View Full Version : LOI Fixtures 14th - 17th August 2015
FallenSaint
15/08/2015, 1:23 PM
If Pats play like they did last night, we"ll get nothing on Monday. That said, the back four was very makeshift.
But there was a carelessness right through the team that Dundalk will punish.
sullanefc
15/08/2015, 1:33 PM
noticed Kenny is bringing Professionalism to Dundalk with players going down every time they are touched like in other Eurpopean leagues. Football is a mans game and refs in this league cant be this bad week in week out they are just incompetent.
Careful now. You'll be accused of being a moaning Cork City fan who is only moaning again about the Dublin bias. Then the usual plebs will come on sarcastically saying how your team are angels and could never comit a foul. Blah blah....
15/08/2015, 2:07 PM
Careful now. You'll be accused of being a moaning Cork City fan who is only moaning again about the Dublin bias. Then the usual plebs will come on sarcastically saying how your team are angels and could never comit a foul. Blah blah....
Exactly!!
Referee In the Derry Dundalk game last night was an absolute tool, sends McCormack off for a 50/50 challenge both players should have been booked but dishes out a red. Timlin has then been brought down turning a Dundalk defender no booking, Jarvis has a pull at the Dundalk wingers shhirt rightly booked, Dundalk defender does the same to Jarvis in pulling his shirt No Booking. He had no consistency all night petty fouls and blowing his whistle at will, let the bloddy game flow its what the fans want, noticed Kenny is bringing Professionalism to Dundalk with players going down every time they are touched like in other Eurpopean leagues. Football is a mans game and refs in this league cant be this bad week in week out they are just incompetent.
Candle lit for yea and rosary said.McCormack 100% a sending off and that other wee fecker McEneff was lucky he didn't go.Get your ma to give you a xanax ;)
I was very surprised to hear of Cork's defeat last night, but leagues are not won or lost in August in Ireland. The advantage has definitely swung Dundalk's way, but things could change again on Monday night, who knows.
As much as it was a very surprise defeat for Cork, there is no guarnatee we won't lose at least once more in the next ten game. We won it last year with 3 defeats, and we're currently on one. Also we have Rovers and Pats both twice to play not to mention Cork away.
7 points ahead with 10 games to go is a great lead, but it's only August, if we are ahead by something similar in October,that's a different story.
Big movers this weekend were Pats and Rovers, both will be looking to challenge for 2nd spot now, and that was probably not as clear a few weeks ago.
Still plenty to to play for, for the top 4, huge credit to Limerick, not just for obvious reason,
patrickccfc
15/08/2015, 10:40 PM
I was very surprised to hear of Cork's defeat last night, but leagues are not won or lost in August in Ireland. The advantage has definitely swung Dundalk's way, but things could change again on Monday night, who knows.
As much as it was a very surprise defeat for Cork, there is no guarnatee we won't lose at least once more in the next ten game. We won it last year with 3 defeats, and we're currently on one. Also we have Rovers and Pats both twice to play not to mention Cork away.
7 points ahead with 10 games to go is a great lead, but it's only August, if we are ahead by something similar in October,that's a different story.
Big movers this weekend were Pats and Rovers, both will be looking to challenge for 2nd spot now, and that was probably not as clear a few weeks ago.
Still plenty to to play for, for the top 4, huge credit to Limerick, not just for obvious reason,
Going into the ground last night there was a strange nervousness in the air and that was also shown in the opening exchanges where if a nuetral was watching they might've been forgiven for thinking limerick were the team battling for the title. Every time we equalized we all thought we would get another and go on to win, well that's what I felt anyway, but credit to limerick they showed great resolve to keep getting back in front. I think the impact of that result will be detrimental to our title chances as we were bang in form and now we have a few injuries to contend with plus the fact dundalk have pulled 7 points ahead, and rovers and pats now breathing down our necks too. I'm not very confident about Monday but if we're to win the league we must win and dundalk have to lose, anything less and its over for us, I believe. Also limerick, I think, will be fine and stay up without the need for a playoff, winning is a habit and they are on a roll, unlike Drogheda and Galway who, unless they stop the rot, will finish as the bottom two. As disappointing as last night was, you gotta love this league, so unpredictable.
oriel
15/08/2015, 10:57 PM
Not so sure about that, this time last year we thought we were home and dry and we could have lost the title by drawing at home to you in the last game.
After Monday there will still be one more game in August and 2 full months, anything could happen.
patrickccfc
15/08/2015, 11:53 PM
Not so sure about that, this time last year we thought we were home and dry and we could have lost the title by drawing at home to you in the last game.
After Monday there will still be one more game in August and 2 full months, anything could happen.
I was very confident we would overhaul ye but last night put a big dent in those thoughts. Your right, last year we came back from a similar points deficit so maybe we could still be hopeful, but as I said we need to win Monday and for ye to drop points.
dundalkfc10
16/08/2015, 12:42 AM
Sure Brennan's guaranteed to be sent off
16/08/2015, 12:58 AM
Sure Brennan's guaranteed to be sent off
He's suspended.
White Horse
16/08/2015, 8:50 AM
Going into the ground last night there was a strange nervousness in the air and that was also shown in the opening exchanges where if a nuetral was watching they might've been forgiven for thinking limerick were the team battling for the title.
That is the hardest part of chasing. Pats are flying as there is no pressure on them. I heard an interview with Ger O'Brien on Newstalk where he said the lack of pressure on Pats was the main reason they are getting good performances and results.
When Dundalk lose points, it puts pressure on Cork.
16/08/2015, 11:19 AM
Referee In the Derry Dundalk game last night was an absolute tool, sends McCormack off for a 50/50 challenge both players should have been booked but dishes out a red.
Nah, red was fair enough. Went in with both feet off this ground. Wasn't a terrible tackle, but doing that will leave yourself open to getting sent off.
Agree that there was a but of inconsistency regarding the yellows though. Plus, we were denied what was probably a penalty.
Regardless, Dundalk deserved the win. We played alright, but the difference in class was noticeable.
Massive game for us tomorrow night in Sligo now.
El-Pietro
16/08/2015, 10:22 PM
Question for Cork fans - your second goal came from a corner, which came about from a clearance after the keeper spilled the ball in a collision with a Cork player, who stayed down a while.
It looked to me as if that Cork player simply refused to go off the pitch after receiving treatment, and that the referee, after making two or three attempts to make him leave, just gave up and let him stay on. Was that what actually happened, or was it something else?
Beattie went down, I think he was concussed. They were asking if he was ok to play on and he seemed to be very intent that he was going to stay on. I think it took so long to get sorted that McKeown lost track of it. I don't know really.
Limerick were incredible. From kick off they had an intensity and hunger that we couldn't match. Galway and Drogheda are plumetting and I think they could easily finish in the bottom two. Limerick will be fine if they play like that even two or three more times.
bluewhitearmy
16/08/2015, 11:10 PM
Beattie went down, I think he was concussed. They were asking if he was ok to play on and he seemed to be very intent that he was going to stay on. I think it took so long to get sorted that McKeown lost track of it. I don't know really.
Limerick were incredible. From kick off they had an intensity and hunger that we couldn't match. Galway and Drogheda are plumetting and I think they could easily finish in the bottom two. Limerick will be fine if they play like that even two or three more times.
Any word on Dunleavy? Was receiving treatment for ages when he went down.
sullanefc
17/08/2015, 5:38 AM
Any word on Dunleavy? Was receiving treatment for ages when he went down.
Broken/fractured cheek bone apparently.
El-Pietro
17/08/2015, 8:57 AM
He looked in a bad way going off. I'd be surprised if he didn't have a concussion to go with the fracture.
mcgonigle
17/08/2015, 1:39 PM
Referee In the Derry Dundalk game last night was an absolute tool, sends McCormack off for a 50/50 challenge both players should have been booked but dishes out a red. Timlin has then been brought down turning a Dundalk defender no booking, Jarvis has a pull at the Dundalk wingers shhirt rightly booked, Dundalk defender does the same to Jarvis in pulling his shirt No Booking. He had no consistency all night petty fouls and blowing his whistle at will, let the bloddy game flow its what the fans want, noticed Kenny is bringing Professionalism to Dundalk with players going down every time they are touched like in other Eurpopean leagues. Football is a mans game and refs in this league cant be this bad week in week out they are just incompetent.
Looked a red to me and McEneff could have easily gone for his challenge on O'Donnell. Not sure what diving you were seeing but the only Dundalk player that goes down easily wasn't playing (Meenan) and that even annoys Dundalk fans. Derry fans fall into 2 brackets as far as I can tell 1) Very friendly and humble, want to chat to you and tell you how much they hate Rovers (I really like them). 2) Narky and completely one sided, never a foul against their team and everything is the oppositions or refs fault, we had a few of them around us on Friday and they were more entertaining than the game, they were even entertaining all the other Derry fans around them. In summary Derry fans are a great bunch!
17/08/2015, 2:01 PM
Derry fans fall into 2 brackets as far as I can tell 1) Very friendly and humble, want to chat to you and tell you how much they hate Rovers (I really like them). 2) Narky and completely one sided, never a foul against their team and everything is the oppositions or refs fault,
So a bit like supporters at every club really bar Dundalk fans in that they get as much joy out of giving out about our own lads as giving opposition abuse!
mcgonigle
17/08/2015, 2:12 PM
So a bit like supporters at every club really bar Dundalk fans in that they get as much joy out of giving out about our own lads as giving opposition abuse!
Yeah every club has them but I've never seen the same level as I have in Derry, but that's probably because we are able to mix with the home fans. Don't notice it that much in Oriel but maybe we have some extra narky ones in the stand that I don't know about.
17/08/2015, 2:13 PM
Even Rovers fans hate Rovers, it's nothing special.
17/08/2015, 3:35 PM
Yeah every club has them but I've never seen the same level as I have in Derry, but that's probably because we are able to mix with the home fans. Don't notice it that much in Oriel but maybe we have some extra narky ones in the stand that I don't know about.
Have you been to Turners Cross?
@CD:p
White Horse
17/08/2015, 5:45 PM
Just saw the team sheets for the Rovers-Cork game.
Could it be that both managers are going to remove the shackles from their teams? Looks like it.
17/08/2015, 6:19 PM
Looks like it could be an open game by usual standards.
17/08/2015, 6:34 PM
All seems a bit flat in Tallaght - off to Oriel now for hopefully a bit of a livelier affair and crowd.
17/08/2015, 7:35 PM
Come on Athlone!
patrickccfc
17/08/2015, 7:57 PM
Absolutely shocking from us tonight. How have we gotten so bad after being on such a great run, I know injuries have played a part too. No urgency from us tonight in a must win game. Felt like turning it off we were lacking any fight. Congratulations dundalk.
El-Pietro
17/08/2015, 7:59 PM
Pats on Friday, half a dozen injuries, Beattie and Folan cup tied and we're playing like this? Our season is about to fall apart in an 8 day period
peadar1987
17/08/2015, 8:41 PM
Yassss! Come on Bray! :D
eelmonster
17/08/2015, 8:43 PM
Decisive and important win for us against the form team in the league. Quality trolling by Mickey playing 'We are the Champions' haha.
placid casual
17/08/2015, 8:55 PM
Great win for the Hoops against a disinterested cork side.
when Rovers have a decent striker up front it makes a hell of a difference.
Good results for us tonight. I feel Rovers are a better side than both cork & the junkies so to finish 2nd in the table against a far superior dundalk outfit would be no mean achievement this season.
and then have a right good go at them next season!
17/08/2015, 8:57 PM
Feck Athlone.
17/08/2015, 9:31 PM
Given Limerick's recent run and our recent run and having gone 2-0 down that's a decent point for us. Now if we could just manage a win or two.
17/08/2015, 9:41 PM
Come on Athlone!
Just teasing. :)
Another game where a semi-decent side sat back in numbers and tried to hit us on the counter. We were always the better side, but let them score from a corner, which made it much more of a challenge.
Daire Ó Conchabhair's going to be a lovely player; just needs a bit of game smart. Another find!
Ryan Swan called up to the Ireland under 21s apparently, which can't hurt our run in.
jinxy lilywhite
17/08/2015, 9:46 PM
What a terrific performance from the champions tonight. Pats were chasing shadow's the whole half. I was disappointed with the so called best team in the league. Apart from Conan Byrne they didn't ask many questions of the best team in the league.
Yeah Mickey's we are the champions was brilliant but then again we are the current champs.
We are in a great position to be believe it or not the first Dundalk team to win back to back league but we are not mathematically there yet. It will take an unbelievable collapse from us not to do so.
6 wins out of 9 is all that's needed.
White Horse
17/08/2015, 9:54 PM
Dundalk were fantastic to watch in the first. Some of the fastest one touch football I've seen in the LOI. But Pats were brutal, an absolute shambles. I don't understand how a team can win nine on the bounce and turn up to the biggest game of their season and play that badly. Bolger must be humiliated at being taken off at half time. But he deserved it, he was that bad.
I was delighted to see Dave McMillan show his class throughout the game, he destroyed Pats.
WoodquayBoy
17/08/2015, 9:57 PM
We were second best of 2 brutal teams tonight, delighted to get a point as Drogheda will be wondering how the hell they didn't win that. At least it temporarily stops the rot, in fairness only 3 of that side would start if everyone was fit, so well done to the young lads
Ezeikial
17/08/2015, 10:06 PM
Decisive and important win for us against the form team in the league. Quality trolling by Mickey playing 'We are the Champions' haha.
Yeah Mickey's we are the champions was brilliant but then again we are the current champs.
In that moment Mad Mickey Duffy just lost us the league!
How could we ever forget the galvanising effect playing that Queen track had on St Pats players last time around. W
DRDoc
17/08/2015, 10:28 PM
Pats on Friday, half a dozen injuries, Beattie and Folan cup tied and we're playing like this? Our season is about to fall apart in an 8 day period
Who is injured at mo? Morrissey, Dunleavy and Holohan - who else?
L.T.F.C.
17/08/2015, 10:55 PM
Disgusting from Towell there this evening. It'd be nice if he had to sit out the rest of the season to have a think about it.
17/08/2015, 11:02 PM
Best performance of the season from Rovers and probably could have won by more, but Cork really made it easy for us. McCabe and Blanchard had so much time on the ball it was criminal, no pressure on the ball whatsoever.
edit: jesus Towell. I'm guessing we have no facility for retrospectively banning players in this league?
17/08/2015, 11:05 PM
What's with the extratime.ie updates for the UCD Athlone game?
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/27540/2/
Shocking stuff from Towell also - threw the heel right back into the face.
PartySaint
17/08/2015, 11:12 PM
I was disappointed with the so called best team in the league.
Is that what people in Dundalk have been calling us? That's nice. We're the second best in the league but a good way off the champions.
White Horse
17/08/2015, 11:14 PM
Shocking stuff from Towell also - threw the heel right back into the face.
I thought it was a red card at the time, I couldn't figure out why the ref gave a yellow.
17/08/2015, 11:17 PM
Disgusting from Towell there this evening. It'd be nice if he had to sit out the rest of the season to have a think about it.
Would totally agree that it was a very nasty boot out by Towell but sit out the rest of the season ? Come on now,a 10 game ban?!! :confused:
Yossarian
17/08/2015, 11:22 PM
I thought it was a red card at the time, I couldn't figure out why the ref gave a yellow.
From where I was I thought Towell had just caught McGrath as he fell but having seen the footage it was nasty and totally unnecessary. Very stupid thing to do when your team is coasting. It wasn't as if he had an ongoing niggle with Mcgrath either. He's very lucky to only have gotten a yellow.
L.T.F.C.
17/08/2015, 11:27 PM
Would totally agree that it was a very nasty boot out by Towell but sit out the rest of the season ? Come on now,a 10 game ban?!! :confused:
Absolutely. He intentionally kicked a player in the face when he was on the ground. I'd fine him too. He could have done such damage that would have stayed with the player for his life.
White Horse
17/08/2015, 11:30 PM
Absolutely. He intentionally kicked a player in the face when he was on the ground. I'd fine him too. He could have done such damage that would have stayed with the player for his life.
Ring 999 if you feel so strongly about it.
Real ale Madrid
17/08/2015, 11:35 PM
Would you like some salt and vinegar with those crisps?
18/08/2015, 1:27 AM
Tony Cousins needs to go far away and never return.