And if, when all a vigil keep,
The West's asleep! the West's asleep!
Alas! and well may Erin weep
For Connacht lies in slumber deep.
But, hark! a voice like thunder spake,
The West's awake! the West's awake!
Sing, Oh! hurrah! let England quake,
We'll watch till death for Erin's sake
yeah, couldn't remember them exactly. I have a Luke Kelly CD- its haunting the way he sings it
11/02/2005, 8:49 PM
I don't think anyone has a bias, but a few here are annoyed with the whole 'you had it easy, we were on the front line against the tans' attitude - in fairness to you I don't think you bang that drum. Noone in their right mind would have a serious go at an Irish person based overseas, but noone likes the idea that somehow someone who got on the boat has more pride in Ireland and being Irish than those who remained.
This may seem strange but when I left 20yrs ago I became more Irish than when I was living at home. In other words I became more aware of my history and heritage. As shameful as this may seem, I did not learn the words to our National anthem till my late twenties. Did anyone else, who is living overseas, go through the same patriotic phase?
I just wish their was more unity. Fair enough, I'm from the country and I don't know Dublin that well or who gets Setanta or whatever, I just call it as I see it and I've been away 11 years and it breaks my heart when I see Irish schoolboys not capable of singing our national anthem.
They all seem capable of cheering on a Portuguese winger who plays for Man Utd though. This irritates the hell out of me.
I get home three times a year and I'm currently saving for the Faroes trip. I just honestly wish there was a bit more unity and one-Irelandness around here. Rant over.
Great post. and exactly what we all want. Ireland needs to Be Irish. and frankly, if you go by the premiership bar stooler that frequent Lansdowne road, it certainly isn't. Can they not see it? is Irishness gone? Dead?
W.B. Yeats
September 1913
What need you, being come to sense,
But fumble in a greasy till
And add the halfpence to the pence
And prayer to shivering prayer, until
5 You have dried the marrow from the bone;
For men were born to pray and save:
Romantic Ireland's dead and gone,
It's with O'Leary in the grave.
Yet they were of a different kind,
10 The names that stilled your childish play,
They have gone about the world like wind,
But little time had they to pray
For whom the hangman's rope was spun,
And what, God help us, could they save?
15 Romantic Ireland's dead and gone,
Was it for this the wild geese spread
The grey wing upon every tide;
For this that all that blood was shed,
20 For this Edward Fitzgerald died,
And Robert Emmet and Wolfe Tone,
All that delirium of the brave?
Romantic Ireland's dead and gone,
25 Yet could we turn the years again,
And call those exiles as they were
In all their loneliness and pain,
You'd cry, „Some woman's yellow hair
Has maddened every mother's son“:
30 They weighed so lightly what they gave.
But let them be, they're dead and gone,
They're with O'Leary in the grave.
*alcohol makes you emotional :)
sylvo
12/02/2005, 10:18 AM
in haste they were greeks ( they had big noses )
the cobra is in other places other than india too.
I wasnt a tourist conor, its my local pub, i know the lads well, the landlord is from roscommon, same place as me. These guys i had never seen before and were being annoyingly loud themselves. So i take offence at you saying some fat yank roaring whilst trying to compare me to him.
I take it you were watching the game in the Inn under age ;) , To be fair it could have been a one off, watched Cavan (my dads county) v Derry last summer in there the same day Greece played Portugal and as the game went on the pub filled up with young Greek lads to get the seats near the big screens and as they seen a couple of Greek flags being waved by the Cavan fans on the telly they all started cheering on Cavan. :D They also got right into the Wexford v Offaly Lienster Hurling final after, great craic that day.
Mind you did see it nearly boot off before Cork v Wexford two years ago when a couple of gezzers in hacket tops started fcecking about talking the phiss during the anthem.
You should go to O'Raffertys for the games instead. &1 .60 a pint of Guinness sunday to thursday. Also great craic in there when a team that you can't talk about on here are playing on telly. ;)
sylvo
12/02/2005, 10:35 AM
I don't think anyone has a bias, but a few here are annoyed with the whole 'you had it easy, we were on the front line against the tans' attitude - in fairness to you I don't think you bang that drum. Noone in their right mind would have a serious go at an Irish person based overseas, but noone likes the idea that somehow someone who got on the boat has more pride in Ireland and being Irish than those who remained.
You wouldn't be meaning us lot now would you Conor. :D Now were has any of us said that you folks had it all easy back over in Ireland. :rolleyes:
Come on your making things up again :D and have not got any proof to back that statement up, bit like the statement about the fans of a Belfast club who must have gone out of their way to wind up Portadown fans outside a builders yard or a field full of rocks.
Come to think of it, i'd say you fella's back home are on the front line against the tans, seeing that thats who the media over there seems to be obsessed with, as well as Irish fans worrying and getting carryed away with what tan club opposing players play for. ;)
EireBadBoy
13/02/2005, 2:45 AM
Just thought I might add, the words to the National Anthem are printed in the programme beside the teams. It helped me slightly even though I admit my Irish is pure brutal.
No need for the whole racist debate though.
13/02/2005, 12:35 PM
sorry for all the foul language.Then stop doing it, the filters are there for a reason. If you don't, I'll be forced to delete all of your posts, since I don't have time to go through them one by one.
Wot? No 'huns'?
aye ive gone there a few times before sylvo. No im not underage eitehr what did you mean by that???
not that many go to oraffertys anymore plus the screen quality isnt very good.
I meant that at weekend night's it does double up as a crech. The screen has got a bit better in O'Raffertys, its just gottta get a little tap sometimes.
15/02/2005, 12:02 AM
'Amhran na bhFiann' isn't sang by most people at Ireland games because most people don't know the words. Plain and simple.
Getting funny looks if you do sing it is just other people's way of getting round the undoubted discomfort they feel at not being able to sing along themselves. And believe me, they feel that discomfort. There's a lot of bowed heads and shuffled feet that goes on during the anthem, particularly for that reason...
It's nothing short of an embarassment that the majority of Irish people do not know their own national anthem. I can't think of any other country in the world where such a situation COULD possibly arise, let alone does arise.
The same with the flag - feckers will argue with you 'til their blue in the face that it's supposed to be green, white and gold.
I do believe that both the anthem and the flag may well change in the future as part of the solution to the Northern situation. Would be sad to see 'Amhran' go, but it's a small price for sorting the country out.
Just as long as we don't replace it with that Eurovision elevator music 'Ireland's call. Yeuch....
P.S. Noticed at the Scotland rugby game on Saturday that they flew the 4 provinces flag and cross of St Patrick above the stadium, but not the tricolour. The overwhelming majority of flags inside where the national one though.
15/02/2005, 12:11 AM
I notice over here in the US, everyone, and I mean everyone belts out the Star Spankled Banner when it's played at sporting events and other functions. I think it's bad not many know the word past "Sinne Fianna Fail" and/or couldnt be bothered to sing it and always drown out the last line.
BTW How many of us know the last 3 verses?
http://www.detroitirish.org/anthem.html
Ballax to the last 3 verses Metrostars - they don't even follow the same tune as the first (using the full 'Presidential tune' element of the song instead).
And I'd urge caution to anyone wanting to use that Detroit Irish site to learn the anthem. It's riddled with spelling errors, some of them painfully glaring. They haven't even spelt the name of the anthem right for feck sake - 'Amhan na bhFiann' translates roughly as 'The Soldier's Luck/Speculation' !! :confused:
Painfully embarassing...... :mad:
15/02/2005, 1:39 PM
In Croke Park the anthem is displayed on the big screen and loads more people are singing it than in Lansdowne Road - there could be other reasons for this though.
15/02/2005, 1:51 PM
In Croke Park the anthem is displayed on the big screen and loads more people are singing it than in Lansdowne Road - there could be other reasons for this though.
...the fact that there are more people in Croke Park for one!!! ;) :D :D