View Full Version : New Players for Next Year
Pages :
[
1]
nr637
21/09/2016, 10:39 AM
Who are the potential players that could be enticed to join Limerick in the Premier League next year?
I thought I heard before their St. Pats move the Dennehy's, brothers Billy & Darren were interested.
Maybe Ian Turner will want to come back and get some regular playing time, on the bench with Cork seemingly forever. There are a few more at Cork that could be looked at.
Could be a start.
Anyone with their own ideas or suggestions.:eek::eek:
thomas72
21/09/2016, 11:13 AM
Get dean Clarke back is he regular with rovers?
I'd go after kilduff aswell surely first team football would appeal.
But I'd mostly focus on our back 4 it's just not good enough for premier we need a quality centre half maybe even two. A left full aswell
NeverFeltBetter
21/09/2016, 11:55 AM
Was going to suggest Sam Oji could be given a call, but just saw that he's gone back to England, to the fifth tier there.
21/09/2016, 12:34 PM
Get dean Clarke back is he regular with rovers?
I'd go after kilduff aswell surely first team football would appeal.
But I'd mostly focus on our back 4 it's just not good enough for premier we need a quality centre half maybe even two. A left full aswell
According to Soccerway Clarke has played in 23 of the 28 league games (not familiar with the site so not sure if it means 'starts' or just 'appearances') and scored 3 goals.
I'm not sure he'd want to come back to us.
I think a back 4 of Kelly - Paudie - New Left Centre back - Williams would be a decent defence. There would be other, better teams, sure, but there would be worse also.
We need a defensive midfielder and we really really need an actual striker, not a makeshift one, or a crocked one.
bluewhitearmy
21/09/2016, 1:44 PM
If we are looking at replacing Tracy at left back id much rather sign Shane O Connor from Cobh play him left back and leave Robbie at CB but get his fitness or interest levels up to those required for premier division. We need another CB too with some experience at least its too much to rely on Paudie and Whitehead for a whole season at a higher level. People always talk about how young Paudie is and that for me means you need to be careful with him too there are gonna be ups and downs with him and to have someone else to come in and take the pressure off him at times will be a good thing for him and the team imo. Reckon Oji and Williams would be a very good CB pairing.
On the Dennehys I think would surely depend on if Greene stays no point in having Greene and Dennehy there on big money. Striker wise would people take Vinny back? Suits how we play now perfectly I think and has still been scoring goals at Galway.
Wouldn't mind taking a look at Gary O'Neill from UCD too think he could be a top player in future.
Who would people be letting go from the current squad to make room for these new signings I wonder.
LK37oldskool
21/09/2016, 5:25 PM
Sean Russell
bluewhitearmy
21/09/2016, 6:38 PM
Who would people have down as definite that need to be kept might be a better question
I think these are the ones on two years so what other than this have to be kept?
Hall
Paudie
Tracy
O Conor
Duggy
Lee J
For me anyway Robbie and Shaun Kelly are no brainers I'd also really like to keep Mulhall he can play a few different positions across the top too so even if he isn't seen as a starter in prem he would be good cover.
LK37oldskool
21/09/2016, 7:08 PM
Kenny and Greene. Kenny would be a good squad player, not sure he'd be a regular starter in a premier team.
bluewhitearmy
21/09/2016, 7:42 PM
Forgot about Greene there. Some of the current starting 11 will have to go to make room budget wise you would imagine so some tough decisions to be made. Ideally I'd like to keep the 11 with one or two dropping to the bench and add the quality needed then on top of that but could be too expensive we already have a very big budget.
thomas72
21/09/2016, 9:05 PM
Anyone any idea have we actually got a big budget for the off season??
According to POS in his interview before the final said we will be going after quality players to help us compete for top 4.
Is that over money generated this season our a backer coming on board
deadly man
21/09/2016, 9:15 PM
Would Shane Clarke solve out striker crisis lads?
fieldofmarkets
21/09/2016, 9:33 PM
Need to remember that we would have to overpay to get many Dublin based players down. Might get better value with the Fahertys (although why would he leave Galway now) and Turners plus some of our own kids and a couple of imports.
21/09/2016, 10:35 PM
Anyone any idea have we actually got a big budget for the off season??
According to POS in his interview before the final said we will be going after quality players to help us compete for top 4.
Is that over money generated this season our a backer coming on board
I can't see how we will have a bigger budget unless we get more investors. We definitely haven't generated any money this year. Only for Pat paying out we would be at a loss.
Would Shane Clarke solve out striker crisis lads?
We do need a striker but I don't think you could call it a crisis when you consider how many goals OFlynn and Mullhall scored. Clarke not going to happen and at this stage I think it's too late anyway.
Need to remember that we would have to overpay to get many Dublin based players down. Might get better value with the Fahertys (although why would he leave Galway now) and Turners plus some of our own kids and a couple of imports.
It's definitely going to cost us more to bring in players. In saying that we don't need a whole pile brought in. As mentioned above though our budget would be high as it is so can't see where the extra wiggle room would come from.
22/09/2016, 8:40 PM
If we are spending the big money Gaffney is the one to go after. Has levelled off in the UK. Somebody get him a handy number in northern trust and he's a runner.
The dennehy sisters are obvious targets aswell.
I'd take faherty back but I wouldn't be bending over backwards for him.
Colin Healy would be worth a year.
Darren Meenan would be a lot better than what's there.
I wouldn't have Ian Turner in the way.
Kenny isn't good enough either.
When you actually look at it there's holes all over the team!! Can't decide which we need more a centre half or a striker.
JDsJocks
22/09/2016, 10:25 PM
A top striker and some reinforcements in defense is what's required. In saying that our midfield ain't as good as we may think but Duggan and Lee J are prem quality.
I think the squad as it is now would be good enough to stay in the Prem but nowhere near top 6 quality, bit better than the likes of Longford town and finn harps.
23/09/2016, 12:03 AM
Jaysus lad, Gaffney has started the season on and off the bench in League One. He started in the league on Tuesday. That's some definition of levelling off - he's earning more money than he'd ever make here and is playing better teams for the most part. Good luck to him.
23/09/2016, 7:55 AM
I didn't know he played during the week.
He had disappeared off the face of the earth before that (unused sub in a team that plays two up front)
He's an accountant, hence the northern trust reference.
17/10/2016, 8:06 PM
With UCD staying down I wouldn't mind seeing us pick up Gary O'Neill.
Treaty Gooner
17/10/2016, 10:03 PM
Probably on some sort of scholarship tho no?
17/10/2016, 10:53 PM
Probably on some sort of scholarship tho no?
Could be nearly finished. Been there a few years now as far as I know.
Lims4ever
17/10/2016, 11:01 PM
Stephen Kenny for me is good enough for prem think he had a great season , greene started all guns blazing but faded away after he started getting injuries not consistent enough worked hard last few games was this a sign he knew he would be under pressure to get a new contract, disaster for Turner with cork **** him he ran away as fast as he could I remember an interview with him end of last season it was all about him not what Limerick had done for him , new players very impressed with Jamie Mc grath looks quality and conan Byrne very impressive in the final hugh Douglas solid defender and gets a few goals aswell , akinade would be a good man to get
17/10/2016, 11:05 PM
Be surprised if Greene wasn't on a two-year deal, no?
fc hammer
18/10/2016, 8:28 AM
Stephen Kenny for me is good enough for prem think he had a great season , greene started all guns blazing but faded away after he started getting injuries not consistent enough worked hard last few games was this a sign he knew he would be under pressure to get a new contract, disaster for Turner with cork **** him he ran away as fast as he could I remember an interview with him end of last season it was all about him not what Limerick had done for him , new players very impressed with Jamie Mc grath looks quality and conan Byrne very impressive in the final hugh Douglas solid defender and gets a few goals aswell , akinade would be a good man to get
Akinade are you for real, that dirty scumbag should be in jail.
18/10/2016, 9:17 AM
I do NOT want us to sign Akinade. Would be disgusted tbh.
18/10/2016, 10:18 AM
I think we need...
a central defender, preferably left-footed.
A defensive midfielder.
A right winger, unless Mulhall can go back to being a winger again.
A striker.
bluewhitearmy
18/10/2016, 2:02 PM
I've seen a few people talk about replacing Robbie at centre back seems strange to me that the one people want to replace is our best centre back by a distance. Thats nothing against Paudie or anything but Robbie is better.
bluewhitearmy
18/10/2016, 2:05 PM
Be surprised if Greene wasn't on a two-year deal, no?
Nope one year deal he signed.
18/10/2016, 7:50 PM
I've seen a few people talk about replacing Robbie at centre back seems strange to me that the one people want to replace is our best centre back by a distance.I just want Robbie to return to being a fullback.
If Robbie stays at centre-back, then we need a new left fullback.
Treaty Gooner
18/10/2016, 9:59 PM
And another centre half if rumours about Paudie O'Connor going to England are to be believed. Great for the lad if true.
bluewhitearmy
19/10/2016, 1:22 AM
And another centre half if rumours about Paudie O'Connor going to England are to be believed. Great for the lad if true.
Hadn't heard that one. Rumour of a certain club or what? Have we got him on two year deal?
19/10/2016, 10:13 AM
To be a decent premier side we need
A centre half
A left back
A centre mid
Two wingers
Two strikers
That's a minimum, could probably do with a goalie another centre half a full back and another midfielder if the money's flowing.
LK37oldskool
19/10/2016, 5:51 PM
I'd be happy as long as Sean Russell isn't re signed
NeverFeltBetter
19/10/2016, 7:05 PM
I would imagine that decision depends entirely on whether is father is kept on.
bluewhitearmy
28/10/2016, 5:27 PM
In the Mirror linking us with Conor Powell and Darren Meenan I was told. Wouldn't be too keen on Powell at all from what I have seen of him and been told of him, one of the poorer players in a relegated Longford team according to a few people. Be more than happy to get Meenan though.
28/10/2016, 6:18 PM
Meenan played under Russell at ucd and looks an obvious one. He's a **** but he's a much much better player than any of our other options in that position.
Powell is dirt and has been dirt for about five years now.
29/10/2016, 3:55 PM
In the Mirror linking us with Conor Powell and Darren Meenan I was told. Wouldn't be too keen on Powell at all from what I have seen of him and been told of him, one of the poorer players in a relegated Longford team according to a few people. Be more than happy to get Meenan though.
powell as skipper was useless. the only time that I seen him play well in his two seasons with us was the 3-3 draw in Incicore when he scored a screamer on the telly! Cousins should have bein shot for chosin powell as skipper as I would have given it to Pat Flynn. powell had no passion and looked like he didnt want to be on the pitch in the first place. I really hope hes gone from us in the comin preseason..
bluewhitearmy
03/11/2016, 1:02 PM
The usual names floating around for us anyway so far in the rumour mill. Have heard talk of Aaron Greene to Bohs too.
bluewhitearmy
15/11/2016, 9:36 PM
Good to have it confirmed that Duggy is staying on means we have Hall,Tracy,Paul O'Conor, Lee J. Duggan signed up for next year confirmed.
bluewhitearmy
15/11/2016, 9:52 PM
Good to have it confirmed that Duggy is staying on means we have Hall,Tracy,Paul O'Conor, Lee J. Duggan signed up for next year confirmed.
bluewhitearmy
18/11/2016, 6:37 PM
Chris Mulhall signed back up and Joe Gamble in as a S and C coach.
Confirmed so far now
Hall
Tracy
Paul O Conor
Lee J
Duggy
Mulhall
LFC Blue
23/11/2016, 7:07 PM
Any concrete names lads. Have offers been made, terms discussed or is it all just hear say at the moment.
bluewhitearmy
23/11/2016, 9:33 PM
Offers have been made but obviously nothing has been accepted yet.
thomas72
23/11/2016, 9:34 PM
According to Blue army on facebook there hearing we are in for some serious quality of players.
bluewhitearmy
23/11/2016, 10:36 PM
We are but being in for them and getting them are two very different things. Fair play to the club they have made good offers to very good players from what I hear but I really hope its not at the expense of following more realistic targets.
LFC Blue
25/11/2016, 3:40 PM
Christy Fagan signs a new deal at Pats so that's one we can now forget about.
bluewhitearmy
25/11/2016, 3:44 PM
Always a huge long shot tbf
25/11/2016, 3:51 PM
Ya I think most people felt he would stay where he was.
Glad it's nipped in the bud early and we won't be wasting anymore time trying to convince him here.
25/11/2016, 5:33 PM
I for one am shocked to my core that this year's spoof signing attempt didn't come off.
Any word on how the Robbie Keane talks are going? :ball:
27/11/2016, 6:31 PM
Danny Morrissey who we were strongly linked to has signed for Finn Harps.
Shane O Connor who we are also linked with has left Cobh and is moving to Dublin.
topfan
27/11/2016, 8:28 PM
It would be great to see a few new signings unveiled with the bespoke jersey tomorrow. Even just one player!!!:ball: