View Full Version : New Players for Next Year
Pages :
[
2]
bluewhitearmy
27/11/2016, 8:53 PM
Could do with having more than about 5 players signed to convince people to buy season tickets before christmas tbf. I know the club are talking to people hopefully get some over the line soon enough.
LK37oldskool
27/11/2016, 8:57 PM
We must be offering butter vouchers and taytos for contracts if the likes of Morrissey decide to sign for Harps. FFS. Are we running out of decent players to sign?
There's always Seanie Russell!
LFC Blue
01/12/2016, 11:00 PM
I hear Dean Clarke is nailed on. Great signing if true.
02/12/2016, 8:26 AM
I hear Dean Clarke is nailed on. Great signing if true.
If that's true it will be a great signing. I didn't think rovers would want to let him go.
Que him being announced as signed by someone else.
02/12/2016, 10:08 AM
He has definitely been released by Rovers anyway
02/12/2016, 12:20 PM
I'd be delighted with that. Really hope it's true. and surprised that they released him to be honest.
bluewhitearmy
02/12/2016, 1:01 PM
Are we the only club in prem without any new players announced?
02/12/2016, 2:21 PM
We've announced our interest in some really good ones.
Which is more or less the same thing. :good:
bluewhitearmy
02/12/2016, 2:30 PM
Whats worse is after all these years of seeing all this over and over again I am still kind of hopeful we will be decent. Its actually us and Dundalk the only ones not to have new players signed, but yano them for slightly different reasons to us. 6 players signed so far we have and one of them is the one the manager did his best to f**k over last season.
thomas72
02/12/2016, 5:50 PM
We need to start getting a move there will be no quality left at this stage.
I really hope the club don't seem make a complete balls of our return to the premier.
A poor start crowds will fall away and we will be back trying to avoid relegation all over again and to be honest iv been season ticket holders the last 4yrs I won't be this time unless I see actually quality coming in.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 2:23 PM
Ian Turner and Dave O'Connor signed. O'Connor ex UCD centre back thats been at Rovers last few seasons.
LK37oldskool
03/12/2016, 2:30 PM
Is O Conner any good. These two look like signings made out of desperation. Not impressed.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 2:36 PM
How can you say its a signing made out of desperation and you are no impressed when at the same time asking is he any good? If you know nothing about him bit hard to judge no?
03/12/2016, 2:49 PM
Turner should never have left us. He would have had another year of solid football under his belt where as the last year at Cork was wasted in my opinion.
Know nothing about O'Connor to be honest. Haven't really been keeping much of an eye on the premier. Needed defenders though so hopefully a good move.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 2:51 PM
Well according to Rovers fans Dave O'Connor is just awful, great.
03/12/2016, 2:56 PM
We were told Vinny Faherty was awful also and Turner but they ended up doing a very good job for us and people outside of Limerick seemed to have high opinions of Folan as well when he was with us but that didn't really work out anywhere else he went. I'd take anything other people say with a grain of salt and let him try prove himself. If he turns out to be awful then Russel will have to take all the blame there.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 3:01 PM
Ya I agree what other fans say doesn't mean much at all like other teams fans were slagging off Lee J too when he came and he has been unreal. Won't pre-judge the lad at all looked solid the few times I saw him so will just have to give him a chance and see how he does for us. We need to see a lot more of the Ian Turner from the run in the year we went down though was unplayable at time during that run but didn't get to those levels near enough and a year without playing isn't gonna do him any good.
Squad now is
Freddy Hall
Shane Tracy
Dave O'Connor
Paul O'Conor
Lee J Lynch
Shane Duggan
Ian Turner
Chris Mulhall
03/12/2016, 3:24 PM
I can't stand idly by and let this Ian Turner rewriting of history go unchallenged. It's like Nuremburg around here.
Turner made maybe 50 appearances for us. 40 of them he was ****in poisonous. One of the worst players in a really really bad Limerick team. Make no mistake he's only back because no one else wants him.
Still a better option than Kenny mind.
On O'Connor he can't be worse than what's there. I reserve judgement until I've seen the final squad.
blueblood
03/12/2016, 3:36 PM
Still Russell jnr to sign also, top 4 my hole (unless we get a load of Greeks/Russians/Africans)..
LK37oldskool
03/12/2016, 3:40 PM
Ok bluewhitearmy. I checked him out and Rover's fans not impressed with him, so that's where my deduction of desperation comes from. Personally never thought much of Tina. But on reflection I'll give O Conner benefit of the doubt. Still though these signings not really up to the hype the club were spouting. No European challenge from the players assembled so far.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 3:54 PM
Brendan Clarke is the 3rd. Great signing imo leaves us with two of the top keepers in the country a proper competition for number one spot on the way.
LK37oldskool
03/12/2016, 3:55 PM
Big news.. Brendan Clarke from St. pats has signed. A goalkeeper. We really needed another one of those. Jesus wept.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 3:57 PM
Big news.. Brendan Clarke from St. pats has signed. A goalkeeper. We really needed another one of those. Jesus wept.
We 100% needed another goalkeeper I dunno how you possibly think we didn't.
03/12/2016, 3:59 PM
Brendan Clarke is a fine signing. Will help Freddie clear up the oul mystery injuries if nothing else.
blueblood
03/12/2016, 3:59 PM
In fairness not a bad signing at all Freddy can make people nervous.
LK37oldskool
03/12/2016, 4:00 PM
BWA, did we really need another keeper? Surely a striker is a more important position to be filled right now.
Nothing wrong with the two keepers we had already.
None of the signings today have filled me with any confidence for next season.
LK37oldskool
03/12/2016, 4:07 PM
Are we all seriously thrilled with today's signings? personally no. That's my opinion. I thought from all the guff from management we were going to be contenders. Today says mid table mediocrity.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 4:08 PM
We most certainly did need a keeper and I think you will be in a very small minority thinking we didn't. If you don't see the massive improvement from Tommy Holland to Brendan Clarke then you are a lost cause and that is no offence to the young lad.
Whats your point about a striker being more important? Signing Clarke has no effect at all on getting a striker you don't get signings in order of most important first you get them as they become available. We still need a lot considering this brings us up to something like 9 players signed we need someone in every position on the pitch except goalkeeper at this minute in time.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 4:09 PM
Are we all seriously thrilled with today's signings? personally no. That's my opinion. I thought from all the guff from management we were going to be contenders. Today says mid table mediocrity.
Literally nobody at all has said they are thrilled with todays signings not one person.
03/12/2016, 4:17 PM
Nothing wrong with the two keepers we had already.
Aw, stop.
LK37oldskool
03/12/2016, 4:19 PM
BWA, my point is that most of the good/decent strikers or defenders seem to be tied up at this stage. These were areas we really needed to strengthen. Today we signed three players that were other
teams back ups / rejects. No marquee signings and not much left to choose from either. Again from a personal viewpoint I didn't think we needed a keeper over other positions. That's why I'm disappointed with these signings.
LK37oldskool
03/12/2016, 4:25 PM
Ok, nobody had used the word thrilled but a lot seem happy with these signings. Are these the players that will get us into Europe like POS said?
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 4:26 PM
BWA, my point is that most of the good/decent strikers or defenders seem to be tied up at this stage. These were areas we really needed to strengthen. Today we signed three players that were other
teams back ups / rejects. No marquee signings and not much left to choose from either. Again from a personal viewpoint I didn't think we needed a keeper over other positions. That's why I'm disappointed with these signings.
It has no affect on other positions how do you not get that? We haven't decided to sign Clarke ahead of a striker or midfielder.Tell me whatstriker that has signed for someone else that we could realistically have got?We have 9 players hardly the time to judge strenght ofs quad.
LK37oldskool
03/12/2016, 4:35 PM
Fair enough, yer all happy with today's business, I must be missing something. Hope I'm proved wrong but all I'm saying is those signings don't inspire me. No need to jump down my throat this forum is about opinions.
03/12/2016, 4:44 PM
So far it's just proving we don't really have the pull of the top 4 or 5 clubs at the moment. I reckon we are heading for a mid table premier squad. We will have some good quality but not enough to really push the top teams over the course of a season.
03/12/2016, 5:14 PM
Well according to Rovers fans Dave O'Connor is just awful, great.
Rovers fans say everyone is awful - don't mind them. He's a good standard - not the standard you'd need to chase a league but more than good enough in a side looking for mid table. Can play left back and centre half.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 5:24 PM
Fair enough, yer all happy with today's business, I must be missing something. Hope I'm proved wrong but all I'm saying is those signings don't inspire me. No need to jump down my throat this forum is about opinions.
I haven't jumped down your throat at all you gave your opinion and I started a discussion about it that's the point of forums. I dunno where you are reading we are all happy though.
So far people have said they are happy with Clarke there has been a mixed reaction to Turner and its been wait and see with O'Connor I honestly can't see the posts that lead you to say everyone is happy.
LK37oldskool
03/12/2016, 6:01 PM
Ok. I just seem to be on my own here in relation to being very disappointed with our signings. Everyone seems " contented " at least with today's signings. Personally I'm not.
I think I'll stay away from this post as I think my expectations for this season seem different to most. I thought we'd recruit good quality players is all.
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 6:34 PM
Ok. I just seem to be on my own here in relation to being very disappointed with our signings. Everyone seems " contented " at least with today's signings. Personally I'm not.
I think I'll stay away from this post as I think my expectations for this season seem different to most. I thought we'd recruit good quality players is all.
Our maybe people have reasonable or high expectations but aren't going to judge how well a squad of 9 players are gonna be able to deliver on them. All I'm saying is lets wait and see what the finished squad looks like first for example Turner might not be a very exciting signing but if he is followed by Greene and Clarke signing too then that will be best depth we've had in years in that position.
CraftyToePoke
03/12/2016, 6:45 PM
If you are one of the best players in the country, would you sign for Limerick FC as we presently stand ? After imploding a season back and delivering a relegation, after a fair bit of bluster about cracking the top spots a season before that after a generation not only outside the top flight, but homeless for most of it. I am sure we are trying to get the players and would like them here but are we in a position where a player who has options at the top sides in Ireland will chose Limerick FC ? That's a big gap to bridge and that breakthrough signing will be key. Not easy though.
CraftyToePoke
03/12/2016, 6:52 PM
Williams, Coughlan and Whitehead just announced also.
03/12/2016, 6:53 PM
Whitehead, Coughlan and Williams sign for next year.
Freddy Hall
Shane Tracy
Dave O'Connor
Paul O'Conor
Lee J Lynch
Shane Duggan
Ian Turner
Chris Mulhall
Tony Whitehead
Garbhan Coughlan
Robbie Williams
03/12/2016, 7:01 PM
If you are one of the best players in the country, would you sign for Limerick FC as we presently stand ? After imploding a season back and delivering a relegation, after a fair bit of bluster about cracking the top spots a season before that after a generation not only outside the top flight, but homeless for most of it. I am sure we are trying to get the players and would like them here but are we in a position where a player who has options at the top sides in Ireland will chose Limerick FC ? That's a big gap to bridge and that breakthrough signing will be key. Not easy though.
I'd say 90% of players will only think about how good the money is and how likely they are to actually get it each month until the end of the season. After that, whether it's worth it to travel to Limerick (from Dublin or wherever) compared to what they could get closer to home.
03/12/2016, 7:41 PM
Does anyone really believe Freddy Hall is a top goalkeeper at Limerick? No harm to you good folks, but I think he's brutal and you've signed one of the better goalkeepers in the league in Brendan Clarke.
thomas72
03/12/2016, 7:52 PM
We 100% needed a top goalkeeper delighted with that signing Freddie far to error prone.
Turner a waste of a weeks wage not premier league level player.
O connor iv no idea about so can't comment on him it's a start anyway.
blueblood
03/12/2016, 8:01 PM
Does anyone really believe Freddy Hall is a top goalkeeper at Limerick? No harm to you good folks, but I think he's brutal and you've signed one of the better goalkeepers in the league in Brendan Clarke.
What ye saw in the playoffs v Limerick is Freddy Hall in a nutshell, very error prone. Not a bad back up keeper tho!
bluewhitearmy
03/12/2016, 8:06 PM
Location is the biggest killer for us, don't get me wrong there are other reasons too but lads just don't want to move too far from Dublin unless we are paying way over what they are worth.
Still enough out there to make a fairly good squad imo but the standard of signing will need to go up a notch and we still need 4 or 4 top quality signings. Not looking like there are any strikers available in Ireland now so will more than likely have to look in the UK dunno what our contacts are like over there now. Depends who we keep too like I said earlier keep Greene and bringing in Turner and Clarke too is a clear improvement out wide but lose Greene and its not really improving things at cos while Clarke is better than Kenny Turner is not better than Greene. Surprised Paudie and Kelly aren't re-signed yet either.
Squad at the minute
Goalies: Freddy Hall, Brendan Clarke
Defenders: Shane Tracy, Robbie Williams, Tony Whitehead, Dave O'Connor
Midfielders: Lee J Lynch,Shane Duggan,Paul O Conor, Ian Turner
Strikers: Chris Mulhall, Garbhan Coughlan
03/12/2016, 8:10 PM
Does anyone really believe Freddy Hall is a top goalkeeper at Limerick?
You're talking about a league where people rate Mark McNulty.
Apart from distribution, Freddie is inferior in every way to what Barry Ryan was.
He is, however, far superior to that Fossets circus we had in goals before him.
03/12/2016, 8:15 PM
I really don't buy into the "We're outside the Pale, it's so hard to sign anyone, wibble wibble" stuff we get every year.
I understand you might have to pay more but it's far easier get the crowds in aswell so it works both ways.
Never did Sligo rovers much harm.
If Martin is hamstrung in the transfer market (and I don't know if he is, maybe he's just terrible at it) then I think a far more likely cause is our chairman's eccentricities.
03/12/2016, 8:34 PM
You're talking about a league where people rate Mark McNulty.
Apart from distribution, Freddie is inferior in every way to what Barry Ryan was.
He is, however, far superior to that Fossets circus we had in goals before him.
People being Cork fans?