View Full Version : Amhrán na bhFiann

10/02/2005, 2:26 PM
I was singing Amhrán na bhFiann last night as loud as I could before the game and noted that I was nearly the only one around me singing it and also I noticed some people giving me odd looks and nudging their friends and nodding over at me as if I was singing some weird unheard of song..I almost felt embarrassed singing our National Anthem FFS! :confused:

Eire06
10/02/2005, 2:35 PM
I was a bit of a disgrace all right...

The bloody few portugal fans sang theirs louder that us.....

Something really has to be done about it

10/02/2005, 2:42 PM
I was a bit of a disgrace all right...

The bloody few portugal fans sang theirs louder that us.....

they could start by turning down the Garda band a notch or two. they blast their playing of the anthem over the pa system and drown out what little amt of the crowd are singing!

Eire06
10/02/2005, 2:44 PM
they could start by turning down the Garda band a notch or two. they blast their playing of the anthem over the pa system and drown out what little amt of the crowd are singing!

The portagease (*spelling) managed to sing over them why couldn't we

Metrostars
10/02/2005, 2:45 PM
I notice over here in the US, everyone, and I mean everyone belts out the Star Spankled Banner when it's played at sporting events and other functions. I think it's bad not many know the word past "Sinne Fianna Fail" and/or couldnt be bothered to sing it and always drown out the last line.

BTW How many of us know the last 3 verses?

http://www.detroitirish.org/anthem.html

10/02/2005, 2:48 PM
It gets belted out at competitive home games and at away matches.

Eire06
10/02/2005, 2:48 PM
I notice over here in the US, everyone, and I mean everyone belts out the Star Spankled Banner when it's played at sporting events and other functions. I think it's bad not many know the word past "Sinne Fianna Fail" and/or couldnt be bothered to sing it and always drown out the last line.

BTW How many of us know the last 3 verses?

http://www.detroitirish.org/anthem.html

Ya I think theyre all thought in school how to sing it... I was thought in Irish college the proper words (used to make them up before that) We should be thought in school as part of Irish class the words....

10/02/2005, 2:56 PM
My mam thought me when i was a wee kid but it wasn't that people didn't know the words that ****ed me off that much it was the fact that people were nearly taking the **** out of me for actually singing it.. not literally but you know the wee look of "what the hell is he singing for?"

10/02/2005, 2:58 PM
Didn't get a ticket so watched it at home. Haveto say you'd never think there was 44,000 at it. There was no athmosphere coming across on tv, like watching a wake, this despite the fact that it wasn't a bad game.

Eire06
10/02/2005, 2:59 PM
My mam thought me when i was a wee kid but it wasn't that people didn't know the words that ****ed me off that much it was the fact that people were nearly taking the **** out of me for actually singing it.. not literally but you know the wee look of "what the hell is he singing for?"
Oh right I get you now...

There was a few around me singing it so I didn't notice anyone lookin at us...

But I know what you mean if you go to a 'country' nightclub the sometimes play at the end of a night and if you sing along your looked at as if you have 10 heads

10/02/2005, 3:13 PM
Oh right I get you now...

There was a few around me singing it so I didn't notice anyone lookin at us...

But I know what you mean if you go to a 'country' nightclub the sometimes play at the end of a night and if you sing along your looked at as if you have 10 heads

Maybe it is just not seen as "cool" to be singing it.. :rolleyes:

Eire06
10/02/2005, 3:14 PM
Maybe it is just not seen as "cool" to be singing it.. :rolleyes:

You sayin I'm not cool are ya?? he he

10/02/2005, 3:18 PM

You shouldn't be forced to sing along in those situations, the National Anthem has no place being played at 2.00am for a bunch of drunk, groping bystanders.

The above though is an example of where this country is f**ked up, we'll demand the anthem is played when we're drunk or at football games abroad, but we'll routinely disrespect it and our flag (and our language to extend the debate) at home. As a nation we don't learn to have any pride in being Irish, and it leaves the average Irishman with an inferiority complex that is only overcome with 'p!ssed patriotism' and misdirected notions of what being Irish means....

bla bla bla, have to stop ranting or I'll end up throwing the bloody computer screen across the office. :o

Eire06
10/02/2005, 3:28 PM
You shouldn't be forced to sing along in those situations, the National Anthem has no place being played at 2.00am for a bunch of drunk, groping bystanders.

The above though is an example of where this country is f**ked up, we'll demand the anthem is played when we're drunk or at football games abroad, but we'll routinely disrespect it and our flag (and our language to extend the debate) at home. As a nation we don't learn to have any pride in being Irish, and it leaves the average Irishman with an inferiority complex that is only overcome with '****ed patriotism' and misdirected notions of what being Irish means....

bla bla bla, have to stop ranting or I'll end up throwing the bloody computer screen across the office. :o

Wasn't sayin should be force to sing it at 2am was just lettin holidaysong I knew how they felt with people lookin at you strange for singing it..
I always respect our national flag and anthem and I do speak fluent Irish.. And I take great pride in being Irish
but I think I'm in the minority, I do think children should be thought the Irish national anthem and how to speak conversational Irish in school or at home for that matter....
But its just not done...
Lately though its 'fashionable' to send you children to a gaelscoil so hopefull in a round about way this will help promote the language culture ect...

10/02/2005, 3:47 PM
I always respect our national flag and anthem and I do speak fluent Irish.. And I take great pride in being Irish
Sorry if the rant came across as an attack on you Eire06, definitely was not the intention, it's just something that rubs me up the wrong way

but I think I'm in the minority, I do think children should be thought the Irish national anthem and how to speak conversational Irish in school or at home for that matter..
I'm afraid we're both in that minority. While many would disagree with me (and as long as the rat race in schools remains the way it is, they're probably right) I think the first step should be to take Irish off the Schools Examination Curriculum, while requiring that students have a certain number of Irish classes a week.

Then start out with a focus on teaching it at the youngest age group through stories (Fianna et al especially) and (for want of a better word) fun and create an association as early as poosible that the language is to be enjoyed, tenses and rules can be improved upon and introduced as you progress.

having the Módh Conníollach drilled into me when I was ten was not the way to get me to appreciate the language, unfortunately that's come far too late :(

wexfordned
10/02/2005, 3:50 PM
I think every kid in schoo should be made learn the national anthem.

I think the main reason people dont sing it, is that most people dont actually know the words, which is a sad state of affairs.

Cowboy
10/02/2005, 3:52 PM

I'm really proud to sing our Anthem at games hone and away but I do agree with you that it should not be played in a drinking enviroment at 2.00 am where is does not get the respect it deserves. I think its also abused by musicians etc as a way not to play anymore songs.

Another thing puzzles me is why guys put their hands behind their back when singing, if you want to stand to attention (in a military sense anyway) your hands should be by your side.

Anyone shed any light on this ?

Eire06
10/02/2005, 3:59 PM
I think the first step should be to take Irish off the Schools Examination Curriculum, while requiring that students have a certain number of Irish classes a week.

Will I agree with most you said I have to disagree with the above.. If kids are anything like I was as a child they will not learn anything unless the have to.. hence the Exam...

I Do think Irish classes should be changed to be more fun and more about conversational Irish and less about grammer. There should be more points for your Oral exam for example....
The structure where the 'horrible' Irish teacher stands up the top of the class with the wooden ruler shoutin at you.. just isn't workin

Kerryman
10/02/2005, 4:19 PM
Best rendition of the NA at sporting events in recent times has been at Ireland's soccer competitive home games.
Last night was strange - no one sang - poor support throughout the game.
I think it's to do with the regulars giving tickets for friendlies to people who don't normally attend.
It's great to have our own anthem in our own Language.
How do you descibe the feeling of singing your own anthem in U.S.A. or Japan - before the world - magic.
I think we should have an irish chant - and I'm nominating the song
"Giolla Mear" - with a liitle rewriting it would scare the S^&t out of any opposition

Cowboy
10/02/2005, 5:22 PM
ya i can, its from going to gaelic matches and watching your aul fella and your neighbour and uncle and their aul fellas stand for the national anthem

Does not really explain the hands behind the back now does it ? When i was in the army we always stood to attention with hands by our sides, hands behind the back is the "at ease" position

10/02/2005, 7:20 PM
The portagease (*spelling) managed to sing over them why couldn't we

sorry... dont get me wrong, i'm not excusing it at all. its just that it might help if people were able to hear others actually singing it. they may be more inclined to join in then. also, i genuinely believe that most people dont know all the words.... might be an idea to scroll the words accross the electronic scoreboard while the band plays

Bald Student
10/02/2005, 7:31 PM
These are the very same people who belt out Ireland's Call and rave about Brian O'D roysh. I've been to a lot of rugby internationals as well as soccer ones and I can assure you that much more rugby fans sing the anthems (both of them in rugby) than soccer fans.

10/02/2005, 8:45 PM
I was singing Amhrán na bhFiann last night as loud as I could before the game and noted that I was nearly the only one around me singing it and also I noticed some people giving me odd looks and nudging their friends and nodding over at me as if I was singing some weird unheard of song..I almost felt embarrassed singing our National Anthem FFS! :confused:

Just backs up my arguements on other threads. most in attendence probably dont know the words.

maybe we should sing god save the queen instead :mad:

10/02/2005, 11:07 PM
maybe they could play it on Sky Sports or on Match of the Day, so all the "Irish" fans could get used to hearing it :rolleyes:

It's a bloody disgrace alright

10/02/2005, 11:09 PM
it should not be played in a drinking enviroment at 2.00 am where is does not get the respect it deserves.
apart from anything else, it's actually illegal to play it anywhere where alcohol is being served. Another example of the respect we show it :rolleyes:

IsMiseSean
10/02/2005, 11:14 PM
I hated learning Irish when I was in school, probably because I found it difficult :o . Now I'm doing my best to learn Irish again, because I think to quote 'Tuff Paddy' "That language is now pretty much the only thing that makes us different".

I've always stood with my hands behind my back when singing the Anthem, its just something I've always seen the older generation do I don't know why.

and personally I think Ireland's Call is a disgrace, at the Italian game last sunday they didn't even play Amhran na bhFiann :mad:

This country is becoming more like england everyday. On RTE news today they had a full report on prince charles getting engaged, on TV3 they even had a poll, who f**kin' cares he has nothing to do with this country :mad:

11/02/2005, 8:19 AM
[QUOTE=JGKyne]and personally I think Ireland's Call is a disgrace, at the Italian game last sunday they didn't even play Amhran na bhFiann :mad:

[QUOTE]

It is never played at away rugby games as the team represents the whole island. Indeed home games in Northern Ireland would see God Save the Queen and Ireland's Call played for us and the Union Jack flown for us. Hasn't happened since 1954 but Ravenhill is long overdue an Irish International since Thomond Park has hosted a couple. I suspect the above will be changed before Ravenhill does get to host a game btw but if it hosted a game tomorrow that is what would happen. It actually caused controversy back in 1954 too as one player stayed in the dressingroom until the anthems were finished. Ireland's only Grand Slam was won with a Corkman scoring the winning try playing under the UJ and GSTQ at Ravenhill in 1948

I go to all the home rugby games and would disagree that the anthem is sung with more passion than at football. I think it is down to the big occasion and wednesday night was still a friendly and it doesn't really matter - I'd gladly take defeats at home to China and Italy if we could be guaranteed wins over Israel and France.

Cowboy
11/02/2005, 9:14 AM
Round these parts, if the anthem of a foreign country came on the telly, I would certainly stay quiet if someone politely asked me.

would you have to be asked to do this ?

Eire06
11/02/2005, 9:57 AM
sorry... dont get me wrong, i'm not excusing it at all. its just that it might help if people were able to hear others actually singing it. they may be more inclined to join in then. also, i genuinely believe that most people dont know all the words.... might be an idea to scroll the words accross the electronic scoreboard while the band plays

Just thinking back on it now it could have been the crowd at the match cause over in Paris we managed to sing it so it could be heard.... Mind you we gave the French anthem a good blast too....

11/02/2005, 10:08 AM
i think there is a difference between chile playing fiji on tele in a pub in ireland or england compared to ireland playing in an irish pub in england..

is there though? what if your Greek/Indian guests were actually Chilean/Fijian, same difference if you ask me, the point Conor is making is that they didn't neccessarily recognise the National anthem and that was the reason for the lack of 'respect'.

Cowboy
11/02/2005, 10:18 AM
Certainly, if Chile were playing Fiji and it was shown on the telly in a pub, I wouldn't drop everything because their anthems were playing. Would you?

Yes I would, I take the view that you cannot truly respect your own anthem if you do not respect others anthems, having said that I would not try to impose this view on others around me, each man/woman must make their own mind up.

Respecting anthems is not á la carte , respect all or none would be my view.

11/02/2005, 10:26 AM
Fair enough pronane,

going slightly off topic for a second, what is it that makes the English Fans (and unlike the hooligan argument, I believe it's 50/50 if not the majority) boo the opposing national anthem, I find it disgusting.

The racket they made during the Dutch anthem on Wednesday (heard it after the Irish match) was disgraceful.

11/02/2005, 10:37 AM
i didnt hear that, as I was watching the IRELAND match :p

just to clear it up, i was at the irish match and heard it afterwards :p

Your comment on the French away game, at the time I felt singing along was probably a little close to being inappropriate, though I hope the Franch took it in the friendly manner it was intended.

(having said that i have an mpeg of it saved on the pc to relive the moment :D )

Junior
11/02/2005, 10:39 AM
Then again, i think us humming along to the french national anthem ( although it was uplifting ) was rude as well. I know its one of those catchy anthems, but would the french have looked on us the same way as we look on teh english booing?? Its a fair enough question

sorry for all the foul language.

Don't know for certain as I don't know any French fans who were at the game.

However, I suspect it was taking in the spirit in which it was meant.

A big difference between

A) BOOING throughout the duration of an Anthem

and

B) Singing along with a National Anthem (Although I'd sayy99.9% didn't know the words :D )

11/02/2005, 10:45 AM
Although I'd say 99.9% didn't know the words :D

that's a very conservative estimate :D :D :D

11/02/2005, 10:48 AM
any chance of uploading that???

don't know how :o , but if you pm your email address I'll send it to you :) .

Eire06
11/02/2005, 10:54 AM
I do always say i would love to see us play them in a big competition and stuff them, but I honestly do feel they wouldnt take to this kindly and there could be alot of trouble before/during and after the game.

Sure it wasn't until Ireland scored the goal in '96 that the trouble started in Lansdowne... They wouldn't take it lightly at all

Then again, i think us humming along to the french national anthem ( although it was uplifting ) was rude as well. I know its one of those catchy anthems, but would the french have looked on us the same way as we look on teh english booing?? Its a fair enough question

Don't think it was rude in the slightest bit.. The French were happy to have us singing\humming along to their anthem they saw it as a mark of respect ( Read in French paper) and good sport...

I would be happy if an opposing team sang along to Amhran na bhFiann as long as they weren't takin the pi$$.. We weren't takin the pi$$ in Paris we were just all hyped up and delighted to be there and its a great anthem so we sang along...

Booing is a totally different story its disgracefull and should never happer

Aldini98
11/02/2005, 11:38 AM
Well at least we don't have to listen to the poxy "Irelands Call" at soccer matches, Amhran Na bhFiann is our national Anthem and should be sung as loudly and proudly as is possible.

green army
11/02/2005, 12:36 PM
Your comment on the French away game, at the time I felt singing along was probably a little close to being inappropriate, though I hope the Franch took it in the friendly manner it was intended.

(having said that i have an mpeg of it saved on the pc to relive the moment :D )

i agree with what you have said.when i first heard the crowd humming it i didnt know what to do. but there was no malice in it.it is a catchy anthem. i also saved it on me pc and now have it on cd so i play it every one in a while.

rqumentative
11/02/2005, 1:31 PM
The problem is Lansdowne and the numerous suits at the matches.
Compare and contrast with the game in Paris.
Give me an away game any day.

11/02/2005, 2:37 PM
i look around this country sometimes and i think after all the struggle and fight to be a free nation we are nothing but an English province.

Eire06
11/02/2005, 2:38 PM
i look around this country sometimes and i think after all the struggle and fight to be a free nation we are nothing but an English province.
Come to Galway for a visit

11/02/2005, 2:41 PM

i was refering to Dublin in and the crowd in lansdowne in particular. Its different(a bit) down here

Eire06
11/02/2005, 2:45 PM
i was refering to Dublin in and the crowd in lansdowne in particular. Its different(a bit) down here outside the pail...

Eire06
11/02/2005, 2:52 PM
He's giving out about England. The last thing he needs is a bunch of English hippies... ;)

Ya What??? :confused: :confused: :confused:

Eire06
11/02/2005, 3:03 PM
I thought Galway was a bit like West Cork...lot's of people who 'opted out' of English society, and who could fill in an application form for an Arts Council Grant in 0.782 seconds flat...

Ya make me laugh
ya a lot did 'opt out' of English society...

Well someone had to attempt to keep Ireland Irish

11/02/2005, 4:07 PM
I'd sayy99.9% didn't know the words :D
You mean the words aren't da da-da da da da DAAAAAAAA da-da?!?! :eek: :D

11/02/2005, 4:15 PM
So not only do I not know what the words are, I also don't know what they aren't?! :o :p

11/02/2005, 5:04 PM
A voice like thunder spake.......the west's awake, the west's awake :)

Donal81
11/02/2005, 6:16 PM
Off on a complete tangent, a friend of mine once remarked that if people in this country are serious about wanting a united Ireland, the national anthem and the flag will definitely have to change if nationalists and unionists are to compromise on it. Sorry if this is too political any feel free to move it moderator but what do you think?