View Full Version : This Coming Season

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

24/01/2016, 4:36 PM
Maybe Ward was just a money thing? Can't imagine he'd be cheap and maybe Russell would rather use the money differently.

24/01/2016, 5:12 PM
Ya possible they could be lining up a defender and a striker and feel the money could be used better there.

bluewhitearmy
24/01/2016, 9:46 PM
They never discussed money. Plus with the budget we have and the squad currently signed if we dont have money left for at least 4 players someone is getting hugely overpaid.

bluewhitearmy
25/01/2016, 2:24 PM
Starting to get less and less confident the more teams like Waterford and Cobh make decent signings we desperately need another 4 or 5 in. Hopefully its just nerves coming from how heavy favourites we have been made not used to it as a Limerick fan.

25/01/2016, 5:52 PM
I'll put it this way, if we were signing the players they are and they were signing the players we have we'd say we haven't a hope of keeping up.

We have a pretty strong squad with a mix of 19's coming in. It's something we need to start doing more often too and get lads used to playing at a better level. We need a few more signings but not too much.

bluewhitearmy
25/01/2016, 6:12 PM
I'll put it this way, if we were signing the players they are and they were signing the players we have we'd say we haven't a hope of keeping up.

We have a pretty strong squad with a mix of 19's coming in. It's something we need to start doing more often too and get lads used to playing at a better level. We need a few more signings but not too much.

We have a pretty strong 11 at the minute but of the 11 we have who are the back ups that you would trust to come in and do a job for a long period of time?

Freddy Hall - Tommy Holland
Shaun Kelly - Liam McCartan
Paudie O Connor - Tony Whitehead
Robbie Williams - Killian Brouder
Shane Tracy - Colm Murphy
Paul O Conor - Clyde O Connell
Shane Duggan
Lee J Lynch
Chris Mullhall - Ross Mann
John O Flynn - Garbhan Coughlan - Keith Mawdsley
Stephen Kenny

Thats almost everyone that has been training with us and is still there listed above who on the right would you trust to come in and do a job in any way similar to who they are replacing long term? Keep in mind Brouder and O Connell are still only 17 I just found out recently and Stephen Kenny and Ross Mann haven't even signed. We have the best starting 11 in the league but take it as a whole squad and its nowhere near. I know more will more than likely come in and I am just getting in a panic because its weird to see us as such strong favourites but I just wish we had our squad done now.

Just to be clear too I am not saying any of the young lads on the right are no good or anything but if we are going to be pushing for a league we definitely need 3 or 4 experienced heads as back up aswell.

25/01/2016, 6:28 PM
I'd fancy Holland to do a job in goals. We can move some players around like Paul O'Connor can fill in centre half and right full. Paudie was only 17 playing last year so Brouder could step up if really needed. He isn't going to be up against the same quality as Paudie was last year. I reckon we will sign another centre half and a winger/striker. We have gone for quality not quantity and id imagine a lot of other squads will have quantity but not real quality. We will most like have the fittest team in the league with most training full time.

So far I don't think I have seen a single player announced by another club that I'd say I'm raging they got and we didn't. At a push maybe Rob Lehane. Wexford Youths won the league last year with less experience and quality than what we currently have.

Ideally you have 13 or 14 excellent players, 11 outfield and 3 good subs. You use youth outside of that.

25/01/2016, 6:35 PM
I see 9 good players, 8 of them outfield.

The slight panic is there from some of us because we have one go at getting this right and getting out of the first division. Don't get out this year and that's the club done for another twenty years.

There's no point in blending youth for the sake of it either, they have to be good enough.

bluewhitearmy
25/01/2016, 6:37 PM
I'd fancy Holland to do a job in goals. We can move some players around like Paul O'Connor can fill in centre half and right full. Paudie was only 17 playing last year so Brouder could step up if really needed. He isn't going to be up against the same quality as Paudie was last year. I reckon we will sign another centre half and a winger/striker. We have gone for quality not quantity and id imagine a lot of other squads will have quantity but not real quality. We will most like have the fittest team in the league with most training full time.

So far I don't think I have seen a single player announced by another club that I'd say I'm raging they got and we didn't. At a push maybe Rob Lehane. Wexford Youths won the league last year with less experience and quality than what we currently have.

Ideally you have 13 or 14 excellent players, 11 outfield and 3 good subs. You use youth outside of that.

There isn't really anyone signed with another team I would want for our starting 11 either I just worry about how young some of what we have to replace people with are its a lot of pressure on a 17 or 18 year old if we are in the middle of a title run in. I think we need a centre back, centre mid a winger and a striker personally cos if we were to say move Paul O Conor if we needed to who comes in to midfield?

Would love to see something like Oji, Russell, Ward and a striker come in but not sure if money would allow for all of them..

4tothefloor
25/01/2016, 9:09 PM
We're one or two injuries away from disaster with that squad - what happens if say John O'Flynn and Lee Jay get injured? If we're still ok in that scenario, the rest of the division must be septic. I'm disappointed to be honest, we should be covering all angles and making sure we get out of this division at the first attempt. Last season if say Vinny Faherty was having a poor game there was sweet FA on the bench to bring on instead - looks like we're repeating this trick again this season. Madness. Decent first 11 yea, squad over all looks lightweight. I've seen far too many seasons in the first division to be comfortable with the squad I'm looking at anyway. Hope I'm wrong.

Also another argument - I've always been of the opinion that a few decent new signings put bums on seats. They get the fans excited, create a buzz and if they do the business on the pitch it usually means the team is successful and the gates go up. Why not make a couple of quality new signings, and if the league is going to be this procession, have a crack off the cups as well? I'd imagine if we were top of the league and looking like champions we'd be getting decent crowds at the Markets Field - those signings would pay for themselves.

25/01/2016, 9:16 PM
Where can I buy a season ticket?

Online doesn't allow me buy the specific ticket I want, so is there somewhere to actually go and buy them? The website doesn't mention it, or I missed it.

bluewhitearmy
25/01/2016, 9:20 PM
Where can I buy a season ticket?

Online doesn't allow me buy the specific ticket I want, so is there somewhere to actually go and buy them? The website doesn't mention it, or I missed it.

Bruff maybe? I'll actually be out that way in next day or two so will call in and ask for you.

25/01/2016, 9:37 PM
Just did the obvious thing and sent them an email.

bluewhitearmy
26/01/2016, 5:31 PM
Playing Cobh Wanderers in the Munster Senior on Saturday at 2pm up in Pike for anyone that doesn't know. Cobh have a good few ex LOI heads.

Johnnie C
29/01/2016, 3:59 PM
Game switched to UL now with a 3pm kick off.

CraftyToePoke
31/01/2016, 4:33 AM
Any report lads, by anyone there ? Not a great deal to be found online so far, so anything appreciated. ET needed but a 3-1 win I believe.

NeverFeltBetter
31/01/2016, 9:12 AM
It was. I saw on Twitter that only one sub was used the entire game, which is concerning.

31/01/2016, 11:40 AM
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/28613/2/

Here's a report for ye.

31/01/2016, 2:30 PM
It was basically a game where we dominated possession. They set themselves up to defend. We found it hard to break them down but managed to get the better as the game wore on and on to extra time.

Nothing really much shown yesterday other than that we need a bit more fire power/creativity.

31/01/2016, 4:56 PM
what age is Mick Devine now? few of those names with Cobh Wanderers seem familiar?

31/01/2016, 5:16 PM
what age is Mick Devine now? few of those names with Cobh Wanderers seem familiar?

I'd say it was Mick Devines son. The lad in goals looked young enough and I'm pretty sure I saw Mick watching the game.

bluewhitearmy
31/01/2016, 8:27 PM
The game showed we need lot tbf only signed players allowed to play in it so as of Saturday we know we have a squad of

Keepers:
Freddy Hall
Tommy Holland

Defenders:
Colm Murphy
Shane Tracy
Paudie O Connor
Robbie Williams
Killian Brouder
Tony Whitehead
Liam McCartan
Shaun Kelly

Midfield:
Chris Mullhall
Ross Mann
Shane Duggan
Paul O Conor
Lee J Lynch
Clyde O Connell

Strikers:
John O Flynn
Garbhan Coughlan
Sean McSweeney

bluewhitearmy
04/02/2016, 10:40 AM
Only first pre season game but reckon we are only 3 or 4 good experienced heads coming in away from being very strong. Would like to see Keith Ward,Sean Russell a CB and a striker ideally.

thomas72
04/02/2016, 7:08 PM
Anyone here of big changes on the way for the club??
I'm going as far as new owners

LK37oldskool
04/02/2016, 7:45 PM
Mick Aherne mentioned this last Saturday. He said things were under way behind the scenes with a new management structure been set up. Once this is in place funds will be released for more signing's. He added this is all very positive for the club.

fc hammer
04/02/2016, 8:47 PM
Anyone here of big changes on the way for the club??
I'm going as far as new owners

Ya heard a rumour alright. Supposed to be some quality signings on the way too.

bluewhitearmy
04/02/2016, 10:13 PM
Might be something to do with Russell telling people he would get back to em in Feb last month then, maybe I wronged him thinking he was just nervous with a budget.

04/02/2016, 11:14 PM
Ya Mike basically said a re-structuring of the board coming in and a budget set in stone after that.

To be honest I thought that had been done months ago.

I know a few said during last season they would step down at seasons end but nothing has happened or mentioned since.

thomas72
05/02/2016, 9:39 AM
Seems there is going to be movement supposedly this weekend statement expected.
If we got a hold of that winger from cobh excellent player along with ward with a centre half and another striker we'd walk through this league imo.

donnrua
05/02/2016, 1:39 PM
I heard from a decent source that the head of Roadbridge was taking over the club. Any of you lot heard anything about it?

bluewhitearmy
05/02/2016, 1:53 PM
Seems there is going to be movement supposedly this weekend statement expected.
If we got a hold of that winger from cobh excellent player along with ward with a centre half and another striker we'd walk through this league imo.

If this is about Kenny that scored v Longford I think its a bit of a stretch handy player that will do fine for us in first division.

05/02/2016, 2:01 PM
I heard from a decent source that the head of Roadbridge was taking over the club. Any of you lot heard anything about it?

Haven't heard any names in particular. All I have heard of a few different local businesses are coming on board.

bluewhitearmy
05/02/2016, 2:13 PM
If there is anything happening it needs to happen soon really we need to get at least 3 players in before the start of the season.

05/02/2016, 4:01 PM
The Neverending Takeover Part 2.

NeverFeltBetter
05/02/2016, 7:32 PM
Wait, so O'Sullivan is out then?

thomas72
05/02/2016, 8:07 PM

From what I'm hearing he is staying involved in some capacity but now has some backers on board with him to lighten the financial load and give a cash injection into the team and club.

05/02/2016, 9:02 PM

He gets a year long parade.

But ya, to all intents and purposes, he's out.

LK37oldskool
06/02/2016, 10:57 AM
Mick Aherne not giving much away this morning. Obviously knew more than what they mentioned. He expects things to be sorted this week though. And so it rambles on.

bluewhitearmy
06/02/2016, 1:31 PM
Mick Aherne not giving much away this morning. Obviously knew more than what they mentioned. He expects things to be sorted this week though. And so it rambles on.

Any brief summary of what he did say please missed it this morning.

LK37oldskool
06/02/2016, 2:26 PM
There are negotiations ongoing and he expects an announcement this week. I got the idea that funds will be made available once the new management structure isinglass place.

bluewhitearmy
08/02/2016, 3:22 PM
If this thing is happening it needs to be soon we have to have our squad finished in the next week or two really. And we desperately need 3 or 4 players the drop off in quality when we make changes in pre-season is way too big to carry in to proper season.

bluewhitearmy
11/02/2016, 2:07 PM
So any more about this takeover then? If its not announced this week it will be 3rd or 4th week it was meant to be announced and nothing won't it? We really do need squad finished what we have at the moment won't get promoted unless we can get through a season injury and suspension free. Hopefully the plan is to announce it Saturday at Markets Field.

11/02/2016, 3:22 PM
The main event will be a Pat O'Sullivan lecture with a little exhibition of football either side of it

11/02/2016, 3:51 PM
I wouldn't hold my breath for any announcements anyway.

bluewhitearmy
11/02/2016, 4:01 PM
I wouldn't hold my breath for any announcements anyway.

Not going well then?

11/02/2016, 7:22 PM
My understanding is there are eejits on both sides of the table. Whoever's fault it is they'd want to be moving their arse fairly shortly the current structure of the club couldn't (shouldn't??!) be given a liscence

fc hammer
11/02/2016, 8:33 PM
My understanding is there are eejits on both sides of the table. Whoever's fault it is they'd want to be moving their arse fairly shortly the current structure of the club couldn't (shouldn't??!) be given a liscence

Did,nt know things were that bad. Just a normal preseason for Limerick so.

LK37oldskool
13/02/2016, 1:00 PM
Has tonight's game been moved? I heard UL at 7.

13/02/2016, 1:30 PM
Ya UL at 7. In this weather no one will be at it.

LK37oldskool
13/02/2016, 1:39 PM
That's for sure. I was going when it was scheduled for the market's Field. It's beyond miserable out.