View Full Version : Olamide Shodipo M Lincoln (loan from QPR) b.1997

07/08/2016, 10:22 AM
Straight into the QPR starting XI for their season opener against Leeds today, live on Sky at 12

samhaydenjr
07/08/2016, 6:53 PM
Straight into the QPR starting XI for their season opener against Leeds today, live on Sky at 12

And all of a sudden, Shodipo becomes one to watch, now playing at the same level as Byrne, Hoolahan, Hendrick, Brady, O'Dowda, Judge, Browne, Duffy, Stokes, Westwood and D. Lenihan, while still being only just nineteen. And Hasselbaink seems to rate him, emphasising a few weeks ago that he has no plans to send him out on loan as he is part of his plans for the new season - call him up, MON!

CraftyToePoke
07/08/2016, 7:20 PM
And all of a sudden, Shodipo becomes one to watch

This is it :)
So rarely the one you'd hang your hat on underage makes that final step up, often makes me wonder how many lads culled at academy level would have been ok longer term.

07/08/2016, 8:00 PM
This is it :)
So rarely the one you'd hang your hat on underage makes that final step up, often makes me wonder how many lads culled at academy level would have been ok longer term....and how / why / by whom our underage selections are made.

07/08/2016, 9:50 PM
Goal.com's report describes him as a "Nigerian starlet", then go on to say he was born in Dublin and represented the Republic at underage level.

CraftyToePoke
07/08/2016, 10:28 PM
Do we need to stick a flag in this chappie nice & lively ?

samhaydenjr
07/08/2016, 11:33 PM

I'd say it might be worth our while sending MON to have a chat with him...although come to think of it, those chats have had mixed results at best:confused2:. But seriously, the management team should let him know that if he continues to progress he will be picked and then if he does continue to progress, go ahead and pick him - that simple, no messing about. If he wants to play for us, terrific, but if he feels the pull of the land of his forefathers, then that's something all Irish sports fans should certainly empathise with.

08/08/2016, 12:04 AM
Here he displays first his Nigerian and then his Irish skills.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtZjUgX0h_A

08/08/2016, 9:40 AM

Does this not count ? http://www.fai.ie/ireland/player/888842374

08/08/2016, 10:16 AM
The new Jack Grealish. Ye couldn't really blame this lad if he changed to England or Nigeria.

It kinda depnds what age he was when he moved to England. fair play on them finding out about him.

CraftyToePoke
08/08/2016, 12:49 PM
Does this not count ? http://www.fai.ie/ireland/player/888842374

Noooo :) - http://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/jack-grealish-honoured-at-fai-international-awards-and-opens-door-to-ireland-return/18546

09/08/2016, 3:10 AM
The new Jack Grealish.
This should be an automatic ban.

gastric
09/08/2016, 4:13 AM
Excuse my ignorance, but is this bloke ours to lose, are we in a three way chase for him, or are people just being paranoid after the above mentioned dirty, rotten turncoat's behaviour ?

09/08/2016, 9:12 AM
This should be an automatic ban.
so should most of his posts

Excuse my ignorance, but is this bloke ours to lose, are we in a three way chase for him, or are people just being paranoid after the above mentioned dirty, rotten turncoat's behaviour ?
little of all three. He's only played underage football for Ireland, at least that I can find. There's no mention of him on the Nigerian FA's site, so right now he's ours. Having said that he is eligible, and his parents are Nigerian, so there's a strong link there. It's rare that an Irish underage player ends up playing senior international football for another country, and rarer still that it's one ranked ahead of us, but since Grealish changed allegiances so recently, it's fresh in people's minds and probably playing on insecurities.
He's had one game at senior club level, and for now is still an Irish international, let's just enjoy that for the moment.

09/08/2016, 11:49 AM
so should most of his posts

little of all three. He's only played underage football for Ireland, at least that I can find. There's no mention of him on the Nigerian FA's site, so right now he's ours. Having said that he is eligible, and his parents are Nigerian, so there's a strong link there. It's rare that an Irish underage player ends up playing senior international football for another country, and rarer still that it's one ranked ahead of us, but since Grealish changed allegiances so recently, it's fresh in people's minds and probably playing on insecurities.
He's had one game at senior club level, and for now is still an Irish international, let's just enjoy that for the moment.
He's likely to be in the next u21 squad - the FAI are aware and have been tracking him. I believe Nigeria expressed an interest but it was never reciprocated and as far as I know there hasn't been any contact from England.

Deckydee
08/09/2016, 7:54 PM
https://www.facebook.com/eireguide/photos/a.823346054409848.1073741828.814533345291119/1087089474702170/?type=3&theater

09/09/2016, 7:26 AM
I love Facebook stalkers.

09/09/2016, 9:38 AM
I think lone links without any accompanying intro or summary are really annoying!

DeLorean
09/09/2016, 10:03 AM
Does that mean you can't access Facebook at work? :)

It's just a quote from Shodipo under a picture of him playing for Ireland-

I was born in Leixlip and still visit my relations in Ireland, it makes me and my family proud to wear the Irish jersey.

Deckydee
09/09/2016, 11:14 AM
I think lone links without any accompanying intro or summary are really annoying!

Sorry :(

Fizzer
09/09/2016, 12:08 PM
Jesus you've little to be annoyed about

09/09/2016, 12:47 PM
More lone links without accompanying info I say.

09/09/2016, 12:54 PM
More lone links without accompanying info I say. you'll say nothing, that's what you'll say ;)

09/09/2016, 12:58 PM
https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/05/b0/41/05b041892a85c5b4cd36363024980478.jpg

09/09/2016, 3:47 PM
What about this (http://serps-invaders.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/broken-links.jpg)

16/10/2016, 10:35 PM
cracking assist from Shodipo this weekend
http://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/3030002/original/

samhaydenjr
17/10/2016, 1:06 AM
I know it's still early days in his senior career but this lad is looking really promising - a call-up to the extended squad, at least, might be in order before the end of the season if he keeps up this level of progress - maybe for the Uruguay friendly next year

Deckydee
08/11/2016, 7:53 PM
ok, called up to the U21 squad!! - http://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/king-announces-u21-squad-for-double-header

Hopefully senior call up not along away!

08/11/2016, 11:35 PM
We'll see how he gets on under the new manager first. If the new guy doesn't fancy him the way Hasselbank did then he's not going to be getting as many games, and he's been in and out as it is. Certainly no reason to think he should be in line for a senior call-up.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/11/2016, 6:18 PM
Shodipo scored in a 2-1 loss for the U21's against Czech Republic this weekend.

samhaydenjr
19/11/2016, 8:47 PM
We'll see how he gets on under the new manager first. If the new guy doesn't fancy him the way Hasselbank did then he's not going to be getting as many games, and he's been in and out as it is. Certainly no reason to think he should be in line for a senior call-up.

So far so good after the Holloway takeover - came on as a second-half sub in the win against Norwich

Deckydee
30/11/2016, 2:53 PM
Signed new contract until 2019: http://www.qpr.co.uk/news/article/2016-17/qpr-olamide-shodipo-loftus-road-3444688.aspx

samhaydenjr
18/12/2016, 3:47 AM
After missing out for a few games, came on as a sub after 77 minutes on Wednesday against Derby

18/12/2016, 12:29 PM
On TV now vs Villa. Came on a sub I think.

Just as I turned on the commentator mentioned a guy born in Kildare but who moved to London aged 2. Was that Shodipo or another player?

18/12/2016, 3:00 PM
must be him, no other Irish player in either team, he was born in Dublin though. Could have lived in Kildare alright.

Deckydee
19/12/2016, 1:39 PM
On TV now vs Villa. Came on a sub I think.

Just as I turned on the commentator mentioned a guy born in Kildare but who moved to London aged 2. Was that Shodipo or another player?

Thats him indeed: https://www.kildarenow.com/soccer/young-qpr-striker-with-family-in-kildare-hoping-to-be-called-into-martin-oneills-ireland-squad/120676

TheOneWhoKnocks
30/01/2017, 2:26 PM
Has signed on loan for Port Vale.

http://www.onevalefan.co.uk/2017/01/port-vale-sign-qpr-winger-on-loan/

30/01/2017, 3:54 PM
Has signed on loan for Port Vale.

http://www.onevalefan.co.uk/2017/01/port-vale-sign-qpr-winger-on-loan/

From 1st team to on loan at Port Vale. Do I not like that.

30/01/2017, 4:06 PM
Just waiting on Charlie to confirm that he's finished.

CraftyToePoke
30/01/2017, 4:08 PM
Yeah but the flip side is Ryan Manning I guess, just shows how a manager coming in can alter ones prospects.

30/01/2017, 4:11 PM
I'm waiting on Paul to point out he said he was finished a year ago, but nobody listened and now who's laughing?

30/01/2017, 7:27 PM
Just waiting on Charlie to confirm that he's finished.
RIP Olamide 30/1/2017 </3

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/03/2017, 11:36 PM
https://twitter.com/RobBrennan82/status/846826793151664128

He's struggling to get into Port Vale's team and they are in the relegation zone in League One!

IsMiseSean
01/04/2017, 2:04 PM
Does that Rob Brennan lad just make things up as he goes along?

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/04/2017, 2:06 PM
Does that Rob Brennan lad just make things up as he goes along?

He has an allegiance to QPR which sways things somewhat.

That tweet makes him sound like the Southend and Plymouth managers saying McLaughlin and Carey should be called up.

Our playing pool isn't that bad!

samhaydenjr
12/10/2017, 1:27 AM
While his QPR compatriot Reece Grego-Cox was banging in a hat-trick for the U-21 National Team, Shodipo marked his return to the QPR U-23 team with the winning goal against Coventry: https://www.qpr.co.uk/fixtures/under-23/2017/qpr-u23s-v-coventry-city-u23s/

samhaydenjr
17/10/2017, 1:12 AM
Shodipo on fire at the moment, getting a hat-trick in a wild 5-4 win over Charlton's U-23s. Reece Grego-Cox carried over his recent international form to his club and got the winner: https://www.qpr.co.uk/fixtures/under-23/2017/charlton-athletic-u23s-v-qpr-u23s/

12/03/2018, 12:31 AM
Shodipo made his first appearance for Colchester at the weekend as a second half substitute, more than a month after he signed for them on loan

09/03/2019, 1:46 PM
on the bench for QPR today, first match day involvement since last April

samhaydenjr
09/03/2019, 4:26 PM
on the bench for QPR today, first match day involvement since last April

Came on for the final 17 minutes - that's a good turnaround - I was worried his career was drifting away so hopefully this is a sign that he's back on track because it would give us another option in midfield