View Full Version : France V Republic of Ireland - Sunday, 26 June 2016 - Euro 2016 Round of 16
CraftyToePoke
24/06/2016, 8:17 PM
CTP can vouch for the view of those tickets too.
The finest of the fine, quite possibly the finest view ever in all of humanity, or indeed time. Still have no voice, none, its someplace in the rafters of that stadium.
24/06/2016, 11:39 PM
What about fans who applied for follow your team but whose credit card was stolen?
My missus told me yesterday I should go back and watch the French game. I suspect she's having an affair. She wants me to go as much as I do. TV for me though.
You're a real fan Stutts. Just with an asterisk.
Real ale Madrid
25/06/2016, 8:43 AM
Watched the Italy game back last night - they had a slow motion after the goal of MON leaping around. Watch to his left Jon Walters leap up and sprint a few yards in front and down the his right. He didn't look that badly injured to me!
Olé Olé
25/06/2016, 9:02 AM
Would love to see the same side and structure as the other night. If Walters were fit and able then I think he's a better option than Murphy. He probably hasn't played the same role Murphy played against Italy that much but I think he can. And he offers a goal threat. We need another of those.
After that, with Ward probably out, I'd like to see Clark or Christie at LB. Christie showed against Belarus how good he is going forward. He also showed against Belarus how capable of a defensive lapse he is going back. That was Belarus and this is France. Clark might be a safer option there. But please, please, please not Robbie Brady.
It's a real conundrum at centre-half. A good point was made on OTB last night about how neither Duffy nor Keogh has ever faced a striker like Giroud or Griezmann who are both noted for their movement. O'Shea has. That's leading me to think we might be better off sticking O'Shea in alongside one of those. Very hard to say which though.
Also, I'm fully expecting Glenn Whelan will start! Not that I want him to. I think it would be great if we could tell whether France are going to play 4-3-3 or 4-2-3-1 and tailor our selection accordingly. Mystic Mon has a job on his hands.
25/06/2016, 1:45 PM
Sky News reporting major train problems affecting England and Ireland fans. Are we sure Tets hasn't gone back out?
25/06/2016, 3:09 PM
Sky News reporting major train problems affecting England and Ireland fans. Are we sure Tets hasn't gone back out?
nope, I'm still on my island
TrapAPony
25/06/2016, 3:52 PM
Walters and Ward are fit for tomorrow.
TheOneWhoKnocks
25/06/2016, 3:59 PM
If Walters comes back in, one of the following has to happen.
Replaces McClean who was phenomenal the other night.
Replaces Ward while Brady reverts to left back, having been phenomenal in midfield the other night.
Replaces Murphy; Long & Murphy looked a better partnership the other night than Long & Walters ever have.
Personally I wouldn't make any changes. Keogh, Duffy, McClean and Murphy have all put in stronger shifts than O'Shea, Clark, Whelan and Walters.
We benefited from having the energy of a young midfield with Hendrick, McCarthy, Brady and McClean the other night. More of the same PLEASE. That is the midfield that should be starting the World Cup Qualifiers going forward.
TheOneWhoKnocks
25/06/2016, 4:04 PM
If Walters or Hoolahan come in for Murphy and O'Shea replaces Duffy or Keogh I wouldn't mind.
Be worried about Whelan coming in as McCarthy looks a better player without him in the team.
Brady absolutely must play in midfield and Ward remain at LB.
O'Neill has hard decisions to make actually.
25/06/2016, 4:09 PM
The only changes I see happening are O'Shea for Keogh and Walters for Murphy.
25/06/2016, 6:05 PM
Wouldnt change a thing bar Walters for Murphy. And even then that's just out of curiosity. Murphy was great the other night. I can imagine a fit Walters being a bigger pain to play against though.
Olé Olé
25/06/2016, 6:35 PM
Wouldnt change a thing bar Walters for Murphy. And even then that's just out of curiosity. Murphy was great the other night. I can imagine a fit Walters being a bigger pain to play against though.
I agree. Fair enough Murphy held the ball up but we didn't score whilst he was on the field, despite having the majority of the ball. Granted he played his part in retaining the ball but I don't think Walters would leave us down with his touch and control. And, Walters can score. He has a 25% strike rate for Ireland. Murphy has a 0% strike rate. They have 40 and 21 caps respectively.
I'm a bit worried Ward is out. And if he's not at 100% then how will a dodgy ankle cope against the electric movement whoever will be on his flank will employ (Kingsley Coman? Would need more than a good strapping for him)?
25/06/2016, 8:00 PM
The only changes I see happening are O'Shea for Keogh and Walters for Murphy.Do you really see Keogh making way for O'Shea rather than Duffy? I can see Duffy and O'Shea working but still...
I think he'll stick with Murphy and tell him to run himself into the ground for 60 mins.
NeverFeltBetter
26/06/2016, 9:12 AM
While beating France in their own tournament would be the kind of result that could genuinely stand as our greatest ever, I just don't see it happening today. France have an advantage in rest days, an advantage in fans in the stadium, are bound to have the standard preference from the officials on 50/50's. Their squad is better, man for man, than ours for the most part. Unlike Italy, they have something to play for.
Obviously there's always the chance of something upsetting the applecart - an early goal, a red card, just a general ****ting the bed from the hosts - but while I don't think it'll be as bad as the Belgium result, I can imagine a similar kind of game where Ireland cede possession and try and live on scraps at the other end.
I've also been struck by the differing opinions on using the handball as a potential motivator. You can see it still hurts former players like Duff, but members of the actual squad either don't care or don't want to think about it.
DeLorean
26/06/2016, 11:25 AM
For the record, if we did manage to win somehow, obviously the Henry thing would add an extra bit of satisfaction, maybe even provide some badly needed closure for those still twisting and turning at night! I just think it's a waste of energy trying to use it in the build up, focus on the positives and the here and now, the controlables as they say. I'm sure that's what the squad are doing and it's not as if they seriously need any more motivation than the prize on offer anyway.
DeLorean
26/06/2016, 11:46 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cl398QCWIAAIYd-.jpg
26/06/2016, 11:47 AM
No changes
legendz
26/06/2016, 11:48 AM
The odds for today's game seem fair enough. The Italians sat back a bit. France will thrown more at us. We will need at least a performance of a similar level to Wednesday night. I hope for the best! :)
26/06/2016, 12:06 PM
Great news! Don't change a winning team! Getting excited now, which is great because I've a killer hangover and the thoughts of going to play a gig later on have not been great thus far today. Come on the lads!
DeLorean
26/06/2016, 12:21 PM
I'd have made a couple of changes I think. Not changing a winning team are only words with no substance really, every game is different and every opposition provide a different challenge. It's chalk and cheese compared to last Wednesday in terms of the task we're facing. I know we'll be aiming to make it a 4-3-3 but in terms of our players natural positions it's more of a 4-4-2 so I just hope we're not run ragged. I think Whelan's absence should help in that regard though because at least we have the legs, notwithstanding the possibility of burnout from Wednesday. Monumental task for Duffy and Keogh. I do like having the Hoolahan option in reserve but I'd like him on the pitch from the start also, can't have it all I guess! Walters a good option off the bench also hopefully.
I don't mean this in a defeatist way but we're in bonus territory for sure at this stage, hopefully they can give it a right cut.
26/06/2016, 12:32 PM
I see your point. I think this is a pressure free game for us but not for them. I worry less about the selection, more about the short recovery time, heat, lack of fans. We could be dead on our feet if it goes to ET.
26/06/2016, 12:33 PM
few subtle digs from Martin O'Neill to Tony O'Donoghue there
26/06/2016, 12:36 PM
I am hoping that we are competitive and if we can't win it (for all the good reasons outlined in the last couple of posts) that we go out with a bang, not a whimper. No repeat of Belgium, lets see confidence, composure and class.
DeLorean
26/06/2016, 12:42 PM
few subtle digs from Martin O'Neill to Tony O'Donoghue there
I didn't pick up on those at all?
26/06/2016, 12:54 PM
saying that how, people were questioning the team after the win in Georgia
26/06/2016, 1:02 PM
What a start!
26/06/2016, 1:02 PM
OMG Peno
26/06/2016, 1:03 PM
Unbelievable!
26/06/2016, 1:03 PM
Wasn't convinced by that run up, but what a penalty.
Game on.
26/06/2016, 1:04 PM
Only England have won a match from behind so far...
26/06/2016, 1:06 PM
Almost feel it is too soon to be ahead!
WE need another!
26/06/2016, 1:13 PM
Beats our first ever finals goal as our quickest ever finals goal. Don't remember many faster in any game tbh, bar 13 seconds v Hungary in O'Leary's testimonial, which wasn't a full international.
Brady only the second player to score more than once at a finals tournament.
We do appear to have woken the dragon though.
26/06/2016, 1:13 PM
Revenge????
26/06/2016, 1:16 PM
Holy ****.
26/06/2016, 1:24 PM
we are in to 50-1 for the trophy
26/06/2016, 1:25 PM
We hvae found a shape that works for us, Coleman booked
26/06/2016, 1:34 PM
Martin O Neil can't believe it look bewildered
Hendrick hobbling
26/06/2016, 1:35 PM
Get Whelan on!
26/06/2016, 1:36 PM
Hendrick playing a stormer here!
26/06/2016, 1:39 PM
Long! Corner!
26/06/2016, 1:42 PM
Hendrick with a second utterly retarded booking of the tournament and will miss the next match. Don't know does that carry over to qualifying if we lose here?
26/06/2016, 1:51 PM
That was the best 45 mins from an O'Neill team of ours, disciplined, controlled and total intelligence at play.
We just have to keep on with the high pressing in to the 2nd half.
Must be a record nr of cards dished out already?
texidub
26/06/2016, 1:51 PM
Brilliant first half. Composed, skillful, hungry... great to see an Irish team play like this.
DeLorean
26/06/2016, 1:53 PM
A bit premature but I'm a bit gutted about that suspension. A black mark on an otherwise brilliant first half. Kante suspension a blow as well if we lose. :)
McCarthy excellent as well, his kind of game. No obvious weakness in our team at all again today. Ward and Murphy surprising everybody again I think (presume).
26/06/2016, 1:58 PM
I think we're struggling to keep it but our advantage is that they are looking to hit Giroud which suits our two CBs. I'd be concerned if they run more at us and play short passes close to our goal.
I'm having kittens watching this. Really not enjoying it, but loving it at the same time. I'd just like to fast-forward to the result.
SwanVsDalton
26/06/2016, 2:00 PM
Sweet baby Jesus and the donkeyrino...
This is so on. Super first half. Just want to see us show the composure needed to see this out. If we wern't snatching at crosses and chances that half could have been even better - I'm thinking specifically of Hendrick when he had loads of time in the box to cut the ball back after Murphy's shot and some crosses from Coleman/Ward.
Just calm it down. We can feckin do this.
26/06/2016, 2:02 PM
Murphy has been good, but I'd still rather Walters up there.
However, we do still have him and Wes to come off the bench. And at least they've a game to come into, compared to if they came on against Belgium.
26/06/2016, 2:04 PM
Also, the home crowd has really quietened. They'll be up for it again the next ten minutes - if we can hold on through that, I reckon the crowd will start to get on France's backs.
Coman on now for Kante.
26/06/2016, 2:05 PM
My heart won't take this.