View Full Version : LOI fixtures Friday 23rd & Sat 24th Sept.
patrickccfc
24/09/2016, 8:40 PM
Very disappointing result tonight 2 massive dropped points could be pivotal in the title race. Still a game in hand Tuesday but dundalk would still be 5 ahead. Very frustrating
White Horse
24/09/2016, 8:43 PM
Very disappointing result tonight 2 massive dropped points could be pivotal in the title race. Still a game in hand Tuesday but dundalk would still be 5 ahead. Very frustrating
Not an easy place to get three points. Sligo seemed to have the measure of Cork this year, every team has a side they struggle against. Cork might look on that point as a good result at the end of the season.
patrickccfc
24/09/2016, 8:49 PM
Not an easy place to get three points. Sligo seemed to have the measure of Cork this year, every team has a side they struggle against. Cork might look on that point as a good result at the end of the season.
Yeah never easy up there. It would be a great point if we end up beating ye in a few weeks time. After all, we have been the team that seem to have the measure of ye this year
jinxy lilywhite
24/09/2016, 8:52 PM
It's a funny old game
Thank you sligo.
White Horse
24/09/2016, 8:53 PM
Yeah never easy up there. It would be a great point if we end up beating ye in a few weeks time. After all, we have been the team that seem to have the measure of ye this year
Thats a fact. Still a lot of football to be played. I rather have the five points cushion though.
legendz
24/09/2016, 9:21 PM
Ye'll be 4 points behind. Guess you're adding the extra point due to goal difference. It's definitely advantage Dundalk. Cork will have to beat Dundalk in a few weeks to crank up the pressure.
McEneff has had a great season now.
Disappointing result, though not entirely unexpected. Even at one up, I didn't think we'd hold out for a point. Dundalk are great, and after they got their first, there was only going to be one result.
Horgan was great, as usual. Can't see him staying in the league for long.
As an aside, I've always enjoyed trips to Oriel, despite the view, but it's becoming less of a welcoming place. We landed down early, but weren't allowed into the Lilywhite for a pint, "it's closed because of Shamrock Rovers", we were told. Weird thing for them to come out with, as the bar was clearly open, and no indication of what Rovers allegedly did. The toilets are pretty bad, how come the older ones are now closed? Added to all that, we were kept behind for five minutes after the match. Barriers up, line of gardaí, all seemed very over the top. It's a pity that it's gone that way, and it will put people off going.
Oh, and the curry sauce from the chip van is severely lacking in flavour.
Disappointing to hear as Derry fans are usually always accommodated in the Lilywhite lounge, maybe you were in the ground? as I saw a good few Derry fans in the upstairs bar at HT. I always recommend away fans if it suits them to go to the stand, extra fiver but full access to the bar and better options for toilets and food and drink. On the match, I was impressed with Derry, its clear to see why they are 3rd, and definitely one of the better sides to visit this season.
On tonight's match, I thought it would be tough for Cork, but expected a narrow win for them, decent result for Sligo and I think that's them unbeaten now v Cork all season? There will be more twists and turns for sure for both Cork and Dlk but for now its advantage Dundalk, but that's all it is really.
24/09/2016, 10:20 PM
I was impressed with Derry, its clear to see why they are 3rd
They're 4th :)
Until Tuesday :(
sbgawa
24/09/2016, 10:43 PM
Bit harsh....
poster
25/09/2016, 8:36 AM
Certain clubs like Derry and Sligo (among others) are considered friendly and get easy access to bars and into the home section of the stand.
Hasn't been the case for the last season or two.
Ezeikial
25/09/2016, 9:39 AM
You gotta love John Caulfield. He knows it is as good as over.
He tries to convince himself and others that there is still some hope!
Title race far from over, insists Cork City boss Caulfield
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0924/819042-title-race-far-from-over-insists-caulfield/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
jinxy lilywhite
25/09/2016, 9:53 AM
It's far from over. 7pts with a game in hand and you still have to play your rivals.
There is still plenty to play for. Especially when both clubs have to squeeze 7 (dundalk ) 8 (cork) along with fai semi final with a potential replay in 33 days.
I still believe 75 will do it for either club.
The week after the semi finals also now is massive for both. Dundalk have cork squeezed between sligo and rovers .I think Cork have harps and galway at home
legendz
25/09/2016, 10:06 AM
It's far from over.
Exactly. If Cork beat Dundalk and Dundalk draw another game it's back in Cork's hands. A game at a time as they say.
oriel
25/09/2016, 10:08 AM
Ok I'll give you that Charlie, I should of course said 'were 3rd'
oriel
25/09/2016, 10:11 AM
You gotta love John Caulfield. He knows it is as good as over.
He tries to convince himself and others that there is still some hope!
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0924/819042-title-race-far-from-over-insists-caulfield/?
_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
It's a set back for Cork, that's all, and we might slip up in again, however it most certainly is not over, advantage Dundalk, that's it.
Ezeikial
25/09/2016, 10:34 AM
It's a set back for Cork, that's all, and we might slip up in again, however it's most certainly not over, advantage Dundalk, that's it.
It's far from over. 7pts with a game in hand and you still have to play your rivals.
Of course it's still possible for Cork to catch Dundalk
The bookies think it unlikely (Dundalk 1/4, Cork 11/4), and judging from the quotes from that report Caulfield thinks so to.
25/09/2016, 11:32 AM
JC cant make his mind up as earlier in the season he was saying the league was almost done for Cork.
White Horse
25/09/2016, 11:50 AM
I wouldn't read too much into Caulfield's comments. He was interviewed just after the game and must have been frustrated not to get the win. A draw in Sligo is not a disaster but he realises that Cork have less leeway for slip ups than Dundalk. It must be very frustrating to him and to Cork fans that they have not yet been able to capitalise when Dundalk drop points. Once a team begins to doubt itself, it gets a lot harder.
patrickccfc
25/09/2016, 12:44 PM
Yeah it's massively frustrating when dundalk have slipped up, we have been unable to capitalize. We have lost less games than dundalk but we have drawn 5 more than they have. Some of them draws could be good ones but ones like the wexford game at home where we had enough chances to win 10 games, that was one we definitely left behind. It can change over the next few weeks, but I'd much rather be in dundalks position right now.
Drawing too many games is not good, can make it very difficult to claw back points. Dundalk had drawn only one match prior to last Tuesday, while last night was Cork's 7th. There will probably be more opportunities for Cork to try and reduce the gap, but the trend all season has seen them fail to take advantage.
I think the period in early August could turn out to be the turning point of the season, when Dundalk lost 2 in a row away to Galway and Bray, then Cork lost at home to Sligo then drew also at home, to Bohs.
Looking back its almost unbelievable, that a grand total of 1 point was picked up by both Dundalk and Cork that week.
redarmyfaction
25/09/2016, 1:08 PM
Cork looked like they were set up to take a point last night, hard to understand for a team supposed to be chasing the title. Cork under Caulfield are like British Labour under Corbyn, resigned to eternal principled opposition, though without the principles.
25/09/2016, 1:27 PM
Disappointing to hear as Derry fans are usually always accommodated in the Lilywhite lounge, maybe you were in the ground? as I saw a good few Derry fans in the upstairs bar at HT. I always recommend away fans if it suits them to go to the stand, extra fiver but full access to the bar and better options for toilets and food and drink. On the match, I was impressed with Derry, its clear to see why they are 3rd, and definitely one of the better sides to visit this season.
On tonight's match, I thought it would be tough for Cork, but expected a narrow win for them, decent result for Sligo and I think that's them unbeaten now v Cork all season? There will be more twists and turns for sure for both Cork and Dlk but for now its advantage Dundalk, but that's all it is really.
They kept us back for about 20 minutes last season and same craic a line of fences and gardai. all it did was cause problems when there were none in the first place.
White Horse
25/09/2016, 1:34 PM
Cork looked like they were set up to take a point last night, hard to understand for a team supposed to be chasing the title. Cork under Caulfield are like British Labour under Corbyn, resigned to eternal principled opposition, though without the principles.
They weren't like that in Tallaght against Shamrock Rovers. Perhaps they had more respect for Sligo Rovers.
25/09/2016, 5:58 PM
true about Dundalk last season Outspoken. that was the start of the decline in our vocal support of the team with the trouble with the FAI with the flares and certain fans of ours being wrongly blamed for holding them!
25/09/2016, 8:57 PM
true about Dundalk last season Outspoken. that was the start of the decline in our vocal support of the team with the trouble with the FAI with the flares and certain fans of ours being wrongly blamed for holding them!
I was just talking about the heavy handed stewards and gardai but anyway.
redarmyfaction
25/09/2016, 10:33 PM
Stewarding at Longford totally OTT,.
private security firms in LOI ground s are a turn off, how many clubs so their ground security in house?
26/09/2016, 1:58 AM
Stewarding at Longford totally OTT,.
private security firms in LOI ground s are a turn off, how many clubs so their ground security in house?
Seems to be a complaint every year, sorry to hear. There's nothing more aggrivating than stewards treating you like you've done something wrong, just because you want to go see some football.
26/09/2016, 2:02 AM
Seems to be a complaint every year, sorry to hear. There's nothing more aggrivating than stewards treating you like you've done something wrong, just because you want to go see some football.
You should probably put the flares away then.
26/09/2016, 2:27 AM
You should probably put the flares away then.
If I had crisps to eat, I'd not have free hands for funny business.
White Horse
26/09/2016, 8:48 AM
If I had crisps to eat, I'd not have free hands for funny business.
Crisp rage.
"He stated that he was upset because they didn't have a certain package of crisps," Garda Johnson told Judge Smyth.
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/drunk-teen-became-abusive-as-shop-didnt-have-favourite-crisps-35078597.html
Straightstory
26/09/2016, 9:16 AM
My first visit to Cabinteely on Friday to see the locals v Drogs. Not unlike going to the Phoenix Park to watch some young fellas have a bit of a kickabout watched by a group of interested parents.
sbgawa
26/09/2016, 9:41 AM
My first visit to Cabinteely on Friday to see the locals v Drogs. Not unlike going to the Phoenix Park to watch some young fellas have a bit of a kickabout watched by a group of interested parents.
Been to a few Cabinteely games , being able to get there early get a seat at the window in the bar and watch the match out the window is as near to a corporate box as you can get