View Full Version : Euro 2016 away thread

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

15/02/2016, 9:19 AM
My suspicions were correct about uefa wanting the easy option and less hassle.

Anyone who applied only for Sweden tickets and no others got them.those who applied for Sweden plus one other or the other two werent successful. Uefa didn't mix and match with the ticket applications which is a little unfair I think.

I got all 4 I applied for but the Uefa Investment Vehicle is some racket. The amount I was charged on condition is a bit ridiculous.

DeLorean
15/02/2016, 9:20 AM
I just got the same. How do the fai tickets work?

I was under the impression that was a safety net for people with FAI numbers that didn't get sorted through UEFA. I have no FAI number but I have purchased tickets directly from them in the past, so I sent them an email there in the unlikely event that they'll be able to help. I'm sure there are thousands in the same boat but no harm in sussing them out.

Does anybody remember if there was an application process (through UEFA) in 2012? All I remember is the Ticket Portal itself.

I presume this resale portal in March will be normal priced tickets and not a Ticketmaster/Seatwave touting job?!

Fixer82
15/02/2016, 9:27 AM
Got the same email :(

15/02/2016, 9:39 AM
just got email confirmation of partial success. I had applied for Sweden and Belgium but only got Cat 3 Sweden. Was unlikely I would get to more than one match anyway for various reasons so happy enough.

I applied for 2*Sweden and 2*Italy.

Only got 2*Sweden. Delighted for that much tbh.

A mate only applied for 2*Sweden. And he got his.

Others in my circle applied for more and have better records this campaign than me and for nowt.

My suspicions were correct about uefa wanting the easy option and less hassle.

Anyone who applied only for Sweden tickets and no others got them.those who applied for Sweden plus one other or the other two werent successful.

Doesn't really bear out above so.

I was under the impression that was a safety net for people with FAI numbers that didn't get sorted through UEFA. I have no FAI number but I have purchased tickets directly from them in the past, so I sent them an email there in the unlikely event that they'll be able to help. I'm sure there are thousands in the same boat but no harm in sussing them out.

Does anybody remember if there was an application process (through UEFA) in 2012? All I remember is the Ticket Portal itself.

I presume this resale portal in March will be normal priced tickets and not a Ticketmaster/Seatwave touting job?!

It'll be normal priced tickets surely. That's how the Olympics and RWC were.

I have no recollection of the 2012 portal. I got sorted on here easily enough though, by schloooomp.

I'm planning on picking up Croatia-Turkey as I'll be in Paris that night anyway.

15/02/2016, 9:42 AM
Your application was unsuccessful

Dear Football Fan,Thank you for applying for tickets for UEFA EURO 2016™.
We regret to inform you that your ticket application for UEFA EURO 2016™ was not successful. In accordance with the UEFA EURO 2016™ Ticketing Terms and Conditions for Participating National Association Fan Sales (http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/competitions/Ticketing/02/30/61/64/2306164_DOWNLOAD.pdf) you have not been allocated any of the ticket(s) requested in your Application Form on the ticket portal (http://www.euro2016.com/tickets/).

In accordance with the UEFA EURO 2016™ Ticketing Terms and Conditions for Participating National Association Fan Sales, no agreement between EURO 2016 SAS and you for the purchase of ticket(s) you requested is deemed to have been concluded in this process.

Until the end of the UEFA EURO 2016™ tournament, there may be additional opportunities to purchase tickets to our matches. We would like to keep you informed about any such future possibilities to purchase tickets for UEFA EURO 2016™. If you do not wish to be contacted regarding such possibilities, please contact us using the form available here (http://euro2016-faq.tickets.uefa.com/en/qa/no/187) requesting us to remove you from our mailing list.

Best regards,
UEFA Ticketing Team

Ditto :(

Nugget
15/02/2016, 9:48 AM
So what's next for those of us who didn't get tickets. Do we just have to wait for the re-sale portal to open?
I've already booked my trip to Bordeaux so I'll be out there regardless.

zero
15/02/2016, 11:07 AM
not a season ticket holder so unsurprisingly application rejected for all 3 group games. i've all my transport and accommodation booked so will be there regardless.

on the uefa site it says the resale portal will be open march/april but exact dates are not specified.

Bungle
15/02/2016, 11:37 AM
I got 3 cat 3 tickets for the Sweden game (had put in for four). None for the Belgium game.
I'm a season ticket holder years but have gone to very few aways, so that is probably fair I would say, given that Bordeaux is much smaller. The lads who go to every away game or at least most of them probably deserve to be ahead of me, so few complaints I guess.

The one thing is that alot of the more bandwagon element will only sporadically check the portal (if even), which means that alot of people like me and other lads on this site who didn't get sorted will be more likely too. That is the hope anyway.

colonelwest
15/02/2016, 12:21 PM
We got all of ours we applied for, cash was pending on the card Friday evening, nothing all day up to that which was a bit strange and got the confirmation emails this morning then.

It's well worth going through an affiliated club or a registered supporters club as at least then you have your previous on file as opposed to just ticketmaster and the portals for the finals when they come up every few years on your own bat.

If the YBIG lads could spend less time being narky and got themselves set up as an official group with a registered FAI account between them they wouldn't have half the bother that's happened to them the past few years, if you go home/ away regularly without any record of it then sure there's nothing to go on to try and make sure they/ you get sorted with tickets as best they can.

The club we're with is purely just for our ST's/ aways/ finals tickets over the years, well worth getting in on something like that, bit late now but it's sound advice all the same DL. Yeah, even going back to the World Cup in 06 there was an online portal for tickets, think that was the first one where they started going that way for the process rather than postal/ ballot/ letting the local associations dole out their allocation themselves etc.

Resale portal in March is offical from UEFA & will be definitely face value only, there should be a lot of returns for our games relatively speaking on that from the first round of the lotto where it was just applying for tickets for A1 vs A3 in venue D4 etc.

It'd be worth peoples while contacting local supporters clubs/ or FAI affiliated clubs on the off chance as they'll usually have some tickets they've applied for that aren't taken up out of the allocation they got.

DeLorean
15/02/2016, 12:36 PM
I sent them an email there in the unlikely event that they'll be able to help. I'm sure there are thousands in the same boat but no harm in sussing them out.

A ticketing administrative assistant has passed my email on to his colleague in Customer Relations... that can't be a good sign ;)

15/02/2016, 12:42 PM
We got all of ours we applied for, cash was pending on the card Friday evening, nothing all day up to that which was a bit strange and got the confirmation emails this morning then.

It's well worth going through an affiliated club or a registered supporters club as at least then you have your previous on file as opposed to just ticketmaster and the portals for the finals when they come up every few years on your own bat.

If the YBIG lads could spend less time being narky and got themselves set up as an official group with a registered FAI account between them they wouldn't have half the bother that's happened to them the past few years, if you go home/ away regularly without any record of it then sure there's nothing to go on to try and make sure they/ you get sorted with tickets as best they can.

The club we're with is purely just for our ST's/ aways/ finals tickets over the years, well worth getting in on something like that, bit late now but it's sound advice all the same DL. Yeah, even going back to the World Cup in 06 there was an online portal for tickets, think that was the first one where they started going that way for the process rather than postal/ ballot/ letting the local associations dole out their allocation themselves etc.

Resale portal in March is offical from UEFA & will be definitely face value only, there should be a lot of returns for our games relatively speaking on that from the first round of the lotto where it was just applying for tickets for A1 vs A3 in venue D4 etc.

It'd be worth peoples while contacting local supporters clubs/ or FAI affiliated clubs on the off chance as they'll usually have some tickets they've applied for that aren't taken up out of the allocation they got.

Shels used to sort me out for tickets but we never qualified for anything during that period. It was nigh on impossible to get Euro 2012 tickets from the club at that stage despite history. I'm never to worried about getting tickets as there's always someone or something that will sort you out. We'll all be grand. And tbh Foot.ie has been the best source. YBIG is too (y)big. Here is just right. DeL and the rest will get sorted through here no bother I would say.

backstothewall
15/02/2016, 1:16 PM
I'm never to worried about getting tickets as there's always someone or something that will sort you out. We'll all be grand. And tbh Foot.ie has been the best source. YBIG is too (y)big. Here is just right. DeL and the rest will get sorted through here no bother I would say.

I need 5 tickets for both the Belgium and Sweden games. I hope you're right but it seems like a stretch at this stage. I feel sorry for the guy i go with. His son (who has been to every home game despite having cerebral palsy) will be getting the news when he gets home from school today. He hasn't stopped talking about going to France since the car journey back from the Bosnia game.

I'm totally gutted myself to be honest. It's been a real kick in the teeth.

Junior
15/02/2016, 1:23 PM
I need 5 tickets for both the Belgium and Sweden games. I hope you're right but it seems like a stretch at this stage. I feel sorry for the guy i go with. His son (who has been to every home game despite having cerebral palsy) will be getting the news when he gets home from school today. He hasn't stopped talking about going to France since the car journey back from the Bosnia game.

I'm totally gutted myself to be honest. It's been a real kick in the teeth.

The 2k FAI arse pocket tickets are for exactly this purpose. Just email Cria at the ticket office and state your case with match history etc.. and I am sure you will be looked after.

Fixer82
15/02/2016, 1:52 PM
The 2k FAI arse pocket tickets are for exactly this purpose. Just email Cria at the ticket office and state your case with match history etc.. and I am sure you will be looked after.

And what about if your history is pretty bad? Last time I was at a qualifier was under Trap. Only attended friendlies under O'Neill

DannyInvincible
15/02/2016, 5:29 PM
Your application was unsuccessfulDear Football Fan,Thank you for applying for tickets for UEFA EURO 2016™.
We regret to inform you that your ticket application for UEFA EURO 2016™ was not successful. In accordance with the UEFA EURO 2016™ Ticketing Terms and Conditions for Participating National Association Fan Sales (http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/competitions/Ticketing/02/30/61/64/2306164_DOWNLOAD.pdf) you have not been allocated any of the ticket(s) requested in your Application Form on the ticket portal (http://www.euro2016.com/tickets/).

In accordance with the UEFA EURO 2016™ Ticketing Terms and Conditions for Participating National Association Fan Sales, no agreement between EURO 2016 SAS and you for the purchase of ticket(s) you requested is deemed to have been concluded in this process.

Until the end of the UEFA EURO 2016™ tournament, there may be additional opportunities to purchase tickets to our matches. We would like to keep you informed about any such future possibilities to purchase tickets for UEFA EURO 2016™. If you do not wish to be contacted regarding such possibilities, please contact us using the form available here (http://euro2016-faq.tickets.uefa.com/en/qa/no/187) requesting us to remove you from our mailing list.

Best regards,
UEFA Ticketing Team

Received the same e-mail myself, unfortunately. There's still the re-sale though and I'm sure spares will pop up elsewhere too.

dan o d
15/02/2016, 6:27 PM
Got 4 Cat C tickets for Sweden game in Paris. Looking to swap at least 2 ( and potentially all )of these for tickets to the Belgium game in Bordeaux. Let me know if you are interested.

IrishRossi
15/02/2016, 9:16 PM
got the same unsuccessful, but hopefully will pick up tickets somewhere closer to the date if not fanzone will have to do

DeLorean
15/02/2016, 9:35 PM
FAI to cater for most loyal supporters for UEFA EURO 2016 (http://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/fai-to-cater-for-most-loyal-supporters-for-uefa-euro-2016)

backstothewall
16/02/2016, 12:20 AM

Email away to Cria. Hopefully something comes of it.

Wolfman
16/02/2016, 12:42 AM
Continuity? Wow, friends in 'high' places?

TheCoff87
16/02/2016, 6:20 AM
I have 4 Cat 4 Tickets for Sweden, but looking to swap for 4 Belgian tickets, any interest??

KK77
16/02/2016, 7:41 AM
Money taken this morning. Ole Ole!

Junior
16/02/2016, 10:10 AM
And what about if your history is pretty bad? Last time I was at a qualifier was under Trap. Only attended friendlies under O'Neill

Well, you can't really have any complaints I guess. However, you can already see that lots of spares are already appearing for the Sweden and Italy games (admittedly most people are looking for swaps for the Belgium game at this stage but is shows you those two games have surplus tickets and some will end up getting passed on to fellow fans at hopefully face value - here and ybig will be best place for face value tickets).

Also the general portal will open in March and plenty of tickets that were purchased in the first phase last year for our games (when people didn't actually know who would be playing in those games) will go up on there. Loads of time until June and I think there are still lots of chances to get face value tickets for at least Sweden and Italy, possibly less so for the Belgium game but its still possible.

And by all means send an email off to the FAI, it wont hurt your chances, depends how they prioritise the requests (of which there will be many).

Good luck!

punkrocket
16/02/2016, 2:32 PM
Feckit and I've just had the V dub resprayed.

DeLorean
17/02/2016, 8:08 AM
I know they're probably swamped with emails but do we know if there's any timeline on the FAI selecting the most deserving applicants?

17/02/2016, 8:18 AM
I know they're probably swamped with emails but do we know if there's any timeline on the FAI selecting the most deserving applicants?

I read yesterday that UEFA can still allocate tickets to fans up until the end of February and so the FAI will wait until then until they start their own process. There is no point in the FAI allocating tickets from what they held back now only for UEFA to give some of those same fans tickets by the end of February. I think there is a statement on the FAI homepage

DeLorean
17/02/2016, 1:44 PM
Plan B!

Thank you for your email in regard to your recent Euro 2016 ticket application.

We have included your name on a waiting list for tickets. Please be aware that we may need to contact you should we require additional information.

We will communicate to supporter's once this process has finished.

FAI Ticket Office

Fixer82
17/02/2016, 8:42 PM
Well, you can't really have any complaints I guess.

No I can't and I'm not. The most loyal supporters certainly should get first preference.
Thanks for the tips. I think the re-sale portal is my next hope, after that it's probably DoneDeal etc. I'm looking for a Belgium ticket so it's that bit more difficult. Does anybody know the craic with the security etc.?
I thought after the attacks in Paris in November they were going to be insanely security conscious with tickets/passports etc.

Junior
18/02/2016, 12:12 PM
No I can't and I'm not. The most loyal supporters certainly should get first preference.
Thanks for the tips. I think the re-sale portal is my next hope, after that it's probably DoneDeal etc. I'm looking for a Belgium ticket so it's that bit more difficult. Does anybody know the craic with the security etc.?
I thought after the attacks in Paris in November they were going to be insanely security conscious with tickets/passports etc.

I would send an email to the FAI as well. They still have 2k tickets per match to distribute, Its probably a slim chance they would allocate them to you if you have no recent history of match attendance but you've got to be in it to win it as they say. FAI are not exactly renowned for 'logic' when it comes to ticket distribution!

18/02/2016, 12:55 PM

There seemed to be talk of it taking a little bit longer than normal to get into the Stadium for the Rugby last week. But no horror stories came out about it that I read.

19/02/2016, 1:23 PM
What area of Paris is best to stay in?

Factors are:

(a) convenience for Gare du Nord (I arrive and return by Eurostar)
(b) convenient for public transport to Stade de France
(c) central, for the craic like.

I'm thinking Opera?

19/02/2016, 1:53 PM
What area of Paris is best to stay in?

Factors are:

(a) convenience for Gare du Nord (I arrive and return by Eurostar)
(b) convenient for public transport to Stade de France
(c) central, for the craic like.

I'm thinking Opera?

I'm staying down in the 5th.

But on a previous trip to Paris a good few of us stayed down in Bastille and it was quite the area for the craic. I can't imagine much of Paris will be lacking in craic from the Sunday on.

DeLorean
29/02/2016, 8:50 AM
The FAI appeals process is expected to last 2-3 weeks after the closing date i.e. last Wednesday.

There doesn't seem to be any specific date in March for the UEFA Resale Portal opening?

zero
01/03/2016, 4:04 PM
The FAI appeals process is expected to last 2-3 weeks after the closing date i.e. last Wednesday.

There doesn't seem to be any specific date in March for the UEFA Resale Portal opening?

was wondering the same.

via ybig:

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/ticketing/overview/index.html

Ticketing

From 12:00CET on 9 March 2016, all fans who were allocated tickets in the general public application windows will be able to resell their tickets. All fans will be able to buy the tickets on a first come, first served basis.

DeLorean
02/03/2016, 8:08 AM
Good stuff, thanks.

Euro 2016: Terror threat could see games behind closed doors (http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/35702455)

100 days to kick off!

03/03/2016, 10:30 AM
just a general tip - anyone who signs up for AirBnb gets a discount through their recommend a friend scheme, so if there's a few of you booking a place, let one person book the first room, send an invite to the next, they book and get a discount, send an invite, get a discount, etc

zero
09/03/2016, 5:26 PM
having spent half the day on the resale portal i finally picked up 1 cat 1 ticket for the italy game.

DeLorean
03/06/2016, 10:23 AM
Came across this on Facebook. Made me laugh.

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/p280x280/13336016_1218703114808543_4073308873972847778_n.jp g?oh=f5cb38ef9350f6aa04479d06655a3224&oe=57D73DB4

seen that too, made me cringe hard.
support the players who are at the tournament, nobody cares who isn't there

The flag thing in general is gone nuts, at least that Grealish one is kind of funny if you just forget about the cringing fact that we're still banging on about him. You just know the person that put it together hadn't even heard of Grealish until the F.A. Cup semi final last year as well.

Some of the other ones are beyond brutal, talk about trying too hard. Father Ted quotes recycled ten thousand times over, quirky Irish sayings, references to Pennys or the dole, etc.

The worst I've seen is this though (I'm actually squirming with embarrassment here)...

http://m0.joe.ie/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/05203800/Teresa-Mannion.jpg

03/06/2016, 11:44 AM
I probably can't complain too much. This is my flag
http://i66.tinypic.com/900i8m.jpg

I'm just hoping enough people get the reference (http://rutube.ru/video/ea22458563e770dc3d3268dd01843e9d/)

brendy_ιire
03/06/2016, 1:27 PM
We've a flag that we bring to away matches generally, the 'Northmen Southmen, Comrades All' one.
We're not bringing it to the Euros though. There'll be very, very limited space for them. You won't be allowed to hang it over advertising, which grounds will be plastered in. There was barely room for the flag in Poland, there'll be none in France. So feck it.

05/06/2016, 5:05 PM
Anybody going to Turkey vs Croatia? Managed to pick up tickets on the portal on Friday.

06/06/2016, 1:19 AM
Anybody going to Turkey vs Croatia? Managed to pick up tickets on the portal on Friday.

I was considering it. But the OTB thing also be an option if another ticket transpires. How much were yours?

06/06/2016, 8:35 AM
I was considering it. But the OTB thing also be an option if another ticket transpires. How much were yours?

I paid top whack (Cat 1) but they are the VIP seats. Obviously returned or couldn't be sold. I'm presuming all those Cat 1 seats that went up on the portal were excellent seats.

06/06/2016, 10:22 AM
That's right out of my range. It's that and noodles everyday in Paris otherwise.

DeLorean
06/06/2016, 12:01 PM
Yeah I was lucky enough to get a couple of Cat.4's for the Romania v Switzerland game but I don't think I would have paid any more than that really. I'd pay whatever for the Ireland games and would have accepted a Cat.1 for England v Wales too but other than that I wouldn't break the bank for any other games. Croatia v Turkey is quite an attractive fixture though I think but we don't arrive until after it kicks off.

brendy_ιire
07/06/2016, 12:11 PM

Not personally, but the four from our group are.
Loads of tickets were going for it. They got Cat3/4.

DeLorean
08/06/2016, 8:09 PM
Another flag critic (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/euro-2016/comment-do-ireland-fans-really-want-to-be-known-as-the-gob****es-making-a-mockery-of-their-national-flag-34784043.html)

08/06/2016, 9:29 PM
Another flag critic (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/euro-2016/comment-do-ireland-fans-really-want-to-be-known-as-the-gob****es-making-a-mockery-of-their-national-flag-34784043.html)

that article is spot on

08/06/2016, 10:15 PM
I thought I was the only one. In Poland they weren't as ten a penny as they are now. All it is is lads wanting to have the next "Angela thinks we're working".

Some have been funny, but there are some awfully naff ones that are rather crass.

08/06/2016, 10:30 PM
Most of them are terribly stupid, but there have been a few crackers.