View Full Version : New Players for Next Year

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

bluewhitearmy
11/12/2016, 6:34 PM
Hopefully another signing or two this week from what I hear.

11/12/2016, 8:18 PM

I think it's badly needed to give the fans some bit of a boost before the Christmas.

bluewhitearmy
13/12/2016, 2:03 PM
I think it's badly needed to give the fans some bit of a boost before the Christmas.

Ya its a real pity that any buzz that was there from last season seems to be gone now due to lack of signings and people not being too impressed with those we did sign. I have to say I am surprised about the reaction to Turner signing I knew some of the lads that are there week in week out wouldn't be too happy with it cos I knew how they felt but I was sure some of the maybe less regular fans would be pleased given his run of performances during the good run we had. So far though on social media I have seen very very few people happy with it.

LFC Blue
13/12/2016, 5:08 PM
Gavin Holohan signed for Galway today. Surely we could attract the likes of him or Morrissey or what's the problem atall.

bluewhitearmy
13/12/2016, 5:34 PM
We didn't want either is story I heard about both heard we didn't want Holohan about a week after he was gone from Cork. I know they were in the premier last season and all but it really is getting worrying when Galway are so far ahead of us. Where is Shaun Kelly and Paudie and even John O'Flynn like nevermind new signings we aren't even signing our own.

13/12/2016, 7:45 PM
Galway are still a few Gavin holohans short of not being terrible.

We should have absolutely signed him mind. Better than Paul O'Conor and on a different planet to whatever bit of token u19 rubbish is O'Conors backup.

I've no idea where Paudie is but he can stay there.

13/12/2016, 7:51 PM
I've no idea where Paudie is but he can stay there.
I know we've talked about this before but I think you're a bit harsh on Paudie.

I'd share your concern to an extent, but I'd like to see him signed. I think he's still improving and would be a decent back-up if nothing else, familiar with the players and the system. Can't imagine he'd cost much either.

blueblood
13/12/2016, 7:57 PM
This might be the first time in a long time I won't be getting a season ticket for Christmas, at the moment I don't want one, hopefully there's a huge improvement signing players in January then I might reconsider! I'm getting too old and I'm sick of hearing bull$hit from the club and atm this "we'll be challenging for Europe" seems like more bull. There's always some hope tho, like how did they convince Duggy to sign after the bull$hit 2 years ago!

LFC Blue
13/12/2016, 8:15 PM
We didn't want either is story I heard about both heard we didn't want Holohan about a week after he was gone from Cork. I know they were in the premier last season and all but it really is getting worrying when Galway are so far ahead of us. Where is Shaun Kelly and Paudie and even John O'Flynn like nevermind new signings we aren't even signing our own.

I hope we didn't want them because if the likes of Morrrisey chose to travel up to that hell hole training on his own as a "full time" player above coming to Limerick then I would really be worried about our pulling power.
It beggars the question though if we are not in for the likes of these two lads then who the hell are we in for????

13/12/2016, 8:19 PM
Paudie should definitely be signed up. I would have assumed coming through from under 19's and starting 90% of games last season that he would have been done ages ago.

He is still very raw and young but once he starts to fill out a bit and gain experience he can be as good if not better than most defenders in this league because let's be honest most defenders in the LOI are very average and prone to lots of mistakes.

On Holohan I can see why he wouldn't come here. He would probably based on the past two seasons been fighting it out with three other midfielders for a starting place where as at Galway he will be starting most games after the loss of Connolly.

If the club are saying they didn't want Morrissey I find that hard to believe. If ye didn't want him then why talk to the lad about signing.

13/12/2016, 8:41 PM
Paudie was offered a deal and he turned it down.

I don't mind a bad youngfella but a bad youngfella with notions....

Point taken about loi centre halfs but by the same token there's dozens could do an equal/better job than him.

LK37oldskool
13/12/2016, 8:50 PM

Probably two more keepers, that's all that seems to be left to pick through. I'm sure Martin can mould them into a striker and a full back. Another terrific off season.

13/12/2016, 8:54 PM
I hope we didn't want them because if the likes of Morrrisey chose to travel up to that hell hole training on his own as a "full time" player above coming to Limerick then I would really be worried about our pulling power.
Harps stayed up last year. Galway stayed up for the past two years and were around the top four for half of last year. They're both better bets for a footballer than a side just coming up, even one with the kind of budget other clubs can't match.

13/12/2016, 9:01 PM
It beggars the question though if we are not in for the likes of these two lads then who the hell are we in for????

Morrissey won't be training 'on his own'. There'll be another three or four full time players training with him every day.

Also, don't underestimate the power of the manager behind the team bidding. It's not completely about money or pulling power of the club themselves. Ollie Horgan played a massive part in Morrissey coming all the way to Donegal over Limerick. Also, don't buy into the line that he wasn't wanted at Limerick.

bluewhitearmy
13/12/2016, 9:36 PM
Morrissey won't be training 'on his own'. There'll be another three or four full time players training with him every day.

Also, don't underestimate the power of the manager behind the team bidding. It's not completely about money or pulling power of the club themselves. Ollie Horgan played a massive part in Morrissey coming all the way to Donegal over Limerick. Also, don't buy into the line that he wasn't wanted at Limerick.

While I don't buy what one person told me that we never spoke to Morrissey I do believe what another told me that we spoke to him and were't too pushed about signing him, I believe this cos we have done this with players a hell of a lot better this off season than Morrissey.

The point you make about Horgan too I think that can work in favour of a club and most definitely against a club and I think our manager just can not sell the club or speak to players properly from what I am hearing. I think you are being a bit flattering to Harps though with the whole came to ye over us I don't doubt for a second if we really wanted him we wouldn't have got him over ye.

14/12/2016, 8:08 AM
I find the talk from a few people that they're only interested in renewing season tickets if we're challenging for Europe mindblowing. How entitled is that? It is our first year back up. Ignore the hyperbolic rhetoric from the chairman and let's try and establish ourselves properly this time around (I'll be the first to admit that this will involve signing more players). For anybody to suggest (here, on a reasonably obscure forum of all places) that they're only onboard if the club is doing really well doesn't say much for their credentials as a supporter. It makes no sense to me how anybody who watched us in that wretched dump of a division last year wouldn't want to take in as much of a Premier division campaign as possible.

Support the club like. By all means question the underwhelming recruitment process we're suffering through at the moment but if your support for the club hinges on a top 4 finish the first year back in the top tier you'd want to be having a good look at yourself as well as MR/POS.

blueblood
14/12/2016, 9:47 AM
I find the talk from a few people that they're only interested in renewing season tickets if we're challenging for Europe mindblowing. How entitled is that? It is our first year back up. Ignore the hyperbolic rhetoric from the chairman and let's try and establish ourselves properly this time around (I'll be the first to admit that this will involve signing more players). For anybody to suggest (here, on a reasonably obscure forum of all places) that they're only onboard if the club is doing really well doesn't say much for their credentials as a supporter. It makes no sense to me how anybody who watched us in that wretched dump of a division last year wouldn't want to take in as much of a Premier division campaign as possible.

Support the club like. By all means question the underwhelming recruitment process we're suffering through at the moment but if your support for the club hinges on a top 4 finish the first year back in the top tier you'd want to be having a good look at yourself as well as MR/POS.

I don't think it's fair to say people are only interested in renewing season their season tickets if we're challenging for Europe. I think myself and others are just pi$$ed off with (what seems like) more bull coming from the club (again), I'll still support them even if their bottom of the League or in the first division or wherever weather its with my season ticket or I pay in on the night

fieldofmarkets
14/12/2016, 4:32 PM
If you are going to go anyway and can pay in one go, buy the season ticket, its probably the most constructive thing you can do towards getting players signed.

da bishop
14/12/2016, 5:14 PM
Doom and Gloom,Doom and Gloom.....those talking about not renewing season tickets because of lack of signings etc are indeed a sad bunch...support your team ffs.forget the bulls--t talk of Europe and all that ,this club needs to stay in the Premier full stop ..that for now is all that counts.now Russell has committed to the job its up to him to keep us there ..on what sounds like a decent budget....what squad he signs will be his call..his players so mould them to at least keep us up.

bluewhitearmy
14/12/2016, 6:23 PM
While I don't agree if anyone wouldn't buy a season ticket if we weren't challenging for Europe I think it is just as ridiculous to insult people who don't want to spend their money if the club is peddling bs. Its their hard earned money and why should they spend it on season tickets if they think they are being made fools of by the club?Its fine saying just ignore the talk from the club but in reality people shouldn't have to the club should learn to keep quiet if they aren't going to deliver on things. And by insulting em I just mean the post above calling them a sad bunch.

I am still nowhere near as panicked as some it seems though I am willing to wait and see what comes in January there will be plenty of time to complain and panic if we are coming close to start of the season and still in the same position.I again think we will have one or two signed up before christmas whether it be new heads or re-signings.

15/12/2016, 12:28 AM
Just to clarify for my own part I'm not panicked.

I just enjoy giving out.

I'm sure we'll ship in a container load of Craig Curran types in January and go on to be really, really, mediocre.

blueblood
15/12/2016, 7:56 AM
Doom and Gloom,Doom and Gloom.....those talking about not renewing season tickets because of lack of signings etc are indeed a sad bunch..

The cheek of some people deciding how they spend their own hard earned money!!!

blueblood
15/12/2016, 8:00 AM
Just to clarify for my own part I'm not panicked.

I just enjoy giving out.

I'm sure we'll ship in a container load of Craig Curran types in January and go on to be really, really, mediocre.

Or Aaron Browne's😖

da bishop
15/12/2016, 9:02 PM
The cheek of some people deciding how they spend their own hard earned money!!!

Read the post properly and better still review your own.

blueblood
16/12/2016, 1:22 PM
Read the post properly and better still review your own.

Yes it's not doom and gloom, doom and gloom, and I'll spend my money however I please season ticket or not, new Jersey or not. Does that make me "sad"!! We'll if it dose it dose 😂

LK37oldskool
17/12/2016, 11:26 AM
Mick aherne reckons Dean Clarke to sign soon for the supervises.

bluewhitearmy
17/12/2016, 12:35 PM
Clarke would be a very good signing imo. Would be one we beat a few clubs to aswell.

bluewhitearmy
17/12/2016, 1:40 PM
Linked with Mark O'Sullivan from Cork in the Sun, hopefully that is just him or his agent trying to get more money from Waterford.

18/12/2016, 7:51 AM
Yeah Mark O'Sullivan is done as a Premier Division player and looked it in the majority of his many cameos off the bench for Cork this year. Think Waterford could be a good move for him though, could have a John O'Flynn style Indian summer in the First Division

LFC Blue
19/12/2016, 11:01 AM
Any update on Dean Clarke?

bluewhitearmy
19/12/2016, 3:40 PM
Any update on Dean Clarke?
Done deal.

thomas72
19/12/2016, 3:45 PM
Good signing in fairness

19/12/2016, 4:49 PM
Very pleased about that, think he's a smashing player.

bluewhitearmy
19/12/2016, 5:34 PM
Yep very happy with that one scares the life out of fullbacks at times. Beat 3 or 4 other clubs to him too which is nice.

Squad as it stands:

Goalkeepers: Freddy Hall,Brendan Clarke

Defenders: Shane Tracy,David O'Connor,Robbie Williams,Tony Whitehead

Midfielders: Ian Turner,Paul O'Conor,Shane Duggan,Lee J Lynch

Forwards: Chris Mulhall,Garbhan Coughlan, Dean Clarke

I forget anyone?

LK37oldskool
19/12/2016, 7:06 PM
Sean Kelly is back with us.

bluewhitearmy
19/12/2016, 7:10 PM
Sean Kelly is back with us.

More good news two good signings before Christmas.

LK37oldskool
19/12/2016, 7:27 PM
Great Christmas present!

CraftyToePoke
19/12/2016, 8:32 PM
So the sky is not falling down, after all ? Or will the sky be falling down again in a day or two if we haven't signed that 40 goal a season striker who only scores dipping volleys from inside his own penalty area ?

fieldofmarkets
19/12/2016, 8:41 PM
Basically Mullhall for Faherty and you have the team that went on the great run in 2015. Over a full season, even a little less effective, we are good enough to stay up at this point. A few extra quality signings and we are pushing up the table.

LFC Blue
19/12/2016, 9:06 PM
A great day to be a Blue. What a difference a couple of signings makes. Thrilled with Clarke our best player in second half of 2015. On a separate issue was today not the date given for the release of the fixtures for 2017?

bluewhitearmy
19/12/2016, 9:33 PM
I think what we have now is a very good start,but just a start. If we could add 3 or 4 quality additions we would be well set up imo but they need to be proper quality. Some names floating around from the UK that are very good quality so hopefully one or two of them come on board.

CraftyToePoke
20/12/2016, 1:53 AM
On a separate issue was today not the date given for the release of the fixtures for 2017?

One of the FAI blazers was chewing a juicy fruit and it fell into the fixtures machine & blocked it today, they are freezing the machine over night in the hope it will pop out when they hold it upside down & shake it without it going everywhere inside the fixtures machine. Please God it goes well and we will have a few fixtures soon enough.

LK37oldskool
20/12/2016, 6:58 PM
Stephen Kenny is back.

SFC16
20/12/2016, 7:05 PM
Shane O'Connor is signing with you is he?

LK37oldskool
20/12/2016, 7:11 PM
I heard Waterford. Although earlier reports said he was moving to Dublin for work reasons so a club up there seems possible.

SFC16
20/12/2016, 7:19 PM
Yeah he left for working in Dublin, but money talks. Very sidewards move to Waterford would prefer to see him at Limerick.

LK37oldskool
20/12/2016, 7:31 PM
Certainly good enough to play in the premier league. Would love to see him back at limerick.

20/12/2016, 7:40 PM
We badly need another Left Full and O'Connor would certainly do a good job. Can see him ending up with a Dublin club though.

bluewhitearmy
20/12/2016, 9:27 PM
Think he has signed for Waterford already.

With Kenny signed its another position with a bit of depth if we can get the quality from the UK in January.

EL_Limerick
21/12/2016, 1:43 PM
Not necessarily signings related but a query for someone who might know what happened to Seamus Sharkey? He got that concussion and I know he had problems afterwards, was his contract terminated mid-season? Poor form from the club as it appears it was swept under the carpet