View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2016/17

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

Shoot
03/03/2017, 11:07 PM
So is that a good thing for summer soccer or bad, i personally think it is a bad thing we have not had that many fixtures fall fowl to the weather thank god. If the pitches are to hard during the summer due to adverse weather (ha ha) does that mean they will be called off or will it be a case of its dry lads feck the hamstrings and the calfs and the achilles and play away. Incase ye haven't noticed i'm not for summer soccer. How many of my Foot.ie buddys are for or against let us know with a simple YES FOR OR NO AGAINST

Langerdan007
06/03/2017, 12:33 PM
NO..... (5 character minimum :D)

Gazza29
06/03/2017, 1:04 PM
I'm all for it

Abbeyman
06/03/2017, 4:28 PM
No , the Desmond league outside of the top three or four teams has never been weaker , seeking to exclude gaa players could rob the league of half its players and clubs as if things aren't bad enough . totally unnecessary , what we have is not broken and be careful what people wish for !

Gazza29
07/03/2017, 2:35 PM
No , the Desmond league outside of the top three or four teams has never been weaker , seeking to exclude gaa players could rob the league of half its players and clubs as if things aren't bad enough . totally unnecessary , what we have is not broken and be careful what people wish for !

I would have thought the opposite in that I don't think the league has been this strong in 20 years. Usually it's one team running away with it, where as this year we have the Munster Champions Cup champions struggling to break into the top 3. Outside of the top 4 you have the defending Desmond Cup champions Glin and below them again you have Ballingarry who almost won a league cup last year. Personally I find it a bit irritating when guys throw around the "it's never been weaker" line which seems to be thrown out on a regular basis

Shearer
08/03/2017, 9:06 AM
Janesboro beat Broadford 2-1 in Charleville last Sunday.

Gazza29
09/03/2017, 9:39 PM
I see Aisling have beaten Janesboro, Carew and on Wed night Pike. Broadford will do well to keep the score down on Sunday considering the top teams Rathkeale, Abbey and Rovers have all beaten them this season. What are u predicting Shearer

southern kid
10/03/2017, 9:18 PM
Annacotty v average team. Broadford are alot stronger Dan start of season so broadford win for me. Comfortably

Cruyff
11/03/2017, 1:48 PM
Broadford have a great chance tomorrow, better footballing side I think based on seeing them a bit lately. They'll find Annacotty a tough nut to crack, very well coached side and they have Mawdsley who is absolutely lethal given a chance. I'll tip broadford but only by a hair. Could get quite open also especially if there's an early goal

Johnnie C
11/03/2017, 6:52 PM
Aisling Annacotty have had some big results in their MJC campaign to date but I'd give Broadford a good chance of progressing as well. Would be great for the league to see a side in the last 4.

Shearer
12/03/2017, 11:10 AM
Limerick Desmond League Preview 12/3/2017 (http://stoppagetime.ie/limerick-desmond-league/jason/limerick-desmond-league-preview-1232017/)

Johnnie C
12/03/2017, 3:31 PM
1-0 win for Broadford, Brian Hannigan with the winner in the first half for a deserved victory. First DL side to reach MJC semis since Askeaton in 1991 I think, great stuff.

Gazza29
15/03/2017, 3:33 PM
Fair play to Broadford, massive achievement. I still think they will struggle to progress any further given the quality and pedigree of the teams remaining but to get to a semi is outstanding, probably bigger than Abbeys win in Munster champions cup in my opinion as there are more teams. Great year for the league with both Abbey and Broadfords progress on top of two other good teams battling for the premier. It's been a long time since there has been that type of competition in the league. Fair play to all involved

Johnnie C
15/03/2017, 8:56 PM
Semi Final Draw
Fairview Rgs v Pike Rvs
Limerick Venue, Date TBC

Broadford Utd v St Michael's
Limerick Desmond Venue, Date TBC

Wonder if they'll take it to Newcastle or Clounreask?

balls
16/03/2017, 12:44 PM
Which pitch is best. Michaels should bring a good crowd with them aswell

Gazza29
16/03/2017, 1:05 PM
Which pitch is best. Michaels should bring a good crowd with them aswell
Tough draw but they all are I suppose, I see on Facebook that they are talking about Ballingarry

CraftyToePoke
16/03/2017, 3:12 PM
Any ideas when this might be lads ? I am hope soon for a few days and I'd definitely go and see it.

Shearer
16/03/2017, 5:28 PM
Fair play to Broadford, massive achievement. I still think they will struggle to progress any further given the quality and pedigree of the teams remaining but to get to a semi is outstanding, probably bigger than Abbeys win in Munster champions cup in my opinion as there are more teams. Great year for the league with both Abbey and Broadfords progress on top of two other good teams battling for the premier. It's been a long time since there has been that type of competition in the league. Fair play to all involved
I'd have to disagree with you there. While it is a great achievement for Broadford and I'm not taking anything away from them, Annacotty were woeful on Sunday and the toughest side they have come across in six games is Rathkeale. I know they can only beat what's in front of them but they have had great luck with the draw and have had four of their six games on home soil (make that 5/7 now). They'll fancy their chances against St. Michael's with Abbeyfeale beating them at Christmas.

Abbeyfeale may have only played four games in the Munster Champions Trophy but they defeated four sides who were all reigning premier division champions in their respective leagues. Three of their four games were against top sides and there was nothing between them.

The Enforcer
16/03/2017, 8:33 PM
I'd have to disagree with you there. While it is a great achievement for Broadford and I'm not taking anything away from them, Annacotty were woeful on Sunday and the toughest side they have come across in six games is Rathkeale. I know they can only beat what's in front of them but they have had great luck with the draw and have had four of their six games on home soil (make that 5/7 now). They'll fancy their chances against St. Michael's with Abbeyfeale beating them at Christmas.

Abbeyfeale may have only played four games in the Munster Champions Trophy but they defeated four sides who were all reigning premier division champions in their respective leagues. Three of their four games were against top sides and there was nothing between them.

Aisling can't be that bad, In the last 8 days they have beaten Pike and Janesboro but lost to a Desmond league side, or are Pike and Janesboro also bad sides?

Shearer
16/03/2017, 9:24 PM
I'm not saying their bad. I am reliably informed that they were good on Thursday night and tonight but were useless on Sunday.

The Enforcer
16/03/2017, 9:47 PM
I'm not saying their bad. I am reliably informed that they were good on Thursday night and tonight but were useless on Sunday.

Were they made look useless. U don't seem to be giving a whole pile of credit to ur own local side

southern kid
16/03/2017, 9:53 PM
Ya I agree with shearer, but first of all let me say well done to broadford on progressing to semi..I was at the 3 game s annacotty played in, they were excellent v pike, looked very poor v broadford, the pace of the game was slow and neither side looked great and tonight they done well but janesboro were also very poor, looked very slow and poor at the back and played wit 10 men for a good spell. I'm not knocking broadford for who they have beat on way bcos that is all they could beat with the draw going that way. Abbeyfeale beat four premier champions and one of them were st michaels so let's all c how broadford get on against them and then maybe we can judge.

Cruyff
17/03/2017, 8:14 AM
First off Congratulations to Broadford, only second side ever to get to this stage I believe.
Far better footballing side last Sunday.
I'd have to agree with Shearer also, I was at all 3 Annacotty games in the last 7 days and thought they were excellent against Pike, poor on Sunday and good enough last night, I say good enough as they played 10 men for nearly 60 minutes and Annacotty tired towards the end of normal time only a fantastic goal pulled it out if the fire for them at the end of extra time.
With regards to Sunday, I think first of all Annacotty having to play one of the best junior teams in the country 72 hours before hand didn't help them.
Second I think the pace of the game was suited to Broadford, a slower possession game suits broadford as they are a better footballing side than Annacotty without a doubt in my opinion.
Third, Broadford were far better in the middle of the field with Willie O'Brien, Gary Egan, and Michael Brosnan they're as strong as any team in the country, Annacotty are not as strong there and in my opinion that's where broadford beat them.
So I think it's more a case of Annacotty are not as good as we think they are maybe and Broadford probably won't get the credit they should until they beat a better side and they don't come much better than St Michael's so we'll see then.
Hopefully they can pull it off, it would be great for our league.

Shearer
17/03/2017, 4:39 PM
Premier Division League Cup Quarter Final: Broadford United 1-3 Newcastle West AFC.
CJ Fitzpatrick put Broadford into the lead after 20 minutes, Paul Downes equalised before the break and completed his hat-trick with goals on the 65th and 80th minutes.

southern kid
18/03/2017, 10:54 AM
Terrible result for broadford..this is our representative in munster semi.should be able to beat Newcastle west..

Johnnie C
18/03/2017, 2:30 PM
Very surprising result. Abbey beat Ballingarry 3-0 in league last Wednesday night.

Shearer
18/03/2017, 8:44 PM
Limerick Desmond League Preview 19/3/2017 (http://stoppagetime.ie/limerick-desmond-league/jason/limerick-desmond-league-preview-1932017/)

fanaticfan
19/03/2017, 12:49 AM
Why was this game played on St Patricks Day? Poor result for Broadford, did they deserve to lose? Bad result for them after a great win against Aisling

Shearer
19/03/2017, 6:54 AM
Why was this game played on St Patricks Day? Poor result for Broadford, did they deserve to lose? Bad result for them after a great win against Aisling
Broadford were probably the better team but Newcastle defended them well along with the fact Paul Downes gave the two centre halves an awful time of it.

Shearer
23/03/2017, 9:02 PM
The Riedy Cup Final is fixtured for Saturday April 15th, anyone know the venue?

fanaticfan
25/03/2017, 10:55 AM
Any reviews for this weekend's games shearer

Shearer
25/03/2017, 6:53 PM
Be up before 9PM hopefully.

Shearer
25/03/2017, 8:19 PM
Limerick Desmond League Preview 26/3/2017 (http://stoppagetime.ie/limerick-desmond-league/jason/limerick-desmond-league-preview-2632017/)

faceoff
28/03/2017, 4:12 AM

More than 4.They also had to win their league to get there.😊😊😊

Johnnie C
31/03/2017, 9:23 PM
Broadford Utd v St Michael's
Fixed for Ballingarry AFC Grounds, Limerick on Saturday 22nd April 2017, Kick-Off 5-00pm.
Taken from munsterfa website.

Shearer
01/04/2017, 8:43 PM
Limerick Desmond League 2/4/2017 (http://stoppagetime.ie/limerick-desmond-league/jason/limerick-desmond-league-preview-242017/)

robotwarsfan
02/04/2017, 1:52 PM
genuine question, is there any way in the desmond league you can appeal a straight red if you feel it is unjust?

southern kid
02/04/2017, 4:05 PM
No unfortunately not. The referees decision is final and to be fair there is some shocking decisions made by them.. I seen one today that influenced the result in a game and ref got it wrong. And another one with brdf v annacotty by a linesman that could have been influenced it by disallowing a genuine on side goal and calling it off side. Shocking really at that level.. what was the red card for..

robotwarsfan
02/04/2017, 6:32 PM
No unfortunately not. The referees decision is final and to be fair there is some shocking decisions made by them.. I seen one today that influenced the result in a game and ref got it wrong. And another one with brdf v annacotty by a linesman that could have been influenced it by disallowing a genuine on side goal and calling it off side. Shocking really at that level.. what was the red card for.. basically i was a neutral at a game today and the ref *H sent off two players from the same team, 1st red card the fella who was sent off was firstly held in a head lock a few minutes earlier nothing done, then when he came onto the keeper, he was boxed and kicked by him and the fella who did nothing was sent off. 2nd red was when a player was running into the box with the ball, player kicked it goalkeeper (loss of control) and kept going and bundled into him and shown straight red. although the team with 9 won 1-0

faceoff
02/04/2017, 11:12 PM
No unfortunately not. The referees decision is final and to be fair there is some shocking decisions made by them.. I seen one today that influenced the result in a game and ref got it wrong. And another one with brdf v annacotty by a linesman that could have been influenced it by disallowing a genuine on side goal and calling it off side. Shocking really at that level.. what was the red card for..

A red card can be appealed to MFA but if you dont win your case and get it rescinded you forfeit the appeal fee.And very very few if any win them.So good luck with it if ye appeal to MFA.You have only certain length of time to do it and not sure of timeframe.Im sure the Sec of Desmond League would give that info.But it definetely can be done.No doubt.Ive known clubs in Limerick who have done it.

Langerdan007
03/04/2017, 11:44 AM
You'd never get it appealed to MFA before the League Cup game roborwarsfan - waste of money!

Shearer
03/04/2017, 1:59 PM
The league is in Rathkeale's hands after Abbeyfeale's draw with Rovers yesterday. They're seven points ahead with one game more played and even if Abbeyfeale were to win their game in hand and beat Rathkeale, I'm not sure if Rathkeale would drop points in their remaining games which are (in no particular order):

Newcastle West AFC (H).
Athea United (A).
Carrig Celtic (H).
Broadford United (H).
Abbeyfeale United (A).

While Abbeyfeale have:

Newcastle West AFC (A).
Ballingarry (A).
Killeaney (H).
Athea United (H).
Broadford United (A).
Rathkeale (H).

robotwarsfan
03/04/2017, 2:24 PM
Sound faceoff and langerdan I'm not affiliated with any club so don't have a clue of the fixture list?

fanaticfan
03/04/2017, 2:59 PM
Michael Brosnan player of the year for the LDFL. How can someone get player of the year when the league and desmond cup isn't even finished. Congrats to Michael though. A great talent. Is that Premier Division player of the year? If so does anyone know who got the otherain in the rest of the divisons

Gazza29
03/04/2017, 6:35 PM
The league is in Rathkeale's hands after Abbeyfeale's draw with Rovers yesterday. They're seven points ahead with one game more played and even if Abbeyfeale were to win their game in hand and beat Rathkeale, I'm not sure if Rathkeale would drop points in their remaining games which are (in no particular order):

Newcastle West AFC (H).
Athea United (A).
Carrig Celtic (H).
Broadford United (H).
Abbeyfeale United (A).

While Abbeyfeale have:

Newcastle West AFC (A).
Ballingarry (A).
Killeaney (H).
Athea United (H).
Broadford United (A).
Rathkeale (H).

Does anyone know who Rathkeale and Abbey have in their final 2 games of the season. It would be a massive advantage to Abbey to play Rathkeale in Abbey with on the final weekend

Shearer
04/04/2017, 7:59 PM
Limerick Desmond League Review 2/4/2017. (http://stoppagetime.ie/limerick-desmond-league/jason/limerick-desmond-league-review-242017/)

western gale 1
05/04/2017, 11:13 AM
Does anyone know who Rathkeale and Abbey have in their final 2 games of the season. It would be a massive advantage to Abbey to play Rathkeale in Abbey with on the final weekend

League fixture No 17 Abbeyfeale Utd v Athea Utd
League fixture No 18 Athea Utd v Rathkeale

western gale 1
05/04/2017, 11:19 AM
Saturday, April 8th

Desmond Youths Cup SFs (et & pens if required)
Newcastle West Rovers V Abbeyfeale Utd 230 (J Roche)
Askeaton V GB Rovers 230 (P O’Brien)

Youths Division 1 League Cup (90 min)
Carrig Celtic V Broadford Utd 230 (D Wallace)

Sunday, April 9th

Premier Division League Cup SF (et & pens if required)
Rathkeale V Carrig Celtic 1130 (E Noonan)

Division 1 League Cup QF (et & pens if required)
Glantine V AK Utd 1130 (P Manning)

Division 1 League Cup SF (et & pens if required)
Breska Rovers V Kildimo Utd 230 (G O’Connor)

Premier Division
Newcastle West V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 (T Fitzmaurice)
Broadford Utd V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (P King)
Killeaney V Athea Utd 1130 (J Roche)

Division 1
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Feenagh 230 (J Molyneaux)
Pallaskenry V Granagh Utd 1130 (P O’Brien)

Division 2
Askeaton V Ballysteen 1130 (P O’Connor)
St Itas V Bally Rovers 1130 (S Hartnett)
Shountrade V Newcastle West Rovers B 230 (L O’Connor)
Rockhill Rovers V Glin Rovers B 230 (E Noonan)

Division 3 League Cup Group (90min)
Knockaderry V Creeves Celtic 230 (T Fitzmaurice)
Carrig Celtic B V Feenagh B 230 (W Fitzgerald)
Glantine B V Newcastle West B 230 (P King)

Gazza29
05/04/2017, 6:06 PM
League fixture No 17 Abbeyfeale Utd v Athea Utd
League fixture No 18 Athea Utd v Rathkeale

Could be big games bearing in mind that Athea might need the wins themselves to stay out of trouble

western gale 1
07/04/2017, 11:29 PM
Division 1 played tonight Abbeyfeale Utd B 0 Feenagh 1