View Full Version : 2017 Pre-season friendlies
Pablo Escobar
12/02/2017, 2:15 PM
McClean and the few Cork lads look like they're clearly having a bitta banter. Get over it. Jesus if a decision costs ye a point this year, ye'll still be talking about it in 20 years....
I knew we'd somehow get the blame :D
That's not banter, it's idiocy. There's a few digs thrown at Bolger for something he apparently did too. So, banter is ruled out in this one IMO. It doesn't matter if it's from our players or not, this should not be put in the public domain.
sulywaterfordfc
12/02/2017, 2:38 PM
[QUOTE=Pablo Escobar;1906853It doesn't matter if it's from our players or not, this should not be put in the public domain.[/QUOTE]
I most certainly agree with you there. They should have more cop on when it comes to social media. Especially as they're seen as role models for kids.
Yossarian
12/02/2017, 4:46 PM
I most certainly agree with you there. They should have more cop on when it comes to social media. Especially as they're seen as role models for kids.
I've no real opinion on the issue nor do I care, but I find this viewpoint that footballers are somehow role models for kids as bizarre. Why should someone who plays football for a living be held to a higher standard than an ordinary Joe Bloggs?
Philosophizer
12/02/2017, 6:05 PM
Especially as they're seen as role models for kids.
Oh please
12/02/2017, 8:13 PM
I've no real opinion on the issue nor do I care, but I find this viewpoint that footballers are somehow role models for kids as bizarre. Why should someone who plays football for a living be held to a higher standard than an ordinary Joe Bloggs?
Without the please think of the kids stuff, I am pretty sure that players contracts include a code of conduct. It isnt just footballers, it is any employee, student, member of an organisation that could blemish a reputation especially if there is sponsorship (image) involved. That stuff aside I think that it is a given that people who are looked up to as 'role-models' in a community/football club, by whomever in normal circumstances, do have a responsibility beyond the ordinary Joe Bloggs. Maybe this is blurred in a country where politicians, for example, behave dispicably at times!?
12/02/2017, 9:00 PM
Bray beat Athlone 6-0, what's more unusual is that according to Bray the FAI directed that it be played behind closed doors. Did they not officially sanction the game or something? Is there a nasty surprise looming at Licensing decision time (most likely for Athlone if so).
Or maybe I'm reading too much into it, as it seems Pats v Cabinteely was played behind closed doors. Anyone know what the reason is?
sbgawa
13/02/2017, 2:14 AM
Stewarding / stadium costs v potential crowd ?
13/02/2017, 7:11 AM
Possibly but never been the case for any pre season games before. It's the FAI direction which is curious.
MattB11
13/02/2017, 7:29 AM
Harps and Derry played a behind closed doors game on Saturday morning, no official games because of referee conference according to our forum
Ezeikial
13/02/2017, 8:51 AM
Harps and Derry played a behind closed doors game on Saturday morning, no official games because of referee conference according to our forum
What's the connection between a referee conference and not letting spectators in?
Presumably there was a referee and assistants for the game?
Maybe that's the marketing whizz to re-ignite the league - stimulate interest by banning spectators?
No refs means not an official game which means clubs can't announce it or risk having the FAI come down on them. I doubt there were actual closed doors involved and if people had happened along they could have watched.
El-Pietro
13/02/2017, 11:07 AM
Happens all the time, City played UCC in a similar game this year, very few people knew about.
The refs conference is on around this time every year and a lot of clubs end up playing unofficial games with local refs to get a game in as it is so close to the season (hey referees, maybe don't have your conference in the two weeks before the season starts).
Bray Head
13/02/2017, 1:04 PM
The FAI don't allow fans to attend matches in Abbotstown as there are no spectator viewing points so that's probably why it was called behind closed doors.
13/02/2017, 1:32 PM
No refs means not an official game which means clubs can't announce it or risk having the FAI come down on them. I doubt there were actual closed doors involved and if people had happened along they could have watched.
Athlone appear to be taking this a little further and refusing to acknowledge that there even was a game. Or who their manager is, what players they have etc..
littlebray
13/02/2017, 2:01 PM
Athlone appear to be taking this a little further and refusing to acknowledge that there even was a game. Or who their manager is, what players they have etc..
No, it's on their facebook. And a propos playing at Abbotstown, that doesn't appear to have been Bray's choice - or Athlone's
13/02/2017, 2:13 PM
No, it's on their facebook. And a propos playing at Abbotstown, that doesn't appear to have been Bray's choice - or Athlone's
Saw it on their Fans page, don't see it on what appears to be their official page
littlebray
13/02/2017, 2:39 PM
Something similar with Bray - the fixture is gone on the site, but the result &c were on the Facebook/Twitter. Probably unsure how to handle it if they were told it had to be CD - sorry, "closed door".
Battery Rover
13/02/2017, 3:42 PM
That's my Athlone Town Facebook page which is now unofficial. The club has its own now
littlebray
13/02/2017, 3:51 PM
That's my Athlone Town Facebook page which is now unofficial. The club has its own now
Address? And have they a new website, too?
Battery Rover
13/02/2017, 7:11 PM
Address? And have they a new website, too?
No new website yet. The .ie one is mine but at minute don't have time to update
White Horse
13/02/2017, 7:11 PM
Galway United 0-1 Limerick (Ogbene)
Ogbene is a great discovery by Limerick, can't stop scoring.
What's the connection between a referee conference and not letting spectators in?
Presumably there was a referee and assistants for the game?
Maybe that's the marketing whizz to re-ignite the league - stimulate interest by banning spectators?
GENIUS. Ban the fans and people will be dying to go. It'll be just like prohibition in the States.
Seriously though, said on our forum that the behind closed doors decision was Liam Buckley's. Have no idea how true that is.
gufcfan
14/02/2017, 10:31 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4y8lZUH7G_c
14/02/2017, 10:45 AM
Jesus the two goals we conceded were shockers. I know it's only pre-season but Robbie and Kelly were caught way too deep for the first and then the second one not a tackle to be seen and lads not sticking to their own men.
14/02/2017, 10:54 AM
Holy sweet feck, that defending was non-existent.
14/02/2017, 11:32 AM
Holy sweet feck, that defending was non-existent.
At the moment I'd say our saving grace is that you see defending like that fairly regularly in this league. More defenders coming in this week though and needed badly.
Jd2793
14/02/2017, 11:32 AM
They don't even look like they are trying for that 2nd goal
bluewhitearmy
14/02/2017, 12:14 PM
That's the kind of defending you get when you decide to go 3 at the back without ever practising 3 at the back and then sticking your totally right footed right back at left back and then the left of the back 3. Hopefully that's one experiment that is never seen again.
Philosophizer
14/02/2017, 1:06 PM
At the moment I'd say our saving grace is that you see defending like that fairly regularly in this league. More defenders coming in this week though and needed badly.
Ah it's rarely ever that bad, at least not in the Prem. That was appalling!
Your saving grace is that it still only pre-season, so players aren't fully fit and teams are probably tinkering with new players/systems.
MattB11
14/02/2017, 8:40 PM
Sligo 1-0 Harps
14/02/2017, 9:59 PM
Dundalk 2-0 Longford. Dundalk had a fella on trial who's played 68 times in the Dutch top flight. Mixed performance from him, clever player but looks a bit off the pace. Don't know will he be given the time to catch up by Stephen because the rest of the squad are In incredible shape, even the underage players slotted in effortlessly towards the end. Slight concern over the goalkeeping position with Sava Going down the tunnel injured and Rodgers already out, could see young Kelly play the PC game against Cork on Friday.
El-Pietro
15/02/2017, 9:35 AM
Was the Dundalk/Longford game not a LSC game? Surely no trialists allowed in that I would have thought? I could be massively wrong here, apologies if it was a standard friendly.
This was a friendly match El P, I think it was the last friendly of the pre season.
Ezeikial
15/02/2017, 10:58 AM
Was the Dundalk/Longford game not a LSC game? Surely no trialists allowed in that I would have thought? I could be massively wrong here, apologies if it was a standard friendly.
We have already taken the monumental step into the last 8 of the venerable Leinster Senior Cup by overcoming St Patricks CY last week
http://www.dundalkfc.com/report-lilywhites-advance-last-8/
Naming a "trialist" in the team sheet is a rather quaint idea - his identity was readily available on Social Media before he even kicked a ball
15/02/2017, 12:10 PM
We have already taken the monumental step into the last 8 of the venerable Leinster Senior Cup by overcoming St Patricks CY last week
http://www.dundalkfc.com/report-lilywhites-advance-last-8/
Naming a "trialist" in the team sheet is a rather quaint idea - his identity was readily available on Social Media before he even kicked a ball
Was refreshing to see a players actually name rather than trialist A on the team sheet last night, not sure who decided that as on the twitter account dundalk listed him as trialist A
seand
15/02/2017, 12:43 PM
He's a Curacao international, people..... I feel an 'obscure nationalities in the Leauge of Ireland' thread coming on
15/02/2017, 12:52 PM
I thought the Trialist brothers had signed for Cork?
Jd2793
15/02/2017, 4:28 PM
This guy eligible to play on Friday against Cork?
thomas72
17/02/2017, 9:01 PM
Limerick 3 Waterford 1
18/02/2017, 3:52 PM
Cabinteely 1-0 Finn Harps
Kieran Marty Waters with the goal.
We're definitely going down and Paddy McCourt is the worst player in history.
thomas72
18/02/2017, 5:13 PM
Any truth he is 2 stone overweight?
White Horse
18/02/2017, 5:47 PM
He wasn't while training with Dundalk a week ago.
18/02/2017, 6:08 PM
Depends what size of stones you're lifting.
19/02/2017, 2:35 AM
I see Ollie's optimism has fed through to the fanbase again this year.
19/02/2017, 10:34 AM
I see Ollie's optimism has fed through to the fanbase again this year.
Look, we'll do well to win any games this year. If we were in the First Division, we'd only have the fourth highest budget. As it stands, we're miles behind everyone else in the Premier. We have to face realities here, we're in an uphill battle from day one. Cork will probably come to Finn Park and beat us, and we'll be looking up right from the word go.
19/02/2017, 12:21 PM
Look, we'll do well to win any games this year. If we were in the First Division, we'd only have the fourth highest budget. As it stands, we're miles behind everyone else in the Premier. We have to face realities here, we're in an uphill battle from day one. Cork will probably come to Finn Park and beat us, and we'll be looking up right from the word go.
Love how you know all the first division budgets already. Ha
sulywaterfordfc
19/02/2017, 1:10 PM
Look, we'll do well to win any games this year. If we were in the First Division, we'd only have the fourth highest budget.
Of a matter of interest who are the three clubs you think have higher budgets then Harps?
Personally looking at it I'd say only Waterford have a bigger budget possibly Longford. As regards the rest, Cobh and Wexford are more or less amateur, Cabinteely only bacame semi pro this year so I can't imagine they're handing out much more then expenses. And UCD have never been known to be spenders and are one of the few clubs whom look as though they try to spend within there means. As for Shels they haven't much of a pot to p*** in, so I can't imagine they're paying players much more then expenses. As for Athlone the less said the better this season. Look like they'll have a team of random non league players from numerous places in Europe.
Do Harps not have a few players on full time deals this year?
bluewhitearmy
19/02/2017, 1:13 PM
Is Freddy Hall still on more money than almost the entire Harps team put together too as reported by Harps fans previously.
19/02/2017, 2:57 PM
Jesus....did people take that seriously?
EAFC_rdfl
19/02/2017, 8:10 PM
Look they're obviously not experts in ollieisms!