View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Sweden - Monday, 13th June 2016 - Euro 2016 Group E

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

13/06/2016, 5:04 PM
YES!!!!!!

13/06/2016, 5:05 PM
YES!!!!!!

13/06/2016, 5:05 PM
Get in you beauty

13/06/2016, 5:06 PM
Steady on now!!

eekers
13/06/2016, 5:40 PM
Worst sub in years. Havent got any possession since Keane came on for Wes.

13/06/2016, 5:42 PM
We have been awful most of this half

13/06/2016, 5:43 PM
No point in Robbie

13/06/2016, 5:50 PM
I presume waltets was injured or he wouldn't have come off?

13/06/2016, 5:51 PM
Good performance but a really disappointing result.

13/06/2016, 5:54 PM
2 points dropped really, we were easily the better team for most of it, but let them back into it. Very annoyed we didn't have more of a go in the last 5 minutes.

13/06/2016, 5:55 PM
Good.

Scored.

Bad.

End of our euros unfortunately. Poor game overall.

seanfhear
13/06/2016, 5:58 PM
Some strange things in that game. Olson coming down our right defensive side like he was a property developer !...Why bring on Keane ; We needed someone who could hold the ball up (have we a sub that could do that)

Who was in front of Coleman to give him some protection.

Walters deffo not fit but we probably needed him on the field.

Brady Good , Hoolahan good, Whelan Excellent.

NeverFeltBetter
13/06/2016, 6:09 PM
Disgusted. Surrendered all of the initiative, all of their composure, all of their confidence after scoring. Can only imagine the flaking Keane is handing out. Need at least 2 from Belgium and Italy.

eekers
13/06/2016, 6:12 PM
So O'Neill said Hoolahan signalled to bench he had to come off after cramping up.

We need to make a like for like change then. Ward to left back and Brady moved to Hoolahan's position.

TrapAPony
13/06/2016, 6:13 PM
Don't know why Tony O'Donoghue is congratulating MON. Is he aware that we didn't win? In any case I think we let this one slip. Should have been ahead at half time. Was a very good performance until we scored. I still think we can get draws off of Italy and Belgium. Don't know where that would leave us though.

the doc
13/06/2016, 6:14 PM
Without saying I told you so, but I went on record many times to say Clark would make mistakes and cost us dearly in games.

Many said he will mature and get such mistakes out of his game, I argued that would not be the case.

He's just headed our quick return ticket home from the Euro 2016

Well it seems I really do know my footie.

13/06/2016, 6:20 PM
So. so, so frustrating.

What were we doing after going one-up?

Supreme feet
13/06/2016, 6:25 PM
Without saying I told you so, but I went on record many times to say Clark would make mistakes and cost us dearly in games.

Many said he will mature and get such mistakes out of his game, I argued that would not be the case.

Clark was excellent aside from the OG.

Disappointed with the result, but it was a hugely improved and very respectable performance from the lads compared to the rubbish from four years ago. So much of our good play tonight was initiated by players who were unfairly ignored by Trap for far too long.

13/06/2016, 6:25 PM

We have others capable of scoring own goals so he is not irreplaceable.

NeverFeltBetter
13/06/2016, 6:28 PM
Keane and McGeady badly exposed our lack squad depth. Offered nothing. If only Walters could last the 90.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/06/2016, 6:33 PM
Walters wasn't fit and Ibrahimovic standing on his knee probably didn't help.

Hoolahan signalled to come off but Keane was a pointless sub; he contributed nothing.

Quinn or Meyler should have been brought on earlier to sit on Olsson, who had the freedom of the left hand side of the pitch.

That was a game there for the taking if McClean was on from the start.

Disappointing to see the lack of urgency at the end when we still had one throw deep in their half to attack from.

Hendrick may have earned himself a PL move on back of this and Hoolahan showed the folly of the Trapattoni era.

Italy could be make or break for both teams. Don't think we will get anything off Belgium. All in all I think we will rue that Clark own goal.

13/06/2016, 6:38 PM
Huge improvement on our last European expedition.

A goal and a point, something to build on.

We have as good a chance v Italy and Belgium in my opinion, it is not so much the opposition but how we play that matters.

seanfhear
13/06/2016, 6:39 PM
Clark was excellent aside from the OG.

Disappointed with the result, but it was a hugely improved and very respectable performance from the lads compared to the rubbish from four years ago. So much of our good play tonight was initiated by players who were unfairly ignored by Trap for far too long.A lot happened before Clark headed the own goal . There was more blame there to be honest.

Coleman was poor but seemed very exposed . Trappatony was probably watching saying that the man that delivers coal cannot defend.

13/06/2016, 6:42 PM
A chance to watch the opposition, what result are we hoping for?

Who will win?

Belgium slight favs 7/4 v 2/1

13/06/2016, 6:44 PM
They did play well for their goal.

seanfhear
13/06/2016, 6:59 PM
A chance to watch the opposition, what result are we hoping for?

Who will win?

Belgium slight favs 7/4 v 2/1Probably a draw or if the world standings are anything to be trusted a Belgian Win and let the rest of us fight out the other qualification place (s).

NeverFeltBetter
13/06/2016, 6:59 PM
Randolph was the right choice. His save from O'Shea's leg soon after the goal might be the best of the tournament so far, couldn't do anything about the goal.

Coleman struggled, especially after Ireland scored. Really didn't think he'd be the weak link. Clark could have done better throughout, but wouldn't be too harsh on him for the OG. O'Shea was alright.

Hendrick was great, helped out Brady a lot and made himself a threat, but just needs to be that little bit more accurate. Thought Brady was exceptional on the left. Whelan very solid, that surprised me. McCarthy got roasted down the right more than once and was seriously worried he'd be sent off. Hoolahan my MOTM, offered so much in midfield and going forward, and took his goal extremely well.

Walters, it wasn't his best game, but I'll take his running, his defensive work and his attitude over Robbie Keane any day of the week, half-crocked or not. Long didn't get up to much, bar one or two instances, marked out of it.

McClean made himself useful when he came on, that one cross should have been a lot better though. McGeady didn't really have the time to do much, and didn't make an impact. Keane had more time, and it was a waste of it.

Loved the attitude up to the goal. None of this tortoising in the face of arguably more sophisticated footballers like the North did, they went out and pressed, and the Swedes were in real trouble. And then just...that 10 minute spell after the goal. It was like Trap was back in charge. They just couldn't get a hold of the game until Sweden scored, and even that spell of dominance fizzled out.

I guess we'll see how good/overrated the Belgians and the Italians are. But I'd say we'll need the win against Italy, and no matter how bad they are tipped to be, that will be difficult to get. Such a wasted opportunity out there. Honestly feel almost as bad as after Croatia in 2012.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/06/2016, 7:07 PM
I don't think the way the team is selected does Long any favours. He/we would have been all the better to have McClean and his pace in there when we are firmly on top of a game - not when it's fizzled out and we've collapsed.

As it was we didn't have enough pace or energy to take advantage of a rocked Swedish team.

No coincidence our best chances came from Hendrick's shots outside the box and set-pieces; the running wasn't there for players to get in behind.

Further to that, I worry about Whelan's ability to last 90 minutes over this tournament. He was dead on his feet by the 70 minute mark.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/06/2016, 7:19 PM
“He strolls around like a traffic cop, pointing here and pointing there but doing nothing. He got his manager sacked at Everton this season.

“He is a waste of space, there is no other word for it.”

Eamon Dunphy on James McCarthy.

13/06/2016, 7:25 PM
It does feel more like a defeat but I think that is only because for the majority of the game we were far better than Sweden. The own goal was a sucker punch but it was a number of players not doing the simple stuff like tracking and knowing when to stand off vs attack the ball. I thought O'Neill picked the right team but our subs were horrendous. I'm not going to harp on too much more about someone who didn't even make the shortlist but Pilkington for Walters would have been like for like and very interesting. Keane and McGeady offer nothing and both lucky to be there.

Overall, I thought our back 4 played so well and Coleman grew more into it in the 2nd half. O'Shea and Clark were fantastic and Brady has really come a long way in the LB role.

Hendricks was a colossus, easily his best game in green, and in more ways than just the goal threats. McCarthy was awful, easily his worst game for us although he was a touch better in the second half. Whelan, I have to say, has made up for 2012 for me now. That was a real leaders performance. Walters and Long were both largely ineffective. Hoolohan scored what in my opinion was Ireland's best ever tournament goal and we really lacked his class when he was forced off.

Overall, that was a very good performance. We bossed Sweden for a good 2/3 to 3/4 of that game and looked the superior side. We got nervous after we scored but I thought we regained our composure quite quickly and for the most part closed the last 15 minutes as the stronger team.

It really is all to play for. I fancy us to do it.

seanfhear
13/06/2016, 8:00 PM
Eamon Dunphy on James McCarthy.
How come with all the dumb stuff Dumbfy has done he has not managed to get himself sacked ?

seanfhear
13/06/2016, 8:01 PM
How come so many of our players looked so exhausted ?

NeverFeltBetter
13/06/2016, 8:04 PM
That concerned me a lot. The last 20 minutes against Belgium could be a horror show.

seanfhear
13/06/2016, 8:10 PM
If we get that tired in the next two games we might as well go too bed !

13/06/2016, 8:27 PM
So frustrating but so good for long spells. I think the tiredness is a natural result of the diamond in midfield, there was a mountain of work for the midfield trying to stop the Swedish full backs pushing on. I think it was a bit of an error not to quickly switch to a more conventional 4-5-1 when we scored, Hendrick or Hoolahan going wide right and McLean wide left. Would have made it much more difficult for Olsson when McCarthy was so clearly struggling to cover the ground and Coleman was very exposed. Easy to say in hindsight though. Neither Italy or Belgium look all that exceptional at the moment so definitely still all to play for. Felt like a defeat all the same.

TrapAPony
13/06/2016, 8:52 PM
That Italian win could be good for us. Italy will probably beat Sweden too and put out their reserve team against us as they will already have qualified. That Belgian performance gives us great hope.

Real ale Madrid
13/06/2016, 9:05 PM
How come so many of our players looked so exhausted ?

They looked just as tired at the end - big occasion - lots of nervous energy in the build up - its hardly surprising.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/06/2016, 9:28 PM
Jon Walters said he was nowhere near 100% fit in the Euro 2016 Group E clash with Sweden as doubt hangs over his participation in the rest of the tournament.

The Stoke City man revealed he felt the Achilles injury that he sustained earlier this month after just a minute of the game in Paris

http://www.rte.ie/sport/euro-2016/2016/0613/795350-walters-reveals-injury-struggled-after-a-minute/

MeathDrog
13/06/2016, 9:44 PM
I think some lads need to take in the game as a whole and not just the periods where we were on top.

There's no doubt we were the better team at the half and could have been 2 or 3 up.

However we could easily have lost the game too. O Shea missed a sitter but so did Sweden. That cross near the end that went between Ibra and Clark was very close too.

Overall the 1-1 was probably fair.

texidub
13/06/2016, 9:46 PM
I've always thought of Keane as a fella that needs the best part of 15-20 minutes in a game to warm up and become a real threat. Not sure he adds much as a sub.

I like the mentality a lot though.. and a huge improvement on bashful Irish tournament performances of the past. Fair play to the team.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/06/2016, 9:51 PM
So sub role doesn't suit Keane, Walters is injured, doubtful Hoolahan can start two games in succession, Whelan & McCarthy on bookings.

Fair to say we are getting stretched early in terms of how to utilize squad etc?

Surely Murphy and Meyler and/or Quinn will be needed by a week's time.

13/06/2016, 9:59 PM
Probably a draw or if the world standings are anything to be trusted a Belgian Win and let the rest of us fight out the other qualification place (s).

Yea I was not expecting a 2-0 win for Italy, I though it would be close, Belgium dominated the shots and possession according
to the stats, but Italy got more shots on target, quality not quantity I guess.

It puts some shape on the group, we have Belgium next.

Hope we do as well as Italy but it ain't gonna be easy that is for sure!

13/06/2016, 10:02 PM
That concerned me a lot. The last 20 minutes against Belgium could be a horror show.

The full 90 could be! :D

SwanVsDalton
13/06/2016, 10:07 PM
So, so, so frustrated. It's was the game to win and we should have won. It was there for us and in a fairly classic way we blew it. There's plenty of positives, but I couldn't be arsed dwelling on them too much right now. I'm just too cheesed off.

I thought defensively we were largely excellent, except down the right where Coleman wasn't at his best and given no protection. Clark has been hung out to dry in some quarters (not here, mostly social media) for the own goal but I thought he and O'Shea were largely excellent, and kept Ibra totally hushed for most of the game. For the own goal, there wasn't much he could do - a cross from seven yards at pace at more or less head height as he's travelling backwards and an attacker down his neck. A nightmare for a defender and a nightmare outcome but tough to blame the guy.

Brady was super going forward and his delivery is so excellent. Coleman didn't have his best game but he was totally up against it, since McCarthy did so little to help him and Walters didn't look his usual self.

Whelan had a very good game. Tuned in and a leader. If we make it out of this group, he'll be crucial.

By contrast, McCarthy might get a deserved dropping for Belgium. Thought he was poor, off the pace and generally didn't look up to it. Brady into midfield, Hendrick CB and Ward LB next game?

Hendrick can take some deserved plaudits for a very good game. Wessi was superb. Long did really well up top with some typically limited service and Walters wasn't anywhere near what he can be, albeit he still made some very good interventions. He didn't look fit. But I don't blame the management for risking him. He's a big player. But now it's a massive question mark over whether he can play Saturday.

I thought all the subs were various shades of useless. McClean less so but he didn't have much of an opportunity to make an impact and his couple of runs ended up being wasteful.

That game was never going to suit McGeady and Keane and, as has been pointed out, it brings into question the squad selection. I've not been convinced Doyle would add all that much, realistically, but at 70 minutes he was the man I wanted off the bench. Not Keane, not Murphy. I don't question bringing Keane, but if Murphy is a big guy who can't get a run when we're launching it in the last quarter against a limited, physical team like Sweden then when can he get a run? Why bring him?

I'm holding on to what TrapAPony said about Belgium above. We're still in it, it's already much better than 2012 - but still. But still.

13/06/2016, 10:27 PM
I thought we played really well until we scored. After that we looked like a nervous wreck until they equalised. Same old Ireland.

Atmosphere in the ground was electric.

Walters wasn't fit and shouldn't have played if he was that crocked. Wessi and Hendricks looked neat and tidy all game.

On plus side we need one more point. I think we will draw the next 2 games anyway!

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/06/2016, 10:32 PM
Two points is hardly enough to be one of the four best third placed teams.

Agree our squad could be exposed big time over the next week.

Walters should be saved for the Italy match now.

All is forGiven Shay for playing while injured in 2012.

eekers
13/06/2016, 10:58 PM
Two points is hardly enough to be one of the four best third placed teams.

Agree our squad could be exposed big time over the next week.

Walters should be saved for the Italy match now.

All is forGiven Shay for playing while injured in 2012.

2 points could get us second in a freak scenario where Italy beat everyone. We draw with Belgium and Belgium draw with Sweden. It would come down to goals scored in the games between us, Belgium and Sweden. So say we draw 1-1 with Belgium and Sweden draw 0-0 with Belgium. It would be:

Italy 9pts
Ireland 2pts 0 goal difference 2 goals scored
Belgium 2pts 0 goal difference 1 goals scored
Sweden 2 pts 0 goal difference 1 goals scored

13/06/2016, 11:33 PM
One more point isnonsense. We need to beat Italy or Belgium

14/06/2016, 12:45 AM
It was a very poor game of football and ultimately very disappointing. I don't know which team was more culpable for dragging down the standard but i suspect our management team were more intent on this strategy against what was the poorest Swedish team i have witnessed at any finals and one that should have beaten out of sight in the first half.
Our centre halves, whelan and the triumvirate (Hendrick Brady Hoolahan) all did very well and more the pity that others for different reasons struggled. Long's ability was totally wasted with the management's strategy. Tactically we were bankrupt after we went ahead and again management were clueless in effecting counter measures.
The team selected looked good on paper but wasted with the emphasis on caveman huff and puff football and possibly more than a couple of the players were far from being match fit.

DannyInvincible
14/06/2016, 1:25 AM
Proud of the performance but terribly disappointed with the result. Such a pity we couldn't hold on and seemed to lose our composure for a spell after scoring. We really should have won it. We could have been a few goals up at half-time. Towering performances from Hendrick, Brady and Wes. Possibly Hendrick's best ever in an Ireland shirt. Wes shone on the big stage and I was delighted for him. Amazing finish for the goal. Good work by Coleman in the lead-up too. It was McCarthy who put the ball out there for him. Did Dunphy miss that?

No problems with Randolph. He pulled off a great save to keep O'Shea's miss-kick out. Solid otherwise. Couldn't have done much for the goal really, I don't think.

Whelan led well too. Long was limited to chasing. Losing Walters leaves us a bit short on options up front. Subs were ineffective.

Harsh to blame Clark for the goal. thedoc's criticism earlier is way off. He played very well and what was he to do in that situation? Had he left it, Larsson would have scored and he'd be getting an earful for that. He was in a no-win situation; not his fault for doing his best to get to the ball. The goal came as a result of slack defending elsewhere.