View Full Version : FAI signs up TRACKCHAMP as official video and data partner
The Football Association of Ireland and TRACKCHAMP are pleased to announce a ground-breaking partnership which will see every SSE Airtricity League game live-streamed, outside Ireland, from the start of the 2016 season.
The deal, which will run for an initial four years and has been internationally benchmarked throughout the tender process, establishes TRACKCHAMP as the official video and data partner of Irish football.
TRACKCHAMP will provide an additional source of revenue for the FAI, while improving engagement and performance within the SSE Airtricity League. Up to 15 jobs are expected to be created across the country to maintain TRACKCHAMP as the ultimate data tool to assist in the improvement of performance, on the pitch and in the boardroom.
Throughout next season more than 250 SSE Airtricity League games will be streamed live online, providing global reach, brand awareness and visibility for the League, clubs and its players.
Welcoming the partnership with TRACKCHAMP, John Delaney, CEO with the FAI said: "We are constantly striving to improve the SSE Airtricity League. The introduction of exciting new technologies which will increase global reach and will allow clubs to gather increased technological analysis can only be good for the national game."
Martin Fureder of TRACKCHAMP said: "For us, this is about the democratisation of football. TRACKCHAMP is designed specifically for the ambitious leagues to help bring them closer to the likes of the Premier League and Bundesliga. We are confident that our technology will widen fan engagement and generate new commercial revenue streams for our partner leagues."
The FAI were supported by Steven Burton, Head of Sports Data & Integrity at Coachman's LLP.
About TRACKCHAMP
TRACKCHAMP is a joint venture between CHYRONHEGO, the world leader in real-time tracking technologies and bwin.party digital entertainment, the global online gaming company which is listed on the London Stock Exchange. They have brought the best of both experiences together to enable a new way of capturing sports and to provide League and Federations with a platform to boost exposure, player performance, and to create revenue streams.
TRACKCHAMP's many unique features include live-streaming, data collection and video analysis, which will provide a plethora of stats and data to give a substantially more in-depth overview of Irish football.
Holy positive development Batman!
Gave this its own thread.
Games will be more than likely streamed on Bwin similar to NI league id imagine. Great news for the league
White Horse
03/12/2015, 10:02 AM
How much is the deal worth and how much money will go to the clubs?
03/12/2015, 10:06 AM
Good luck with getting an answer on that one.
GCdfc
03/12/2015, 10:07 AM
No idea and probably a grand total of €0 per club.
White Horse
03/12/2015, 10:13 AM
No idea and probably a grand total of €0 per club.
Assuming the FAI don't increase the annual fee to cover "set up" costs.
03/12/2015, 10:30 AM
It's a positive development all the same but it'd be nice to think the clubs could benefit in some way since they're the ones providing the..entertainment.
colonelwest
03/12/2015, 10:34 AM
As was said above, soon as I saw the Bwin mention in the small print, they'll all be live streamed on the bwin website. Just remember to Joe Gamble responsibly!
03/12/2015, 10:41 AM
Hmm so you'll need a non Irish registered Bwin account to watch the games more than likely. Good for those abroad less so for any of us in ROI.
Titan
03/12/2015, 10:55 AM
Now ye see this where the FAI and clubs will miss a trick. Offer live stream away season tickets to season ticket holders of each club. So say you're a season ticket holder for Sligo. You should be able to buy an away season ticket to see your teams away games online. How much would people pay for that? €80 a year? The combined revenue of all season tickets purchased gets split between the clubs and FAI. Will it happen? HaHaHaHaHaHa no.
This is a great opportunity for clubs to reach the diaspora. It should help getting sponsors in as well- especially at league level where it's more likely to be an international brand.
Titan- those sort of Ideas have already been discussed at FHFC and will be raised with the FAI. Maybe the clubs aren't as silly as you think!
03/12/2015, 11:15 AM
YOu're off your rocker if you think enough people will pay for that season ticket to make it profitable.
Titan
03/12/2015, 11:18 AM
This is a great opportunity for clubs to reach the diaspora. It should help getting sponsors in as well- especially at league level where it's more likely to be an international brand.
Totan- those sort of Ideas have already been discussed at FHFC and will be raised with the FAI. Maybe the clubs aren't as silly as you think!
Well in fairness I didnt say they were silly but if a deal hasnt been at this stage it might be difficult to get one done without trackchamp charging extra for it.
Titan
03/12/2015, 11:20 AM
YOu're off your rocker if you think enough people will pay for that season ticket to make it profitable.
Would there be a cost involved in a club website to piggyback on the trackchamp coverage? I mean apart from them saying at this stage great idea lads but we will charge you x amount because it wasnt part of the original deal?
03/12/2015, 11:23 AM
Will clubs have access to the footage for video analysis, YouTube highlights, club Goal of the Season, etc?
White Horse
03/12/2015, 12:36 PM
Does anyone know whether people must gamble in order to watch these games?
No, there is no need to bet to watch the games.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/12/2015, 12:40 PM
But it makes it more enjoyable.....
03/12/2015, 12:52 PM
Does anyone know whether people must gamble in order to watch these games?
Don't need to gamble to watch them.
Do need to be half cut...
03/12/2015, 12:55 PM
Don't need to gamble to watch them.
Do need to be half cut...
From BWIN website, just to follow up on what Mr A and Dodge have said:
BWIN Live Video
Why is bwin the best place to be on the web for Live Sport TV? Easy. Because you can watch all major sporting events Live and for free on the world’s biggest online gaming platform. There are no downloads required, you can catch all the action online directly in your browser. And it’s all for free. You can find the current Live Sport Program for internet TV in the calendar (https://sports.bwin.com/en/sports/video/video-calendar). And if that’s not enough excitement, take yourself to the heart of the action with a live bet. Live streams (https://sports.bwin.com/en/sports/video)and live bets (https://sports.bwin.com/en/live/live-betting) – the best combination for that ultimate thrill!
You do need money in your account. Just deposit a 10er leave it in their
gufcfan
03/12/2015, 7:33 PM
Will clubs have access to the footage for video analysis, YouTube highlights, club Goal of the Season, etc?
Yeah, I wouldn't assume they will just because Trackchamp offers that service. The streams might not even be that suitable for that if the quality is only middling at best.
I'd imagine most clubs have some sort of solution for that already and it vastly superior. Could be wrong though.
Real ale Madrid
04/12/2015, 5:43 PM
Has anyone watched a Danske Bank Premier game on this - is the game tonight on any gambling website ?
Yes, once I registered and deposited money I could watch it. Quality just ok, but when you can't get to a game it'll be class.
gufcfan
04/12/2015, 8:10 PM
Quality just ok
Pity. I like to be able to see the despair in people's eyes.
04/12/2015, 8:12 PM
Yes, once I registered and deposited money I could watch it. Quality just ok, but when you can't get to a game it'll be class.
I said this above but won't you have to have an account registered outside ROI for it to be available? Betting companies are often quite strict on verifying your address too.
According to the mail I got you have to verify to lodge more than €2000. Not an issue for me!
I used Ireland this time round, I'll set up a UK account when the time comes.
Bit mad, although understandable, the sound notification sounded marginally ahead of the actual goal on video. Which is actually pretty good- shows the video is very close to being live.
04/12/2015, 8:20 PM
Grand for me too if that's the case! Have ways and means of appearing like I've a non ROI IP too so hopefully it'll be just the job.
Real ale Madrid
04/12/2015, 8:24 PM
Thanks - game tonight didn't seem to be on though.
Glenavon Carrick? I watched a bit of it on Bwin.
Real ale Madrid
05/12/2015, 9:37 PM
Glenavon Carrick? I watched a bit of it on Bwin.
The only 2 streams that were available for me were a Serie B game and an ice hockey game - did you have a VPN enabled?
06/12/2015, 2:44 PM
Just did a screen-grab of what to expect. You can't (unfortunately) full screen the game, but it's still of a good enough size to watch on a small laptop screen. Plugging your laptop into a large screen tv should still give you sufficient viewing of the match along with match stats and current odds at the side.
I'm sure there's ways around lifting a flash player and making it full screen though. Alternatively, there's probably going to be firstrowsports streams or something using the footage off the betting site.
I didn't have to bet either. Lodged a tenner into the account there and without having to bet I was able to watch a stream of Stuttgart v Bremen.
http://i.imgur.com/UrTv1PD.png
colonelwest
06/12/2015, 4:18 PM
Just did a screen-grab of what to expect. You can't (unfortunately) full screen the game, but it's still of a good enough size to watch on a small laptop screen. Plugging your laptop into a large screen tv should still give you sufficient viewing of the match along with match stats and current odds at the side.
I'm sure there's ways around lifting a flash player and making it full screen though. Alternatively, there's probably going to be firstrowsports streams or something using the footage off the betting site.
I didn't have to bet either. Lodged a tenner into the account there and without having to bet I was able to watch a stream of Stuttgart v Bremen.
http://i.imgur.com/UrTv1PD.png
I hope you charged that battery Nigel!
Far as I know it'll be region blocked for irish IP ranges but that's nothing a vpn or changed DNS can't get around. If they go the more awkward route and block Irish based BWIN accounts that's another level of hassle to try and get around. Do BWIN take paypal by any chance? If they do could setup a uk account and use paypal to deposit instead of an Irish card that they'd use to tie the account to the country and block the content then.
On the IT today they said it'll work out at 10k per club which is what, 120k a year? Piddly numbers in the grand scheme of things and then later in the article they said it'll be the equivalent of 10k in performance analysis stats the clubs will be given over the course of the year! Typical half arsed measure it seems from the problem step parents.
06/12/2015, 6:50 PM
Decent picture there but then again they could be using the TV feed and it's in HD whereas ours will be SD
Eminence Grise
06/12/2015, 8:27 PM
Hope you didn't burn the bana loaf watching the game, Nigel! Or the gratin.:plate:
06/12/2015, 8:32 PM
I hope you charged that battery Nigel!
Hope you didn't burn the bana loaf watching the game, Nigel! Or the gratin.:plate:
Bunch of smart-arses. Should have known.
The banana loaf is quite nice though, you should try it EG.
06/12/2015, 8:41 PM
It could have been worse (http://www.sbnation.com/soccer/2014/4/8/5594012/hristo-stoitchkov-porn-screesnshot-twitter).
I didn't have any VPN or anything set up to watch that game the other night, and I lodged to the BWin account with paypal.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/12/2015, 9:04 PM
You wouldn't need a VPN to watch a German game in Ireland. Probably will to watch LOI.
Eminence Grise
07/12/2015, 2:00 PM
The banana loaf is quite nice though, you should try it EG.
PM me a slice, Nigel!!:D
noddy102
09/03/2016, 11:38 PM
is this up and running yet? Does anyone know where to watch games or if there is (as I seem to remember hearing) something about putting a bet on before you can watch a game? And can you only watch outside of Ireland?
gufcfan
10/03/2016, 12:01 AM
Pats v Galway was on it anyways.
There could be other ways, but currently you need a VPN and a BWIN account set up with a foreign card in order to access, as far as I know anyway.
Bunny Kelly
10/03/2016, 8:44 AM
Need a foreign card? Had a Bwin account with Irish bank card & VPN but never worked
L.T.F.C.
10/03/2016, 9:49 AM
We could try to sniff the actual video stream itself and play outside of the website?
ForzaHoop
10/03/2016, 11:32 AM
Is there not an APP you can download that tricks your laptop etc to thinking you are abroad
disgruntled
10/03/2016, 11:51 AM
Is there not an APP you can download that tricks your laptop etc to thinking you are abroad
A VPN would take care of pretending to be in another country.
I think the problem might be having to have a Bwin account set up with a foreign credit card ?
In case anyone doesn't know what a Vpn is here is some information.
VPN means Virtual Private Network, a secure tunnel between two devices. A VPN creates a secure tunnel between your computer and every website or application online allowing you to anonymously appear to be anywhere you choose.
ForzaHoop
10/03/2016, 12:59 PM
Another question, would the game appear on the Android box
disgruntled
10/03/2016, 1:23 PM
Another question, would the game appear on the Android box
I suppose there are a couple of answers to that.
Bwin may have an app which you can download to your Android box or phone Or you could log into your Bwin account through a browser on your Android box or phone.