View Full Version : LOI Fixtures 14th - 17th August 2015
Louth4sam
18/08/2015, 6:23 AM
Haven't seen the replays yet but thought at the time it looked nasty. Not sure if he meant to kick him in the face but he swung his leg back to catch him. Should have been a red. Had a feeling one off our players would do something stupid as ref had been letting a load of nasty stuff by Pats go all evening. Both Mountney and Shields busted by elbows and Gannon taken out numerous times late. Was surprised the game calmed down after the Towell incident
Towell was a very naughty boy, it was nasty and completely unnecessary and inexpelicable- it's not like they had a running battle or anything.
First half performance was simply sensational from Dundalk. Second time in two seasons I think Pats could count themselves lucky to only concede 4 in 45 minutes. The pressing, passing, finishing was excellent. Bolger's attempted backheel clearance for the fourth was hilarious. Not really sure why Sean Gannon was being targeted in particular this time around. Still, at least Pats made sure we couldn't play Kilduff, goodness knows how many we'd have scored with him involved too ;-)
Ezeikial
18/08/2015, 12:17 PM
The second half was a little flat after what was a sensational first half display. In the circumstances my gratitude to the irate St Pats fan who entertained me with his tirades in the second half
" Bloody pitch is a disgrace! We would sort ye out easily on a grass pitch"
dundalkfc10
18/08/2015, 12:25 PM
The second half was a little flat after what was a sensational first half display. In the circumstances my gratitude to the irate St Pats fan who entertained me with his tirades in the second half" Bloody pitch is a disgrace! We would sort ye out easily on a grass pitch"
Madness to think Buckley didn't think Gannon was good enough for Pats. Easily the best RB in the league, As someone said to me last night, he's like Denis Irwin, guaranteed a 7/10 at least every week.
Finn was unplayable for 25/30 mins in the first half. McMillian, Horgan and O'Donnell were all excellent.
Game was over at Half Time so im not surprised our players took their foot off the gas
El-Pietro
18/08/2015, 12:31 PM
Who is injured at mo? Morrissey, Dunleavy and Holohan - who else?
I think its clear that Kavanagh, Mark O'Sullivan and Kevin O'Connor are all carrying injuries and should not have played last night.
White Horse
18/08/2015, 12:50 PM
I think its clear that Kavanagh, Mark O'Sullivan and Kevin O'Connor are all carrying injuries and should not have played last night.
Cork do seem to pick up a lot of injuries.
18/08/2015, 12:51 PM
Cork do seem to pick up a lot of injuries.
Must be their pitch ... yes someone was going to say it...
PartySaint
18/08/2015, 1:13 PM
Madness to think Buckley didn't think Gannon was good enough for Pats.
In fairness I don't think it was a case of not thinking he was good enough, he couldn't guarantee Gannon that he would play him every week so Gannon left, which is fair enough. When he left at the end of 2013 Ger O'Brien was the best RB in the league so it seemed unlikely that he would get in ahead of him
18/08/2015, 5:34 PM
Tony Cousins needs to go far away and never return.
2 year contract he's going no where only down the tunnel with no regard for the fans like he does every week. Such a dislikable manager not to mention a poor one
D24Saint
18/08/2015, 7:08 PM
Jamie McGrath had his nose broken last night that thug Towell & the Dundalk fans that booed the youngfella of the pitch should be ashamed of themselves.
In fairness I don't think it was a case of not thinking he was good enough, he couldn't guarantee Gannon that he would play him every week so Gannon left, which is fair enough. When he left at the end of 2013 Ger O'Brien was the best RB in the league so it seemed unlikely that he would get in ahead of him
This, plus Gannon was two years younger at the time. He was bound to develop, would have at Pats too had he stayed. At the time though you couldn't have left Ger O'Brien out of the Pats side for him.
We haven't been able to live with Dundalk this season. We just haven't matched them physically in any of the games. They've been quicker and stronger than us, with the result that we haven't been able to control the games against them, as we can with most teams.
Finally, Towell, what a scumbaggy thing to do. You could give him the benefit of the doubt and say that he didn't know it was McGraths face he would connect with, but I'm not sure I'd be inclined to do that. If he had any class he'd apologise.
White Horse
18/08/2015, 7:42 PM
Jamie McGrath had his nose broken last night that thug Towell & the Dundalk fans that booed the youngfella of the pitch should be ashamed of themselves.
I was one of those Dundalk fans who saw the kick and I knew the lad was hurt. I certainly didn't boo him.
However, some of the fans around me thought that it was gamesmanship and that he was doing the same thing as Derek Foran last year. Feigning injury to get a player sent off.
Can you really get on your high horse and blame them?
D24Saint
18/08/2015, 7:49 PM
The lad was clearly hurt when getting help off the pitch the booing by some was out of order.He is not a player with a bad reputation so I couldn't understand it some in Oriel have taken being a Partizan crowd to the extreme.
mcgonigle
18/08/2015, 8:01 PM
The lad was clearly hurt when getting help off the pitch the booing by some was out of order.He is not a player with a bad reputation so I couldn't understand it some in Oriel have taken being a Partizan crowd to the extreme.
Ah Jaysus give over will you. Are you telling me if that was a Dundalk player in Richmond he wouldn't have been booed by some? High horse indeed. If there can be a plus side to a bad injury it takes the focus off another inept performance by Pats against Dundalk
D24Saint
18/08/2015, 8:12 PM
Dundalk are the best side in the league this has nothing to do with that it has everything to do with an 18 year old player getting kicked in the face & having his nose broken then getting booed off the pitch just because you are the best team in the land doesn't give Dundalk carte blache to do what they what if you haven't got the guts to accept what happened was wrong then that's your prerogative.
White Horse
18/08/2015, 8:43 PM
It wasn't clear he was injured as he walked off. I knew he was hurt as I saw the kick but others didn't see it. There is no reason to demonise them for not seeing it.
mcgonigle
18/08/2015, 9:15 PM
Dundalk are the best side in the league this has nothing to do with that it has everything to do with an 18 year old player getting kicked in the face & having his nose broken then getting booed off the pitch just because you are the best team in the land doesn't give Dundalk carte blache to do what they what if you haven't got the guts to accept what happened was wrong then that's your prerogative.
What are you talking about? Who said it wasn't wrong? I just think your mad if you think that with a crowd of nearly 4k there won't be some who will boo an opposing player. Also emotions were high after hard man Foresters reaction
18/08/2015, 9:51 PM
This, plus Gannon was two years younger at the time. He was bound to develop, would have at Pats too had he stayed. At the time though you couldn't have left Ger O'Brien out of the Pats side for him.
We haven't been able to live with Dundalk this season. We just haven't matched them physically in any of the games. They've been quicker and stronger than us, with the result that we haven't been able to control the games against them, as we can with most teams.
Finally, Towell, what a scumbaggy thing to do. You could give him the benefit of the doubt and say that he didn't know it was McGraths face he would connect with, but I'm not sure I'd be inclined to do that. If he had any class he'd apologise.
Is this Philip Gannon you're talking about lads as in the lad we just signed? We've been playing him CM looks very nervous and slight in the 2 games he's played
Ezeikial
18/08/2015, 9:56 PM
I think you need to get a little perspective here.
The consistent feature of matches between these sides over the last 2 - 3 season has been the aggressive approach of St Pats including cynical rotational fouling of Richie Towell. The number of red cards issued to St Pats players in these games is further testament to this approach.
This was again in evidence on Monday evening and shortly before the Towell - McGrath incident there was very strong complaints by Chris Shields to the referee - these appeared to be based on an allegation of of being struck off-the-ball.
None of this excuses Richie Towell, but it may have contributed to tempers rising on the pitch and then in the fans reactions surrounding McGrath leaving the pitch after treatment.
Jamie McGrath is a talented young player with tremendous potential - I hope Richie Towell has spoken to him directly and apologised for what happended.
18/08/2015, 10:08 PM
I think you need to get a little perspective here.
The consistent feature of matches between these sides over the last 2 - 3 season has been the aggressive approach of St Pats including cynical rotational fouling of Richie Towell. The number of red cards issued to St Pats players in these games is further testament to this approach.
This was again in evidence on Monday evening and shortly before the Towell - McGrath incident there was very strong complaints by Chris Shields to the referee - these appeared to be based on an allegation of of being struck off-the-ball.
None of this excuses Richie Towell, but it may have contributed to tempers rising on the pitch and then in the fans reactions surrounding McGrath leaving the pitch after treatment.
Jamie McGrath is a talented young player with tremendous potential - I hope Richie Towell has spoken to him directly and apologised for what happended.
Yep Richard has rang Jamie so we can all relax now.https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CMuPx7wUYAE7IJz.jpg
jinxy lilywhite
18/08/2015, 10:10 PM
That probably was the only thing Forrester did last night.
On the incident and watching the clip over and over again I just think it was an unfortunate accident. I don't think he meant it. But contact was made and Richie should man up.
There has been a ridiculous overreaction on social media on this.
Pats fans can gloss over a complety inept performance with one incident. They can also down play how great Dundalk were last night.
Ezeikial
18/08/2015, 10:24 PM
For a player with so little talent (at least according to some Pats fanatics) David McMillan had an outstanding match and scored two cracking goals
18/08/2015, 10:46 PM
That probably was the only thing Forrester did last night.
On the incident and watching the clip over and over again I just think it was an unfortunate accident. I don't think he meant it. But contact was made and Richie should man up.
There has been a ridiculous overreaction on social media on this.
Pats fans can gloss over a complety inept performance with one incident. They can also down play how great Dundalk were last night.
Can't agree with that. There is absolutely no reason for your foot to flick back like that unless you do it on purpose. Surely most people that have played sport know if the foot gets left trailing, flicked behind or happens to stamp on someones foot/body, most of the time it's been done on purpose. The only time it happens accidentally is if you are falling over and manage to catch someone. Top players have great co-ordination and control over their feet and bodies, hence what makes them great players. I have no doubt in my mind Towell had full control of what he was doing there. I like him as a player also, probably the player i'd most admire not at Limerick. Sad to see him do something like that.
19/08/2015, 1:16 AM
It was an out of character moment of scumbagery that is inexplicable. Maybe there is some back issue but even so it looked dreadful from the player. The BATE chap had an apology up for the headbutt on Massey within hours of the game without fear of sanction, follow such a piecemeal gesture and milk it...
White Horse
19/08/2015, 7:26 AM
For a player with so little talent (at least according to some Pats fanatics) David McMillan had an outstanding match and scored two cracking goals
Haven't you heard, the goals were "gifted" to him. He had nothing to do but tap the ball into an empty net.
PartySaint
19/08/2015, 8:54 AM
Do Dundalk fans just make stuff up in their heads then convince themselves that other fans have said it??
On a possible Towell suspension, with games against Rovers and Cork to come a suspension now for Towell would actually do more damage to Pats
Hibs4Ever
19/08/2015, 8:57 AM
For supporters of such a good side, about to win two in a row, Dundalk fans seem a right shower of whingy b*****ds on here
White Horse
19/08/2015, 9:07 AM
On a possible Towell suspension, with games against Rovers and Cork to come a suspension now for Towell would actually do more damage to Pats
The Sun are reporting today that the FAI have confirmed that retrospective punishment is not possible.
From the Stephen Kenny's reported comments ("careless kick"... "no way he meant to hurt the lad"...), Dundalk are drawing a line under it.
19/08/2015, 9:35 AM
Notwithstanding the fact my team would benefit from him being banned, and making no judgement on whether he meant it or not, it's kind of ridiculous the FAI has no way of dealing with things like this.
White Horse
19/08/2015, 9:45 AM
Notwithstanding the fact my team would benefit from him being banned, and making no judgement on whether he meant it or not, it's kind of ridiculous the FAI has no way of dealing with things like this.
I recall a discussion about using video evidence between the press and the FAI some time ago and the issue appeared to be whether there would be a level playing field. At the moment, every game in the two divisions has the same officiating; one ref, two linos, and a 4th official.
However, when it comes to using video evidence, some games are televised with four cameras, others have someone from RTE recording it on an iphone 3, while the first division doesn't exist.
19/08/2015, 9:51 AM
I recall a discussion about using video evidence between the press and the FAI some time ago and the issue appeared to be whether there would be a level playing field. At the moment, every game in the two divisions has the same officiating; one ref, two linos, and a 4th official.
However, when it comes to using video evidence, some games are televised with four cameras, others have someone from RTE recording it on an iphone 3, while the first division doesn't exist.
It's a weak reason for me. Would they refuse to use video evidence if there was an allegation of racism, for instance? Far as I know they consulted the tapes when Turner was accused by Zayed, and possibly McGuinness to Boco too. Not that I'm comparing racism to a foul, but the principle of using video.
19/08/2015, 11:05 AM
Harps have used video evidence both this season and last season to reduce bans to the best of my knowledge.
19/08/2015, 11:08 AM
Harps have used video evidence both this season and last season to reduce bans to the best of my knowledge.
Can it be used to extend bans or have bans laid down, though?
19/08/2015, 11:09 AM
Have no idea, just pointing out that it's definitely been used.
19/08/2015, 12:10 PM
Dont see why if footage is available use it and if its not available bad or good luck depending on the pint of view. Hawkeye in GAA terms is similar - a game lost at Semple Stadium mght have been won if played at Croke Park due to the available technology.
Ezeikial
19/08/2015, 12:30 PM
Do Dundalk fans just make stuff up in their heads then convince themselves that other fans have said it??
If you are referring to this post
I will just have to dodge the question for the moment
mcgonigle
19/08/2015, 1:08 PM
If Towell receives a retrospective ban based on video evidence than Dundalk would have a case to highlight the two elbow incidents and it would then just start becoming ridiculous.
Is this Philip Gannon you're talking about lads as in the lad we just signed? We've been playing him CM looks very nervous and slight in the 2 games he's played
No, Sean Gannon off Dundalk. Was with Pats in 2013 when we won the league. Couldn't get in the team as Ger O'Brien was first choice and moved to Dundalk the following season.
If you are referring to this post
I will just have to dodge the question for the moment
Stand by every word about McMillan. He simply isn't a top LOI striker. He played well the other night but I dont think anyone could argue that Pats defence was anything but shambolic for all 4 goals
I also said Dundalk would win the league even with him as striker but no one every brings that up...
White Horse
19/08/2015, 8:30 PM
Stand by every word about McMillan. He simply isn't a top LOI striker. He played well the other night but I dont think anyone could argue that Pats defence was anything but shambolic for all 4 goals
The keeper might have done better for McMillan's second goal but his first was a an excellent move and a cool finish.
Smart finish yeah but Pats line was all over the place. If one they may have got him offside. Hoare definitely needed to stand for the 3rd rather than track him
Couldn't knock him for anything on Monday
Ezeikial
19/08/2015, 10:07 PM
Stand by every word about McMillan. He simply isn't a top LOI striker. He played well the other night but.......
You have consistently derided him as "a very limited player". I would not expect you to change your stance, irrespective of his goal scoring record.
He had an outstanding goal to game-time ratio last season and is in double figures again for this season
........ but I dont think anyone could argue that Pats defence was anything but shambolic for all 4 goals
The brutal truth is that Pats were outclassed all over the park
I also said Dundalk would win the league even with him as striker but no one every brings that up...
Hardly a astute long-shot prediction - but did you back it up in the bookies?
19/08/2015, 10:11 PM
To be fair, McMillan confuses me too. His all-round play is nothing special and he's not a very good finisher, yet he still scores a lot of goals. I wouldn't have expect him to hit 10 goals either.
19/08/2015, 10:57 PM
To be fair, McMillan confuses me too. His all-round play is nothing special and he's not a very good finisher, yet he still scores a lot of goals. I wouldn't have expect him to hit 10 goals either.
I agree you are confused as the post is a total oxymoron - not a good finisher but scores a lot of goals?? Not expecting to hit ten as the no. 1 striker this season yet he hit double figures with limited game time last season? There is lttle logic here really - 20 from 57 and 20 from 34 at 2 spells at UCD, double figures with Dundalk for 2 seasons. Spell with sligo with only 13 appearances was poor and with pats his 6 in 28 games is mediocre but wasnt he often played out wide? Overall his successes at clubs outweigh his poor seasons by a lot. I can see why Pats fans may have a distorted opinion of his ability but he did also sore some important goals that season too.
19/08/2015, 11:26 PM
I don't know why you'd say it's an oxymoron - if a player scores 20 open goals it hardly makes him a great finisher. Not that that's all McMillan scores - he's got a couple of very good goals from memory - but he misses decent chances more often than he scores them, in my opinion. There are lots of strikers like that - they get goals but you'd never be hugely confident of them scoring a particular chance, like Shane Long.
oriel
19/08/2015, 11:36 PM
I think you are being more than harsh on McMillan to be fair. That's 4 league goals he has scored v Pats this season and you can't blame your defence for being shambolic for every goal. He has improved his game this season and was excellent in the highest standard match any LOI player could have played in this year, away to BATE.
Besides i think I'd only put your defence at fault for one, the first goal, (by Gartland) was dreadful marking. The second goal you were ripped apart and that was was after a five man move. Goal number 4 was caused by a careless back heel by midfielder, Bolger (who was subbed at HT), maybe Pats could have done better with McMillans second and Dundalks 3rd but it was a decent finish on his weaker left foot.
There seems to be an 'atttiude' from both the Pats players and fans after Monday night, and one that appears to be consistent with recent visits to oriel park, the scores this year would suggest Pats should have no complaints, as that was 3 comprehensive league defeats this season, 3-0, 2-0 and 4-1.
20/08/2015, 6:03 AM
I might throw it in there too, I am also not a fan of McMillan. He always looks wasteful, and is kind of an Andy Cole, misses a lot of decent chances.
Sorry Dundalk boys, but I did back yis at the start of the season (and already cashed out!):D
White Horse
20/08/2015, 8:17 AM
I might throw it in there too, I am also not a fan of McMillan. He always looks wasteful, and is kind of an Andy Cole, misses a lot of decent chances.
McMillan hasn't been wasteful for Dundalk. He did miss a sitter against BATE but I'm am struggling to recall another example.
His general play when the ball is on the ground is excellent and he works his butt off closing down defenders.
The shortcoming in his play is when we need to play it long. This was noticeable when under pressure from a superior BATE side. He will not get even 10% of anything knocked long to him in the air.
Ezeikial
20/08/2015, 11:02 AM
I don't know why you'd say it's an oxymoron - if a player scores 20 open goals it hardly makes him a great finisher. Not that that's all McMillan scores - he's got a couple of very good goals from memory - but he misses decent chances more often than he scores them, in my opinion. There are lots of strikers like that - they get goals but you'd never be hugely confident of them scoring a particular chance, like Shane Long.
Most clubs would strongly value any player who scores 20 goals - open or otherwise - on a regular basis
20/08/2015, 11:05 AM
Most clubs would strongly value any player who scores 20 goals - open or otherwise - on a regular basis
I'm sure they would but McMillan doesn't fit that description.