version : Republic of Ireland v. Wales - Friday, 24th March 2017 - World Cup 2018 Qualifier

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12

24/03/2017, 8:58 PM
That was 2 points dropped. Wales were woejus. Though I'm more ****ed off at that tackle. Absolute thuggery.

zero
24/03/2017, 9:00 PM
whelan was superb tonight, i would have given him MOTM over mcclean. he will be overlooked though more likely than not.

Closed Account 2
24/03/2017, 9:02 PM
It's terrible to see the leg is just dangling. He'll be out until 2018 I'd say.

24/03/2017, 9:04 PM
I think we respected Wales too much tonight. As I mentioned earlier it's not often we'd get a top seed coming to Dublin under that much pressure.

We missed Hoolahan and Brady (more for set pieces). Back 4 coped well with Bale. After all the build up you'd be wondering what all the fuss was about.

If we beat Serbia at home we'll be going to Russia. After watching how bad their defence today was vs Georgia we just need to get our best players on the pitch.

Closed Account 2
24/03/2017, 9:05 PM
The last time I saw an injury that bad in an Ireland shirt was Marty Rowlands in 2009 where his knee completely gave way, he never played for us again, I just hope Coleman recovers and plays again.

24/03/2017, 9:09 PM
Just be thankful it wasn't the knee from the pictures i saw. I'm so gutted here. It feels like we lost.

TheOneWhoKnocks
24/03/2017, 9:12 PM
I would've brought on McGeady earlier and I think Doyle could've been an asset as they're defence was buckling under the high ball.

Keogh and O'Shea were competent and untroubled, apart from one instance where Keogh gave the ball away under no pressure.

Ward was a step above, apart from one instance, where again, he gave away the ball haphazardly late on.

Thought Long and Walters were toothless, again Doyle could've added a different dimension.

One of Hendrick's worst performances. Thought Whelan began terribly, but grew into the game. Meyler was alright.

McClean one of our best players but doesn't say much.

I think we could've won the game with Brady And/or Hoolahan available.

Deeply saddened about Coleman's injury and that could affect us later in the campaign.

CraftyToePoke
24/03/2017, 9:17 PM
I'd bring on Hourihane now.

A debut in that cauldron ? There is a question mark over his chap as he played poorly for Barnsley on at least one occasion when RK watched him. I'm all for integrating him, but not there, not tonight, can't agree there at all.

TheOneWhoKnocks
24/03/2017, 9:23 PM
I think it's been alluded to in several articles that Hourihane has been unfortunate to be scouted in games where he wasn't up to his usual standards.

I think there is an argument that he could've been brought on given we had two of Whelan, Hendrick and Meyler.

For 90 minutes we didn't have anyone who looked able or willing to thread a pass through the eye of the needle.

And he could've added composure to our set pieces.

24/03/2017, 9:24 PM
As someone on Twitter had said,if you want yo share a picture around, share this one
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C7tw0pPWkAEm3tZ.jpg
Warms a cold cold heart

TheOneWhoKnocks
24/03/2017, 9:26 PM
Coleman is a lovely lad.

Saddened for him and his family.

I hope he's able to come back soon.

Judge is still out 11 months after his injury, so I'll be saying a prayer tonight.

24/03/2017, 9:26 PM
That's such a sad photo. F*ckin hell. I'm still just gutted here about it.

backstothewall
24/03/2017, 9:27 PM
In the car heading back North so I've not seen anything back on telly but I have a few thoughts.

1. The referee was awful. Didn't have the balls to send off Bale for no other reason than because he plays for Real Madrid and he'd seem him on telly.
2. The challenge on Coleman was shocking. But I don't think there was any malice in it. Still a clear red but I'm sure he will feel awful about it.
3. I hope Martin O'Neill gave the ref both barrels after the match.
4. Wales are probably out of it now.

The Fly
24/03/2017, 9:29 PM
At least the break isn't at the joint.

That's the only solace to take from it.

Closed Account 2
24/03/2017, 9:30 PM
The yellow card ban for Bale could end up hurting us. We really want a draw when Wales play Serbia but it's hard to see anything other than a Serbia win without Bale.

24/03/2017, 9:31 PM
In the car heading back North so I've not seen anything back on telly but I have a few thoughts.

1. The referee was awful. Didn't have the balls to send off Bale for no other reason than because he plays for Real Madrid and he'd seem him on telly.
2. The challenge on Coleman was shocking. But I don't think there was any malice in it. Still a clear red but I'm sure he will feel awful about it.

I was just thinking about the ref and wondering if Seamus' injury isn't his fault. Not so much for not sending off Bale but for the way he let the game go. In some ways it was admirable that he let the game be a physical one and let some strange calls go (both sides) but it may have caused players to move closer and step beyond the edge of what is acceptable.

24/03/2017, 9:32 PM
The yellow card ban for Bale could end up hurting us. We really want a draw when Wales play Serbia but it's hard to see anything other than a Serbia win without Bale.

Nah, it's all about Ramsey. Pfff

Fixer82
24/03/2017, 9:33 PM
whelan was superb tonight, i would have given him MOTM over mcclean. he will be overlooked though more likely than not.

Definitely agree! Whelan was a lion.

Was the trumpet as annoying inside the ground as it was watching on tv?
Or did it add to the atmosphere?

CraftyToePoke
24/03/2017, 9:35 PM

If Bale nicks it, its a goal, the area of the pitch it happened in is his only saving grace in it, he kind of has to go for that ball.
I think the Coleman challenge was sickening.

backstothewall
24/03/2017, 9:36 PM
Was the trumpet as annoying inside the ground as it was watching on tv?
Or did it add to the atmosphere?

A million times worse

CraftyToePoke
24/03/2017, 9:37 PM
I was just thinking about the ref and wondering if Seamus' injury isn't his fault. Not so much for not sending off Bale but for the way he let the game go. In some ways it was admirable that he let the game be a physical one and let some strange calls go (both sides) but it may have caused players to move closer and step beyond the edge of what is acceptable.

It could be argued, yes, that it was the next domino in a series of unsavoury incidents. But whatever has gone before, it had no place out there, or on any pitch, ever.

CraftyToePoke
24/03/2017, 9:39 PM
I think it's been alluded to in several articles that Hourihane has been unfortunate to be scouted in games where he wasn't up to his usual standards.

I think there is an argument that he could've been brought on given we had two of Whelan, Hendrick and Meyler.

For 90 minutes we didn't have anyone who looked able or willing to thread a pass through the eye of the needle.

And he could've added composure to our set pieces.

You don't test the waters for such things on these occasions.

gastric
24/03/2017, 9:41 PM
Shocking injury, wondered why there was no replay and then the reality hit me.I wonder if Koeman will turn on O'Neill again and whinge about international football? I hope he shows more class than he has over the last while. Quite an empty feeling presently.

KrisLetang
24/03/2017, 9:43 PM
I don't want to sound ridiculous but leg breaks are one of the things they have come a long way with. It look terrible but it's better than the knee. My Penguins had a key D Man break a leg in January and he is expected back next month. Again, I know it looks horrible but the idea that Seamus is out until 2018 is WAY premature. Micro knee surgery for a fracture......that's a year thing. part of it is how quick they can treat it with the air cast. Skiers for example. Lindsey Vonn breaks her leg all the time and is always back right quick. Im not saying it's easy.
But its not like it was in the 1990s for example. just saying.

24/03/2017, 9:45 PM
Pretty poor game overall I thought.

I remember Bale firing a tame free kick straight at Randolph, but apart from that, I'm not sure either keeper had any save to make. Both defenses handled opposition attacks comfortably.

McLean said afterwards that Wales were better, but I didn't think so. They passed the ball nicely alright, but only in areas where they were doing no damage. They never got through us or broke us down at all.

Horrible horrible injury for Coleman. Really could be costly for us over the rest of the campaign.

24/03/2017, 9:48 PM
Gutted for Coleman. Poor game, we were well organised defensively but so route one and clueless going forward that it was hard to fathom. Bale and Ramsey were so ineffective for Wales it was hard to believe. And if I ever hear another trumpet it'll be too soon. Ground was as loud as I've ever heard it at the anthems but the combination of the poor game and the drum/trumpet created a really strange/forced atmosphere at times.

mark12345
24/03/2017, 10:17 PM
I would've brought on McGeady earlier and I think Doyle could've been an asset as they're defence was buckling under the high ball.

Keogh and O'Shea were competent and untroubled, apart from one instance where Keogh gave the ball away under no pressure.

Ward was a step above, apart from one instance, where again, he gave away the ball haphazardly late on.

Thought Long and Walters were toothless, again Doyle could've added a different dimension.

One of Hendrick's worst performances. Thought Whelan began terribly, but grew into the game. Meyler was alright.

McClean one of our best players but doesn't say much.

I think we could've won the game with Brady And/or Hoolahan available.

Deeply saddened about Coleman's injury and that could affect us later in the campaign.

Gutted for Coleman. Wish him the best and thankfully he'll have the summer to recouperate. If it's a clean break then all the better for recovery.
Opportunity for Doherty, one would think. I would say Christie will not look back on his cameo performance with any degree of satisfaction. He really struggled.

mark12345
24/03/2017, 10:19 PM
Agree completely about McGeady. Only given 11 minutes and produced three crosses which could have been converted. He was a real threat to them. Shot wildly over the top however when he should have hit the target.

24/03/2017, 10:51 PM
Not funny, TC

Neither were the asaults by the Welsh players.

TheOneWhoKnocks
24/03/2017, 11:08 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/RustyRoyal/status/845398252610555904?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp %5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

I sincerely hope that isn't what it looks like.

TrapAPony
24/03/2017, 11:28 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/RustyRoyal/status/845398252610555904?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp %5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

I sincerely hope that isn't what it looks like.

Seems like Ledley laughing and Taylor smiling.:bad::bad:

Edit : Seen Taylor walking off the pitch apologising to the Irish management. Seemed pretty devastated. Only he knows what he meant to do.

backstothewall
24/03/2017, 11:30 PM
Does anyone have the game recorded? I'm very curious about how there was only 4 minutes of injury time. There were a number of subs and Coleman was down for quite a while.

KrisLetang
24/03/2017, 11:33 PM
All due respect to you Backie but do they not have DVR in Belfast?

backstothewall
24/03/2017, 11:53 PM
Ha. We do but unfortunately it doesn't pick up the EPG information from free state telly so recording from RTE is impossible.

I do have my copy of Ireland v Italy from 1994 on VCR, from back in the days when this sort of thing worked perfectly.

backstothewall
24/03/2017, 11:57 PM

And then there's this bull**** to deal with trying to watch something online. The irony of where the guy being interviewed is from being blatently obvious!

25/03/2017, 12:48 AM
Despite the poor game, I thought there was some great entertainment at times. The tackle was horrendous, and Bale also could have walked for his rash challenge only a minute earlier.

Was really there for the taking though, and while it was a game that was more must-not-lose than must-win, it really puts a bit of a spanner in the works now knowing that there was very little better chance for us to really grab 1st place in the group by the balls.

Also, it was incredibly, fantastically, and amazingly hilarious to see the band there after banning the Welsh from bringing in their trumpets. Saying that, I'd love to smash them over the heads of the lads playing. Terribly forced and annoying atmosphere, and blasting it through the tannoy was just needlessly ridiculous.

SwanVsDalton
25/03/2017, 1:15 AM
Pluses
- The McBride shirt presented by the Welsh side to Michael D. Classy.
- The applause on five minutes. Emotional.
- McClean's performance. It wasn't exactly world class, but serious respect for playing with controlled, sustained aggression. Can't have been easy after this week.

Negatives
- The game. The performance . The ref.

Nightmares
- That Taylor tackle
- This entire miserable week

There are no words
- THE TRUMPETS

Thought Bale was lucky to stay on the field, particularly after he appeared to kick McClean in the chest. But had a different view at the game (for instance, was far away from Taylor's tackle knew it was late but had no idea how badly Seamy was injured until later).

Absolute disaster for Coleman. Gutted for him.

KrisLetang
25/03/2017, 5:10 AM
Michael D Classy is Nigel Harps porn name.

liamoo11
25/03/2017, 6:45 AM

I can't agree. He was so poor on the ball and so immobile. He was sitting on our centre halves. We can never press the ball when he plays cause he does not have the athleticism to cover the ground. If people who love whelan on here for his positional sense mastery want that great but we will never get those high octane Italy performances where we are on the front foot when he plays.mccarthy was a huge miss.

25/03/2017, 6:52 AM
Also, it was incredibly, fantastically, and amazingly hilarious to see the band there after banning the Welsh from bringing in their trumpets.
I thought it was really pointless, childish stuff.

25/03/2017, 7:11 AM
Does anyone have the game recorded? I'm very curious about how there was only 4 minutes of injury time. There were a number of subs and Coleman was down for quite a while.
There were 4 subs - one at half time and two while Coleman was down. I thought four minutes was about right.

25/03/2017, 8:19 AM
Haven't been able to check the forum since last night, and haven't read all the thread, but I'd appreciate it if you didn't share any photos of the tackle itself, please and thank you

25/03/2017, 8:43 AM
I thought it was really pointless, childish stuff.

ruined what should have been a great atmosphere. everyone around me giving out yards everytime they piped up. who comes up with this nonsense and surely a home team is not allowed pipe music over the pa system during the match??

DannyInvincible
25/03/2017, 10:48 AM
A brutal game all round. I'm devastated for Séamie. It couldn't have happened to a nicer character in football; awful for him. The tackle was simply disgraceful. Taylor obviously didn't mean it and you could tell he himself was gutted, but, sweet Jesus, it was just so, so reckless. Séamie's absence, presumably for what will be much of the remainder of the campaign, will be a massive blow for us. The injury actually made the result feel a bit like a loss.

Bale should have seen red too. Ref was rather casual.

Generally, we were very poor going forward, created little and left it way too late to make a final push or even take advantage of the extra man. We looked very limited and although McGeady provided a bit of a spark when he came on - he should have been on way earlier - we still didn't create much. It might also have been worth throwing Horgan on. We were completely impotent through the middle though and seemed limited to crosses. Although Horgan wouldn't necessarily have helped on that front, maybe we needed someone like Hourihane in there too. Hard to know considering it'd be a big call to give a player a senior international debut under such circumstances.

Whelan played terribly. Slowed everything right down and could well have been sent off for an idiotic and inexplicable attempt to elbow his Stoke team-mate, Allen, in the face. Hendrick played very poorly also.

We weren't troubled a huge deal at the back.

McClean gave everything on what was an emotional night for him. Deserved man-of-the-match.

Who on earth was behind the trumpet idea? It was an embarrassment - trying to contrive an atmosphere - and was absolutely murdering the genuine atmosphere that developed during the final push for a goal.

DannyInvincible
25/03/2017, 11:01 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C7t1OZ9X0AARdO2.jpg

Just on this photo doing the rounds that allegedly shows Ledley "laughing" and Taylor "smiling" just after the tackle and within metres of Coleman lying on the ground, I think it would be unfair to jump to conclusions on the basis of a solitary photo. Ledley's face is certainly contorted but he could be grimacing at the horrific nature of the injury for all we know.

Meanwhile, Taylor was clearly genuinely upset. He apologised to the management team on his way off and Shane Long claimed (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/0325/862491-shane-long/) that he had been in tears. I definitely don't think his facial expression in the photo there is a smile. It looks more like despair to me.

gastric
25/03/2017, 11:01 AM
Between singing 'Stand up' and the trumpet, you could have been at an Ulster rugby game!

25/03/2017, 11:03 AM
Despite the poor game, I thought there was some great entertainment at times.
I really enjoyed the last 20 minutes. It was a real old-fashioned game then - long throws, Terry Butcher bandannas, two arms up for a corner (have players stopped doing that these days?), proper sliding tackles, hoofs clear, pump it long into the box.

No skill at all on show bar Bale of course, but feck it, skill isn't necessarily required for entertainment.

The first 70 minutes were utterly dire of course, and if we do go to the World Cup, it'll be as a team who are killing football.

Olé Olé
25/03/2017, 11:11 AM
We could have won that. McGeady demonstrated why he should have started. I thought Whelan was okay and I thought Meyler and Hendrick were poor and I think that's the root of the result.

But, honestly, I'm utterly gutted about Coleman. The only positive is I don't think anyone in our squad would be as incredibly diligent about their recovery. The man is an inspirational character in every aspect and demonstrates some of the most honorable traits a man can e.g.Work ethic, honesty, loyalty, passion... I could be here for the day. I hope so much that he comes back as quick as possible and as recovered as possible.

Fixer82
25/03/2017, 11:17 AM
Was the trumpet pumped through the P.A.?

😩

25/03/2017, 11:24 AM
There was a microphone in front of the band, so yep, relayed around the ground.

The fake cheering at half time was almost as bad.

On a separate note, I missed who took over as captain after Coleman went off. Was it Whelan? (I presume Coleman started as captain, but I only got to the ground at kick off, and didn't even notice until half-time that McCarthy had failed a late fitness test)