View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Switzerland 25th March & Slovakia 29th March 2016 - Friendlies
Pages :
[
5]
Park_Lane
25/03/2016, 9:08 PM
Killer thinks Keith Duffy was playin'
25/03/2016, 9:15 PM
A decent closing line from the nordie on setanta,
'not a great friday but perhaps a good friday'.
25/03/2016, 10:04 PM
Agree with most here.and Duffy looked well. Coleman showed experience and calmness amongst a generally inexperienced and naive defence.thought he came of age tonight and potential future captain. He seems to get away with these close quarter mistakes he makes too.hopefully it stays that way.
I don't get this Randolph thing. The swagger and that relax attitude if I were CD I might have a racial motive in there :D I think he is very slow to come out and puts the defense under pressure.2 or 3 times tonight he should have been out way quicker but too fat and slow and maybe lazy :D. In a bigger game could have led to conceding a goal. I also feel sometimes he looks a bit stranded or slightly caught out when the ball is hurried about the box.
25/03/2016, 10:07 PM
Is it time to ditch O'Shea?
based on what? had a very decent canpaign and his experience in france will be invaluable
TheOneWhoKnocks
25/03/2016, 10:12 PM
based on what? had a very decent canpaign and his experience in france will be invaluable
Arguably the best performer over the campaign in my opinion. Poor performance against Poland probably the only blot.
25/03/2016, 10:26 PM
Doyle's is a bit more than a superficial wound.but he should be back very quick, Tuesday probably too soon unfortunately :(
DeLorean
25/03/2016, 10:49 PM
Has Duffy jumped Keogh in the queue on the basis of that performance?
And just ignore four or five good performances by Keogh in the actual qualifiers? I'd prefer Duffy myself, he looks a better player in both boxes, but I'd imagine O'Neill will show some loyalty to Keogh. That said, it could be O'Shea and Clark that start in June. One thing is for sure, the prospect of a Duffy Clark partnership over the next few years is very encouraging.
25/03/2016, 10:50 PM
I don't get this Randolph thing. The swagger and that relax attitude if I were CD I might have a racial motive in there :D I think he is very slow to come out and puts the defense under pressure.2 or 3 times tonight he should have been out way quicker but too fat and slow and maybe lazy :D. In a bigger game could have led to conceding a goal. I also feel sometimes he looks a bit stranded or slightly caught out when the ball is hurried about the box.
I think Randolph is a very good goalkeeper for us, very steady all round with a great boot on him but I completely agree with you about too slow coming out to smother. Noticed those occasions tonight. Probably the worst was where I think Clark was shepherding the ball back to him under pressure from a Swiss player. All Randolph had to do was take two or three steps and hop on the ball and we would have had possession. Instead he lingered way too long and ended up in a heap with the Irish player. The Swiss worked the ball back and took a shot that I think took a deflection of Xhaka and just rolled by the post with Randolph flat footed from having to scramble back to his goal line. Definitely needs to be watched. I would not call him fat, "slow" or lazy though.
25/03/2016, 10:51 PM
It was a Brady outswinger.
Thanks Del. As I said I missed the first 9 minutes and BBC had said it was Judges corner.
DeLorean
25/03/2016, 10:52 PM
Agree with most here and Duffy looked well
He didn't play too bad either.
25/03/2016, 10:55 PM
The qual campaign is long finished, it's past history.
He's getting older and of late slower or/and shipping injuries, either way there's a doubt.
Our history tells us the value of sentiment diminishes fast when it comes to extending loyalties all the way to a finals tournament.
TheOneWhoKnocks
25/03/2016, 10:59 PM
For all the concern about Stephen Ward, Robbie Brady still looks capable of making a game-changing mistake in every match. Got caught out several times in the first half.
Think that McClean and McGeady should be switching roles in the summer. McGeady as the impact sub and McClean, like Walters, capable of working like a trojan over 90 minutes.
Would be tempted to put Doyle ahead of Murphy in the queue as he looked very sharp in his cameo. McClean, too, achieved a lot in his short time on the pitch up front, despite having no support.
Player ratings: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/player-ratings-from-irelands-win-over-switzerland-34573584.html
Judge gets 5.
DeLorean
25/03/2016, 11:08 PM
I agree with some but a good bit off on others. McCarthy was a very obvious improvement on Meyler yet they both got 6. McGeady deserved more than 5, Long's 8 was generous I think, he wasn't really a man of the match candidate like the two centre backs but worth a 7 all the same, so maybe that's nitpicking a bit. Judge was worth a 6 for effort as well as a consideration for the fact that he was being played out of position. I think a 5 rating is 'liability territory' and he certainly wasn't that.
Olé Olé
25/03/2016, 11:57 PM
Without deriding Quinn and Meyler too much, I'm afraid they demonstrated in that first half why they're playing in the Championship. They really didn't control the game enough for us and it invited the Swiss on (Xhaka is clearly head and shoulders above them). Most games we don't start with Whelan and McCarthy I find myself missing them together even more. Hoolahan looked so sharp when he came in. Never frets when under pressure in tight areas in the middle.
Duffy had a fine performance. It was a Richard Dunne-esque type of performance in that he just read a lot of things well and got his blocks and interceptions in and wasn't really caught out of position much. Also, his post-match interview was utterly lovely. He just spoke about how getting picked for the Euros would be a bonus for him as he had no involvement in getting us there and he feels it might be a bit harsh on those that did. Spoke about how he struggled when he was just at Everton and not getting games out on loan and that he needed to get his move which has allowed him to be consistent. I also like Clark and he reminded me why I like him tonight. He was good. I hope he stays in the PL because he'll be 27 in September and that's not a great age to be moving down to the Championship for the first time. These are a right good pair but O'Shea is the man and he'll be starting. I'd back Clark to get the nod beside him as MON referred to how good Clark was in the Bosnia games in his post-match interview.
Judge didn't get into good areas to make things happen or threaten and I think that was mainly due to the lads in the middle. I'd like to see him getting another shot for a good period of time on Tuesday. I think he might get that too.
It looks now like Brady will be at left back for the Euros and MON has his mind made up. It disappoints me but I'll trust MON. Now that Brady and Coleman got their full games tonight I'd hope to see Doherty get a chance on Tuesday. I hope he gets a start Tuesday but I wouldn't be surprised to see McShane at RB and Christie at LB instead. I do think Gleeson and Elliott will start and that Judge will be afforded another shot. I don't think Hayes is going to the Euros and O'Kane was benefiting from Arter's absence tonight.
26/03/2016, 12:56 AM
Duffy's height is a great asset.
Yea he is head and shoulders above the rest.
26/03/2016, 1:04 AM
Agree with most here.and Duffy looked well. Coleman showed experience and calmness amongst a generally inexperienced and naive defence.thought he came of age tonight and potential future captain. He seems to get away with these close quarter mistakes he makes too.hopefully it stays that way.
I don't know what the racial bit is about but I thought the opposite about his speed getting out. There was one chance in the first half where Embolo bumbled his way past Duffy for once and Randolph was out very quick to make sure he couldn't get a shot on.
Is this another variation of your "waiting to happen" argument? He hasn't make a mistake yet but he looks like the kind of guy who will one day make a mistake?
26/03/2016, 1:12 AM
Swiss dominated possession but our defence was solid. Then we handed them back possession to have another go. To be fair though, we were missing a lot of first 11. Shows there's not much back up there. Judge was a little bit wasted on the wing alright.
Hoolahan showed what a class act he is with his small cameo.
Leicester prove you can win without dominating possession.
Highlights from Slovakia v Latvia. Looks like Latvia just kept it tight away from home and limited the Slovaks to long range attempts.
http://www.fullmatchesandshows.com/2016/03/25/slovakia-vs-latvia-highlights/
26/03/2016, 2:09 AM
Looks like Latvia gave them loads of room to play with in midfield and, to be fair to Slovakia, they seemed to be able to make space around the box but ruined it with some poor shooting rather than put a team mate into a better position.
DeLorean
26/03/2016, 9:09 AM
Without deriding Quinn and Meyler too much, I'm afraid they demonstrated in that first half why they're playing in the Championship. They really didn't control the game enough for us and it invited the Swiss on (Xhaka is clearly head and shoulders above them). Most games we don't start with Whelan and McCarthy I find myself missing them together even more. Hoolahan looked so sharp when he came in. Never frets when under pressure in tight areas in the middle.
Meyler and Quinn both held their own playing in the PL, especially Meyler, so I think the Championship reference is a bit unfair. It's obvious they're not our first choice central midfield but I don't think they had a hope last night. Whelan and McCarthy, these days, usually have plenty of support from the likes of Hendrick and Hoolahan so it's much easier to find a pass and they're not outnumbered to the same extent. Neither Meyler or Quinn are ball playing central midfielders but both could do a decent job individually in a different kind of circumstance. They were sloppy in possession last night alright but it was a bit of a lost battle. I can't remember too many games we've played without McCarthy and Whelan to be honest, to have actually missed them. Obviously Glasgow and Whelan was absent for Germany without it being at all noticeable. The only other game I can think of was the USA friendly when we got a real foothold as the game went on and played quite well.
I hope he gets a start Tuesday but I wouldn't be surprised to see McShane at RB and Christie at LB instead. I do think Gleeson and Elliott will start and that Judge will be afforded another shot.
Christie left back would be out of left field a bit, I'm not sure it's an experiment worth bothering with when we now have Brady, Ward and Doherty more experienced in that position. Like yourself, I'd be hoping that Doherty would get a run there as we know what the others can do. It has been confirmed that Elliot will start.
26/03/2016, 10:23 AM
If we are set up to play like that in the Euros, we will again experience a quixotic failure.
And even when Wes came on, despite the immediate upgrade in technical ability, invention and the unpredictability factor , we were a disorganised mess.
As Keith Andrews said in the co commentary, when Doyle got injured it was time to bolster midfield, not bring on a one dimensional Murphy. We were getting wiped in midfield but somehow the Swiss couldn't manufacture enough chances and those they did manage to muster they couldn't finish with enough aplomb, credit also to the centre halves.
MON was stubborn to stick to the lumping game plan with 442 even after it was obvious we had lost control of the game and midfield needed repair.
We want Brady in the first 11, that's a no brainer and if it has to be at LB then so be it, but there needs to be a definite tactic to support him in his defensive duty.
DeLorean
26/03/2016, 10:42 AM
It doesn't make much sense playing Brady left back at this stage. There's really no need.
Olé Olé
26/03/2016, 11:10 AM
Meyler and Quinn both held their own playing in the PL, especially Meyler, so I think the Championship reference is a bit unfair. It's obvious they're not our first choice central midfield but I don't think they had a hope last night. Whelan and McCarthy, these days, usually have plenty of support from the likes of Hendrick and Hoolahan so it's much easier to find a pass and they're not outnumbered to the same extent. Neither Meyler or Quinn are ball playing central midfielders but both could do a decent job individually in a different kind of circumstance. They were sloppy in possession last night alright but it was a bit of a lost battle. I can't remember too many games we've played without McCarthy and Whelan to be honest, to have actually missed them. Obviously Glasgow and Whelan was absent for Germany without it being at all noticeable. The only other game I can think of was the USA friendly when we got a real foothold as the game went on and played quite well.
It is factual though. I wasn't trying to deride them but they're not at the level of Whelan, McCarthy and Arter (maybe even O'Kane). Quinn was a free agent in the summer and dropped down to Reading who finished 19th in the Championship last season. Meyler started about half of Hull's PL games and they were relegated (Quinn had less starts than Meyler). They both held their own at PL level for spells but, ultimately, neither was a regular starter in and in a relegated side and they're both at Championship level now.
I agree with your point in relation to having less options ahead of them and maybe it wasn't a great call to play them together in a 4-4-2 where that would be the case (they are decent options when they have better players alongside them than one another, I think). Obviously, we don't have the luxury of a huge pool of top level players but my point is that this pair together was always going to struggle against the likes of Xhaka and I think we struggled as a result of having them in there together. We could have fielded better players if we were going with 4-4-2.
Olé Olé
26/03/2016, 11:18 AM
It doesn't make much sense playing Brady left back at this stage. There's really no need.
Agreed. Ward is going better than he has in a long, long time now. Brady is also going through, arguably, the best spell of his career too and is playing quite a bit in the left of midfield.
26/03/2016, 11:20 AM
I think there's sense of him at lb in the context of O'Neill's 3 5 1 1. But in an ordinary meat and gravy 442 there is no sense, where we mainly only reap the benefit of his set pieces and have a defensive vulnerability.
robbie out of the slovakia game, speculation that a replacement player might be called up
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/robbie-keane-concerned-over-knee-injury-that-has-ruled-him-out-of-slovakia-friendly-34574312.html
can't imagine who the replacement could be... mason or sheridan i suppose. or cox :/
26/03/2016, 12:30 PM
robbie out of the slovakia game, speculation that a replacement player might be called up
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/robbie-keane-concerned-over-knee-injury-that-has-ruled-him-out-of-slovakia-friendly-34574312.html
can't imagine who the replacement could be... mason or sheridan i suppose. or cox :/
'O'Neill indicating that the 35-year-old is slightly worried about facing a spell on the sidelines'
'there is a chance that the 64-year-old might have to call in a replacement'
so writes Daniel McDonnell aged over 30
DeLorean
26/03/2016, 12:37 PM
I think there's sense of him at lb in the context of O'Neill's 3 5 1 1.
He definitely seems the best fit for a wing back formation but O'Neill hasn't used that since his Celtic days has he? Even for set pieces it would be more beneficial for Brady to take them from a midfield position, less need for cover when he's switching wings to take corners from the right, etc. Doherty's definitely worth a look but even if he's not up to scratch Ward, Clark and hopefully Wilson are all decent options. I've no major problem with Brady's defending, none of the guys I mentioned are superstars in that position anyway, but I just think he's wasted back there a bit when it's not his best position. I think he's a pretty tenacious tackler, he always tries to get a toe in (often successfully) where some others would just stand off and he's deceptively strong, the amount of times he puts opposing players flying with his shoulder is impressive!
backstothewall
26/03/2016, 2:03 PM
Murphy has an injury as well. It's being described as minor but given that it forced him off I can only assume he is a doubt for Wednesday as well.
I'd say at least on replacement has to come in at this stage. Cox or Stokes presumably based on the initial squad.
26/03/2016, 2:11 PM
I did think when he came, he seemed to be limping a little, there was a corner just after he was introduced and he wasn't moving too comfortably
AlanOB
26/03/2016, 2:22 PM
Completely disagree with the notion that Brady should be unseated from the left back position, particularly if O'Neill reverts to the 4-3-1-2 system in June. Wrote a piece about it here, in fact:
http://www.the42.ie/robbie-brady-ireland-analysis-2650220-Mar2016/
Also, analysis of the game last night, including the decision to go with a 4-4-2 here, if anyone's interested:
http://www.punditarena.com/football/aob15/ireland-defeat-swiss-passable-leicester-impression/
Brady is having a stormer this season at left back for one of the worst teams in the league. Second best chance creator among defenders and his defensive statistics are well up there too.
While Ward played well at home to the Germans, he was awful in the away fixture, away to the Scots and throughout Euro 2012. Positionally, he is far more questionable than the less experienced Brady.
There is no argument, for me.
26/03/2016, 3:11 PM
Despite some of he issues re CM last night I haven't felt as calm watching us play in a long long time. Friendly aside, our back four ably held up the Swiss whenever they looked briefly threatening.
When you look at Randolph's distribution though you always wonder what it might have been like if Given had that in his armoury back in the day.
Raging for Doyle. Still don't understand where Shlong gets his energy.
Also, delighted for Duffy stepping up as the player we always hoped he would be. Fingers crossed it's the beginning of a meteoric rise.
26/03/2016, 3:18 PM
He definitely seems the best fit for a wing back formation but O'Neill hasn't used that since his Celtic days has he? Even for set pieces it would be more beneficial for Brady to take them from a midfield position, less need for cover when he's switching wings to take corners from the right, etc. Doherty's definitely worth a look but even if he's not up to scratch Ward, Clark and hopefully Wilson are all decent options. I've no major problem with Brady's defending, none of the guys I mentioned are superstars in that position anyway, but I just think he's wasted back there a bit when it's not his best position. I think he's a pretty tenacious tackler, he always tries to get a toe in (often successfully) where some others would just stand off and he's deceptively strong, the amount of times he puts opposing players flying with his shoulder is impressive!
The closest we have had to the full backs on the front foot was against Scotland at home, but Coleman was the the more effective, most probably because that's what he does.
I had thought at the time that MO'N was on to something to be developed.
TheOneWhoKnocks
26/03/2016, 4:32 PM
Walters won't participate in the Slovakia friendly either. Murphy ruled out after being substituted last night.
Long the only available striker.
http://www.the42.ie/ireland-slovakia-injury-update-walters-murphy-2682376-Mar2016/
Common sense would dictate that this could be a marvellous opportunity for someone like Mason, Eoin Doyle or Madden to be given an emergency call-up. But it doesn't look like that will happen.
Be some laugh if a similar injury crisis were to happen two months from now and this golden opportunity to assess other available options was missed.
26/03/2016, 4:50 PM
Agreed. Ward is going better than he has in a long, long time now. Brady is also going through, arguably, the best spell of his career too and is playing quite a bit in the left of midfield.
Ward has looked very sharp any time Ive seen him play for Burnley in last couple of months. Looks slimmer than usual and has a bit of pace about him.
26/03/2016, 4:51 PM
Walters won't participate in the Slovakia friendly either. Murphy ruled out after being substituted last night.
Long the only available striker.
http://www.the42.ie/ireland-slovakia-injury-update-walters-murphy-2682376-Mar2016/
Common sense would dictate that this could be a marvellous opportunity for someone like Mason, Eoin Doyle or Madden to be given an emergency call-up. But it doesn't look like that will happen.
Be some laugh if a similar injury crisis were to happen two months from now and this golden opportunity to assess other available options was missed.probably the most progressive squad of the last 6 years and you're still not happy.
TheOneWhoKnocks
26/03/2016, 5:01 PM
Long runs himself into the ground for 90 minutes every week for Southampton. I don't think we should tempt fate by having him complete close to 180 minutes in the space of four days.
Both Long & Murphy came into this series of games on the back of injuries and already one of them has been forced to go home.
I know McClean will probably just get shunted up there but that's not where he should be getting match practice; he should be getting that in his own position.
It's a matter of expediency. Nobody is saying Doyle, Mason, Madden or Sheridan have but the remotest chance of participating in Euro 2016, but they need to be called up to add numbers the same way Irish based players are called up to add numbers on the training pitch. And if they impress, well that's a bonus.
Long, Walters, Murphy, Keane and Doyle are all in their thirties once we approach the business end of the next qualifying campaign too. The earlier we consult other options the better.
26/03/2016, 5:04 PM
The qual campaign is long finished, it's past history.
He's getting older and of late slower or/and shipping injuries, either way there's a doubt.
Our history tells us the value of sentiment diminishes fast when it comes to extending loyalties all the way to a finals tournament.
ive lost track of the number of times jos has been written off but 100 + caps.......
26/03/2016, 5:08 PM
Long runs himself into the ground for 90 minutes every week for Southampton. I don't think we should tempt fate by having him complete close to 180 minutes in the space of four days.
Both Long & Murphy came into this series of games on the back of injuries and already one of them has been forced to go home.
I know McClean will probably just get shunted up there but that's not where he should be getting match practice; he should be getting that in his own position.
It's a matter of expediency. Nobody is saying Doyle, Mason, Madden or Sheridan have but the remotest chance of participating in Euro 2016, but they need to be called up to add numbers the same way Irish based players are called up to add numbers on the training pitch. And if they impress, well that's a bonus.
Long, Walters, Murphy, Keane and Doyle are all in their thirties once we approach the business end of the next qualifying campaign too. The earlier we consult other options the better.
Then let MON make those emergency callups or not before being so negative. Your last post makes sense but in the grand scheme of last night there's no need to be so critical of the squad selection or the team's performance. Come tomorrow/Monday and MON sends us out with a 442 with McClean and Long up top then you can let it rain.
The team that went out last night was a good example of a progressive selection even if the formation was a bit "safe". It's best to sometimes evaluate some players in your typical formation. What would we have learned with Meyler and Quinn in the middle of a 5 or 3 when we tend not to play with that?
26/03/2016, 6:15 PM
Christ. Long doesn't play often enough now he's being played too much.
I think Rooney was going to make this squad if fit. I think last night showed one up front is the likely way forward anyway. I'd call up another forward myself but the success or failure of the next campaign isn't going to hinge on whether Eoin Doyle or Cillian Sheridan gets called up this week.
SwanVsDalton
26/03/2016, 6:38 PM
Two starting debutants, two off the bench, a variety of formations used plus a win and a clean sheet in the run up to a major tournament? That's like hitting the international friendly jackpot.
Keeping the momentum and a winning, confident mentality is imporant ahead of the Euros - combining that with a lot of new faces is really pretty pleasing as far as friendlies go.
26/03/2016, 10:49 PM
That's called the perfect delusion.
DeLorean
27/03/2016, 2:21 AM
Yeah, nearly everything svd says is correct but it was hardly a flawless friendly experience.
What would a flawless friendly experience look like to you both so?
DeLorean
27/03/2016, 10:29 AM
A bit more control of the game would have been nice, football is more than just defending after all. We were the home side believe or not and although the opposition were decent, they weren't exactly top class. Delving into the unknown again but I would have questioned our ability to respond had they equalised or taken the lead, I don't think we can keep relying on riding our luck (a little) and seeing out one goal leads. A few more chances created from open play would have been encouraging, we're extremely reliant on set pieces. We were totally incapable of turning defence into attack, or even retaining possession for more than five seconds at a time. The speculative hoof was the default strategy when our defenders received possession. O'Neill has mentioned more than once that we need more composure on the ball, yet he picked a side that was highly unlikely to give us that, shouldn't a friendly be used to try to improve an area you're weak?
Like I said, I agree with SVD's individual points, there were a nice few positives, but I wouldn't let the extremely positive result paper over all of the cracks.
27/03/2016, 11:20 AM
What would a flawless friendly experience look like to you both so?
http://images.wisegeek.com/yellow-map-of-switzerland.jpg
SwanVsDalton
27/03/2016, 12:25 PM
A bit more control of the game would have been nice, football is more than just defending after all. We were the home side believe or not and although the opposition were decent, they weren't exactly top class. Delving into the unknown again but I would have questioned our ability to respond had they equalised or taken the lead, I don't think we can keep relying on riding our luck (a little) and seeing out one goal leads. A few more chances created from open play would have been encouraging, we're extremely reliant on set pieces. We were totally incapable of turning defence into attack, or even retaining possession for more than five seconds at a time. The speculative hoof was the default strategy when our defenders received possession. O'Neill has mentioned more than once that we need more composure on the ball, yet he picked a side that was highly unlikely to give us that, shouldn't a friendly be used to try to improve an area you're weak?
Like I said, I agree with SVD's individual points, there were a nice few positives, but I wouldn't let the extremely positive result paper over all of the cracks.
Your post here comes across as the proverbial moon-on-a-stick. Pretty speculative too - if they had of equalised, if we had of went behind...
I'd argue we wouldn't learn an awful lot about those things because (no matter how few) we had new players, new-ish combinations and it was a game played largely in 'please, don't let me get injured' conditions.
We already know something about the calibre and spirit of this side in red-hot conditions - look at all those late goals in qualifying for instance.
To my mind, what we we could realistically learn from Friday is what players have the personality to try and take a chance and where do we lack strength in depth. And what we can maintain is a winning, confident mentality going into a major tournament.
I'm not saying it was flawless, but how many above-turgid friendlies have Ireland played in over the last ten years? And worse, how many of those have we learned absolute nothing? And lost?!
DeLorean
27/03/2016, 12:44 PM
Your post here comes across as the proverbial moon-on-a-stick.
Of course! Did you not see what I was asked?
Pretty speculative too - if they had of equalised, if we had of went behind...
I know, I said as much myself. Has speculating been banned or something?
SwanVsDalton
27/03/2016, 12:48 PM
Of course! Did you not see what I was asked?
Aye, fair cop on that one.
I know, I said as much myself. Has speculating been banned or something?
No, then we can't speculate on just when we'll be knocked out of the Euros after Friday's fantastic victory - semi-finals, final or champs? I'm with the latter, definitely.
DeLorean
27/03/2016, 1:04 PM
I'm only coming across as critical because I didn't really agree that we hit friendly international jackpot and was asked to elaborate. I was very happy with Friday overall, more pros than cons for sure.